Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Titan Home Builders

Phone: (847) 443-4096 418 S Vermont St, Palatine, IL 60067 http://Titanchicago.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Titan Home Builders include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Titan Home Builders
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 29, 2013 Business started: 01/02/2010 Business started locally: 01/02/2010 Business incorporated 02/24/2011 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Public Health
122 S. Michigan Avenue, Chicago IL 60603
http://www.idph.state.il.us
Phone Number: (312) 814-2608

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Renita Theile, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Renita Theile, Office Manager
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Bathroom Remodeling Granite Cabinets Property Management Contractors - Flooring Kitchen Remodeling Home Improvements - Additions Painting Contractors Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    418 S Vermont St

    Palatine, IL 60067 (847) 443-4096

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid owner 70% of money upfront on July 4th 2014. He was to build cabinets, lay new wood floor, build backsplash, install dishwasher and all appliances, install granite countertops and sink with disposal, and paint and fix walls. He agreed that he would not get paid the final amount until we signed off on entire job and were 100% happy. He promised in his contract to also provide us with professional service. He and his men started by laying our new wood floor in kitchen that we purchased. They got through two boxes and stopped claiming that the wood was buckling and not connecting properly which it wasn't. The owner *** then tried to blame the wood product but after several hours with my husband had come to the conclusion it was not the wood product but that they tried to install it too ealry and assured us that they would rip out most of what was layed and start fresh. That next day they layed the floor but did not rip up the previous floor and stated that the cabinets would cover it. We wanted to move forward so we said fine. They started building cabinets but made changes to the layout without consulting us first.Then the cabinet maker was putting outlets inside the cabinets and installing cabinets that didnt fit. I raised my concerns and I was once again told that things were going to be fixed at the end and not to worry.The next day their plumber was installing our temporary sink and drained our water heater to do so? Then our water heater wouldnt stop leaking after that. We were then told it was our water heater and that it was leaking for a while even though there was never a drop of water before they touched it. Then I walked in the basement to find a giant puddle of water and water dripping down my walls and all over my shelves and all my daughters toys were soaked and I was told that it was only a trickle down his arm that caused all that. Then I heard him yelling and he had his finger on the pipe below my sink and water was squirting everywhere. He was yelling for me to turn off the water. So I did but the damage was already done. Water had soaked through the new cabinet into the new floor and back into the basement onto the floor. I was very upset and was told that it wasnt that much water and everything would be fine but at that point I had seen how much water there had been and knew that wasnt the case. Of course two hours later the cabinet buckled and the wood floor underneath had buckled as well. Then they moved back my stove only to find a large scratch and dent that hadnt been there before.Also they moved back my fridge and caused a giant scratch on my new floor in kitchen and onto my existing floor in my family room. We had expressed our outrage but were greeted with us being told that we were hovering and making their workers uncomfortable and we were the cause of all these problems and then the owner told us he didnt think we should do business anymore. At that point my husband was afraid he would walk off the job so he calmed him down dispite his outrage, and *** agreed to fix part of the floor and replace the cabinet that was damaged. So the next day they came back and ripped out only part of the floor,and when they replaced it horribly. Then they fixed the cabinets but they made the build out around the fridge too short and the cabinets wouldnt open by the stove. Then they again installed the temporary sink and hooked up the water line to the fridge.Since then the sink is leaking and the fridge line isnt working. Then he wanted us to give him another $4000.00 for granite but hadnt finished the rest of the kitchen. So my husband and I told him our concerns and he said he would not do another thing until we gave him the money. At this point all trust had been lost so my husband sent me a text expressing his frustations and accidently sent it to ***. *** then replied to my husband by saying he felt it better to part ways and good luck on our project. He refused to answer our calls since then.

Desired Settlement: Since kitchen is only 60% complete and we paid him 90% for the kitchen. The total cost of the job was $20,550.00 that includes everything. 70% due on signing and ordering of cabinets $14,385.00 20% due on final measurements and ordering of granite $4,110.00 10% due on completion of entire scope of proposed work $2,055.00 We paid him $6,800.00 first check and $6,940.00 with second check. Totaling- $13,740.00 He walked off the job with only 60% complete. An inspection by the mortgage company determined that the job was only 60% complete without considering granite. He left the backsplash, cabinets, and granite installation incomplete along with the installing of the sink, garbage disposal, and dishwasher. The granite was $5,500.00 so if you deduct that from the $20,550.00 the remainder would be $15,050.00 If you deduct 60% from $15,550.00 that would be $9330.00 we paid him $13,740.00 so deduct that from $15,550.00 So we still owed him $1,810.00. but since there was only 60% work done he should refund us $7520.00 for work not completed. Thats the 60% rfom $15500.00 ($9330.00) - the $1810.00 still owed to him at work completed. Plus $1200.00 for the stove damages/replacement Plus $1775.00 for sanding of wood floors caused by damages by his. Plus $500.00 for plumber to fix leaks and under sink and another $500.00 to hook up dishwasher and sink and disposal. $1500.00 for refridgerator damages/replacement Plus $1800.00 for someone to fix rest of cabinets with labor and materials. Total of asking settlement is $14,795.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/26) */ This matter is being handled by our attorney ******** ***** Below listed is his contact information. ******** **** ****** and ****** Law Offices **** W. **** St., Suite 110 ********* IL XXXXX Ph: XXX-XXX-XXXX Fax: XXX-XXX-XXXX ********@comcast.net


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Titan Home Builders
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)