Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Cardinal Construction Company, Inc.

Phone: (708) 699-7444 View Additional Phone Numbers 1275 W Roosevelt Rd Ste 118, West Chicago, IL 60185

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cardinal Construction Company, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Cardinal Construction Company, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 10, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1995 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/1995 Business incorporated 06/11/1996 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Public Health
122 S. Michigan Avenue, Chicago IL 60603
Phone Number: (312) 814-2608

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Bob Schaefer, Owner Ms. Leigh Ann Kearns, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bob Schaefer, Owner
Related Businesses
Cardinal Construction Concepts, Inc.
Business Category

Contractors - General Basement - Contractors Contractor - Remodel & Repair Demolition Contractors Drywall Contractors Excavating Contractors Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing Foundation Contractors Home Improvements Mason Contractors Patio & Deck Builders Deck Builders Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Brick Pavers Roofing Contractors Commercial Roofing Contractor - Metal Roofing Contractor - Tile Roofing Siding Contractors Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Tuck Pointing Construction & Remodeling Services Basement - Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling Remodeling Services Remodeling Services - Foreclosed Property Windows - Installation & Service Hardwood Floor Contractors Property Maintenance Building Maintenance Concrete - Stamped & Decorative Doors - Installation Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Windows Construction Management Fire & Water Damage Restoration Fire Damage Restoration Water Damage Restoration Home Design & Planning Contractor - Flat Roof Contractors - Flooring Kitchen Remodeling Kitchen & Bath Design Building Contractors Design & Build Contractor Concrete Contractors Construction Estimates New Single-Family Housing Construction (except For-Sale Builders) (NAICS: 236115)

Alternate Business Names
Cardinal Construction Corporation

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Cardinal Construction Company, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1275 W Roosevelt Rd Ste 118

    West Chicago, IL 60185 (708) 699-7444 (630) 232-9532


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/8/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cardinal Construction was contracted in September to build the following: a patio (completed in November) Steps off deck to patio- incomplete Outdoor lighting on patio- incomplete Install fire pit- incomplete Pour concrete lip next to garage- incomplete Numerous attempts have been made on my behalf to contact Bob ******** with Cardinal Concrete and his responses continue to claim various excuses why the work hasn't been completed.

11/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered or contracted for the replacement of double doors for our home on 4/26/2015 with promise of delivery in about 2 months. Since that time we have had over 8 promised dates - generally of "2 weeks" - each after a missed promised date and to date no delivery of doors or service. The repeated recent excuses are that his brother's business is to busy to stain doors and that he has been busy. He told us that the doors would be in today 10/21/15. He also said the doors had been delivered to his brother's business at **** *****, Schauberg, il. unit 5 I've repeatedly asked for proof of delivery and for proof he paid for the doors and have been repeatedly told the papers were in his office at home and he would fax them to me. He (and his wife) came to our house to talk and excuse the delay and promised delivery and installation for 8:30 a.m. to 9 a.m. today.

Desired Settlement: We want a refund of our $7,712.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: Bob ********
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ************************
Today was the day for the installation of the front door.
I've been at CDH hospital with my wife since Thursday morning.
She got released last night.

She had sever medical issues and was in the Hospital for 6-Days.
My lack of calling you was a issue do to this. I've been at hospital and back and forth to watch and get kids off to school ect.

I had someone take over for a few days and they were not aware of you job.
Which i conveyed to them to contact you on what was going on.

I've been working out of the hospital and very little time at the office. Do to this matter.

Today at 10:00 was the follow up appointment with her regular doctor to go over her new medication and diet. With a sever Stomach and Colon issue with a procedure on Sunday for internal bleeding.

I have had many issues on my mind and sending you this email to let you know what was going on.

My wife and family come first and not much more was on my mind. Or more important than the immediate attention to my family needs.

I do understand that you were on the schedule for today.
Also the information was not conveyed to you sooner with many jobs. My guys had to fill in for in my absence.
This may seem to be made up in nature. But i can assure you it is Not.

We need to make another date to install the door for the last time.
Due to the problems at hand and the delays on the job.

I propose that you allow me complete the work in a timely manner.

All the money out of your pocket is for your door.

All other work will be completed for you with No Charge to you!

Please advise me what you decide. I think this is a great solution to the problem and for the delay on project.

Bob ********

10/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 17, 2013 we signed work contract with Cardinal Construction (CC) (owner *** ********) for installation of concrete driveway, back patio, front entrance walkway, and driveway-adjoining side walkway. We placed $2,000 down. CC said they could get job done by following week or two. Did not hear back after 3 weeks during which our check of $2,000 was cashed. We called CC and they finally came out on 8/16/13 to do job and completed job on Saturday 8/17/13, under the supervision/leadership of *** ***** Afterwards, *** informed us that the type of concrete used does not need to be sealed. We noticed a crack in the concrete located in the driveway-adjoining side walkway October 31, 2013. In first week of November, I called *** **** to inform about the crack. *** stated that to call him back in February and they would be out to repair it, no charge. *** stated that because of the cold weather season they could not repair it now but would be able to in February or when the weather started to warm up. I called *** back in late February at which time he said the ground is still frozen and to call him back in 2 months. During 2 month period in March, another crack in front walkway appeared. I called *** in the beginning of April to discuss time for him to come out to repair crack and to inform him about second crack that had developed. I left a voicemail message. He called back within 10 minutes, but then stated abruptly that he had to call me back in 5 minutes. He never called back. On April 23, 2014 my wife called the owner of CC *** ******** to complain about why the repair job was not completed and why we did not hear back from *** or him. *** stated that this was the first time he was hearing about it. We detailed both crack problems and sent him photos of both cracks. *** stated via text message that he talked to *** and that *** would be calling us. *** never called us to this day. After further text messages with my wife on April 23, 2014 with ***, he texted at 7:10pm that he would be in ********** next day (April 24, 2014) "tomorrow to fix a deck. The day will be spiractic with the rain. But will get there. I will call you on way. If your not home I will look and give you a honest answer" After my wife text messaged him my cell number, *** texted back "ok I will be out." He never showed up on April 24th nor contacted us. I texted him back in first week in May and he texted back that he would get the repair job done by either the end of May or at the latest, end of June. I texted back ok. During the month of May, a new crack appeared in our back patio. On June 20, I texted *** to give me a specific date that the repair job would be done in order to plan our schedule. *** replied via text, "I will. This weather is killing me ****. I will keep you updated. *** gave no updates, no calls, no contact past June. On July 9, 2014, I again texted *** to give me an exact date when this job would be done, that we were tired of waiting with no response. *** responded at 10:52 am on July 9, 2014 "I getting there when I can. I have a ton of stuff not getting done because of all the rain delays. I will get to you. I'm going to get back in area couple weeks. Will get it done..Thanks" After texting him that I'll look forward to seeing him in 2 weeks he texted, "Ok I will do it." *** never contacted us nor showed up after 2 weeks from July 9. On August 9, I texted *** one last time that I would be off from work on Friday the 15th and Monday August 18th and asked, "Can you and your crew be out here on one of those days? *** texted back, "Send me your address again. I will be out on Monday or Tuesday to get it cut out. Sure should be able to." I texted him our home address (which we have done many times before this). On Monday April 18, 2014 at 9:24am I texted *** for exact time he or his crew would be out to do repair job. *** did not return text, did not call and did not show up on Monday August 18 nor on Tuesday August 19th.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of cracked/damaged concrete with better quality workmanship and material on all 3 cracks in a timely manner.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/29) */ I ****** ********. Went into contract July 17th 2013. At Which time we stated 1-2 Weeks depending on the weather.Wel we called 3- weeks later to tel her we would be out the folling week. Which we were starting the project. We started working on the removal of Drive and Walkway. We completed the Job in 1-Day and was cleaned up as well.We also Repaired her exiting drive as a favor and at no profit. Well come November calling *** and NOT the Office! At the time we were having the worst weather on record and that cracking of the concrete was do to all the rain. Then Frezzing Weather. The New concrete was directy effected in a major way and like many others that had the same effect. I spoke with owner and told them around the end of July we would be wiling to fix the Walk were there was the most damaged. Note: Keep in Mind we DO NOT Warranty Concrete and for this reason. Concrete will Crack!! But in her case it would be taking care of. But let me do it when im in area so we both do not accure more costs. Now on Tuesday the 19th of August *** went there for a look on way to Dealer. Said to me ok lets get her done. But only cutting out 1-Square of Walkway.NOT the extra 2-Small cracks not under any warranty! Now We have had Major Rain.This year We have NOT been able to keep and time slot for anyone let alone the fixes for no charge! Then they went to BBB on "A" No Warranty and "B" 3-Days after we were there. In XXXX-XXXX had the worse weather on record and Hardest winter for 20+ years! Now keep in mind this Weather and a ton of rain. I told him rest assuered that we will get on it with the right conditions. I have been in contact with them this whole time, By word or Text. Which i do use to keep track of Issues as they arise!(Now Everyone is very busy this year with the slow start of the year (XXXX)I spoke with Owners on August 26th 2014. A bit aggrevaited and told them we would start but on My terms and weather conditions!! NOTE: Wet and Heavy Rains in the forcast has Directly Affected this years planning, Time Schdules and Customers that we Had put off all year long! Not to menchen the Return customers from last year that were effected by the Extreme Weather! We are trying to get to all in a timey manner. We have only had 3- 90 Degree temps all year with More rain days than work days. This is a **** in the concrete world.. Please keep in mind this is a Curtusy and Favor not a must. Also woud like to remove and finsh in 1-Day! Not returning to Pour and clean up.. Also this is set up for a fix asap! NOTE:Depending on Wheather of course!! Sincerely, *** ******** Cardinal Construction Corp. PS.Please have customer make a accurate Report! Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We stick by our accurate report of events. We understand that weather conditions is a factor, but when we notified and showed pictures of the crack on the walkway on April 23, 2014, *** texted "When did this get poured? What's the address I will look at it." At that time and after repeated times he said he would come out, he never did. *** also texted that day after seeing the pictures, "Why is that downspout like that". (which was over the concrete) "I don't like that" "Too much rain water. May have settled the stone more than it should have.." We responded, "The downspout was like that when the concrete was poured so Sam already knew it was positioned like that." *** responded, "That needs to go under the sidewalk!" So our complaint is also based on fact that as professional experts, *** and his crew should have placed the downspout under the concrete or at least consulted with us on this. So this walkway crack was not only due to the inclement weather but it was also significantly due to oversight on the downspout location. *** in his response stated that he has been in contact with us the whole time-that is inaccurate. We initiated the texts/contact. He also stated that his staff *** came out on the 19th to take a look at it. Our question is why didn't *** knock on our door or call us to let us know he was at our house and looked at it so we can communicate more clearly. The reason we initiated a BBB complaint was because again *** did not do what he said he was going to do. So after 3 days after he said he was going to come out on the 19th, (and then not hearing from anyone-*** or *** or whoever even though he reported that *** did come out) we filed a complaint. In recent text exchanges after our filed BBB complaint, *** texted, " I understand your concern I will check with everyone on near by jobs but again weather is an issue with all this rain and it's going from Hot days to. 40* nights and we don't want more issues." So we respect and understand that other jobs have been delayed. We want 1) initiated contact from *** or *** or whoever *** appoints to do the job; 2) to be given a specific week/day/date that the repair job will be completed so we can arrange our schedules. We do not want to go through waiting process again. 3) The job to be completed on the date that *** arranges for it to be done. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/09/22) */ On XX-XX-XX I received a text from her @ 8:40 pm and I explained that I never received a reply from my tect to her on XX-XX-XX and told her that we have had severe weather and there have been recurds indicating that even Lake Michigan has a record high of 19" higher than last years record high from 2013 and the previous week it rained for only 6 hours and accumulated 2". I explained that even on our own home we have foundation cracks that have not been repaired in 1 1/2 years with all if this weather which pushed our Contracroswe off and I have no problem fitting her into our schedule when we are in the area and she replied thank-you for fitting us in as weather permits. She will be in contact with me once a week and see how are schedule looks. I replied that sounds good and she thanked me and we are going to be communicating on a regular basis to get out there and repair the issue and she agreed to retract this issue from the BBB when we are out there working.

7/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: contract to build a pool deck was signed on 6/11/14. I filed for a building permit and was contacted by the village on 6/17/14, they requested a meeting with the contractor (CC) and myself to review code requirements. I notified CC of this. After 10 days and several attempts to have CC meet with the village I was unsuccessful. I expressed my concerns to CC via email and he responded via text- ultimately, he offered my money back and I accepted on 6/26/14. Since then i have not received the refund nor has he responded to any of my emails, texts, calls.

Desired Settlement: All I want is my $1,800 deposit back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/07/28) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ********. President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************************ Agreed. We did enter into contract. Time restrictions were placed on the job. Unfortunately we're we unable to comply. Customer was looking for a much faster build. That being said. We refunded his money in Full. Any notation made should be removed and in good faith customer to remove any and all notation and or issues regarding this matter. Sincerely, *** ******** Cardinal Construction Corp. XXX-XXX-XXXX Moblie XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Cardinal Construction Company, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart