Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

DNS Exterior, Inc

Phone: (630) 361-3070 Fax: (708) 949-8971 17011 Cheyenne Ct, Lockport, IL 60441 View Additional Email Addresses http://dnsexterior.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

DNS Exterior Inc. is an exterior contractor for both residential and commercial customers. This business is located in Lockport, IL, and serves the southern Chicago suburbs including Bolingbrook, Romeoville, Joliet, Crest Hill, Fairmont, Manhattan, New Lenox, Tinley Park, Wilmington, Elwood, Shorewood, Plattville, Kankakee, Coal City, Braidwood, Frankfort, Homewood, Chicago Heights, Naperville, Plainview, Orland Park, Blue Island, Oak Lawn, Aurora, Yorkville, Plano, and Oswego. This company provides exterior contracting including but not limited to siding, roofing, window and door installation and service, gutters and downspouts, soffit and fascia, gutter leaf guards, kitchen and bathroom remodeling including bathliners, showerliners, shower bases, wall surrounds, and shower enclosures.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that DNS Exterior, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for DNS Exterior, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on DNS Exterior, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 28, 2008 Business started: 03/01/2003 in IL Business started locally: 03/01/2003 Business incorporated 03/21/2003 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Januski, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Januski, President
Business Category

Contractors - General Gutters & Downspouts Gutter Cleaning Contractors - Gutters Siding Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Bath Liners Doors Doors - Patio Doors - Vinyl Shingles Siding Materials Storm Windows & Doors Windows Windows - Wells & Covers Windows - Wood Windows - Vinyl Storm Windows & Doors - Repair Windows - Repairing Soffit & Fascia New Single-Family Housing Construction (except For-Sale Builders) (NAICS: 236115)

Products & Services

Siding, Windows, Roofing, Gutters & Bath Liners.


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a contract with DNS Exteriors Inc. on 6-07-2014. contract was to replace front wood porch and steps. The existing porch was starting to rot and leak into the basement. The porch was to be replaced with same material plus underlayment. after replacing front porch with deck material our porch leaks more than it did before it was replaced. the work was completed on 8-22-2014. Mr. ****, the project manager was paid 5400.00 at that time. the person that installed the porch told me that the material (tongue and groove) was not made anymore so that's why he used deck material. now that the deck lumber is drying it is leaking into our basement anytime it gets wet. I have tried to call Mr **** many times with no response back. His salesman did call me but he was no help. I have also called the company's phone number twice and only was able to leave a message and have yet to hear back from them. Contract states a lifetime warranty. Product_Or_Service: home improvement agreement

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I would like to have Mr. **** contact me to resolve this situation. The company needs to replace the porch floor or refund part of my money so I can hire someone else to do the job.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/12/31) */ we have received the complaint and respectfully disagree with the problem. Our company replaced a wooden deck in place of a wooden deck. The deck looks great and doing its job. The issue is that the original deck is built over a section of the basement. Unfortunately, anytime it rains, there will always be leakage. There is no way this can be prevented 100%. Our company offers a lifetime warranty on any decking problems or issues. But we never offered any anti leakage warranty. It is impossible to have a deck that doesnt have a little seepage. I just want to say the customer is a great guy and i feel bad he is not happy. If he ever has any decking issues our company will be there 100%. We just can't help regarding leakage through the deck. Thank you for your time. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/01/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First I would like to thank the BBB for responding to my complaint. If dns would have replaced my wooden porch with porch material instead of deck material it would have solved the problem. I was told that porch lumber was no longer made by the carpenter that replaced the porch. Tongue and groove porch lumber is sold by Menards. My porch leaks much more now than before. I am going to have to hire another contractor replace this deck lumber with the proper material. If dns did not know what they were doing they should never have accepted the job

2/2/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July, 2011 we purchased windows for our entire house. The windows were not installed until November, 2011. At the time of the installation there were 2 faulty windows that had to be replaced. Those windows were not replaced for 2 months. In 2012 we discovered 2 more faulty windows. It took multiple calls and messages to get someone out here to look at the windows and another 2 months to get them replaced. In 2013 we had issues again and again multiple calls and messages before any even acknowledged us. In July of this year I contacted them yet again about 2 bad windows. No response. In August I followed up. I received a response on 8/20/14 stating that they would get back to me the next day. Someone came out to measure a couple of weeks later. He remembered us because he was on the original install and knew of all the problems we had. He said the windows would be ordered right away. I didn't hear anything after that so on 9/29/14 I left another message. We have not heard from them. It has been 3 months. Today we discovered yet another bad window. DNS Exterior sold us the windows and installed them. The windows are made by Armaclad. Back in 2013 I tried contacting ******** but they were not responsive. DNS told us to deal with them. The windows are obviously not very good quality. We spent almost $15,000 and thought we were getting good windows. Each time they have come out to replace a faulty window they tell us not to worry because they are guaranteed for life. The guarantee doesn't do much good if they don't respond. Product_Or_Service: Windows

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund We feel that the windows need to be replaced. They are obviously going to continue to fail. We are not comfortable dealing with DNS or ******** and don't feel that having them replace the windows would solve anything. Their customer service is awful and the product is too.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/11/19) */ yes, there is no dispute on customers complaint. unfortunately, the window company has gone out of business recently (www.***************.com)...so, we are trying to find another window manufacturer to make the same size of bad windows...i should know in the next couple weeks, and will contact customer to replace..my apologies, **** at dns exterior inc. Consumer Response /* (3000, 15, 2015/01/12) */ 1/7/15 I understand that the manufacturer of the windows has closed it's doors and is no longer in business. However, we did not buy the windows from them. We bought the windows from DNS Exterior and feel they owe us something. Obviously the damaged windows are not going to be replaced and we should be compensated. Based on the performance of these windows so far, I would anticipate more problems in the future. Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2015/01/21) */ i found a company that will be able to match the same size of glass to replace the bad glass on windows...since it has been awhile, i am going to contact the homeowner to have my installer stop by one more time and find out all the bad windows to replace...our company is shutdown til feb. 15 because of winter..i will be contacting the homeowner in feb. 15 to schedule an appointment. Thank you for your time

9/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I contacted them after many failed attempts they finally returned my call and said that they would snd a guy out to investigate,but no one ever showed up. After three or four more attempts and leaving messages,a different person called me back and said that he felt the problem was related to the cold winter that we had,but that he would send a guy out to investigate in the next two days. It has been over a week since I spoke to him still no one has come out, obviously there is a problem with their workmanship or they would do as they say in stead of dodging my calls and not responding to my problem.

Desired Settlement: my roof to be repaiede to my satisfaction and to industry standards. or the money to hire another contractor to make the repairs necseeary.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (4001, 14, 2014/08/22) */ the customer issue has been fixed a long time ago. we thought we already sent a response to the BBB. The customer is fine with the repair, and everything is rectified.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on DNS Exterior, Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)