BBB Accredited Business since

Bear Home Improvements, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (708) 478-4301 Fax: (708) 478-4558 18700 S Wolf Rd, Mokena, IL 60448 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Bear Home Improvements, Inc. is a general contractor specializing in the installation of energy-efficient home improvement products, as well as renovations and remodeling projects for residential customers. Located in Mokena, IL, this company serves the greater Chicagoland area, including Aurora, Bartlett, Des Plaines, Evanston, Frankfort, Hanover Park, Joliet, Monee, Mount Prospect, Naperville, New Lenox, North Chicago, Northlake, Oak Park, Orland Park, Peotone, Saint Charles, Streamwood, Tinley Park, University Park, Vernon Hills, Woodridge, and Wheaton. The company also serves portions of northwestern Indiana, including Munster, Gary, Crown Point, Valparaiso, and Hammond. Additional showroom locations are in Bolingbrook and Orland Park. The company has been in business since 2012 and is family owned and operated.

This company provides a one-price guarantee, which is that customer will pay the price that they originally quoted them when they estimated the price of the job. Services provided by this company include replacement windows, vinyl siding, shower and bathtub renovations, sliding glass patio doors, soffit, fascia, gutters, and tubliner conversions. All of the window products that the company installs are Energy Star and NFRC certified, ensuring that they are proven to save energy and will reduce energy costs. The company sells composite siding, which is stronger than regular vinyl siding and can withstand more pressure, a proven benefit against Chicagoland storms.

Visit the website for Bear Home Improvements to learn more about their services, read testimonials from their customers, view a gallery of their work, and contact the company to request their services and receive a quote on a project.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bear Home Improvements, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bear Home Improvements, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Bear Home Improvements, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 05, 2012 Business started: 10/01/2012 Business started locally: 10/01/2012 Business incorporated 10/18/2012 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Andrea Zeller, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Andrea Zeller, President
Number of Employees


Business Category

Contractor - Remodel & Repair Contractors - Gutters Siding Contractors Windows Soffit & Fascia Contractors - General Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bear Home Improvements, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/20/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rep took our information to see if we could get approved for financing 5/21/15- The work contract didnt say that there was a three day cancellation policy. No one called us to confirm that we were approved or not - they immediately placed the order. We received an approval letter from the finance company which we thought was kind of high so we dedcided that we would look at other options before comitting to them. We didn't think that it was a done deal since no measurements were taken and no one called us from the company to confirm our approval of the financing. When the rep called 6/11/12-my husband told him, that we changed our mind they informed us that someone measured the outside of the door while we were out. Per their agreement,they would remeasure all openings to insure a custom fit. How was this possible if no one was at home. The Rep was given a post dated check because we were interested in purchasing the door. They were told to hold the check until the 29th of May. The Check was deposited and cleared by the 26th. This caused a $600 overdraft. I asked if we could squash the deal. They got angry. They are telling me that it is a custom door. The door is not custom. It is a standard size. From this point the conversation has not been good. **** (wouldn't provide last name)tried the scare tactic. I requested the owner **** (would not provide last name)to give me a call. Same scenerio as with ***** They have to tell me that their product is the best on the market, I am or was not questioning their product. The product sounded good. I was concerned about the financing..that's why I wanted to more research. Now I am hearing that I didnt cancel in 3 days. Representative orignally told me if we didn't get approved for financing they would refund my $360. So now since I don't want the service, and they put the check in too early, I am have to honor this agreement? I think this is a bad deal. This practice of scaring people to buy your service is horrible. I requested the date of installation, they couldnt give me one. They state the door won't be delivered to them until 6/25/15. I requested that they cancel the order since it wont get delivered to them until the 6/25/15, they refused. I am very disappointed with the entire company.

Desired Settlement: I ultimately would like to get out of the deal. However, if I have to honor the agreement, I wish they would compensate me for the over draft amount that was charged to my line of credit because of their mistake.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/25) */ Mr and Mrs ****** purchased a patio door and filled out the application for financing. They were approved so we sent a foreman for second measure. It is a custom product, we do not have any product in stock it is all custom order. We placed the order as we do with all of our customers. We have an agreement that was authorized by the ******'s that by law has a 3 day right of rescission. I spoke to Mrs ***** and picked an install date. We carry the best products in this industry so I know when the door is installed they will be very happy. In addition, we have the best warranties so if any service is needed we will take care of that as well. I consider this complaint closed. ****** ****** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/06/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As I spoke to all of the people at Bear, it was not the product that I am disappointed with, it's the way the finance company they provide stated that I had until 9-19-2015 to purchase the door.If the financial institution they recommend / provided puts in writing that I have three months to decide then they should either honor that. Neither did they refund me the fees for putting my check in too early. As I told them the contract was not properly explained. I will have the door installed, but would never refer them to anyone for business.

4/2/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: the owner of Bear promise a refund of 800.00 when the job was completed. I was first told the check would be send out with the installer when the reorder window was install. this was dec 17, the installer did not have the check. I talk to ****** from bear and was now told that a check would be issue on dec 17. As of dec 30 2014 i have not received a check. I called to check on the status but no one has call me back.

Desired Settlement: first I want my 800.00 that was promise me. I also have a refund because of the window that was order was the wrong size.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/01/14) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Owner Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX Contact Email: ************************** I spoke to Mr ****** the day this complaint was filed and he told me he was going to retract the complaint. Bear closes the week of Christmas and the week between Christmas and New Year, that was the reason for the delay. I refunded Mr ******'s account $800.00 as I promised. The job is complete and beautiful.

11/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bear did a shoddy job installing vinyl siding. Installers arrived 8/11/14 and right away I noticed imperfections in the work. ******** ******** identified herself as the project manager was notified of the poor workmanship. Several calls were made to ******** regarding the unprofessional install. On 8/14/14 after insisting a manager comes out to view the work. On 8/15/14 **** (the trash remover)came to the house and we took him around to show him how the installers had mutilated the siding as well as other bad areas. **** was no help; when we pointed out an opening that should have been capped, **** said it was left open to let out the water. This job was finally completed after 28 days later. Salesman **** ************* stated that warranty on workmanship and material is lifetime. My first payment was on my bankcard for $85 on 7/18/14, I paid an additional $4000 on 7/29/14. Upon completion, ******** agreed to a 20% discount; total payment being $8885 for the job. My final payment or $4800 was made on my ***** (AARP) credit card. When this payment was made over the phone to ******** ******** 9/8/14, she then promised to have someone come out again and will call me back. Never heard back. I called Bear on 9/22 and 9/23/14; each time they were to call me back but never called. I did find information on the internet that this company was once known as **** ********* **** ************* who went out of business and reopened as Bear Home Improvements on the same day. They had customer complaints that were never addressed and they are now doing the same to me.

Desired Settlement: I want Bear to refund back to me 50% of my total payment($4442.50). I should only have to pay for the material that they mutilated but it's on my house. I'm afraid that if the work done is bad all around then I may suffer water damage to the wood in my frame home and at some point may have to pay the same or more for damage that could be the cause of the shoddy work. I'm afraid that from choosing this company to install my vinyl siding was a huge mistake.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/10/16) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Owner Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX Contact Email: ************************** Bear Home Improvements, Inc. has been known for exceptional service and superior products. In addition we carry the strongest warranty in this industry. When we received this complaint instead of responding, I immediately called and then visited this valued customer. The finished product was not what we sell. I ordered materials and scheduled a installation expert to fix the issues and make sure the finished product was exactly what the ********'s expected. I recently spoke to ****** and thanked her for her business and made sure she was a happy customer. She told me she was and thanked me for making everything right. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/10/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did speak with ****** ****** on Oct. 10, 2014. I did thank her for sending someone to address the problems with my vinyl siding installation and So far, I was happy with his work that the repairman had done. However, the repair work has not been completed. I informed ****** and Pete that corner posts of the house should be capped but was left uncapped. My last conversation with ******, she would contact the repairman to see when he would be available to come to my home. I have not heard back from ******. I called yesterday and left a message on ******'s voicemail. She did not return my call. Bear Home Improvement is again behaving in the manner which was the reason I initially contacted the Better Business Bureau. I told ****** that there are still things that I was not happy with but was willing to send a favorable reply to the BBB after the corner posts were repaired. I'm still waiting. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2014/11/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ****** ****** is not being truthful regarding this matter. When we last spoke on or about 10/10/14; ****** was to check on her maintenance man's availability. She was more concerned with my giving a favorable report to the BBB. I called once more after not hearing from her and left a voice mail message. Ms. ****** never returned my call. They are dishonest and I will never do business with them again. I even warned my neighborhood block club to be ware of this company. Ms. ****** originally contacted me after I made a complaint to the BBB. I had previously made 3 calls to Bear Home Improvement and left messages on voice mail machines but no reply. The company is dishonest and should be shutdown. Just like there is an *ALERT* on the other company **** ********* **** ************** there should be an alert placed on "Bear Home Improvement" as well. Final Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2014/11/24) */ At the time Bear installed Ms. ********'s siding, we were backlogged in our installation schedule. As such, we hired an installation crew that was recommended to us yet we'd not worked with before. Unfortunately, their performance was not up to the standard of work Bear provides. Nor were they up to the standard of work Bear expects. As such, we have fired the crew that worked on Ms. ********'s home. When Ms. ******** contacted Bear to express her dissatisfaction with the finished project, we returned to address the concerns with her. We subsequently repaired the areas we deemed unacceptable. At that time, Ms. ******** told us the work was performed to her satisfaction. At no time did Bear shirk it's responsibility to bring the work on Ms. ********'s home up to the expectation that Bear has for its customers. Nor did we shirk our responsibility to bring the work up to Ms. ********'s expectation and satisfaction. Ms. ******** has a lifetime warranty for both the material provided as well as the installation of the material. Her siding project is warranted all the way around. There is no possibility that the wood in/on her home will become damaged from the siding installation. Siding is not designed - no matter how well or poorly installed - to protect the home from water damage. As such, if there is water damage to Ms. ********'s home, there would be issues unrelated to the siding. All of the above being the case, as well as the warranties Ms. ******** has, there should be no concern going forward. Bear stakes its good name on it. It would be unreasonable for Ms. ******** to request a 50% refund on the project. As such we'll not offer a refund. We now consider this matter closed. Thank you.

6/12/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I signed the contract (which I still have), I stated to the salesman repeatedly that the new windows had to be exactly identical to the original windows since that is what I prefer, and that is what the home association approved. He repeatedly agreed. According to the contract, I ordered the following: 3 Double-Hung Windows (36w x 75h) 1 Picture Window (39w x 15h) 1 Double-Hung Window (25w x 75h) 1 Double-Hung Window (35w x 55h) 2 Double-Hung Windows (36w x 75h) 1 Double-Hung Window (35w x 59h) Four of these windows were not double-hung. They arrived as something else, and I requested that the workers stop the installation. The company eventually contacted me and informed me that they were under the impression that I verbally agreed to something that was not part of the contract. The fact is that I did not verbally agree to anything outside of the contract. Why would I even do that only to complain about it later? In such a case, a new contract should always be signed. They went on to tell me that the owner of the company refuses to replace the disputed windows with what the contact states. After that conversation, they charged the full amount of the windows to my account with the loan company. The loan company stated that I did not have the right to dispute the account based on the fact that it's a home improvement loan. Bear knew that I had no other recourse, so they ignored my phone calls for several weeks until I agreed to work with the association to have them approve windows that were not part of the contract. The windows were eventually installed, and although I can't stand these four windows, I'm stuck with them. I almost wish I had my old windows back, but since they charged me for these against my will, I had little choice but to accept them. The woman I dealt with on the phone was very condescending, and showed no concern at all whatsoever for my interests. The company made no effort to make it up to me. The only party to all of this which was extremely professional was the installation team. Thanks!

Desired Settlement: They are aware that I still need a patio door replaced. If they are willing to offer an identical door at a heavy discount, then that would go very far in showing their concern for good customer service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/11) */ We apologize for the miscommunication between you and Bear Home Improvements, Inc. If you want a patio door, we will work with our manufacturer on a discount that is acceptable to you. We value each one of our customers, please call if you need anything. Thank You! ****** ****** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/06/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Since the issue was an administrative error, and Bear did nothing intentional to provide an unjust transaction, I accept their willingness to offer a discount on the patio door in the near future. Since I won't be ready to install it immediately due to summer scheduling issues, I will be more than willing to have them take care of it in the fall. I will get in touch with them then. Their word is enough for me to consider this matter settled. Thanks! -*********-

8/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bear Home Improvements continue to contact me. I have told them to take me off there list. They continue to call. When this newly formed Company was called At Wholesale Home Improvements they had the same practices. Between the two Companies, I told them to stop calling me for at least 2 years. I've had enough.

Desired Settlement: N / A

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/08/19) */ Dear ****, I am sorry we contacted you when you asked us not to. If you ever need service on your windows, siding or tub contact us @(XXX)XXX-XXXX. Thank you! Have a great day! ****** ******

4/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service