Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

American Thermal Window Products, Inc.

Phone: (773) 774-3131 Fax: (773) 775-2201 5304 N Milwaukee Ave, Chicago, IL 60630 http://www.americanthermalwindow.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Thermal Window Products, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Thermal Window Products, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on American Thermal Window Products, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1981 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/1981 Business incorporated 01/01/1981 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Iver Johnson, President Ms. Andrea Jager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Iver Johnson, President
Business Category

Contractors - General Gutters & Downspouts Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Windows - Installation & Service Doors Storm Windows & Doors New Single-Family Housing Construction (except For-Sale Builders) (NAICS: 236115)

Alternate Business Names
I.C. Johnson & Associates, Inc. Sahara Window and Doors

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

American Thermal Window Products, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5304 N Milwaukee Ave

    Chicago, IL 60630

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: June 27 2002. Owner, **** ******* and Son. Had to replace about 4/5 defective windows within a year of installation.The gases between panes were inferior and discoloring the windows. Have had drafts in numerous windows, and when kitchen was remodelled in 2013, my contractor stated that American Thermal never installed any insulation in my two kitchen windows. I believe that is why I am getting drafts in my bedroom and living room windows during the winter with cold air seeping in. There is probably no insulation there either.

Desired Settlement: Would like new windows with insulation as they stated on contract. Will have an inspector on premise when this job is done. I live alone and am female and felt I was taken advantage of as a customer.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/08/04) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ***** Office Manag Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@americanthermalwindow.com Our service man and inspector arrived at Ms. ******'s home on Thursday, July 31st to investigate her claims. We pulled the flashing off the windows we installed and discovered that there was in fact insulation around the windows in the openings. **** showed the customer and she agreed that there was insulation, I have attached one picture to show insulation. That day we put additional foam insulation into the openings, even though there was already insulation existing. We reflashed all the exteriors and recaulked to the brick. There are a couple windows left to complete, which the customer is ok with. We have never replaced defective windows here, that would imply complete replacement. In the past the customer has had glass replacement done due to a seal break in the glass causing the argon gas to leak out. Those are simple warranty issues and the glass is provided by the manufacturer and swapped out in a matter of minutes. It does not mean the window is defective. We discovered while on site that she has a seal failure in one window currently, which will be replaced under warranty. The system would only allow me to add one picture, but I also have pictures of the foam injected around the window and the finished product on file.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on American Thermal Window Products, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart