Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Budget Construction

Phone: (773) 283-9200 Fax: (773) 283-9537 5334 N Kedzie Ave, Chicago, IL 60625 http://www.budgetconstructioncompany.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Budget Construction meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Budget Construction include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Budget Construction
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1975 Business started: 02/01/1975 in IL Business started locally: 02/01/1975 Business incorporated 02/05/1975 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Donald Schneider, President Ms. Venus Roman, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Donald Schneider, President
Business Category

Contractors - General Gutters & Downspouts Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions Patio & Deck Builders Deck Builders Deck - Repair Patio Design Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Siding Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Bathroom Remodeling Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Cabinet Equipment & Supplies Granite Bathroom Accessories Baths - Equipment & Supplies Cabinets Countertops Cabinet Hardware Plumbing Fixtures, Parts, Supplies - Retail Windows - Wood Windows - Vinyl Baths Home Design & Planning Kitchen Remodeling Kitchen & Bath Design New Single-Family Housing Construction (except For-Sale Builders) (NAICS: 236115)

Alternate Business Names
American Home Remodeling Club, Inc. Budget Construction Co.

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On or about November 2013, Budget was contracted to remove an enclosed sun porch, and build a deck in its place. On or approximately May 2014, Budget was contacted and asked if they planned on completing the work, I was told that they no longer wanted to business with me. On or approximately July 2015, I was contacted by the Village of South Holland. They told me that the permit had expired and they also noticed that a deck was never built according to their records. On or approximately, January 2016, I was contacted by the Village of South Holland to verify that the deck problem had been resolved. I told them that it had not been resolved, and that the company walked away with $6500 without any further work being performed. The workers left my backyard in a mess, debris all over the yard, nails, metal particles, etc. I hired someone to clean-up the mess and to put gravel rock in the hole that was left in the backyard. It has truly been very difficult trying to reach out to this company for the completion of the work promised.

Desired Settlement: I am asking the company to complete the work and to offer a discount since no one has returned any of my phone calls and I was left with debris in my backyard. I believe that Budget can complete a deck for me at approximately $2500.

Business Response:

In regards to the letter received from Mrs. ******* ********: prior to this notice Budget has had no contacted with Mrs. ******** in the past 21/2 years. Budget had a contract agreement of $11,500 and only received a total of $6,000. As the work commenced Mrs. ******** was not able to meet payments as scheduled. Budget started the project and completed work that equaled amount received. Per Mrs. ********’s direction due to the lack of funds the project was not continued. We made contact with Mrs. ******** and are attempting to resolve the misunderstanding.


Business Response:

The owner of Budget Construction Donald ********* met with Mrs. ******** and they both agreed that this was a total misunderstanding both Mrs. ******** and Mr. ********* are completely satisfied with the outcome.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I did meet with Mr* ********* on Tuesday of last week. We  discussed the original work to be performed and cleared up the misunderstanding regarding the work that needs to be completed. At this time I am reluctant to have the BBB to close my claim until the financial agreement between Mr* ********* and myself has been finalized. We both agreed that we will meet Wednesday, May 11, 2016. I will be willing to close my complaint once the financial obligation has been met.

Sincerely,

******* ********

8/25/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 11, 2015 I sent a letter to the owner of Budget Construction, Don *********. As of August 23, I have had no response from anyone at Budget whatsoever. From the get go, there was poor communication on the part of Budget Construction employees, despite my repeated efforts to clarify the remodeling process, especially regarding the budget for the purchasing of materials and the obtaining of permits. The overall gist of my complaint is in terms of poor customer service from the workers, who were unprofessional, disrespectful and vulgar towards me and my home. They splattered paint on my sidewalk, back porch and bathroom door. They pulled-up and used my garden pavers without asking to hold down the tarp they used to cover the debris that sat in my yard for a week. They piled that debris on top of my Hosta plants, despite my multiple requests for an alternative dumping spot, ruining my plants in the process. They took multiple smoking breaks in the yard and just tossed their cigarette butts in the grass, which then took me several hours of my time to pick them all up. One worker went so far as to tell 2 extremely vulgar jokes to me, despite my attempts to ignore him and acted inappropriately, bordering on sexual harassment.

Desired Settlement: A response and acknowledgment of my complaint would be appreciated, as would an apology for the unprofessional behavior and sloppy work of their employees.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/25) */ Contact Name and Title: Donald *********-Owner Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: don@budgetconstructioncompany.com When we got the letter from Ms. ****** we were amazed about what she said. We were very upset and couldn't believe this. We reprimanded the carpenters and told them to call Ms. ****** to apologize. At that particular time the owner of the company got very sick with the shingles and was going to call Ms. ****** once he returned back to work. The owner spoke with Ms. ****** on Monday 8-24-15 He apologized and told her our regrets and whatever we can do to make her happy we would do. We also had the carpenter apologize to her. We feel that we conversed with Ms. ****** and came to an amicable agreement.

4/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Estimate was done August 7, 2013. Work to be done included: porch deck, stairs, posts, roof, railings and door. Total cost estimate was $19,900 not including permits. Work was started in December and completed in March. Due to the property being in an historical district (Ukrainian Village) all work had to be cleared through them. Items not allowed to be replaced were as follows: posts, roof and railings. Porch deck, stairs and door were replaced, roof had molding and 1 panel replaced. No other work was done as of this date, April 7, 2014. 3 checks were written to Budget totaling the amount of $22,900. I feel I have paid for work and materials not done or used. A representative (Michael Rose)for Budget was contacted Monday, March 24, 2014 and he said he was going to come to the house to rectify the situation, however, he has not contacted me as of this date.

Desired Settlement: I would like either a refund or unspecified work to be done, equal to the undone work.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/09) */ We spoke with Mr. ****** today in regards to his concerns. There was a misunderstanding of when ******* was suppose to contact him. ******* was out of town for 10 days. He returned on Monday April 7, 2014. He tried contacting the customer on Tuesday but the letter was already sent to the Better Business Bureau. Mr. ****** is now pleased that we will be taking care of his concerns. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (450, 7, 2014/04/09) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: Appointment has been made to rectify the complaint, which really stemmed from miscommunication. Budget Construction has replied in an expedient and reassuring manner and I have little doubt the matter will be taken care of to my satisfaction. Thank you.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Budget Construction
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)