BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2014

Accurate Contracting Services, Inc.

Phone: (847) 838-2300Fax: (847) 838-232326734 W Wilmot Rd, AntiochIL 60002-9170

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2014

BBB has determined that Accurate Contracting Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Accurate Contracting Services, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Accurate Contracting Services, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
04/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I first contacted Accurate Contracting after calling a plumber out for a leak in an upstairs bathroom. Once the plumber removed the leaking toilet, he said I would need to contact my Homeowner's Insurance as the leak had probably been there since I purchased the home and there was considerable mold. The adjuster came out, met with myself and Accurate Contracting and later approved the repairs. I then paid Accurate my $1,000.00 deductible and then wrote him a check for the remaining balance which came from my homeowner's insurance. The work was completed in about a week and it seemed the problem had been fixed. However in fall of 2013, I noticed the water stain on my kitchen ceiling had returned. I called a plumber, thinking it was something minor. The plumber that came out was from Sump Pump King and said that he did not want to touch it and in fact advised me to sue the contractor. Around the same time, I got a letter from my homeowner's insurance asking for a detailed invoice that the repairs had indeed been completed. I then called Accurate Contracting (regarding the leak and invoice)and after leaving several messages,was finally able to get *** out to the house. After mentioning that the plumber had stated I should sue him, he was quick to respond. I wanted to be there for the repair however *** stated that with my schedule it would be hard to get the plumber there when I was there (I'm home Fri-Sun). After the plumber came in and made the repairs, I followed up with *** from Accurate for both invoices, one for the original repair and one for the second as well as fixing the ceiling in the kitchen that was stained again. *** said he wanted to wait a while and see if the water spots got any bigger which I agreed to. About a month later, I noticed that the water stain was spreading and call *** with Accurate. When he got to my house, he came up with every excuse in the book as to why the leak was still there, except for that the leak had not been repaired correctly in the first place. It was my daughters broke the toilet or the siding on the outside was leaking, there's a slow drain, etc., etc., etc. When his son **** got to my house, he said it's the toilet. The plan was to scrape the spot where the water stains appeared and wait to see if they returned however once **** starting scraping, there was nothing but mold. **** ended up cutting a large section out of the ceiling so that he could spray the anti-microbial spray and then let it air out for a few days. Then patch it up as it seems it was dry and that the mold had been from the previous leak. I had taken the morning off to be at the house but at this point had to head into the office. *** started asking about some other work that I had contacted him about doing last year, which I also never received an estimate for. He then stated that he wouldn't be able to do anything for less than $500 but would repair the ceiling and throw in the other work for $1,000. I said ok, then headed to work. Once I started driving to work, I reconsidered as I did not feel comfortable having him do any additional work until the leak had been resolved. I then called *** and told him I only wanted the ceiling fixed at this point and that I did not feel it was fair that I should have to pay anything. After all, I have already paid my $1,000 deductible and the insurance has paid the balance, and this is all stemming from the original problem. If it had been fixed properly the first time, there would have been no further issues. After I told *** that, he said he would call me back. He did call me back a couple days later and left a voicemail. I have since called him back and as customary, he either does not return my calls or says I'll call you back and never does. In regards to the detailed invoice I have been asking for since January, *** emailed me a document that had the total on it and company name, it doesn't even state paid. That is not the detailed invoiced I asked for numerous times.

Desired Settlement
I would like the leak and ceiling repaired, incurring no additional charges. There is still a water stain on the ceiling in a different spot that continues to grow and a gaping hole. I also want a detailed invoice for the all work done, outlining everything that was done alone with the charge for each. If I do not get this invoice, my homeowners insurance has said they will not renew my coverage.

Business Response
We had agreed to make all necessary repairs, with no additional charge, before this complaint was made. We had set a time to begin repairs for Thursday, March 13, but could get no response from Ms. ****** until late in the day. We then set it up for Monday, March 17th, due to Ms. ****** being unavailable. The work will be completed by the end of the day, Friday March 21st, and invoices will be provided by Monday, March 24th.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I filed this complaint before Accurate Contracting agreed to make the necessary repairs, with no additional charge. If he had agreed prior, there would be no need for me to file the complaint. The hole has been patched however I am still waiting for the brand and color of the paint used for the patch. Since they only painted the patch, there is a noticeable difference between that color and the rest of the kitchen ceiling. I am also still waiting for the invoice from the original repair dated 6/26/12, which I have been asking for since January. I have until 4/2/14 to get that invoice to my homeowner's insurance. Once I receive these items, and no further issues arise, I will be satisfied.

Final Business Response
All requested repairs were completed on March 21st and all requested invoices were emailed to Ms. ****** on March 25th along with paint brand and color. We apologize for any inconvenience & misunderstandings. We hope all matters have been resolved to Ms. ****** satisfaction.

09/18/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors - General, Fire & Water Damage Restoration

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/26/2008Business started: 10/28/1998
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 1998, IL

Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Diana Peterson (Office Manager)Mr. Ryan Peterson (Vice President)
Business Category

Contractors - General, Fire & Water Damage Restoration

Industry Tips
Contracts
Home Remodeling Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Accurate Contracting Services, Inc.

26734 W Wilmot Rd

Antioch, IL 60002-9170

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 26734 W Wilmot Rd 

    Antioch, IL 60002-9170(847) 838-2300

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Accurate Contracting Services, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Contractors - General

Contracts
Home Remodeling Contractors
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.