Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Airoom, LLC

Phone: (847) 967-7666 Fax: (847) 763-1101 View Additional Phone Numbers 6825 N Lincoln Ave, Lincolnwood, IL 60712 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.airoom.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Airoom, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Airoom, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Airoom, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1962 Business started: 10/01/1958 in DE Business started locally: 10/01/1958 Business incorporated 01/15/2009 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Illinois Department of Public Health
122 S. Michigan Avenue, Chicago IL 60603
http://www.idph.state.il.us
Phone Number: (312) 814-2608

City of Chicago
121 N La Salle St # 604, Chicago IL 60602
cityclerk@cityofchicago.org

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Thomas D. Graham, President & CEO Mr. Michael B. Klein Ms. Tanya Penman, Sr. Dir of Mrktg
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas D. Graham, President & CEO
Business Category

Contractors - General Basement - Finishing Home Builders Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions Construction & Remodeling Services Basement - Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling Architects Interior Designers - Architectural Kitchen Remodeling Kitchen & Bath Design New Single-Family Housing Construction (except For-Sale Builders) (NAICS: 236115)

Alternate Business Names
Airoom Architects & Builders Airoom Builders Builders Escrow and Title Agency
Additional Information

Airoom Architects & Builders has requested that before filing a BBB complaint, consumers contact Tom Graham, President/CEO, directly at 847-213-5243.

Please understand that you can file a complaint with the BBB now or at any time during this process. It is our hope that Airoom Architects & Builders will resolve the matter for you in an expedient matter.


Additional Locations

  • 6825 N Lincoln Ave

    Lincolnwood, IL 60712 (847) 213-5243 (630) 654-6000 (847) 967-7666 (847) 213-5280

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Airoom added a blue stone patio onto my house, completed Nov 2008. Other work was done during this time which totaled approximately $80,000 of which approximately $15,000 was the blue stone patio. The following March 2009, bricks on blue stone patio began to crumble.Airoom agreed to replace the bricks, subcontracted to Royal Falcon. This problem recurred in 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014. Each year, except 2014, Airoom has agreed to replace damaged bricks and Royal Falcon has done the work. This year 2014, Airoom, refuses to repair the brick, states that the warranty has expired. Included is the warranty which states 15 year construction guarantee and 10 year installation warranty. This problem is due to faulty construction and/or substandard material (bricks). Airoom to pay the cost to replace all the original bricks and correct any structural flaws to prevent this from recurring.

Desired Settlement: Airoom to pay the cost to replace all the original bricks and correct any structural flaws to prevent this from recurring.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/17) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ******, President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@airoom.com Mr. *******'s original project, which was beyond the scope of a patio, was $53,549, with approximately $27,000 in additional work that Mr. ******* added during the process. Of that amount, $15,701 was for home entertainment and electronics upgrades unrelated to the patio. I'm not sure where Mr. *******'s number of $15,000 for the patio is from. Nonetheless, the blue stone work that was done on the patio is not in question. The issue that Mr. ******* has been and continues to have difficulty with is the brickwork around the patio that was painted by others, not Airoom. It's true that as a good faith gesture, over the past few years Airoom, at its expense, replaced bricks that were damaged due to hydrostatic pressure as a result of ice and snow. However, we previously pointed out that the paint used on the bricks is likely not allowing the bricks to excrete water and that's contributing to excessive freezing and cracking. Last year, as a courtesy, we offered a final one-time repair to replace any bricks Mr. ******* thought needed repair. We even used a type of brick that Mr. *******'s requested. However, he was told that it would be the last time we would make such a repair and that we would not continue to service the masonry work. Airoom does not have a maintenance contract with Mr. ******* and after the extremely harsh winter we experienced, it is not difficult to understand that exterior repairs would likely be required. Mr. ******* will state that his existing house is painted brick and he has not experienced the same issues with other bricks. That however is not correct. We have pictures (attached) of Mr. *******'s house taken prior to remodeling that clearly show areas of painted brick which experienced similar cracking and peeling as a result of hydrostatic pressure entering the bricks. Of course you would not see the same effect on vertical walls because they are covered by a roof, so water and ice cannot infiltrate the surface. Airoom's 10/15 year warranty (copy attached) covers installation and not materials, especially natural materials like brick. It also does not cover issues as a result of painting work done by others. Mr. ******* will need to make repairs to the bricks around his patio and may need to have the paint that's currently on the bricks removed and redone. But that work is beyond our scope and warranty. We have always responded to Mr. *******'s service requests and have taken care of any items that are covered by our warranty. We will continue to honor our agreement with Mr. ******* for any legitimate service items that the project may require. But we cannot maintain the bricks around his patio unless Mr. ******* chooses to enter a maintenance type agreement. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Airoom is responsible for the materials they placed on the patio per the attached construction and installation warranty. Therefore, per the agreement, I request they complete the repairs. If this was not covered under the warranty why did Airoom agree to the repairs for the past 5 years? Clearly, the warranty holds them accountable. Airoom was aware from the beginning of the project that the bricks would be painted and they placed an inferior product which is crumbling per the attached pictures. My house was built in 1942 and I have lived there for 20 years. I have had to repaint the bricks, however, I have not had to replace bricks that crumbled. There have been many severe winters in the past 20 years. I got a consultation from a hardscape firm last year which confirmed that the bricks were not appropriate and there is possible structural issues. They recommended "CUSHWA" bricks as they are more appropriate for this patio and the environmental conditions. Airoom replaced the risers with "CUSHWA" bricks and they did not crumble after this harsh winter. My request is to have Airoom honor the warranty and complete the repairs. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 8, 2014/05/28) */ see attached photos Final Business Response /* (4000, 23, 2014/07/29) */ Unfortunately, we did not see Mr. *******'s reply. I apologize for the confusion. However, after seeing Mr. *******'s reply today, it seems that we have a disagreement regarding what is covered by our warranty. We rescind our previous offer and will agree to arbitrate the dispute through the BBB's arbitration process. Please let us know how to proceed with arbitration.

6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Condo bath renovations not completed per contract, plans / specs or timetable. Work basically stopped following my final large installment payment. This was raised with their Client Relations Department on May 27. No explanation was given for the Company's failure to perform. After a lot of follow up, on June 2 I was assured by email the project would be finished by June 11. Virtually no progress since then, nor any explanation. The company is well aware of this situation, I do not need to repeat dates, etc.

Desired Settlement: I want the public to be aware of this Company's practices, taking my money and then abandoning the project. It is not clear if I as the customer am dealing with "Airoom" (showroom, etc. ) or "Revive Bath"(contract). This appears to be a way to limit exposure.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/10) */ Contact Name and Title: ******** ************ Mgr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@revivebath.com I apologize for the frustration of our client. Most assuredly this project and all of its documentation is with Revive Designer Bathrooms, LLC, an Airoom Family Company. There has been no attempt to hide or misrepresent that information. However, because of our relationship to Airoom, I can understand the confusion. The project was originally estimated to conclude on June 3rd, however we do currently have a small list of items we are working to complete. The list includes drywall patching and final clean up, installing accessories and under vanity shelving (will need the homeowner provided mirror), and shower door install. We are expecting to have this work completed by the end of this week and that will bring the project to a close. We certainly do not plan to nor have ever abandoned a project. We plan to complete the project and provide both a quality bathroom as well as a beautiful bathroom. We have not collected all payments to date, only those required per the staged payouts of the contract. Final payment will be collected once the project is completed. We apologize if our communications have not been direct enough as to our plan for wrapping up.

12/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Met with ***** **** May 2013. Design work done and contract signed June 2013. Colors finalized 7/10/2013. Job # XX-XX-XXXXXX. Materials delivered mid August 2013. By this time we have Given Them $500 Design Fee(check #2497), $8,208 Down Payment (Visa), Measure Fee $8000 (Check #2526). Work did not start until September Another $8000 Carpentry(Check #2545). Super. Len measured but left. Wrong amount & wrong product delivered. Super. ***** ****** never could grasp project. I had to tell him wrong color and not enough siding was ordered. Next Super ******* ********** Nice , New to company. Tried real hard but was thwarted by previous mistakes. Construction halted Oct. 10 because could not get more siding. House is totally exposed to elements. I had to ask them to please put all weather wrap and connect gutters and do fascia & soffits. Again, out of product several days, finally secured product & Fascia & soffit done. Siding on only half the house. New siding was supposed to be delivered Oct 25 and restart. Return from out of town Nov 2, not one single thing was done to house. No show Nov. 4,5,6,7 Finally 1/2 day Nov8 and full day 9. 1/2 day Nov 11 & 12 no show no show Nov 13, too cold and new Super, needs meeting (3rd time for Us) on how to complete front entrance. Husband has to take off from work 3rd time. My complaint is they keep coming up with excuses and will not finish siding my house. It is winter and the 2nd story west side of my house is not sided along with various other small areas.It looks like animals have made hole in second story and nesting in attic, house is cold, can use only half my garage, dumpster in driveway, gutters not on new awning, every time it rains have to arrange buckets. They have an excuse all the time why they cannot finish job, no crew, no supplies, too cold, need a meeting, new superintendent needs to get up to speed and on and on. I was told this job would be completed in 4 to 6 weeks in a professional, timely manner. it has not been professional, nor timely nor completed by October 15 and weather is not going to get any better. Please help me. No other contractor wants to touch this job because they wont accept workmanship from *********** Also another $9000 Siding Fee (Check #2551) was given before Oct 15. Total is $33,708.

Desired Settlement: I would like my house completed ASAP. If they have to use scaffolds at their cost because they cannot go on roof, that is their problem. If they have to enclose house in bubble and pump in heat at their cost, that is their problem. Whatever it takes, please finish my house before it is below Zero temperature and 5 inches of snow. I just want them to honor their word and signed contract. I expect in good faith, they will not ask me for another payment.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/22) */ On 11/20/13,the client and I spoke to discuss his concerns. We have made good progress over the past week and expect to complete everything within the next several days. I apologized for the previous misorder which caused much of the delay. *** ******** and I agreed on a way to move foward for completion. *** ******** has my contact information and is free to call me if something should arise that needs my attention. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/12/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ***************** and their CEO again have been misleading. Their "confidentiality agreement" was basically an agreement for us to not tell anyone just how incompetent this company is and how incompetent the management of our project was. We could not be honest to family, neighbors or friends. We would have to pretend to the Better Business Bureau that this was resolved. On the phone, we took the agreement to mean not to disclose amount only. We did not sign because we cannot lie to people. It almost seemed like a payoff to keep quiet not a "consideration of the client's dissatisfaction". The CEO needs to read his brochure on guarantees. I quote from their brochure"And like our parent company, we adhere to a seamless process that frees you from the hassles of traditional exterior renovations. From dealing with multiple suppliers & installers to cleaning up the property after work is complete, our process is designed to deliver the finished job on time, for a fixed price, guaranteed." Our job will not be completed until spring. The front porch cement, as agreed to by *** ******* and *** the cement man, is not correct. There are marks that ruined the finish. When poured in September, these were brought to the Projects Mgr's attention and they chose to put it off. Now, because of weather, it cannot be addressed until weather permits. From previous bids, this work is about $4000. Also, we still do not have the correct shutters. Airoom*********** had the gall to ask for another payment, $8000 because "when substantial work is complete the payment must be made" and we complied. At the time we did not realize they could not fix the cement project. Only $2000 is left to,pay, According to their contract, we are allowed to withhold 120% of cost to finish project. They owe us money as it stands now. As with all their personnel, the term" you are going to love it when it's done or the transformation is quite dramatic" is not the point. When we signed the contract, we were sold a process and it was guaranteed!!! Another company could have completed this project with the same end result. We were pretty definitive on the design before we contacted them. We were paying top,dollar for a hassle free, on time, process guaranteed! Ou biggest mistake was, although all this language is in their very expensive, glossy brochures it is not in the contract. We want to warn people everywhere about this "bait and switch" action. Shame on us for not carefully dissecting the contract and assuming the brochure and salesman were telling the truth. So, this case remains open until May of 2014. We cannot believe we have to deal with this company next year to finish a job that was to take 6 to 8 weeks according to their timeframe. Most people who have watched the project cannot believe Airoon*********** has not rebated 20% the cost of the project. They have offered nothing for all we have lived thru. We did not even mentioned the work site not being cleaned because the dumpster was full, the 50 plus nails I picked up out of the backyard so my dog would not be seriously injured or the fuses the workman blew and never bothered to tell us. They just used another outlet. When the concrete is corrected to our satisfaction, then this case will be closed. We cannot trust Airoom*********** at this point to actually do this. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/12/04) */ I'm not sure why my discussion with *** ******** was thought to be misleading. I stated clearly that ********** (the company that contracted for the work with the *********) doesn't offer a time completion guarantee due to the nature of the work that we perform. I said I would make an exceptions and agree to offer a credit but only with a confidential agreement. The credit we offered was in consideration of the client's dissatisfaction, and was not related to a reduction in work or services. That type of credit is generally cconfidential and is offered in an attempt to satisfying a client's concern. After initial agreement, the offer was then rejected. Nonetheless, we continue to do touch ups to try to complete the work to the client's satisfaction. Admittedly, we ordered and installed shutters that were the wrong color. We apologized and promptly reorered them. We have workmen scheduled to do touch ups today and are expecting final inspections. We hope to complete any outstanding items this week . I think most people would agree that the home's transformation is quite dramatic. We remain optimistic that we can finalize this project successfully and satisfy this client's concerns now and through our extensive warranty period.

12/6/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 9, 2012 we entered into an agreement with Revive Bath and Basement (Airoom) to remodel our master bath. We then entered into an oral agreement with Mr. ***** ****** their loan officer, to have a 0% interest free loan with GE Capital if we paid off the loan within 18 months. In October, after looking carefully at the GE Capital billing statement, I saw that there was a balance of $685 interest charged. After investigation, I found out that sandwich in between 2 loans of 0% interest were two loan purchases of $19,000 with 7.99% unbeknownst to me. After contacting Mr. ***** to complain, it was found that two of the loan purchases had been checked at 7.99% interest but this was not my understanding. Nor did we check the two loans for 7.99% interest. Why would I check a loan at 7.99% interest when I was orally promised a 0% interest free for 18 months loan. Unscrupulously, Mr. Fagan must have checked these loans at 7.99% interest when we had trusted him to provide us with a 0% interest free loan for 18 months. After consulting my Chase banker, I was informed that these loan officers receive commissions for these loans with interest. So, obviously, he snuck these loan purchases between the two loan purchases of 0% interest without us realizing it. This is an example of a "bait and switch" agreement because we were orally promised a 0% interest free loan for 18 months if we paid it off. This oral agreement we believe is an orally binding contract and should not have been altered despite the fact there are signed sales slips for a 7.99% that he checked. Yes, we were wrong in signing something we didn't meticulously read, but we trusted Mr. Fagan and his oral agreement. Now we've been deceived. This we feel should be rectified and we should be rebated the $685 interest we were charged by GE Capital. In addition, we entered into contract with Revive, Airoom in August, 2012 for the project to begin in February, 2013 and told that it would take 2 months to complete, but they are still not done. Their work still has not met the Mt. Prospect inspection nor is our heated floor tile or pencil tile complete. We've been horribly disillusioned by the whole process; especially, the loan portion.

Desired Settlement: We are seeking the $685 interest charge be refunded.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/18) */ Actually, Airoom, LLC is not a party to this matter. The client contracted with Revive Designer Bathrooms and then procured financing through GE. Lamb Financial was the broker who assisted in that transaction. The client's bathroom project is substantially complete, but there is an issue with underfloor heat and replacement tiles. We regret that there is a problem and have been working to get both taken care of. We've reordered parts for the floor heat and tile and expect those parts to be in this week. Regarding the clients issues with the funding they selected through GE, after hearing the client's complaint Revive agreed to reimburse the Menconis for the amount paid out of pocket by them for interest in exchange for removing their complaint with the BBB. The paperwork regarding the credit was forwarded via email to the client on 11/8/13. We are awaiting their reply. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2013/11/22) */ Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2013/11/23) */ After receiving the signed paperwork, a check was put in the mail on 11/22/13. It should arrive by this Tuesday or Wednesday.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Airoom, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)