Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Exess Exterior Corp.

Phone: (800) 331-4980 Fax: (800) 331-4980 375 S Il Route 83, Grayslake, IL 60030 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.xessext.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description



Exess Exterior Corp. is a general contractor specializing in storm restoration. Located in Grayslake, IL, this company serves the northern suburbs of Chicago, including Round Lake Beach, Gurnee, Libertyville, Lindenhurst, Venetian Village, Ingleside, Fox Lake Hills, Mundelein, Wauconda, Island Lake, McHenry, Hawthorn Woods, Antioch, Waukegan, and North Chicago. This company was formed in 2006 and is licensed, insured, and bonded.

This company uses products from IKO, Simonton, Napco, and Velux. Services provided include complete restoration of exteriors, especially the installation of roofing, siding, soffit, fascia, and gutters. The company will work with the customer's insurance company to ensure that the maximum settlement is paid out, and often their discounts will cover the amount of the deductible possible, meaning that the customer will pay nothing for the service provided. They also perform entire constructions of homes. They provide pre-inspections for their services to examine the functionality of the exterior structures and determine whether there is any damage from storms, and offer free skylight purchases with the installation of roofing and siding.

Visit the website for Exess Exterior Corp to learn more about the services that this company provides, read testimonials from their former customers, view before and after photos of their services, and contact the company to discuss a general contracting project.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Exess Exterior Corp. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Exess Exterior Corp. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

10 Customer Reviews on Exess Exterior Corp.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 9
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 10

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 13, 2009 Business started: 01/01/2006 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/2006 Business incorporated 11/02/2007 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Sandrine Larsen, Office Manager Mr. Max Choi, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sandrine Larsen, Office Manager
Business Category

Contractors - General Basement - Contractors Gutters & Downspouts Contractors - Gutters Roofing Contractors Carpenters New Single-Family Housing Construction (except For-Sale Builders) (NAICS: 236115)

Alternate Business Names
X-eSS Exteriors

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Exess Exterior Corp. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 375 S Il Route 83

    Grayslake, IL 60030 (800) 331-4980

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My roof was replaced in late August of 2015. Last month, after a heavy rainstorm, I noticed a small puddle of water on the furnace. I traced the water to a PVC pipe that goes from the furnace up to the roof. It appears that the area around the PVC pipe was never sealed. I called X-ess and a woman returned my call. She said that they never seal around pipes, but she said that someone would be out within the week to seal the pipe. Needless to say, it has not been sealed. This was not happening prior to the roof replacement, and now I worry that if it does not get fixed soon, the water damage will begin to rot the wood and damage the plaster.

Desired Settlement: I would like the area around the PVC pipe on the roof to be sealed so that no water leaks into our home.

Business Response: We are sending the roofer to the house tomorrow & repair any issue. Thx

5/3/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 13th 2015, I contracted the company to replace my roof and paid them the amount that was requested. After 3 months of no contact, I contacted the salesman *** ****** and asked why my roof had not been done. I was told at that point, the company would need an additional $2000 to do my garage and I explained my garage was not part of the contracted work. Mr ****** then explained he had somehow misplaced my paperwork, yet never asked me about the chosen shingle color or anything else about the job. After yet another month, I called again and was told the company was short on work crews and my work would be done "weather permitting", but was assured that only 2 other houses were ahead of mine. After 6 months and still no roof, I called Mr ****** and said I had waited enough and it had become clear the company had no intention of doing the work they were contracted and paid for, so I wanted a refund as soon as possible so I could find another company to do the work. Mr ****** then explained that as far as he knew, the job was already done! He told me he would call by 9am the next morning. I sent messages to the company via their online form, voice mail to the company, and Mr ******** cell. Not one of them has been answered/returned since I asked for a refund, nor has Mr ****** answered his phone when I call.

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome would be to get the roof I had paid for, as I am not looking forward to start calling contractors again and having them climb all over my roof, causing more damage. However, I am not really all that confident that if I am promised the work would be done in a timely manner, that it would ever be done. The best I can hope for is a return of my money.

Business Response: Unfortunately there is not enough funding from Mr. ********* to replace his roof. We are mailing any down payment money back to him on Monday.

3/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've filed a complaint previously about this company (#********) in December 2015. The agreement we came to with the business through the BBB was to refund us the money for the work they were not going to complete as well as complete the replacement of the damaged facia as well as replacing the siding they originally missed by the end of January 2016. We did meet in early January with *** ****** for a tense meeting whereby he cut us a check for the parts of the contract they were not going to fulfill. We spoke at that time and agreed that he would send a guy out the next day to color match the facia and he would also dig through their yard to find the remaining pieces of siding they needed. He also insisted that I take my complaint off the BBB. I told him that I'd be happy to when they actually finish the work. That was in early January. No work has been done on our home since that time. My husband has made numerous attempts to contact *** ******, leaving messages each time and has not once received a return phone call.

Desired Settlement: We want the job finished. They have already been paid for this job, and they have agreed to finish the job. We just want it done, both the facia replaced as well as the siding they missed the first time.

Business Response:

Our office is closed for construction, due to weather, over the winter time. We do have, on file, the matching color for Mrs. ******* fascia & we have scheduled her repairs for Mid March to end of March, 2016.

*** has communicated with Mrs. ***** again yesterday to let her know the schedule. Thx

 

2/1/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
1/9/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company is in receipt of over $3700 of our money and no work has been performed, we have requested the return of these funds and there has been no response after repeated requests. This has been going on since August. We are contemplating legal recourse at this point, they are in breech of contract.

Business Response: This customer has been refunded already. 

12/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: X-eSS Exteriors is a business my husband and I signed a contract with stating line item by line item the things they would fix per our insurance claim post hail storm. The company is refusing to finish the items on the contract and is not agreeing to pay back monies already paid to them.

Desired Settlement: They need to either finish the job or pay us the listed amounts for each item they are not going to finish.

Business Response: We have contacted the *****s and we agreed to return some money of work not done as well as finish some fascia work asap. 

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10957616, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me as long as X-Ess Exteriors will comply with the ASAP portion of the agreement. This project should be finished before the end of January, 2016.

Sincerely,

Erin *****

6/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my roof done through x ESS exterior on December 2012 , we did not have bad weather until 2013 November , then we start noticed it is leaking through my porch , every rain it's leaking and ice is building up between the joint also , we called several time ,they are not responding ,in a timely manner , sometime they will give appointment ,but they won't show up . Before I did not have any leak at all .

Desired Settlement: Fix my leak and re embers the money and time I lost

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/02) */ Xess did the Roof on Mrs. ****** House on the main roof in December of 2012. Mrs. ******'s roof is leaking above her enclosed porch, area we did not touch. We have had a manager go & check the problem beginning of the year. Weather was not cooperating until March of this year and we are sending a carpenter check the problem on 06/04/14. We will repairs to the best of our ability to satisfy our customer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Yes, manager *** came he did an observation by looking up never went up on the roof, he said its not their issue they would fix it for 308, i disagreed.he was very aggressive and rude. i contacted the co. and asked that he not return.manager *** called we set up an appt. 5 times hes coming hasn't gotten here yet. this problem was noticed in feb 14 when all the snow started melting we had a second opinion we were told its from the roof something they were suppose to do because of the uneven roof and it wasnt done thats why now we are having this leak no other roofer wants to touch it because they are uncertain as to exactly what the roofer did. we have an appt today theyre not sure what time they are coming right now we are waiting.we were also told they didnt properly install our gutters. while standing at the back door water is falling directly down on your head. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2014/07/02) */ ******** ****** <**************@gmail.com> Wed, Jul 2, 2014 at 2:04 PM To: ********* *****" <*******@chicago.bbb.org> Cc: ***** ****** <*******@chicago.bbb.org> Hello Ms ******* The repairs on Mrs. ****** House has been completes excluding: One gutter & Downspout on one side needs taht will be changed Next week on Thursday. In the meantime Mrs. ****** can contact our lawyer if this does not satisfy her, at: ********* F. ******** ********* F. ******** Law Offices of *** ** **** **** E. ******** St., Ste. *** Des Plaines, IL XXXXX ************ tel ************ fax *********@chielaw.com Let me know if you have any questions. Best regards, ******** ****** Exess Exterior p 773.983.0491 f 800.331.4980 **************@gmail.com Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/06/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Yes, I am still waiting for the rain.I cleaned two times my porch , i had to rent equipment from ACE hardware, and buy cleaning material,and also i worked nealy 3 hours each time, because they didnt respond or blaing something else, eventhough that was their fault , so i want my $500 back,which i paid as deductable.

4/16/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: X ess sent employee *** ***** to conduct initial estimate for roof and siding damage in the fall of 2013. *** ****** later discovered to be under investigation by the Illinois Attorney General Lisa Madigan for fraud, falsely misrepresented himself as an insurance adjustor and as an owner of the company. The claim was approved in December and the check sent on 12/11/13 in the amount of $9020.77. ***** also promised to fix many other problems in addition to what was claimeddoors, windows, gutters, etc. ***** lied and said the work could commence before the winter began. By December 21, he said the weather would not allow work to commence. In the meantime, ***** began harassing my wife and I for the deductible payment, beating on our door without an appointment, making multiple calls a day. We told him we were ill and could not talk to him. He did not desist. After a later meeting with *** ****, owner, on 3/14/14, he stated that it was not protocol for X ess to collect deductibles until after all work was completed. Though, in this case, no work had even been started. After weeks of harassment by ****** I wrote a $1000 check dated 1/6/14. ***** lied and said, because he owned the company and it was a sole proprietorship, I could write it in his name, which I did. ***** immediately took the check to my bank and cashed it. My bank called me and requested permission to release the funds. I acquiesced, thinking that an A+ rated company on the BBB could not be engaged in fraud. ***** stole the money. During a 3/14/14 meeting, **** admits the X ess never received the money from ***** as payment toward the deductible. **** stated he would not return the money to me during the 3/14 meeting. At the same meeting, **** admits that ***** was fired earlier in February 2014 for stealing deductibles from multiple other clients as well, although mine was the first case in which the theft of deductibles was committed using checks, not cash. At the same meeting, **** and another associate described ***** as a "sociopath", also promising many other clients work which was never to be finished. During a conversation on 3/19/14 with ******** ******, a front office employee, I was told that the private acts of their employees were not the liability of X ess and that I was responsible for filing claims to recover the stolen amount from *****. I stated that *** ***** was an employee of X ess and always represented himself as such. I contacted the office of X ess from Day one, never *** ***** personally. All claims were filed in the name of X ess Exteriors. I had no personal dealings with ***** and I have a receipt for the payment of the $9020 check from my insurance company and the $1000 deposit, all in the name of X ess Exteriors. Under the theory of vicarious liability, X ess is liable for the fraud of their employees. On the BBB website, I discovered the following statement regarding Perfect Restorations LLC, owned by *****, a company which **** admitting to having purchased during a telephone conversation on 3/14/14: "Illinois Attorney General Lisa Madigan filed the lawsuit in Lake County Circuit Court against Perfect Restorations, based in Antioch, and company owners ***** ******* ***** ****** and ***** ****** The lawsuit alleges Perfect Restorations marketed its services to homeowners in need of repairs after severe storms. The suit alleges the company required homeowners to make upfront installment payments ranging from $4,000 to $41,000, but when the contractors did incomplete or shoddy work, they refused to refund consumers." "Madigan's lawsuit asks the court to permanently ban the defendants from working in the home repair business in Illinois, cancel any pending contracts with homeowners and obtain restitution for affected consumers. The lawsuit also seeks to impose civil penalties on the defendants..." X ess sent this career criminal to my house and refuses to pay back the $1000 he stole from me.

Desired Settlement: Return of $9020.77, paid by Central Mutual Insurance Company. Return of $1000.00 Novack said was going toward my deductible.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/03/31) */ Mr. ********* signed a contract with Xess to repair his home in November 2013. Original paperwork signed by Mr. ********* and a deposit check of $9,020.77 in the name of Mr. & Mrs. ********* as well as XeSS was received to secure the contract in January 6th, 2014. Weather is a big factor in scheduling outside work and it was not possible to schedule the repairs on Mr. *********'s home earlier than mid Marc h 2014. On 3/07/14, we called Mr. ********* to schedule a starting date for his home repairs. Mr. ********* talked to our manager *** ***** a few times and finally decides to come into our office on 03/14/14 and explain to us his dealing with Mr. ******* Xess president assured him that because Xess was going to do the work on his home, Xess will take the loss of the $1,000 which was a check made out to Mr. ****** personally and not to Xess. Mr. ********* signed a personal check to Mr. ****** and has had a personal agreement with Mr. ****** that was not part of the original business deal. Why would Mr. ********* sign a personal check to someone he thought was an employee and not to the business he signed an agreement with? We understand that Mr. *********' s action created that unfortunate situation. *** ****** was hired by Xess as an independent contractor last year and has been released of his position beginning of this year. Mr. **** never purchased Perfect Restoration, that company was closed. On 03/19/14 Mr. ********* decided to cancel his contract with Xess. Xess agreed to send back to him any money collected by Xess and not to request the agreed upon cancellation fee from Mr. *********. Mr. ********* has received back all money ($9,020.77), he has paid to Xess to this day. It is very unfortunate that Mr. ********* and Mr. ****** made a personal deal while in business with Xess. Mr. ****** was hired as an independant contractor and he is no longer working with Xess. Mr. ********* referred to a law suit against Mr. ****** and as far as we know Mr. ****** cannot conduct his own business in Illinois. 3/31/14 info from business: Revision 04/01/14: A civil law suit was dismissed against Mr. ******. He can do business in Illinois Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/04/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I disagree. I did not have any "personal dealings" with Novak. All dealings were conducted with Xess Exteriors. Originally, I contacted the general phone number of Xess listed on the internet in October of 2013 and they sent ****** to give the estimate. He represented himself as "*** ****** of Xess Exteriors." The attached "Proposal/Agreement", a product of his initial estimate stating a date of loss on 9/30/2013, was executed on the letterhead of X-ess, "Authorized By" *** ******* whose name is printed and signed, directly under the title of "Xess Exteriors, Inc." Nowhere does it say ****** is an independent contractor, nor did ****** tell me so. Indeed, ****** always represented himself as the owner and president of Xess. When he would call he would identify himself as "*** ****** from X-ess Exteriors." When ****** would visit our home on a regular basis to discuss matters surrounding the work that was going to be done, answer our questions, show us the materials and colors that would be used for the roof and the siding projects, all of it was done as a representative, indeed, owner, of X-ess. His numerous emails to us used the address *******@gmail.com. Also, as evidence I had no personal financial dealings with ******* please see attached "Receipt for Funds" for "$9020.77 + $1000 deposit", on the letterhead of "X-ess Exteriors, Inc.", signed by ****** (which is the same signature as on the "Proposal/Agreement"). Again, nowhere is there evidence that ****** was an independent contractor. Is Xess denying that this is their receipt, signed by their representative? There are multiple reasons the $1000 check was written to ******* First, as I stated earlier, ****** lied on multiple occasions and stated he was the owner of X-ess, not an independent contractor or a mere employee. He stated the he was the president as well and that the check could be written in his name, given that it was his company. Second, ****** harassed my wife and I continually, calling us repeatedly, multiple times per day on the phone and banging on our door without an appointment to demand the money. What is most shocking is that all this occurred throughout the Christmas season and into the New Year's holiday. Furthermore, Xess did not call me first on 3/7/14 to schedule the work. I called at least two days prior to speak with ****** and to complain about the fact that nobody from Xess had contacted me since January ******* stole my money on 1/6/14, taking the check directly from my house and redeeming it for cash at my local bank). A representative told me ****** was no longer with Xess. I asked why. Later, representative ***** stated that ****** told many lies to many customers and that he was not an owner or president of Xess. Later ***** often stated that ****** "did not represent Xess", despite the fact that all documentation was written and signed on the letterhead of Xess. Further evidence contradicting Xess' response is a police report I filed regarding the missing funds. Officer Gore of the Grayslake PD contacted ****** by phone. Officer **** states that ****** admitted he took $500 of the $1000 check I wrote him and gave the remaining $500 to X-ess, per their prior agreement. Who is lying here: ****** or Xess? Officer **** stated on 3/20/14 that ****** is a "con-man." Also, why would Xess agree to "take the loss" on the $1000 if they did not feel responsible for sending a fraud my house who stole the money toward my deductible? Either they knew ****** was a fraud and were profiting from his activities, or Xess sent ****** here to steal my money and then split it with him, as Officer **** indicates. I cancelled my contract with Xess upon learning that ****** was a known fraud to the Illinois Attorney General (see attached press release dated May 13, 2013) and not supposed to be in the home repair business in Illinois. I was also horrified to discover that ********* previous business received an F rating on the BBB after the allegation of fraud by the Illinois Attorney General. (http://www.bbb.org/chicago/business-reviews/construction-and-remodeling-services/perfect-restorations-in-antioch-il-XXXXXXXX). I was also astonished that ****, purported president of Xess, admitted during a telephone conversation on 3/11/14 that not only was **** was aware of these investigations and charges by the Attorney General, but also that he had taken over the business of Perfect Restorations LLC the same company referred to above that received an F rating on the BBB. **** also admits that he had hired some of Perfect Restorations LLC's employees, including ******* It was also shocking to discover, during our personal meeting the week of 3/11, to hear ****'s minion describe ****** as a "sociopath". "However," he continued, ****** was also an "excellent salesman" and that people "trusted him". **** also admitted to me that he allowed ****** to prey on other customers, and that ****** had stolen their money as well, although I was the only one to document my theft with a personal check. **** and his minion told me during the 3/11 meeting that it was not the protocol of Xess to request funds toward the deductible until after all work is completed, further adding proof to an improper intent. The response from Xess is an evasion of responsibility. If they are aware of ****** cannot even conduct home repair business in Illinois because of proceedings of the Attorney General and the F rating on the BBB, why are they using ****** as an "independent contractor" in the first place? Did Xess purposely use ********* manipulative and fraudulent practices in order to conduct their own "storm chasing" abuses and defraud insurance companies and clients, and ramp up their own revenues? Why did Xess send ****** as an insurance adjuster, and why did ****** represent himself as an insurance adjustor, when the Attorney General stated he was not qualified to do so? If Xess was aware of ********* abuse and theft of customers, and omitted to act, then they are frauds themselves. Indeed, this is supported by ******'s statement to the Grayslake PD that he split the $1000 with **** and Xess. This would be a brilliant cover-up by Xess: send ****** to steal my money and then cover up the theft with the claim that I had "personal dealings" with ****** and at the same time distancing themselves from any relation to ******* If they were not aware during the act of ********* fraud but only discovered his intent after the theft of clients, then they are reckless and irresponsible and do not deserve an A+ rating on the BBB. Why didn't they conduct a background check to discover ******'s fraudulent past? I easily discovered ******'s criminal past with a simple internet search. Indeed, **** even admits in his 3/11 conversation with me that he knew of ******'s fraudulent past and took over his operations. Either way, Xess's concoction of stories about my "personal dealings" with ****** are a tactic to deflect their own fault and wrongs against their clients. Given Xess's evasive response to the defrauding of clients, I wonder what they are doing as an A+ rated company on the BBB. If people depend on this rating in order to conduct their business with trust and confidence, and yet A+ rated companies are sending known predators and frauds to people's houses to steal money, it the credibility of the BBB, not just that of Xess that is at risk. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/04/16) */ In response to the lengthy reply by Mr. *********, please have Mr. ********* contacts Xess' Lawyer: ********* ******** Law Offices of *** **** **** **** E. ******** ST, Suite *** Des Plaines Il XXXXX Tel#XXX-XXX-XXXX Thank you

1/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The installation of the roof was October 5th, 2013. Before that time, was a long three month period with little to no contact from a representative that guaranteed to have us happy. The roof was being replaced due to several leaks throughout the home and was partially going to be covered through insurance. After binding us into a contract, we were forced to wait on the installation. To minimize costs I agreed to remove the roof and have the company complete the installation. The installation itself was quick, and seemed to go well, however, none of the workers new any English and with no foreman to speak to I was forced to call customer service each time regarding any questions. While the legality, language, or professionalism of the roofers themselves are not my concern, the work that was done is. Two weeks after the installation of the roof I noticed a leak in the roof of my kitchen. In response to my inquiry about the leak, the company sent an employee to apply caulk to fix the problem. With today's rainfall we have seen again, the same leak present itself. We have not at any point received a call from the original representative, or anyone in the company, asking if the installation went well. In fact my ladder was taken by someone from their team, and the only response they had for that is that they could not find any ladders that were not theirs. This means no resolve for me and my wife who now have to replace it.

Desired Settlement: I do not expect to be refunded completely for the roofing. I am however looking to receive compensation for the ladder that is missing, and a discount for the work that was done. I am fine with paying for the cost of materials but nothing more, as the service I requested was done improperly, not once but twice.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/28) */ Construction was offered to Mr. ******** as soon as all documents were complete in his file. From mid august to mid September: We had to wait for the owner to send us a copy of his Insurance scope of work to keep within his budget. We had to wait for the owner to received financial approval for a loan. We have had several communications with the owner and answered any of his questions along the way. Work was scheduled weather permitting as soon as his file was complete. We also agreed to help the owner and let him tear off his own roof per his request. Owner actually could not finish the tear off and asked us on the day of construction to finish it. We also did email the final invoice to the owner and called him several times leaving voice mails for several weeks following the end of the roof completion without any call back from the owner. Several weeks later we did receive a call telling us about a missing ladder, we did do due diligence and asked every member of the roofing crew about it as well as checking the tools in the warehouse. The owner mentioned he knew the ladder was outside the whole week because he used it himself to tear off his roof and does not know when it disappears. We informed him of the result of our search. After a major storm in October we also receive a call from owner in October because there was a leak through the kitchen ceiling. After sending our roofer back it turned out that the original flashing around a skylight was leaking. Owner did not change any flashing around the skylights. We caulked it accordingly. It has been 2 months since the work has been completed and Owner has not paid us in full for the work done on his house. We keep an open communication and we never received additional calls regarding new leak. Owner is welcome to call us & we will repairs any problem without questions. We also would like to be paid for the work done & agreed upon. We have given the homeowner flexibility, communication, quality of work and any help he needed to achieve his goal. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/11/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I will address the response in sections to organize the response better. Installation time: While it is true that their was a period that we, the homeowners, were waiting for a response on a loan application, it took several calls on our behalf to find out the status of the application. Our representative, ****, was little to no help throughout the waiting process. After being denied financing through the roofing company, we made an attempt to make a deal with the company to make final payment when work was completed and insurance money was paid back. This was in no way to affect the installation process. The length of time it took for the installation to be completed was due to the negligence of ****, the representative who failed to uphold communication with us. The process only continued through my continuous communication with the customer service team itself. In regards to our ladder: I did not state that I did not know when the ladder was taken. The day the ladder was taken was the same day the installation of the gutters was completed. I stated that when I called back the roofing company in regards to the invoice I received. While I may not know the exact time of day it was taken, and by this time I have forgotten the exact date, I know it was the same day of the gutter installation. In regard to the final payment: I had only received one voice-mail in regards to the final invoice I received, and and email stating the complete amount owed. It does not show payments already made; our initial deposit, and additional payment made after status of loan application. The final payment has not been completed due to the work not being completed. I called twice regarding the repeat leak, and with no call back I made this complaint to the BBB. I still have a leak that has not been corrected properly, and thus the company will not receive final payment until it is remedied. This brings me to my conclusion. While some of the statements that were made by eXeSS exteriors were true to some extent, they still do not give resolve to the problems that I brought fourth. Our representative, ****, failed to keep a constant communication between us. This was a major cause in the delay of the installation. This again is not our major concern however. Our main concerns is the missing ladder that we want to be replaced or compensated for, and the leak to be properly corrected without any further problems. We do appreciate work that has been completed, including the additional tear-off done on such short notice. We are just looking for this to be finalized. We feel we have been more than patient throughout the installation process. The company has our phone number and email. A final invoice showing the proper amount owed, after previous payments made. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/12/19) */ We have contacted & met with Mr. ******** and what he thought was a new leak was not. Mr. ******** was referring to the water spot of the past leak that was already repaired on 12/12/13. We have also received a new phone number from Mr. ******** to be able to contact him. The number we were using was for his wife and that is were we left numerous voice mails. All work is complete. We will be sending him a new invoice showing past payment via email in the coming day.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

10 Customer Reviews on Exess Exterior Corp.
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart