This business is not BBB accredited.

Georgia & Company Construction, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (312) 329-6161 Fax: (312) 794-7801 875 N Michigan Ave Fl 31, Chicago, IL 60611 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.georgiaandco.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • BBB does not have sufficient information to issue a rating on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Georgia & Company Construction, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 21, 2009 Business started: 01/06/1986 Business started locally: 01/06/1986 Business incorporated 01/03/2008 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jay Mortensen, President Angle Floyd, Customer Service
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jay Mortensen, President
Business Category

Contractors - General Electricians – Residential Demolition Contractors Drywall Contractors Electricians Electricians - Commercial Home Builders Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions Commercial Painting Contractor Construction & Remodeling Services Remodeling Services Facility Maintenance Architects Construction Management Engineering Contractors - General Fire & Water Damage Restoration Interior Designers - Commercial Real Estate-Commercial & Industrial Real Estate - Commercial Property Management - Industrial & Commercial Contractor - Commercial Contractor - General Green Builder Contractor - Industrial Contractors-Drywall / Plastering Building Construction Consultants Building Contractors Design & Build Contractor Building Restoration & Preservation Building Envelope Restoration Carpenters New Single-Family Housing Construction (except For-Sale Builders) (NAICS: 236115)


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1415 W 22nd St
    Tower Floor

    Oak Brook, IL 60523

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    875 N Michigan Ave Fl 31

    Chicago, IL 60611

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8770 W. Bryn Mawr Ste. 1300

    Chicago, IL 60631

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ********* Hotel Group ("***") as the agent for ********* Hotel Chicago, LLC ("****") hired Georgia and Company Construction, Inc to complete a sound proofing project at the hotel on Oct 7, 2015. **** sent in a $20,426.00 to initiated the project in order to obtain the permits and order the materials to complete the job. It has been 33 days and Georgia and Company Construction, Inc does not have the permit (the permit should have issue 5 to 7 days of signing the contract) nor have they ordered the product. ****/*** has called and emailed Georgia Company Construction, Inc a least a dozen times over the last 3 weeks and no return calls or emails have been made.

Desired Settlement: ********* ******* Hotel Chicago, LLC would like a 100% refund from Georgia and Company Construction, Inc.

12/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *** ********* (the owner) agreed to complete my televised construction project on July 23rd, 2015 that would start on the beginning of August. He took my deposit of $14,859.00. After not hearing from him I contacted him on July 27, 2015 inquiring who the general contractor on site would be and their contact information. He indicated it was between two candidates and he would call me back that day with their information. He failed to provide me the name, nor contact information of the general contractor for this time sensitive project. He also disregarded returning my telephone calls, emails and voicemail messages. It was not until August 6, 2015 that I heard from him again and he still had not selected a general contractor nor started building for this project. During our conversation on August 6, 2015, we made an oral agreement to end our contractual obligation to each other and that he would repay my deposit on August 7, 2015. On August 7, 2015 he would not return my phone calls all day. After finally reaching him, he stated he was working on it and was taking care of it. I have not been able to get reach him since that date. I have left numerous messages with his secretary, via email, and postal mail. As of August 11, 2015 he has not repaid the deposit of $14,859.

Desired Settlement: I am expecting a full refund of my deposit of $14,859.00.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: J. *********
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: jay@************.com
This consumer came to my company asking us to bid a tiny home build project. We bid the project for them. After quoting the project...the consumer accepted our bid. We proceeded to put the project together in the time frame given to us by the producer. I had 7 employees working together on the preliminaries of this project because the time frame required. When I called the consumer to go over some of the build details and meet with my project manager...she told me "I think i'm not moving forward with the project. When I asked why, she said "no reason" I'm just not moving forward. She asked for her deposit to be returned. I told her it will be returned to her as soon as possible. I had my employee meet her with a company check for the deposit amount. She asked him to resign the check with his name. The bank would not accept the check to cash it. I then wrote another check to replace that check. I informed the consumer that the check is at my ******* office for pick up. I was told by my staff the check was picked up by Polk. Now I receive this complaint. I will investigate this allegation and make a further comment. Thanks you!

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
On August 12th I agreed to meet with an employee, sent by the owner, at my bank to receive a refund check. The employee arrived with a check, he wrote in the amount and signed with his name. When I attempted to deposit the check the bank teller told me the check was no good and that the owner would call me. I received a call from the owner a few hours later. He explained the bank did not accept the check because it had the employee's signature not the owner's, but he would figure out how to get me a valid check.

I did not hear back from the owner until August 17th. On that day he told me he was dropping off my check at the ******** center in a couple hours and would let me know when it was there. I never received a call confirming the check was at the ******** center. I followed up with the owner on the 18th to confirm the check was at the ******** center but received no reply.

I have not received, picked-up, or cashed any check in any amount from this company.

10/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues