Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Superior Exteriors, Inc.

Phone: (847) 475-6903 Fax: (847) 570-5953 View Additional Phone Numbers 34 E Grand Ave, Fox Lake, IL 60020 http://www.superiorexteriors.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Superior Exteriors, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Superior Exteriors, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Superior Exteriors, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1982 Business started: 02/01/1982 Business started locally: 02/01/1982 Business incorporated 07/29/2004 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Richard G. Wall, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard G. Wall, President
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Doors Doors - Patio Doors - Installation Shingles Storm Windows & Doors Windows Windows - Wood Windows - Vinyl Storm Windows & Doors - Repair Exterior Designers Contractor - Flat Roof Chimney Builders & Repair Contractor - Remodel & Repair Gutters & Downspouts Gutter Leaf Guards Contractor - Insulation Mason Contractors Patio & Deck Builders Patio Design Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Roofing Contractors Commercial Roofing Contractor - Metal Roofing Roofing Service Consultants Siding Contractors Tuck Pointing Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/31/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In April through June 2009 I had a complete tear off of my roof, new roof put on, two chimney's rebuilt, all new gutters and downspouts, some siding replacement, and capping for all fascia on building by Superior Exterior's inc. It is February 18, 2014, less than 5 years from this work performed and I am having major water drippingfilling about 5-8 gallons of water within 12 hours on both, the 2nd and 1st floors, and accumulation in my 3rd floor wood flooring, causing much interior ceiling, wall, window frames, door frames, cabinets damage. I called ******* **** of Superior Exteriors yesterday to ask him to come out because all the work his company did is less than 5 years old. The labor guarantee on the contracts is for 5 years. Mr **** came out this afternoon, February XX XXXX, and looked out of a third floor window at my building where ice was built up inside the gutter his company put on, as well as the downspout his company put on, and also the roof outside the window where 6 or more inches of snow in a roof valley was melting. In 5 minutes of looking out the window, he exclaimed the leaks are from water getting behind the siding from ice damming and it is not because of the work his contractors performed. "It's just ice damming", Mr **** said. He then followed up with, "we've had a lot of snow this Winter". I told him I had spoken to my neighbor next door who has a roof and gutters older than mine with much ice damming and much snow on her roof. I asked my neighbor if she had any leaks and she said "no". And so, I asked Mr **** if maybe the work his contractor's did installing the roof, gutter, downspout, capping, etc was not performed adequately to ensure no water seeping in during big snows or ice damming. Mr **** replied that his contractor's put in ice and water shield in the valley and that the work was performed well and that the water getting in is not a result of his contractor's work performed. I asked him, so when ice damming happens and/or much snow, one should jut expect water to seep in? He replies, "It hasn't leaked in 5 years has it?" In fact, it's been less than 5 years. Incidentally: within 6 months of his company rebuilding my chimneys, that following Winter XXXX-XX, my fireplaces were backing up smoke into the apartments when used. I called Mr **** out about the problem and he said there was nothing wrong with the work his contractor's performed. He said the smoke coming in was because we were not starting our fires properly to create an updraft. I had lived in my building for 17 years at that point, and my upstairs tenant had lived in her apartment for 13 years at that point and we had started fires every Winter all Winter long and never had a problem until now, after Superior Exteriors rebuilt my chimneys. Because Mr **** would not admit to the fault of his labor as the reason the fireplaces were not updrafting properly, I hired ********* Chimney. ********* Chimney broke out and replaced tile liners Superior Exteriors installed inside the chimneys because the contractor from ********* Chimney said the liners Superior Exterior's contractors installed were too small for the chimney. After ********* Chimney replaced the liners our fireplaces are working fine since.

Desired Settlement: I would like Mr Wall to have a qualified roofer and/or gutter installer and/or fascia capper to replace my roof and or gutters/downspouts and or fascia capping in the area of the roof/gutter/downspout/fascia that his contractors installed where he thought to have water seeping into the interior of the building and to replace to properly ensure no water seepage during snow accumulation and/or ice damming. Alternatively, I would like financial compensation from Superior Exterior's to hire another company who can replace that area of the roof/gutter/downspout/fascia capping is installed properly to ensure no water seepage during snow accumulation and/or ice damming.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/19) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* G. ****/ presiden Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***@superiorexteriors.com Superior Exterior replaced the entire roof on the complainant's home in 2009 (5 years ago). We performed a complete roof tear-off on the home, and installed a new roof, to the manufacturers specific installation instructions.The complainant has not notified us of any roof leak problems in the last five years, until now. The complainant is currently experiencing a leak over a portion of the rear staircase on the northeast side of the home. At installation, we paid special attention to that area and installed a material called "Ice & Water Shield" in the "roof valley" and up the wall of the dormer 24" where the complainant now has a leak. The record-breaking snow & sub-zero temperatures of the 2013-2014 winter season has caused snow and ice to build up. I went to the complainants home to inspect the leak, and found that there is an extremely large chunk of ice in the gutter allowing water to cascade over the gutter and then behind the siding, which is at least 15 years old, and was installed improperly. there is missing flashing & channeling under the gutter, and along the siding. the caulking is cracking and old they need to be caulked. I showed what I found to the complainant, however, she didn't want to hear any of what I was explaining.I further informed the complainant that there is nothing we can be done at this time until there is a significant break in the weather to assess the damage that the ice caused, and what has to be done to repair to stop the leaks. I will be happy to inspect the affected areas after the ice has melted, where I can then recommend a proper course of action at that time. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/02/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The work performed on my building by Superior Exteriors, Mr **** owner and general contractor, was not limited to a complete tearoff and re-roofing. His company also tore down and rebuilt, re-flashed two chimneys, replaced vinyl siding on several dormers, and also tore down all gutters and downspouts around the building. Additionally they capped all the fascia (in which may gutters are attached to) all over the entire building. This work was started in April 2009 and completed in June 2009. That is LESS THAN 5 YEARS ago. After complaint of leaking above, there are three more leaks, one in 2nd floor bathroom on South east side of building and one in bedroom on 1st floor on southeast side of building, and one in 2nd floor and 1st floor bedroom on North west side of building. Clearly there is something not correctly done with the work Superior Exteriors performed LESS THAN 5 YEARS AGO when replacing the entire roof, gutters, downspouts, fascia capping, and replacement of siding on several dormers. When Mr **** came to BRIEFLY (approx 5 minutes) inspect the leaks on February 18, 2014 he brought no ladders. He brought no contractors. He simply stuck his head out a 3rd floor window and assessed where leaks were coming from. When I looked out the window, I saw no clear passage ** hole where water was coming into. Mr **** did say when the weather was warmer and things had thawed that he could have someone come out and put some additional protection in the one area, but that he would charge me for this. Did I mention that the Winter following the complete rebuilding of the Chimneys on my building by Superior Exteriors, Mr ****'s company, the fireplaces were backing up smoke? I had lived in my building for 17 years at that time. My tenant had lived in the building for 13 years at that time. We light fires in the fireplaces all Winter long every year. I complained to Mr **** that Winter XXXX-XXXX that the fireplaces were not venting properly and he stated the work was done correctly. He also suggested we did not know how to start a fire properly to get an updraft going. I insisted this was not the problem. Mr **** and Superior Exteriors would not take repsonsibility. I hired ********* Chimney and they came out and inspected the newly built chimneys by Superior Exteriors. They determined the tile liners Superior Exteriors installed inside the chimneys were too small. I paid ********* Chimney, who broke out the tile liners Superior Exteriors had installed and replaced with properly fitted tile liners. After that, we never had any more problems with the chimney venting correctly. I also had a roof leak in my 3rd and 2nd floor bedroom Fall/Winter XXXX-XX where I called Mr **** from Superior Exteriors out to inspect and fix. He had said that there was no caulking under a window (where his roofers roofed right up tothe roofing butted up to the window sill). He had said the water was coming in through a gap under the window sill (where the roof was roofed directly up to by Superior Exteriors), but that was not the responsibility of Superior Exteriors to caulk around the windows. However, he said he would send someone out to do it. No one from Superior Exteriors came out to caulk this window. I paid to have another contractor do it. I also paid to have my ceiling and walls in the bedroom it had leaked into repaired and repainted. Now, after leaks in 7 other rooms in my building I will have to pay to to have those interior ceilings and walls fixed. The work Superior Exteriors performed has a 5 year labor guarantee. It has been less than 5 years and Mr **** insists the work by his company, Superior Exteriors was done correctly after his brief look out of a 3rd floor window. He also says he can come and look when the weather warms up and things thaw out, but that I will have to pay for that inspection and pay for any additional work to remedy these leaks. The work by Superior Exteriors, which I paid almost 30,000.00 for was clearly not performed well and so under 5 years I am having multiple leaks inside my buiding trickling down from different places on the roof. A brief 5 minute look out a window seems absurd to assess these leaks. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/03/20) */ From: ******* **** (mailto:***@superiorexteriors.com) Sent: Wednesday, March 19, XXXX X:XX PM To: '*********@gmail.com' Subject: Roof Leak Dear ******* I'm sorry you are having the leak on your house. When I first came to your house to give you an estimate to replace the roof, you showed me the area you were having a leak. It's the same area you are having a leak in now. What we did to try to stop the leak was to remove all the roofing materials from the roof deck. We took the vinyl siding off the walls on the dormers. We installed Ice and water shield in the valleys, paying special attention to the valley where the leak is. We installed ice and water shield on the dormer walls and at the gutters Edge around the entire house, we then reinstalled the vinyl siding back onto the dormer walls. We installed a #30 lb. heavy duty felt roofing under lament. And installed the new roofing materials. We also installed new aluminum on the fascia boards and soffits. We installed 6" oversized gutters with 3" X 4" large downspouts. Over the last 4 3/4 years we have had a lot of heavy snow and ice, and you didn't have any leaks. This year has been one of the worst winters for snow and ice. It set a record. When I came to inspect the leak you have now, I climbed out the window to get a better look at the valley and the dormer wall. I saw a lot of snow and ice, and a big chunk of ice over flowing off the gutter and onto the siding wall below. I showed you the water that was leaking from the siding. Ice can cause a lot of damage to roofs, gutters, and siding. This year we have had a lot of calls on the damage it has caused; a lot of gutters have fallen off the houses because of the weight of the Ice. I would like to inspect the leak area to see what damage it did to your house. I can meet you any time it's convenient for you. Sincerely *******. ******* G. **** President Superior Exteriors Inc.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Superior Exteriors, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)