This business is not BBB accredited.

Stone City Kitchen & Bath Design Ctr.,Inc.

Phone: (773) 533-9806 Fax: (773) 533-0201 3053 W. Grand Ave., Chicago, IL 60622 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.stone-city.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Stone City Kitchen & Bath Design Ctr.,Inc. include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Stone City Kitchen & Bath Design Ctr.,Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Stone City Kitchen & Bath Design Ctr.,Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 15, 2003 Business started: 12/01/1978 Business started locally: 12/01/1978
Business Management
Ms. Roe Short, Operations Manager Peter Helpas, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Roe Short, Operations Manager
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Bathroom Remodeling Granite Tile - Non-Ceramic - Manufacturers & Distributors Appliances - Major - Dealers Appliances - Small - Dealers Baths - Equipment & Supplies Cabinets Countertops Fireplaces Floor Materials - Retail Floors - Hardwood Plumbing Fixtures, Parts, Supplies - Retail Interior Decorators & Designers Interior Designers - Architectural Interior Designers - Commercial Tile & Marble Marble - Natural Stone - Natural Contractor - Commercial Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication Limestone Quartz Kitchen Remodeling Kitchen & Bath Design Home Improvements Mosaics Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3053 W. Grand Ave.

    Chicago, IL 60622

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/10/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I worked with Stone City to handle fabrication and installation of kitchen countertops and a fireplace facade. I selected stone and provided the salesperson with measurements to get an initial quote. I scheduled measurements immediately. When I didn't received my estimate 24 hours later (when they said I should receive it), I reached out to them, to no avail. Ten days after I was supposed to receive my quote I finally received it, but not in the CAD format that was needed to approve the renderings. I then received notification from Stone City that my initial sales person left the company, but prior to that had never submitted my stone order for ordering and/or fabrication. Additionally, I was quoted a price $1200 more for measurements they said I didn't provide them with, I most certainly did and have a witness who will agree with me. I was told that from the time measurements were taken, i could expect an installation date 7-10 business days later. I was provided with an installation date that is between 15-16 business days. Because of this error on their part, Stone City is delaying my construction timeline and affecting my scheduled move-in date.

Desired Settlement: I am shocked and dismayed I need to pay an additional $1200 because of their employees' oversight, but really what I want is for the company to stay true to its word and provide installation on the date they quoted me (6/17) or as close to that as humanly possible. My order should expedited, they have even said that this is a "major ***** up", their words, not mine.

6/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted with this company in July 2013 for a vanity and countertop for our bathroom. The vanity was partially installed in October 2013, but without the baseboard to the vanity. The countertop was installed in November. Per the company's payment terms, 75% of the balance is due prior to fabrication, and the final 25% is due upon approval of final installation. We paid the initial 75% and have been waiting for Stone City to schedule final installation of the baseboard to pay the final 25%, as per the payment terms. We contacted Stone City in November 2013 and December 2013 to request a date for final installation. Stone City acknowledged that it still had the baseboard and offered to send it to us at a reduced rate (for lack of installation) or to schedule installment. We asked them to install it and they said they would get back to us. They did not contact us to schedule final installation. Instead, the contacted us in January 2014 requesting payment of the 25% balance. We again reminded them that they had not installed the baseboard to the vanity and offered to pay the balance once they agreed to install it. Stone City did not respond to our request that they complete installation. Instead, the send the matter to the ******** Law Group, **** W. ******* Ave., to seek collection of the balance without completing installation. Stone City is clearly in material breach of the contract for failure to complete installation, and referring the matter to collection was improper and in violation of its own payment terms.

Desired Settlement: Specific performance of the contract, i.e., complete installation of the baseboard. Or, if it will not install the baseboard, cancellation of the contract.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/06) */ Upon receiving notification of the pending issue, Stone City took immediate action to contact the client and schedule the delivery and installation of the remaining cabinetry piece. The piece is to be delivered and installed Thursday, June 12th, as discussed and agreed upon with the client. Stone City additionally offered the client a monetary discount for any inconveniences incurred throughout the process.

1/6/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The custom cabinet was purchased on August 10th and was deliverd with not 1 of the 3 features that I paid in full for. I had to call approximately 15 times to figure out the 2 of the 3 pieces were lost in Stone City's warehouse. To date, the 3 feature has not been delivered even though I paid in full.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking the 3rd custom piece of the cabinet and retribution for my time in obtaining the product that I paid for.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/17) */ Missing piece has been ordered. Client has received a copy of the order as well as the acknowledgement from the cabinet manufacturer. As soon as shipment tracking information is available, it too will be provided to the client. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/12/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It has been over a week and the tracking number has not been received. The missing piece has still not been obtained. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/12/26) */ Client has received a copy of the order and the order acknowledgement from the manufacturer. A tracking number will be provided to her when one becomes available from the cabinet company. The client has documentation of all of the dates including order date, acknowledgement date, and expected ship date.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Stone City Kitchen & Bath Design Ctr.,Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)