Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that All Around Construction Co meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for All Around Construction Co include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on All Around Construction Co
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 29, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1984 Business started locally: 01/01/1984
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. John Kordecki, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Kordecki, Owner
Business Category

Contractors - General Basement - Contractors Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions Construction & Remodeling Services Basement - Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling New Single-Family Housing Construction (except For-Sale Builders) (NAICS: 236115)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

All Around Construction Co has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1707 N Verde Ave

    Arlington Heights, IL 60004

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/10/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 9, 2013 I spoke on the phone to **** ********, owner of All Around Construction in regards to scheduling a time for him to come to my home and fix the items still not complete. **** ******** behaved very unprofessionally on the phone, so I told him if things were not going to be fixed I would contact my lawyer. He said, "Don't threaten me" then told me to go ahead and call my lawyer and hung up on me. I went to visit a lawyer on September 9, 2013. He told me to write the company a final letter giving them 14 days to have the three tasks I listed in the letter complete. The three tasks were as follows: 1. Fix the leaking pipe under the kitchen sink. 2. Patch the hole in the garage wall caused by employees of All Around Construction while moving granite. 3. Reconnect the house security system and the front door that was disconnected during installation of the front door. I sent the letter on September 11, 2013. The company is in Arlington Heights so they received this letter no later than September 13, 2013. I was not contacted again until until September 24, 2013 via email instead of by phone like my letter had specified. I did not list my email as my contact information on the letter I wrote the company on September 11, 2013. I listed my telephone number. Therefore my phone number is the method of communication that should have been used to contact me. Instead I was emailed on September 24, 2013 by **** ******** with the following: "2nd mailing if these are items youd like me to address further, please respond as per this previous email" The previous email **** were referring to was from September 9, 2013. The email was sent to me and read by me before **** and I spoke on the phone on September 9, 2013. The email from September 9, 2013 was what made me call **** on September 9, 2013 in order to schedule him to come to the house. It was during this phone call **** ******** told me to call my lawyer and hung up on me. I have records from my phone company of these phone calls. ****'s emails disregard his actions on the telephone where he hung up on me and told me to call my lawyer. To me, it looks as if **** was trying to make it look in email like we didn't talk on September 9, 2013 and he didn't tell me to call my lawyer or hang up on me. My husband, Matthew *******, was witness to that phone call and can vouch for **** ******** hanging up on me. The fact that **** told me to go talk to my lawyer and hung up on me on Sepetember 9, 2013 led me to believe that he would not be completing the work All Around Construction needed to as per our contract paid-in-full. When I told my lawyer this story, he felt ****'s actions said/meant the exact same, that **** would not be completing the work from our contract paid-in-full. **** wrote me a second email stating he had been proactive in trying to sort this out on Sept 25, 2013. However, waiting 12 days, 2 days before the 14 days I asked the work to be completed in, before making first contact with me about the work All Around Construction has not completed and then using an email address not provided on the letter he received from me on September 11, 2013 in order to contact me is not being proactive. It is quite the opposite. It looks like **** is trying to get out of being responsible for the actions of All Around Construction in regards to our contract paid-in-full. It also seems as if **** is disregarding completely that he hung up on me and told me to contact my lawyer. According to my letter I wrote **** on September 11, 2013 I asked that the three items listed be complete within 14 days. Even if **** received the letter on September 13, 2013, I should have been contacted about fixing the mistakes made by All Around Construction long before September 24, 2013. I gave the company yet another chance to fix the items in an email I wrote to ****. I asked that they be fixed by October 1, 2013. These items are still not fixed.

Desired Settlement: I have to have the hole in my garage patched, -my front door alarm reconnected and -the sink leak in my kitchen repaired. I no longer trust All Around Construction or **** ******** in my home. Therefore, I am asking that they refund me the money I have to spend to have these items fixed properly.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/11/07) */ Case # XXXXXXXX ******* 1 message **** ******** <*********@sbcglobal.net> Sat, Nov 2, 2013 at 12:14 PM Reply-To: **** ******** <*********@sbcglobal.net> To: ***** ****** <*******@chicago.bbb.org> Nov. 2, 2013 Dear BBB Representative, ***** (****) and **** ******* received professional, courteous service and quality workmanship throughout the many home projects we completed for them from March to June, 2013, which included: * Remodeling portions of their large basement * New laundry room including marble flooring, base and wall cabinets, trim, appliances in and out, painting, etc. * Removal and replace with new all interior doors including jams, trim hardware (approx. 17 single door units) * New entrance door with side light and new storm door * Complete kitchen remodeling including new floor tile and into breakfast area, design and reconfigure layout, cabinets, Granite tops, electrical and lighting, appliance installation, etc. Each of these projects was priced individually with separate contracts and payments to be made as they were completed. If she was unhappy with us, why did she continue to hire us? We have been courteous and professional and a quality finished product was always the result. I bring this up because ************ (****) has also slandered my company's good name on the internet, additional to contacting you. She claimed there; ''at first everything seemed okay, but then things went wrong fast''...this is an example of her untruthfulness and inconsistences. As per the emails that I have attached, you will see that she is treating us unjustly as I have made every attempt humanly possible to address these minor complaints...with no cooperation from her. With 29 successful years in business and hundreds of jobs completed...who is the constant?...who is the variable? I appreciate your efforts and good luck in your attempt to sort this out, hopefully with some type of resolution. P.S. I am not sure of the relevance of who called or emailed first on September 9th, but I do have phone records that show ***** (****) called me and we spoke at 10:46 a.m. for 11 minutes and I responded with an email at 11:46 a.m. This fact is contrary to the untruthfulness she keeps repeating and once again, its value either way, I'm not sure. Reiterating...as per my final email to her dated Wednesday, October 2, 2013, I have done all that I can to try and understand, address and resolve her issues. Sincerely, **** ******** All Around Const. Co. Arlington Hts, IL XXXXX Office XXX-XXX-XXXX ****@allaroundconst.com **** ******** Arlington Hts, IL XXXXX Office XXX-XXX-XXXX -------------------------------------------------- From: **** ******** <*********@sbcglobal.net> To: ***** ******* <**************@yahoo.com> Sent: Wednesday, September 4, XXXX X:XX AM Subject: Update... ***** and ****, I haven't forgotten about you...hopefully the end of this week. Will someone be around? Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 13, 2013/11/26) */ Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2013/12/19) */ see attached scanned document NOTE FROM THE BBB: Please provide photos of the alleged damage. Those photos may be attached to your next response or faxed to XXX-XXX-XXXX If you have had the damages repaired, please provide copies of your invoices as well. ***** ****** Assistant Manager-Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois Consumer Response /* (3000, 22, 2014/01/29) */ Case #94473974 **** ******* 1 message ***** Osborne <**************@yahoo.com> Tue, Jan 28, 2014 at 3:32 PM Reply-To: ***** Osborne <**************@yahoo.com> To: "*******@chicago.BBB.org" <*******@chicago.bbb.org> Hi *****, We spoke on the phone today. Thank you for helping to provide me with information about my options as a consumer. The following is my rebuttal response to the business in the referenced case: My lawyer has sent the letter of demand to **** ********. The response to the letter of demand from **** ******** is attached to this email. **** ******** is now making threats based on my Yelp review, which I attached in my second rebuttal response, instead of solving the problems at hand. It seems as though **** ******** is trying very hard to ignore the situation by not responding further in his rebuttal response. His lack of care in solving these issues properly is very evident in the fact that he simply sent the same rebuttal twice. I plan to pursue arbitration with the Better Business Bureau if I am not reimbursed through my work with the Illinois Attorney General and the Illinois Department of Professional Regulations. Regards, **** ******* Ltr from All Around Construction (X-XX-XX).pdf 386K Business Response /* (4000, 26, 2014/02/25) */ Case # XXXXXXXX 1 message **** ******** <*********@sbcglobal.net> Fri, Feb 21, 2014 at 4:08 PM Reply-To: **** ******** <*********@sbcglobal.net> To: ***** ****** <*******@chicago.bbb.org> Dear *****, Referencing # XXXXXXXX I have nothing more to add to the responses I have already provided...those included a final letter, which I had sent to ***** ******* dated Oct 2, 2013, along with my subsequent responses to the BBB. To summarize: ***** *******'s lack of response along with her lack of cooperation had made it impossible to understand much less resolve any mechanical issues that may have arose after we finished the work on her home, back in June...to her complete satisfaction. When she contacted us for the first time approximately 60 days later with a complaint, she denied me access to her home or garage. She refused to provide me with a single digital photo (easy to send electronically) or any other evidence of a problem as I had asked her for numerous times. I do have records of all the e-mail correspondence's reflecting my continued follow up and this simple request. Additionally, I have an email from ***** acknowledging that she did receive all of my e-mails... I am confident that the work we performed will withstand the test of time based on 29 years of successfully completing thousands of jobs similar in nature. Going into our 30th year, I am proud of the A+ rating that I have maintained with the Better Business Bureau. Sincerely, **** ******** All Around Const. Co. Arlington Hts, IL XXXXX Office XXX-XXX-XXXX


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on All Around Construction Co
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart