Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Dardon Construction

Phone: (773) 627-4800 Fax: (847) 947-2583 5144 N Long Ave, Chicago, IL 60630 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.dardonconstruction.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Dardon Construction Inc. is a general contractor specializing in remodeling and roofing services for residential customers. This company serves the greater Chicagoland area, including Joliet, Naperville, Berwyn, Cicero, Bellwood, Rosemont, Roselle, Itasca, Medinah, Evanston, Skokie, Niles, Lincolnwood, Park Ridge, Burbank, Evergreen Park, Oak Park, Oak Lawn, Elmwood Park, Melrose Park, Franklin Park, Schiller Park, Northlake, Stone Park, Brookfield, La Grange, La Grange Park, Bensenville, Stickney, Lyons, Elk Grove Village, Broadview, Berkeley, Westchester, Riverside, Summit, Morton Grove, Des Plaines, Bridgeview, Oakbrook Terrace, Oak Brook, and Norridge. Services available from this company include roofing installation, siding installation, new construction, remodeling and renovation, fascia and soffit installation, tuck pointing, concrete, fire and water restoration and brick work.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dardon Construction meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Dardon Construction include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Dardon Construction
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 15, 2009 Business started: 12/01/1969 in IL Business started locally: 10/24/2005 Business incorporated 10/24/2005 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

City of Chicago
121 N La Salle St # 604, Chicago IL 60602
cityclerk@cityofchicago.org

Chicago Department of Consumer Services
50 W. Washington St., Room 208, Chicago IL 60602
http://www.cityofchicago.org/ConsumerServices
Phone Number: (312) 744-4006

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Elvis Dardon, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Elvis Dardon, President
Business Category

Contractors - General Contractor - Remodel & Repair Gutters & Downspouts Home Improvements Mason Contractors Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Basement - Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling Brick - Concrete, Pumice Doors Windows Fire & Water Damage Restoration Contractor - Commercial Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Carpenters Concrete Contractors New Single-Family Housing Construction (except For-Sale Builders) (NAICS: 236115)

Products & Services

Dardon Construction sells the following brand(s): Finance option available by Synchrony Bank.

Method(s) of Payment
We accept major credit cards.
Alternate Business Names
Dardon Construction Inc.

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/26/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9/13/14 Mr ****** completed few renovations around my property that included my front step which had to be re-done with cement in addition to building a sidewalk platform (porch). On 10/25/14, I informed Mr. ****** that the cement work was cracking on my front steps;it was barely one month. On 11/13/15 he sent a crew to complete the repairs.As the crew worked, I noticed that they were just putting some type of liquid cement painting over the cracks. I questioned the durability since it just seemed painting over to cosmetically fix the problem. Mr. ****** said that it was Hydraulic cement and that it was the best way to fix the cracks. I trusted him, and went on to welcome winter that year. On 03/09/15 as the snow melted away. I noticed chunks of cement breaking away from my steps and sidewalk platform. I immediately text Mr. ****** to make him aware of the issue. I also included pictures on the text. He responded the same day, telling me that he had stop by and was getting ready to send his crew again. I kindly thanked him. On 04/01/15 I called him since no one had come to fix the issue. He text me back the same day that he will be calling me. On 04/02/15 I text Mr. ****** stating that I felt he was avoiding me.On 04/08/15 He responded that he will be stopping by, he was just waiting for the weather to be better. He never came. I began calling him during all this time and he didnt answered my calls. On 04/22/15 I decided to call him from my work phone number, since he didn't recognized the number, he answered. I told him that when was he planning to stop by. He apologized and confirmed that that everything was set for his crew to come on 05/01/15. I was excited and thanked him once again. Disappointingly, he never showed up. Ever since he hasn't answer my calls or text messages. I called BBB on 5/4/15 for advise. I told the rep. that I see he had an A grading, and therefore I was going to give him a chance before reporting him. I called him on 05/08/15 and on 05/09/15 I left a voicemail telling him that it was the last time I was calling him, and that I was planning to report his company. He still hasn't call me back. At this point all I want is my money back to have a another company to fix my steps. There are a lot of pieces of cement at this point falling off, and as I mom, I fear the safety of this steps. I have patiently waited for him, but i see that he is not planning to fix the problem. Also, when we originally hired him, he mentioned to me that he hill be having a truck that brings cement come to my house to pour the cement. However, His crew mixed the cement themselves on my driveway. Mr. ****** was very deceiving, I trusted him because he was very kind and respectful every time I talked to him. At this point, I feel that if he decided to fix it again it will be temporarily and everything will happen again. I want the 3500.00 dollars back which was the estimated value of the cement work. For the record, Mr. ****** told me that those steps will be good for 10 years guaranteed. Part of the contract also stated that the cement porch will be removed, however his crew only pour cement on top of the existing one. Mr. ****** lied on his own contract.

Desired Settlement: Our contract was for $5500.00 dollars, cement work was estimated for around $3500.00. I don't want Mr. ****** repairing the porch anymore since I feel that he will just cosmetically repair it again, plus i gave him enough time to fix it. I've initially wanted him to break it all down and re- do it properly like stated in the contract, but he doesn't want to honor.I've paid for a brand new cement porch, and he what his crew did was to add cement on top of the old one, that is the reason why the new cement is falling off. The few inches of new cement is cracking because is basically superficially sitting on the top of the old one. Therefore, I just want my money back, so that I can have another contractor do the work correctly. I trusted Mr. ****** because he has a A grading with the BBB and his company is accredited.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/13) */ Rhttps://chicago.ebindr.com/ebindr/images/icons16x/redact-one.gifE: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#XX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX) 1 message ***** ****** <*******@hotmail.com> Tue, May 12, 2015 at 8:52 PM To: Better Business Bureau Do Not Reply To This Email Address <***********@**********.com>, "********@chicago.bbb.org" <********@chicago.bbb.org> Hi, this is ***** ****** from ****** Construction. First off, I wanted to thank you for the email today and for being there when something like this happens. I got in touch with Mrs. ***** and her husband **** today and i told them that we will go back tomorrow to tear down the stairs we built and that we will re-do the concrete porch on thursday. We all agreed and we will take care of it in the next couple of days. I am sending another email with copies of the text msgs we interchanged today. Again, thank you for watching my back !!!! Regards, ***** ****** ****** Construction Inc. Roofing Contractor & General Contractor main XXX-XXX-XXXX fx XXX-XXX-XXXX "Quality and Honesty since 1,969." www.dardonconstruction.com


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Dardon Construction
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)