Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Siding-1 Windows-1 Exteriors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Siding-1 Windows-1 Exteriors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 19 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 19

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Siding-1 Windows-1 Exteriors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 24, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1984 Business started locally: 01/01/1984
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jim Johnsen, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Johnsen, General Manager
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Storm Windows & Doors Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)

Alternate Business Names
JK Green, Inc. Siding-1 Windows-1 Exteriors

Additional Locations

  • 322 N Milwaukee Ave

    Wheeling, IL 60090

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sidings1 agreed to reimburse to have trim around a window they installed, as well as other trim damaged, restored. We sent an invoice for the work to *** ******* on March 26. On April 19, I called to make sure the invoice was received. Jim returned my call, saying it had been and that a check would be sent by the end of that week. We had not received a check by April 29, and I called again, leaving a voice message on his cellphone. We have still not received the reimbursement. We would like a check for $300 as soon as possible.

Desired Settlement: We would like our check for $300.

Business Response: customer has received her check everything is completed customer happy.

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 

While we received the check, it appears it has cleared -- we are not happy. Sidings 1 took THREE years to have this project completed:  the first window was not installed correctly, we were given the brush-off when we called to let them know it was leaking, their first attempt to fix it made it worse (mildew bloomed with the "fix"), we had to have a second window installed, they destroyed not only the trim around the window, but baseboards and other trim when installing the second window, and then they were not able to restore the trim to the standards.  So happy? No, only hopeful that the window will not cause us any more problems, as we will not have to deal with them again.

Sincerely,

*** *****

3/3/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had windows, siding, gutters, and gutter caps done three years ago (33K of work). A couple months ago I moved a piece of furniture from in front of a window in my living room,and saw water stains on the sill. Looking closer, I could see that the wood trim had rotted from the inside of the wall. I had a repair man come out and point out that the gutter, roof and siding come together above the window and was channeling water behind the siding to enter the house and rot the window frame. I contacted Siding 1 on 10-19-15 and after a while someone came out and spent 20 minutes trying to temporarily fix the problem with a piece of siding and caulk. And that he would consult the installers for ideas on repair. It leaked worse to a point where I have a bucket of water in my living room to catch the water. After many phone calls trying to get the repair moving along, on 11-16-15 I was informed that they would not take responsibility for the repair because there was a new owner of the company. I finally got a phone call from the owner, Jim Johnson, who first said they would not stand behind the work because he was a new owner, then said it was longer than three years (None of my paperwork shows any limit to warranty or liability for substandard work) and out of warranty. He finally offered to cover cost of materials but not labor. Not acceptable because nearly all the expense would be labor and the quality of their work was in question in my mind. He told me he would give me the contact info of the previous owner and his attorney, but he never did. Besides the necessary repairs that are needed on the outside after their botched install. I have pictures of damage to the window frame and trim, the plaster below it and some cupping of the wood floor below the window. They wasted a month between beginning to address the problem and then denying responsibility. I have been talking to other services the for inside and outside work. The work is not yet done.

Desired Settlement: I have an estimate for the inside work of $1552 if it requires the window to be pulled in order to replace rotted wood. The outside work, which removes siding and fascia and trims properly around the window is $640. But is does not include labor or materials for the replacement of rotted wood behind the siding and aluminum trim. They had the chance to do the work themselves but all they did is drag their heals, waste a month, then deny responsibility. So, I feel payment of $2,192. is just.

Business Response: Hello, we have received the complaint we will be in contact with the home owner to resolve the issue of the complaint.  

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and I am waiting to see if they follow through with their promise to do the repairs inside on the window and outside on the gutter/siding. 

Sincerely,
**** *******

Business Response: We have been in contact with the customer and we will be meeting with him tomorrow to go over the issues he is having so we can address the issues and fixed the problems.  

10/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This Company installed many windows in our house in 2009, ****** ******** the salesman told us many good things about their windows and the best sales feature was that the quality of the windows was guaranteed for life. One of our windows lock broke and we have attempted to contact them with no reply from them, our window happens to be an ******** window which I contacted to verify if the warranty was correct and they told me "yes".We want our window to be fixed a.s.a.p. because it has been 6 years since it was installed and we always had this problem but they are refusing to come & fix it. Product_Or_Service: kitchen ********** window Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Repair We want them to come & fix this window and to make adjustments to avoid future problems.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/09/09) */ We have contacted the customer we had no record of him trying to contact us,he said he was contacting the saleman who is no longer with us for the last few years without contacting the office, we will be servicing his issue next week. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/09/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First of all They did not contact me , I waited after receiving your email but I got no call. I did not try calling the sales person as how would I know his number except by the company number. Then when I finally talked to a lady who I take to be a secretary got me intact with the service manager who I told my complaint to . He then said he would then give my info to a servicer. But two weeks went by and I again got no call. This time a got a gentleman by the name of ********. who again ask what was my complaint and he explained the 3 year warrenty for workmanship. I am not disputing this but the quality of the product as stated in original . He said he had to talk to his boss (***) who was not in office. Two minutes later he called back to say there is nothing they can do as *** agreed with ***** answer to me. 2 min to call boss and discuss issue is a little too fast for me! I think **** is playing around with me so they can charge my $175 serv. call and then more for parts. I am going too check previous grievences with other customers then contact someong to further this issue because I think this company has done this game to others Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2015/10/01) */ We went to another scheduled service for the customer. Customer was not there for the 2nd time. We told him we would schedule it one more time with him for Friday, October 2nd. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 16, 2015/10/29) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: Jim ******* really got on the ball and sent a repair man to fix the window . As i watched him repair the window i found out how easy this job was and now in the future i will do it myself. Thanks Windows1 Siding 11

10/22/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5/16/13 signed a contract for "31 Provia white storm windows. 29 double hung Concord and 2 side lite pictures w/ safety glass. All work with a 5yr labor warranty." Total cost was $5668. A check deposit of $2800 was given and final check payment of $2668 made on 7/09/13. In the spring of 2014 we discovered the glass windows were made too large to be removed for cleaning or replacement. We contacted Siding1 Windows1 Exteriors to remedy the situation. Several reps came to inspect the problem and agreed the windows needed to be completely replaced. By the end of summer in 2014 the replacement windows were installed. Again, we encountered a problem with the way the windows were either made or installed. The bathroom window is installed out of square and will not open. The gentleman whom we dealt with during most of this time no longer works for the company. This spring and summer I have spoken with the ******** & ******** who have told me I "will be contacted by the production manager" and "the production has the order" or "I'll have him call you a.s.a.p." I have never received a status or delivery call and it's now the end of June 2015. This is the WORST customer service I have ever received from any business.

Desired Settlement: I want the window completely replaced with a new window. I want it done By July 31st with NO MORE EXCUSES for their terrible product installation and customer service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/09) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ******* General Manag Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@mail.com After Several Attempts we finally reached the customer ,and we have scheduled service for Saturday July 18th,we will service them on that date and contact you once we finish the service *** ******* General Manager Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2015/08/21) */ I am still waiting on the replacement window. The window was to have been repaired in July but they, once again, brought the wrong size window! The gentleman who brought out the window that day told my husband he would no longer be working for Siding 1 Windows 1 and that someone else would be handling the problem. We have not heard back from anyone since then. **** & ** **** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 22, 2015/10/13) */ This business has yet to complete their work for us. Still waiting for the screen to be replaced. Every time we have someone work on the issue they then leave the company and the problem unsolved. This is ridiculous! ******* **** **** ******** Rd ******* ** XXXXX XXX XXX XXXX mobile Final Business Response /* (4000, 24, 2015/10/13) */ We have been in contact with the customer **** and ** ****. We made arrangements prior to them submitting the complaint to go out and service their window screen. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at (XXX) XXX-XXXX. Thank you!!

3/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 3/28/12 Contract signed-specified location and size of flashing. 3/30/12 Paid $4096 downpayment 7/27/12 Pd final $4096 for roof - crew leaves Found many, many nails in driveway for weeks afterward. 8/3/12 Car in driveway has flat tire 8/3/12 ***** will send chk $30 for tire repair 8/30 still no chk for tire, our credit card payment is due 9/2. Only leverage we have is to dispute credit card payment to Siding-1. 10/2/12 Finally rec'd ck for tire ($30) dated 9/27 WINTER 2012/2013 very little snow-no roof problem WINTER 2013/2014 Lots of snow - MAJOR roof problems. Water/Ice behind siding all around house. LOTS of water dripping & freezing in windows, behind siding, through soffits (sagging from weight of ice) and front door frame. 12/27/13 Called Siding-1 about problems 12/28/13 **** called, guys on vacation, will call & set up apointmt w/o 1/6 1/7/2014 ******** called. ***, GM will call in 24 hrs to set aptmt. 1/9/2014 **** will be here Sat 9am. I will leave pictures in door for him. 1/10/2014 *** called. Someone was here(?)but didn't see pics. I didn't see anyone here (House is at end of deadend street) and I didn't take pics inside until after dark. Truly doubt anyone was here. 1/11/2014 *** showed up. Said "easy to see problem. Someone f****d up". Can't do anything until ice is gone" So much water leaking between storm & front door it's frozen door shut. Threshold heaved up. Several back & forth communications with ***. "Too much ice now to fix problem. Don't worry about new shingles sealing in the cold, he's only repairing 2-3 rows" 2/17/2014 Sent letter reiterating problems and events to date. 2/24/2014 ***** called. "We're first on the list as soon as ice & snow are gone. Any damage to the house will be taken care of" 3/28/2014 *** called-will be here 3/31 to fix roof 3/31/14 *** and 1 other showed up and worked on roof. WINTER 2014/2015 Heavy snow on roof. Water/ice still dripping behind siding and around elec. outlets and light in front and back of house. 1/16/2015 Sent letter to Siding-1 2/13/15 *** called left message. We should call him on Monday. 2/16/15 (Monday) Called for *** - not in. Left message for him to call me. 2/23/15 (next Monday) Called for *** - not in. Left message "he needs to call me today". 3/5/15 Still have not heard from *** or anyone else at Siding-1.

Desired Settlement: We got several estimates to fix our roofing problems and did not choose the cheapest. We chose Siding-1 because we thought they would do the best job. Boy, we were mistaken. We have no idea how much damage has been done to the wood under our siding and soffits and our window and door frames. Since these areas aren't made to ever be wet, we can't believe there was no damage at all but that it will manifest itself several years from now when our warranty has run out. We made it clear, not only to the salesman, but to everyone we ever talked to that we wanted to stop water/ice from getting in back of the siding in the front and back of the house and we were always assured that Siding-1 would fix it. The first crew actually had me climb a ladder to show me the area they said was causing the problem. This was the same crew who apparently didn't put any flashing at all under the shingles. They not only didn't fix the problem, they made it much, much worse. Per our contract, we paid for "all gutter lines over 16" will have 72" of J&W". We did not get it. We also paid for "Valleys & gutter lines less than 16" will have 36" of J&W". So far,our valleys have not leaked but I don't have any faith at all that we have any flashing in the valleys. Siding-1 is the worst roofing company I've ever heard about or dealt with. Their crews have proved themselves to be incompetent and their customer service people have proved themselves to be uncaring about customers who have already paid. What can we do to prove how much damage is under the siding, soffits, door and window frames or that the valleys will leak because of no flashing? I have pictures and video of all the water leaking in but not what's going on under the siding, etc. Our warranty runs out this summer - what do we do after that? Siding-1 could extend our warranty but, if they won't return our calls now, why would they do so next year or the year after that? We'd be right back where we are now. The aggravation is killing me! I think the work they did on our roof was worthless. It takes more than hammering shingles to do a worthwhile roofing job. The shingles are the only thing of value we got from this job and that's all I want to pay for.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/16) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** Office Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@siding-1.com Our General Manager have reached out to **** and we are currently waiting for her to return our call

3/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *** ******* Owner/GM/Sales Rep is ******************* His sales tactics are less then desirable, his contract handwriting is that of a 5 year old with scratching out and unprofessional marks all over the contract, ineligible at best. Will say anything to "get the deal" and then does not own up to his mistakes or his contractual obligations. Once the sale is done he does not return calls nor does he involve himself of rectifying situations that need his attention badly. What a tool! ***** the installer has not got a clue how to do "up to code work" borrows home owners tools, does not clean up after himself and is a ******** "hack" in his industry. My windows he installed have more great stuff type of foam than a hardware store has in stock. Uses more plastic wood on sloppy miter cuts then home depot has on the shelves. Does not believe in using ground cloths or cleaning up broken glass, spilled product or anything else that he may leave in your home. Installs windows and wraps vinyl over rotten wood both exterior and interior and says "looks like wood grain to me" when questioned about those rotted and stained areas that should be been replaced BEFORE installing the new windows. Leaves nails sticking out of the wood instead of taking the time to ensure those are countersink-ed as a professional would do. Does not use enough nails to hold trim on adequately is the furthest from a professional window installer that I have ever seen. When asked to fix the problems, he ignores what the homeowner says and does what he wants anyways. **** who is the fireman of the business to aide with those homeowner problems is the worst of all. He agrees with the homeowner on all issues and says he will correct the problems and smiles and is quite cordial but then does NOTHING to help out after he leaves your home. Does not return calls unless it is well after a week after you call, then it is a text to call him because he will not answer when u call. My dead dog could perform better service. What a useless waste of a human being and the air we breath. So to summarize what happened, I ordered 7 windows to be replaced in my home in August with a 10-15 day time frame to install, the first week of NOVEMBER they send ***** and a first time helper out to install my 7 windows. The 2 bathroom windows installed were not privacy glass(I stil have sheets hanging in front of them in late January), the garage window did not have grids on it nor was privacy glass(Have a temporary window covering there too) and the windows were installed on water damaged, scarred and rotten stool/sills, the casings were not nailed in most places with enough nails and most nails were sticking out of the wood waiting to cut you when you wipes them down. No drop cloths were used so there was glass buried in the rugs in my home so deep we had to get them professionally cleaned. Stains in the carpet from the supplies they used, glue, foam etc. Scratches and dings all over the inside and out of the house where the windows were removed with primitive tools like **** ********* would have used. The windows were caulked on the outside worse then if a 10 year old would have done it with bulges and finger marks everywhere. Vinyl wrapped around rotten wood and very scantly attached to the home. When confronted with these issues, just a shrug of the shoulders, a smile and him leaving was the answer. Incomes ****, we will reorder those 3 windows and fix this and that, remove the window and replace the stills/stools. NEVER has happened and no response form this horrible company that is out to get the up front money and run like the wind. In the end, Hacks, Liars and Procrastinators with the intent to deceive is the definition of this company since *** ******* has take over the reigns. Used them due to my neighbors(promised a $250 referral - never paid) being happy with them 4-5 years ago..NOBODY referring them now that *** ******* and ***** have run it into the ground

Desired Settlement: Windows Manufacturer has come out to the house and stated that the windows should be removed and re- installed properly and could not believe the shabby work done by this group of hacks. I am looking for a reimbursement of all funds due to the whole job having to be redone professionally and the suffering my family has to go through yet again when the whole east side of my house gets torn apart. *** ******* not only breached the contract, lied to em and my wife and set false expectations of dates and times of worked to be performed, BUT THEN organised a team of the worst installers known to man to do the least amount of work possible in the fastest amount of time, knowing it would be done at a substandard level. Then he knowingly intended on not getting involved to help with the correcting of the homeowners problems - worse yet deliberately ignoring the customer while signing up new ones to screw out of their hard earned money starting the process over again and again until he gets rich off of other peoples trust in him and the horrific company he represents in Siding 1 Windows 1. People like *****, *** ******* and***** should not only be not allowed to be involved with ANY service type of business BUT should all be put in jail for fraud, contract breach, setting false expectations, stealing and falsely representing a company that gives a **** about their customers. I demand a full refund of all monies and should actually ask for pain and suffering on top of that because me and my family have suffered being cut by glass, laughed at by those who have looked at our new windows, the stress and arguing over this situation time and time again and the countless hours of calling, texting visiting with and talking with Siding 1 Windows 1, ********(the financing company) Consumer Affairs, Legal Council and those expenses involved and just plain being mentally and physically exhausted to the point of being sick after trusting these fools and now having to fix what they destroyed, my home and health. so $8200.00 in retribution should seem like a bargain to *** ******* and his cronies to have gotten away with this type of criminal behavior.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/02/12) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** Office Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@siding-1.com We met with **** and our General Manager is working on a solution as **** wants to use another contractor, however he also wants us to finish up a few small items. By Monday we should have a solution to resolve the problem. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/02/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We did meet with the general manager and others from sidings 1 windows 1 after many requests to do so. At this point we would strongly request using a different altogether service/installation company to complete all unfinished items due to the workmanship and communication being far less then satisfactory. Expectations were set much higher then those performed...the Lindsay Windows are of excellent quality however the installation of them and correspondence has been far from acceptable. Timetables set were completely ignored, products ordered are still not delivered/installed and pricing concessions suggested to us are still yet to be implemented or even proposed in contractual format. VERY unprofessional from the sale to installation to customer satisfaction upon completion of work performed. We trusted this company to deliver on the contractual obligations and made a HUGE mistake in doing so. We feel we were mislead and cheated throughout most if not all of this process with it being VERY exhausting, frustrating and just plain unacceptable business practices. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2015/02/22) */ I was informed by our GM that our lawyer will be contacting Mr ***** tomorrow in an attempt to resolve the issue so that the customer is satisfied and we are able to both move on.

2/27/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I installed the windows in *** 2014. The windows quality and installation was poor which I didn't notice at that time. During Nov 2014 I noticed that the draft coming through the windows which is worse than my old windows in the house. I called the customer service and I was told that they are short of employees and someone will contact me with in a week. Then I contacted the sales team to ask about the quality of windows. He came to my house and he dis notice that the draft is bad. I was asked to redo the glasses to go from double pane to triple pane which will be a new order and its going to cost me like a new installation for me. I have contacted the company for someone to come and check the windows and again they said someone will be contacting me soon. I haven't heard from anyone till mid Dec 2015. Supposedly the window which is drafting more air has lifetime warranty and its the bad out of all the windows I installed from Siding 1 Windows 1. I still have some old windows which was installed when the house was built which is probably 10 to 15 years old. If i feel the coldness in that glass they are much warmer than the new windows. I did had bad experience in the past while installation of this windows where the customer service was bad. I feel terrible that its repeating again.

Desired Settlement: I am owning a house for the first time. Even though I was suggested from Jan 2014 that the windows are not installed properly and not up to the quality. I didn't know better I thought its just the quality of windows. I would want the company to contact me, fix the windows and replace them if required.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/16) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** Office Manager Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX We have a service set up for 12/30/14 between 10am - 11am, we are in our busy season and have no installers or service tech available until after the holidays Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/12/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am really disappointed that it takes almost a month and a half for a service call. Even though I had thought of changing other windows through the same company but now I will think about it. Because I have put money in to the existing windows I guess I have to live with whatever is comfortable for the company. If given an option I would like to have someone come before 12/30/2014. Like the way the company has a busy season now I have to change my plans to work around their schedule. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 14, 2015/02/16) */ 1/27/15 Follow up on complaint number BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX. Issue still not resolved but complaint closed. on 12/30/2014 the service guy came and found few openings in the window edges and sealed it with caulk. He also noted that the glasses are too cold and for windows are not straight they look they are crooked. He said someone will get back to me with in a week after New year. It has been few weeks now no response from the company. This is the worse service I have ever had. I want to file a case at this point to get money back. Thanks, **** I need refund for the big windows or a complete replacement. the glasses are the worse than my old glass windows which are 15 years old. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2015/02/16) */ 2/13/15 Contact Name and Title: ***** Office Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@siding-1.com *** called and spoke with **** today and agreed to meet on the 21st, **** will call *** next Friday to arrange a time that will work for him. We would go out sooner but **** is going out of town.

2/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted to start work in May 2014 to start siding our house. They demanded a final payment in August 2014, as they were almost complete with the job. It still is not finished today, and they are asking for more money that is not part of the contract.

Desired Settlement: finish the job with no additional charges.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/23) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** Office Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@siding-1.com Our installers are on site working and we will have this job complete on Monday. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/02/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I accept and understand the conditions of finishing the job. But it is contingent on weather conditions. If I dismiss this claim now, I am afraid I will be put off for 3 maybe 5 more months. They should never have pressured us for a "Final payment upon completion of job" if the job was not complete. Why we agreed was baffleing, but we did, we paid the final payment, and work stopped. If I dismiss this claim now, work will stop and we will be screwed. If I dismiss this claim now, I cannot re-open it again later. I will dismiss this claim when all the work promised is complete. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/02/12) */ Met with home owner and agreed on what needs to be done. We both agreed that the weather had to be better in order for us to complete the project, so when the weather gets warmer we will go back out

2/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I were working with a general contractor that we later fired but he had left our house with gaps in the siding for a considerable amount of time. We signed a contract in July because we had to meet a September 11 deadline to have our house sided or homeowners insurance company would revoke coverage. The completion date on the contract stated ASAP because they were aware of our situation with our insurance company. Our sales rep was ****** ********* In the initial phases, things seemed to be going well but the day that the siding was supposed to go up, the project had to be halted because of some carpentry issue. I had previously raised a concern about this issue and was told that this would not be a problem. It was an issue, and for some reason it caused us to be bumped from the schedule and we had to wait over two weeks before work resumed. There were other delays due weather, availability of the crew, etc. Needless to say, we missed our deadline and our insurance company dropped us. It wasn't until a month later that the majority of the work had been completed. We met with ****** and one of the workers, ****, to go over the remaining items. It took another month before most of these items were addressed. Even then, there were issues with the work (the finish on a corner piece was incorrect, there was a piece of metal in between two windows that needed to be replaced) and a missing gutter for our front porch. We contacted ****** and he punted to the project manager, someone else named ****. We heard little or nothing from **** until the beginning of December when he told me that the work would be finished by Christmas. It was not, I called and left several messages with a third party for ****, but received no response. On my most recent call, I learned that **** was no longer with the company but was told that someone named *** would give me a call. It's been almost a week and I have not heard from ***. In addition to the incorrect or incomplete work, there are other issues: - excess materials left on pallets in my driveway - screws and nails littered around my house - covering an electrical box for an outdoor outlet under siding - electrical conduit feeding my garage was detached during the demolition phase and I had to pay someone else to reattach it - outlet boxes installed on siding did not meet code for my city and I had to pay to have that corrected When we signed the contract with Siding-1 WIndows-1 Exteriors, we were told that the project wouldn't take much longer than a month. It has been about 7 months and it is still not complete.

Desired Settlement: We want the work to be completed and a refund of $5,000.00 to compensate us for the interminable delays and poor service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/20) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** Office Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@siding-1.com *** Spoke with the customer yesterday and he is planning on having an installer go out to next week to fix all three items that we not completed, Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/01/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did receive a call from *** on 1/19/2015 and was told that he'd call back that afternoon to let me know scheduling, etc. Two days later and I haven't received a call back. I am rejecting this response from the business because there has been nothing offered in terms of compensation for expenses incurred as a result of their work (see the original complaint) and the unreasonable amount of time that is has taken to complete the project (resulting in higher insurance premiums for being dropped by insurance company). Additionally, the contract stated that the work would be completed ASAP, and that is what I was paying for, not to have the work completed over 7 months after it began. They cannot expect to be paid the same amount for a project that has been so poorly managed and behind schedule as they would get for a well-managed and timely project. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/01/30) */ Our design consultant ****** have been communicating with the customer and schedule to have the work completed on 1/28/15, the only item remaining is two storm windows which we ordered already at no cost to the customer. *** will be contacting the customer to discuss further compensation. Thanks *****

11/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Approximately 2 years ago we had new siding put on our home by this company which ended up being an atrocious experience. We are SUPPOSED to have a warranty and though we have called them many, many times over the last two weeks, no one is calling us back. We have siding falling off our house on the back side. All we want is for them to fix their shoddy work.

Desired Settlement: Fix their shoddy work!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/23) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** Office Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@siding-1.com Our Service rep *** ***** will be contact him today to set up a service call

11/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed a contract 2/09/12 for a garden window. There were problems in scheduling the installation, but it was finally installed 4/11/12. It was not installed correctly: there was damage to drywall, the level was incorrect, and the outside finishing originally promised was not done. We reached an agreement for compensation for the problems we knew of at the time. In November, we notice problems with drainage, called and were told by **** ******** he would send someone to check it out; no one came. In June, we noticed mold developing. After numerouse phone calls, *****, a representative of manufacturer THV, came out with **, a rep of Siding 1 in July. They drilled additional holes for "weepage". By September, the mold had increased exponentially. September 12, I called to have it seen; September 27, ***** finally came out September 27, and said the original caulking was not done properly, and would schedule someone to do it. *** was scheduled for October 3; he did not arrive. ******* and another worker came, accessed problem, said they would be back October 5. No one arrived; I called ***** who said he "had no idea he was coming" and would get back to me. October 7, I spoke with general manager *** *******, who told me ***** was no longer with the company. ******* returned October 8, and said the muffler was wrong, the window was not set in the opening properly, and that with as much water as was probably leaking in by now, all the wood was probably rotted. He recommended a new window. I spoke with *** ******* on October 31, he waid we did not know yet when the window was coming in, and would get back to me. He did not. I called November 7 and 11; on November 13, he said it "should be on the truck next week." I called December 1. December 2, I received a call from ********", who said the window should be "on the truck" December 4. I called December 4, again on December 6, with no return calls. On December 13, I call **** ********, he transfered me to ***** who checked into the matter. He called back ans said the windown had arrived Thursday, and would call me Monday to schedule deliver. It is now Tuesday afternoon. I have received no calls. This is a summary of my dealings with this company. From initial sale to today, I have spoken to 12 different people about problems with installation, and not one has been able to make good on their promise to install a functioning, safe window.

Desired Settlement: We would like a new window installed properly, with all warranties and guaranties included in the original contract restarted from the date the new window is installed, and compensation for the hours we have put in, in phone calls and missed appointments, to try to get this matter resolved.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/26) */ I spoke *** and we have her new windows. Before we install she wants to meet with the owner of the company. She will be contact today or tomorrow Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2014/06/13) */ 6/6/14 In January, the company said it would install a new window, because they had improperly installed the first. Because of the harsh winter, the new window could not be installed until 5/7. At that time, the installer said someone else would contact me about staining the trim. No one did. I called on 5/30. I was told someone would contact me 6/2 to schedule. It is now 6/6, and no one has called. We cannot use the window until the staining is complete. We want staining complete, and compensation for all the lost time we have had getting this complaint resolved. Please note, we never said the original complaint was satisfied, holding off on doing so until the work was completed. Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/06/13) */ 6/11/14 Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Office Manage Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******@siding-1.com We hired a staining company to stain Ms. ***** window and they were going to call her to set up a time to meet with her. We sincerely apologize that she was not contacted in the time frame which we had agreed on and have every intention of completing the project to her satisfaction. Consumer Response /* (3000, 13, 2014/06/13) */ 6/12/14 (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Since the delay in getting the window stained, we had our first heavy rainstorm and the window leaks. We are meeting with representatives of the company tomorrow to discuss. 6/14/14 info from consumer: The company reported the case close, without the work being completed satisfactorily. The installed a new window, but not to specs and it is now leaking. Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/06/20) */ We will be going out on July 2nd to complete the work for Ms. *****. NOTE FROM THE BBB: Please hold off on your response pending the scheduled visit. Please update us on the outcome of the visit. ***** ****** Assistant Manager-Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2014/06/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We will not consider this complaint closed until the work is completed. The 7/2 date is already a re-schedule, because rain was predicted for the original date (though they did not confirm the date, and we had to reach out to them to do the rescheduling). Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2014/06/13) */ 6/6/14 In January, the company said it would install a new window, because they had improperly installed the first. Because of the harsh winter, the new window could not be installed until 5/7. At that time, the installer said someone else would contact me about staining the trim. No one did. I called on 5/30. I was told someone would contact me 6/2 to schedule. It is now 6/6, and no one has called. We cannot use the window until the staining is complete. We want staining complete, and compensation for all the lost time we have had getting this complaint resolved. Please note, we never said the original complaint was satisfied, holding off on doing so until the work was completed. Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/06/13) */ 6/11/14 Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Office Manage Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******@siding-1.com We hired a staining company to stain Ms. ***** window and they were going to call her to set up a time to meet with her. We sincerely apologize that she was not contacted in the time frame which we had agreed on and have every intention of completing the project to her satisfaction. Consumer Response /* (3000, 13, 2014/06/13) */ 6/12/14 (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Since the delay in getting the window stained, we had our first heavy rainstorm and the window leaks. We are meeting with representatives of the company tomorrow to discuss. 6/14/14 info from consumer: The company reported the case close, without the work being completed satisfactorily. The installed a new window, but not to specs and it is now leaking. Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/06/20) */ We will be going out on July 2nd to complete the work for Ms. *****. NOTE FROM THE BBB: Please hold off on your response pending the scheduled visit. Please update us on the outcome of the visit. ***** ****** Assistant Manager-Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2014/06/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We will not consider this complaint closed until the work is completed. The 7/2 date is already a re-schedule, because rain was predicted for the original date (though they did not confirm the date, and we had to reach out to them to do the rescheduling). Consumer Response /* (3000, 27, 2014/08/21) */ Re: BBB Complaint Case# 94481037 (Ref#XX-XXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-XX-XXXX) 1 message *** ***** <**********@yahoo.com> Wed, Aug 20, 2014 at 5:33 PM Reply-To: *** ***** <**********@yahoo.com> To: "*******@chicago.bbb.org" <*******@chicago.bbb.org> Ms. ******* I am not sure what the business has told you. The last correspondence I saw between Sidings 1 and you, they stated that they were going to resolve leaks with a windows installed in our kitchen. This was a new window installed June 12. (It may be you thought this was a complaint about the first window, improperly installed back in 2012, which had to be replaced. Their response said the problem with the new installation would be resolved 7/2. It was not. Instead they came by, took photos, and said they would be back in touch to resolve the issues. On July 15, two company employees came out again, discussed the problem amongst themselves, and left. On July 16, the production manager came, again looked at the problem, took photos and said they would be back in touch in 2 weeks. I heard nothing from them, and called after 3 weeks (8/7). I left a message for the production manager. I called again 8/13, again left a message. On 8/14, a staff person called to schedule another time for them to come out: 8/20 between X:XX-X:XX. On 8/20, at 2:30, I called to see if anyone was coming. I left a message on the voicemail of the owner. I have heard nothing back. This is all under the original contract: an improper installation with the first window, that caused so much damage another window had to be installed. The new window also leaks, and nothing has been resolved. We would like to have this issue dealt with through BBB, and would like the company's record on your website to indicate that this issue has not yet been resolved. Thank you, **********@yahoo.com Business Response /* (4000, 29, 2014/08/26) */ We have replaced the window twice, and we have the manufacturer go out as well and they feel it may have something to do with the actual building structure. However we are going to go back out and try a different method that was recommended by the manufacturer base on a similar issue they had with another customer. The owner has reach out to her and we are just waiting on a project to be completed to send out our top installer out. The owner will be calling her tomorrow to set up a time to have this completed. As far as giving her a new window we are unable to grant that request as this time as the issue is not product. Thanks, ***** Consumer Response /* (4200, 31, 2014/09/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We do not accept this response as it contains errors, and the method proposed may compromise our buildings structure. The following corrections in the above response were discussed with ***. 1) The window was replaced once. A window was installed in the spring of 2012. There were problems with that installation, necessitating another window to be installed *** 7, 2014. 2) The manufacturer did not come out to look at the new window in August. He was scheduled to come out 8/20 at 1:30. No one came; at 2:30 I called *** and got no reply. On 8/21, ***** called at 12:30 and left a message, to return the call at my earliest convenience. At 4:30, I was able to return the call and was told *****, *** and **** were all gone for the day. On 8/22, *** called and said his phone was out of order, he had not been receiving any incoming calls, and that he had discussed our window with the manufacturer in a conference call; the manufacturer had not even been in the city on the day of our appointment. On 8/27 and 8/29, I tried to speak with Jim about their response, but he was not able to do so. We scheduled a phone call for today, 9/2, and we have just spoken. They think the leaks are coming in because the window is tilting forward. They would like to install brackets; this was part of the original design, but when window was installed too low and could not accommodate brackets. When they were not installed, I was told it was just "cosmetic". *** said they may need to install the brackets by boring into the brick; I am hesitant about letting them compromise our building's structure. *** and his "top installer" ***** will come out to our house with plans. We will review them, then I will review them with our contractor before we proceed. The window will also need to be reinstalled, because it is not currently flush with the counter and trim. This complaint remains open until a solution that does not compromise any other part of our building or the design of the kitchen is completed. Business Response /* (4000, 33, 2014/09/12) */ *** and **** have been communicating with her to correct the issue with the window installed Consumer Response /* (4200, 35, 2014/09/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) *** was scheduled to come out, with an installer on 9/11 at 10 a.m. That morning he called to say that because of a health issue, he would not be coming, but **** would; he would be leaving the office at 9:30. At 9:45, **** called to say he wanted to reschedule the appointment because he was not prepared to meet with me. He wanted to bring drawings and sample materials, all of which were things *** was supposed to be bringing when he came. I do not understand why **** was not prepared to come when *** said he was sending him in his stead. The meeting has now been rescheduled for 9/24. At that meeting, they will go over their plan with me, including drawings and sample materials, which then I will present to our contractor before giving the go ahead for the problem to be corrected. I am extremely dissatisfied with the response to my complaint. I have taken off work to get this problem resolved; they seem to have no consideration for this. Despite the fact I have been clear in what I hope the next steps will be, and Jim has confirmed this, there seems to be no communication between him and his staff. September 24 will be the third time I have taken off work to go over the plans for resolution. I hope they will come through this time. Business Response /* (4000, 37, 2014/10/06) */ *** had met with *** and wanted to get a second opinion on what their solution would be to fix the window issue. *** called in today to set up time to do the work. **** was not available so he will call her back as soon as he returns from the field NOTE FROM THE BBB: Please hold off on your response pending contact from "****". Please update us on the outcome of the conversation ***** ****** Assistant Manager-Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois Consumer Response /* (4200, 39, 2014/10/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I called October 6, as indicated in their response. I did not receive a call back. I called again on October 8 at 2 pm. I did not receive a call back. I called again today, 10/13 at 2:34 pm. I have not received a call back. Three calls, three messages, no response. Business Response /* (4000, 41, 2014/10/23) */ The part is expected to be here no later than Tuesday of next week at which point we will contact *** to set up the install. NOTE FROM THE BBB: Please hold off on you response pending contact by the business. Please update us on the outcome of the conversation. ***** ****** Assistant Manager-Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois

9/23/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I wqs going to use this company 4 years ago--I had to go thru the BBB and the Illinois States attorney to get my deposit back..NOW They call daily for 10 days?? I told them eah time to stop---this is intentional ******** is a sick man

Desired Settlement: I wANT OFF HIS LIST HIS POWER DIALER ANYTHING TO DO WITH THIS ***** (HES NOT A MAN)

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/12) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Office Manage Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@siding-1.com We deleted Mr. ******* from our data base so he will not receive anymore calls from our company.

7/17/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: May 20.2013-contract signed for work to begin in 5-6 weeks and be completed in 5-6 weeks. Sales representative was ****** ********* 5-22-Spoke to ****** to correct some errors in contract-relating to gutters and windows. ****** said work should begin July1. 7-1-13-New garage roof. Not the best job. 7-3-Met ****** and asked when windows were to be measured. He apologized - He thought I didn't want them. 7-8-Carpenter and window man came out. *******, the carpenter aid he couldn't do the porch. ***, the window man,measured the width of the windows only at the bottom. I mentioned it to him since I thought three measurements should be taken. 7-15-****** called to say that the porch could be done and that *** would do it. Aug.14-16 Windows in bac ,storm windows in front(not as written on contract), gutters on garage. For some unknown reason, carpenter removed wood around door. Doo wouldn't close or lock. It remained like this for 19 days! I kept it closed at night with a board under the knob. Aug.19-23 Kept working on door. I told him not to try and shift the door.Called ****** and asked him to come since I didn't want *** to work on door. Only the stairs were to be rebuilt. Stairs taken down and next day installed. Canopy installed and railings. Gutters don't drain and leak at NW corner. Aug.26-31 Only 5 stairs were to be replaced.The stringers were OK. *** installed 3 more stringers-this took 3 days.3 posts installed and one section of railing the next two days. Siding was removed damaging my neighbor's window, one of my windows and the outside water faucet. Nobody bothered to cover my air conditioner. ***, the siding man, had to reco trim around window(very crooked). He said the sill was rotten. I told him the contract called for rotten sills to be replaced. ****(supervisor)said he may not have given him directions. I'm sure the second floor windows have rotten sills under the aluminum. Sept. 3-6 *** said chimney has 2 inch gap. Put caulk in gutter. New siding crew came. Called *****-said he'd come outnever came. Sept.9-13 Gutters still leaking and not draining. Siding crew work on east side of building without boarding up windowNobody told the workmen what was in the contract and they wanted to hear from the company. Called several people and got **** who said he would come outnever did. Light fixture and bell installed incorrectly. Sept.16-20 No one came. Finally, reqached ****** and he thought job was done. ************* came but was in a hurry and saw some of the problems. Met ****** at office on 25th -gave him punch list of 35 items. Oct.1-28 Beginning the 1st kept promising someone would come. Nobody came first week. Talked to ***(owner),*****,****** Promise4s made and no workmen came. *** came on 12th and I gave him punch list. Everything **** be corrected.Finally heard from him on the 21st.and a workman came on the 26th to remove canopy, redo bell, redo light fixture and put wires where they belong and fix trim. When Andy saw trim, he made them do it over. Nov.4-8Called ***- **** **** bring drawings of the new back stairs. NO drawings and no wortmen! Nov.15 Back stairs replaced. Nov.20-Man came-said his work was okay and wouldn't change front gutter. Awning up in back and spindle and stair somehow got damaged. December Because of space, I **** just say that many phone calls(at least 11) were made and promises made and no workers and no callbacks. They only called to ask for money. Even had meeting with *** at office. Sent certified letter(Dec. 23)memorializing our meeting of Dec.2 to ***. No response. April 14,2014 Sent certified letter asking for work to be completed. Mail was lost and found torn. Sent back to me on the 29th. Re-sent letter priority mail(4-30). M. ****** called 5-7, met with him on the 8th and explained the problems. He was to call the next day-never did. It is now 1 year since I signed contract.

Desired Settlement: I would prefer to have the work finished. These items were presented to the company and agreed to be corrected. Upper left window pane-scratched-replace Lower right window pane- not sealed-replace Windows are under warranty. The entire right window appears to have been measured wrong. Gap on lower pane-can push scissor blade to outside Caulking opened up. Garage gutter needs new corner on NW side. Front west downspout needs to feed into porch gutter and not be attached to front of building Water was flowing between gutters and house- will have to see if pitch is right of if it was the result of the storm and clogged gutter. Hose faucet handle Kitchen screen won't move. Wood on garage not primed Front storm door Mail slips through Cold air entering Wrong trim on kitchen window Back railings not sanded Back door doesn't close properly Gaps around door and threshold letting in cold air Did the hole in the chimney get fixed? Bottom step on back stairs higher then others Spindle and stairs damaged on back when awning was installed. Warranties for windows, mechanics liens, rebate papers for windows and storm door if applicable. The above was agreed to on !2-2-13. Since that date these other items need to be addressed. Icicles forming between the garqge and the gutter because no drip cap or flashing was installed at the corners. The old cap was left on and not replaced. Cement around downspouts where they enter the the drain was removed and never replaced. Cement and asphalt under back stairs is much lower than previously and this had led to flooding. Stairs not level and this led to 3 0r 4 being icy during the winter. Spindles are not spaced as specified which led to poor spacing at end of railings. If these items cannot or will not be corrected, I will not pay the $3,000 due upon satisfactory completion of the job and I will be asking for $2,000 to pay for the necessary repairs and possibly the necessity of a new back door.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/23) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Office Manage Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@siding-1.com ********* **** be contacted next Tuesday around 10am to schedule the completion of her job by the owner. He **** take over the job from this point until the work is completed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) A representative from Siding 1 called on Thursday, May22,2014 and said he would call the next Tuesday to schedule the completion of the job. He and several workers came out on May 27,2014 and reviewed what work needed to be completed and what work needed to be corrected. They corrected several items that day. They did not complete all of the work nor did they correct all of the defects. Nobody showed up to work the next day. I called the workman that I was told I should communicate with and he said they would return pending the arrival of the replacement windows.I had been told in December that the windows were ordered. There are items that need addressing which could be addressed which are not related to the windows. They also need to resolve the damage to the neighbor's window. The workman was to call me Friday ,May 30th, to let me know when they would return. No one called. Throughout these past 13 months, their pattern has been to do some work and say they **** return. No specific date is given. In short, I would like the work that I contracted for to be completed, the work that was done incorrectly to be corrected. and the neighbor's window to be repaired. I would like this work completed, corrected and damages repaired no later that June 20, 2014. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/06/20) */ We will be going out next Tuesday the 24th to complete the work. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/07/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) June2,2014-Called and spoke to *****(2:45p.m.) He woud give message to *** to call me. No one called.When I called office at 4;30p.m.; I was told *****, ***, and **** were gone for the day so there was no one to talk to-would I like to leave message? I left message for *** at 4;35p.m. June4-Called and ***** answered.He **** call ***.-was told the window hadn't come in. At 11:35 ***** called to say *** **** call me tomorrow. June 5-called 11:40a.m. Windows were there and they were mistaken about them having to be ordered.Man **** be out Tuesday. June 10-Two sashes were installed. Handles were put on the upper part instead of the lower part of the sash. So on one window the handles are on the bottom of the lower sash as they should be and on the replacement the handles were placed on the top of the lower sash. June12-*** called from car at 10:30a.m.-would call me back in about 1and 1/2 hours. At 2:15p.m. I called Siding 1 as I had not received a call. Was told *** wasn't coming in and I was given his cell number.At 2:25p.m. called *** and left message. At 2:50p.m. *** called to say he would be there with nis men on Saturday around 9:30a.m. June13-*** called early and said he would send a crew out today and one tomorrow. Around 3:00p.m. *** and his assistant arrived.*** and I had problems communicating. I called **** at Siding 1 so he could talk to ***. *** might understand English as **** said, but I do not understand Polish. By now I had contacted *** who said he understood that 16 ft. of gutter was needed to redo the gutter and short piece leading to porch gutter. The hole in the gutter to receive the short piece leading to porch was in wrong place. *** and asistant were going to leave and I said he was to check the chimney. He said it was fine and I said how could he tell from the sidewalk and he should get on the roof to check. He did and said the chimney had not been repaired. They couldn't do it that day as they had no materials. It appears they had not been told what was expected of them that day- This happened once before when they had not been given directions . June 14-No workers came. June 18-called *** -left message. June 19-Called ***-not in-left message. *** called and left message he **** call tomorrow a.m. June 20-By 11:15 I hadn't heard from *** -I called. *** was at hospital for tests. He would see me on the 24th, June 24- No workers-It was raining up North by ***'s house and he thought it was too wet. It was not raining by my house. June 27-*** called at 8;00a.m. He said ***** and assistant would be coming. They arrived close to 9:00a.m. They brought a 16ft piece of downspoutonce again there was miscommunication. The downspout was not the problem. ***** and assistant managed to correct the gutter situation and also fixed the chimney with some type of caulking compound. They left around 10:15. When *** called to say the men were coming he said he would contact me Monday to settle up. I said there were still things to be fixed. The gutter that was supposedly fixed for the third or fourth time was still leaking. Siding 1 has received letters containing lists of the work that needs to be completed. I don't understand why they think the job is done. I think it's time to go to arbitration.

4/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In September 2013 W1S1 was contracted to put siding on my home located at **** W. ********** Chicago IL, XXXXX. During installation, significant damage was done to my back porch when nails were driven through the walls, creating hundreds of holes and split wood. During all inspections prior to installation, there was no mention of any risk of damage of this kind. (Sales person *** ***** even called to say "he did not know that would happen.") ***** at Siding 1 Windows 1 (S1W1) was in charge of my case and has repeatedly not returned calls but has promised to fix all repairs. At the time of final payment, W1 S1 had promised to have repairs done to our back porch BEFORE winter. They also offered us gift cards for damage done to our gardens and landscaping during installation. Our payments to S1W1 for siding services are as follows: Sept 4- $5834.00, October 6- $5883, October 15- $5783.00 A contractor from the company came out to inspect the problem and asked that we wait until spring to fill the hotels and repaint despite being told that repairs could and would be made earlier. Since that time in January I have called the company 3 timestwice to see if a date for repairs had been scheduled and 1 to ask why *** (the contractor) had failed to come out on the date and time he scheduled to re-evaluate the damage a second time (March 26, 2014). *** also implied that he would be giving me an estimate to pay for the repairs even though I had been promised that the repairs would be paid for by the company. This was in response to my concern that filling the holes with putty and repainting would still leave behind evidence of damage. I requested that new beadboard (a low cost wood paneling) be placed over the damaged walls as a more cost effective and less labour intensive project that would replicate the look of the damaged vintage wood. It as after this conversation that *** failed to come to my home for a scheduled inspection and also failed to call me that he was running late or would not be able to come at all. I needed to call the company directly. There was a constant need to call to let the company know that their contractors were damaging property by piling tools, siding in scrap in garden beds "for storage" and causing damage to a young sapling from leaning very heavy large ladders against itall no where near where they were working (they had the entire lawn for putting their supplies which was understood prior to when work began, we had specifically requested that no tools or other equipment be placed IN the garden beds which was not respected). This in addition to leaving behind an abundance of nails, personal garbage (cups, lunch bags etc) and other debris added frustration to the ongoing concern over the damage being done to our back porch and personal spaces. We have had work done while rehabbing our house by other companies and understand that a certain amount of garbage and even property damage can occur, but we chose W1S1 because of their up front mission to have respect for our requests and promise to fix developing problems. We have been pursuing the completion and repair of our home for 6 months without any follow through on behalf of the company.

Desired Settlement: We are requesting that the company pay for and install and paint the bead board paneling to our back porch and finish cutting protruding nails to prevent injury to my family.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/04) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Office Manage Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@siding-1.com JD ******* of Siding-1 Windows-1 Exteriors called customer ********* Bespalec today and stated that we **** go to her home on Friday, April 11th between 8:30 AM and 9:00 AM. JD **** stop by that day to inspect work and speak with Siding-1 Windows-1 Exterior's crew. We **** finish the work by the end of the day on April 11th. We are completing this interior cosmetic repair as a good-faith effort to make ********* as happy as possible, as she is a valued customer of Siding-1 Windows-1 Exteriors. ********* has agreed to write to the BBB to say that we have completed the work to the contract specifications and are only doing additional good-faith work to make her as happy as possible. She has agreed to write her response by Monday evening, April 7th. Her issue with us, which she explained to *** was that we did not explain to her in advance that nails would go through her wall during her installation process. This, ** said, is why we are doing the additional work.

4/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I entered into a contract on 2/22/2013 with Siding-1 Windows -1 Exteriors, to perform work on my residence. The contracts were for 3 projects 1) replace a window for $5244.50, 2) install new siding on the front of the house $10,624.50 and 3) replace the front exterior porch $6290 totaling $22,159. The contracts called for 1/3 deposit at contract signing, 1/3 payment at the start of the project and the final payment upon completion. This dispute concerns the porch. The porch was the first project that was started on 4/11/13 and was to take 2-3 days per contract and week per the carpenter. The contract stated that they would obtain all necessary permits. A permit was not obtained before the start of the job. They repeatedly told me that the permit was obtained when it had not been. The Permit is dated 7/23/2013. As a result, the 1st porch was built without a permit or architectural specifications. They eventually disclosed that they did not get a permit and offered to write a letter stating the porch was to code and to provide a credit of $500. I insisted on a permit as stated in the contract. They agreed to obtain a permit after the fact. By May, the wood on the treads for the porch warped, pulling up screws and making the porch "bounce" and become unstable. They stated that they would replace the treads with new wood. This was the 1st major repair and 2nd time they built the porch. By the end of May, the project was said to be complete by the them pending the delivery of the permit. They asked for a check for $5000, leaving the final balance of $2472 to be paid upon delivery of the permit. Even though this was not due under the contract, a check for that amount was given on 5/31/2013 in good faith as they still insisted that their work was compliant and the permit a formality. They needed architectural specifications which had not been done prior to building the porch. The architects report was prepared 7/7/2013 and indicates that the porch is under-designed and in an unacceptable condition per the current code requirement despite their repeated assurances that the porch was built to code. The permit was issued on 7/23/2013 and eventually delivered to me in August after repeated follow ups. A new carpenter and project manager were assigned to rebuild the porch per the plans. Work started 9/21/13. During that 3rd rebuilding effort, it was obvious to me that the plans were not being followed which required the deck part of the porch to be done a 4th time. The majority of the work was said by the them to be completed by the end of the week. Support posts for the roof had to be ordered taking an additional 3 weeks. After additional follow up, I was told the posts were in but they were waiting for the carpenter. The carpenter indicated he no longer worked for the company. The project manager also no longer worked for the company. The posts were to be delivered and the job finished on 10/19/2013 with a 3rd carpenter and project manager assigned. When the carpenter and project manager arrived, they indicated that the posts ordered were the wrong size per the plans and that there were numerous other areas that were not to plan. This included but were not limited to the support of the deck portion, the connections at the house, and the stringer. The porch would need substantial changes making it the 5th time they tried to build it to correct the errors and meet the plans. At this point, I requested a refund of all monies paid for the porch via email and US Post so I could hire another contractor. I contacted other vendors who stated they would have to start from scratch as they would not assume liability for another vendors work rendering the porch in its current state a tear down. I spoke with *********** on 10/23 who offered to tear off the porch, rebuild it to plan and paint it at no cost to me. I asked for this comfirmation in writing which I've yet to receive confirming my concerns that nothing has changed.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a refund of monies paid for the failed project in the amount of $3903.08. This includes the unpaid portion of the porch $3818 ($6290 less $2472), the cost of the post caps $34.83 which I provided even though all materials were to be included, and the estimated cost to replace the bush $50.25. A dumpster was never provided per the contract to dispose of the old porch materials nor were tarps and plywood used to protect the building and landscaping resulting in damaged roof shingles and a broken bush. Roof shingles were replaced. The estimate to replace the bush is $50.25.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/24) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******@siding-1.com Customer has been contacted and we are all on the same page. *** had sent us an email requesting that we confirm everything that we promised to her in writing. I have attached a copy of the email that was sent to her today. Please call her to confirm that she has been contacted and that we are all on the same page. Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/10/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I wish my complaint to remain open until they actually perform the work and build the porch. At this point in time, I have the same commitment I had in the contract I signed in February (with the addition of the painting) but do not have anything demostrably different in terms of a compliant porch. My concern remains the same in that they have yet to meet the terms of our agreement. NOTE FROM THE BBB: Please confirm the date agreed upon for the work to begin. ***** ****** Assistant Manager-Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/11/21) */ No new updates as we are still on scheduled to complete the work on the 23rd of this month, the customer is also aware as we have been communicating with her weekly. Thanks NOTE FROM THE BBB: Pleas hold off on your response pending the scheduled visit. Please update us on the outcome of the visit. ************ Assistant Manager-Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2013/11/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The contractor did come on the 23rd. They were unaware of the agreement to take down the porch and start over and were simply coming out to install the posts and to "fix" a few items. After several phone calls and forwarding the email agreeing to redo the porch to meet code, a crew did come out in the afternoon. They have disassembled the old porch. No date has been communicated to me when they **** return to build a new one. The work remains unfinished. I would like my complaint to remain open until the commitments have been met. Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2013/12/03) */ *** ******* job was completed last week and she is very happy with the final results. Thanks ***** Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2013/12/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The job has not been completed. Crew was supposed to work last week and did not. They worked Saturday and I was told they would be here Monday pm and Tuesday to finish. They did not show up on Tuesday. The porch is blocked off, the railing and spindles are not done and the supporting hardware is not installed. My complaint remains unresolved. Re case XXXXXXXX 1 message *** ******* <**********@att.net> Tue, Dec 3, 2013 at 2:37 PM To: "*******@chicago.bbb.org" <*******@chicago.bbb.org> I have not spoken with the owner in over a week and this job is far from done. I am not satisfied at all. Attached is a picture taken at lunch today. Can you help me or do I just have to keep posting my complaint over and over? Thanks for your consideration. Sent from my iPhone Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2013/12/04) */ Case #: XXXXXXXX 1 message ***** ***** <******@siding-1.com> Tue, Dec 3, 2013 at 2:28 PM To: "*******@chicago.bbb.org" <*******@chicago.bbb.org> *****, I just spoke with *** and the job is not done, she mentioned that the railings need to be done and I check with my production department and the material was picked up today and we are going out to complete the job tomorrow between 12pm - 1pm. I am deeply sorry for my response earlier as I was not aware as it was to be completed from last week but because of the Holiday or suppliers were closing early so we did not have all the material to finish the job. Thanks ***** ***** Office Manager Siding-1 Windows-1 Exteriors 3066 N Clybourn Ave Chicago, IL XXXXX 773-616-3588 (Cell) 773-929-2482 (Fax) ******@siding-1.com www.Siding1Windows1.com Siding 1 Windows 1 Logo Consumer Response /* (4200, 21, 2013/12/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was told the job would be done today. Workers were at another job and cancelled mine. No progress. NOTE FROM THE BBB: Please hold off on your response until the work has been completed. Please update us on the outcome of the visit. ************ Assistant Manager-Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois Business Response /* (4000, 24, 2013/12/16) */ Case #: XXXXXXXX - Update 1 message ***** ***** <******@siding-1.com> Thu, Dec 5, 2013 at 9:17 AM To: "*******@chicago.bbb.org" <*******@chicago.bbb.org> *****, I went out to *** this morning at 8am and met with her and the installers, we went over what needed to be done and the work **** be completed today as we have all the material need on site. After completion the next step is to contact the city to have an inspector come out to inspect her job. I **** keep you posted as I am physically involved with this now. Thanks ***** ***** Office Manager Siding-1 Windows-1 Exteriors 3066 N Clybourn Ave Chicago, IL XXXXX 773-616-3588 (Cell) 773-929-2482 (Fax) ******@siding-1.com www.Siding1Windows1.com Consumer Response /* (4200, 26, 2013/12/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ***** has been very helpful. The work is done but still needs to pass *** city inspection and then be painted in spring. NOTE FROM THE BBB: Please provide a date or estimated dated by which the inspection **** take place. Also, please confirm your commitment to paint in the spring. ************ Assistant Manager-Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois Business Response /* (4000, 30, 2014/01/30) */ The inspection took place on 1/10/14 and it passed. We still have to stain her deck but we won't be able to until the weather is much nicer. We are looking at April when the weather **** get warmer. *** and I are on the same page and she is aware that we need good temperatures in order to do the staining. Thanks ***** Consumer Response /* (3000, 36, 2014/04/07) */ The porch passed *** city inspection but Siding-1 was unable to complete the staining/painting over the winter due to the weather. They have followed up with me monthly but I have deferred completion until we have consistently good weather. They have included this at no cost to me plus a credit on my final **** waiving the remaining balance to make amends for the past problems.

12/10/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As part of a large 2006 home improvement 5 windows were installed and now two fail to open. 2 service calls were made to try and open and failed. Further communication has been ignored. Original problem occurred with one window this summer and now a second window has also failed. Looking for service and resolution to the issue.

Desired Settlement: I am looking for someone to properly follow up on my issues and come to some sort of agreement in how my windows are going to be fixed. To simply be told we can't help because the window manufacturer is out of business is not an acceptable answer or solution. These windows came highly recommended and they should last more than 7 years in functioning properly. I am not looking for something free but I expect the installer to stand up for their installed product and offer a repair or replacement solution.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** Office Manager Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******@siding-1.com **** was contacted and told that we would have a service tech call him in 72 hrs to set up a service. We **** attempt to repair the window but it **** be a challenge as the manufacturer is out of business so we cannot get parts any in the US as the company was a German company. In any event I told **** that the worst case scenario we could get him new windows and we **** split the cost with him. Also these windows were installed back in 2006 and came with only a 3 year labor warranty and we are not even charging him to go out. Thanks ***** -------------------------------------------------- RE: BBB Complaint Case# 94478568 (Ref#XX-XXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXXX) 1 message ***** ***** <******@siding-1.com> Thu, Dec 12, 2013 at 8:19 AM To: "*******@chicago.bbb.org" <*******@chicago.bbb.org> *****, We went on Tuesday of this week and took care of the two casement windows that were unable to open. The customer called in extremely happy to thank us for helping them out. Thanks ***** ***** Office Manager Siding-1 Windows-1 Exteriors 3066 N Clybourn Ave Chicago, IL XXXXX ************ (Cell) ************ (Fax) ******@siding-1.com www.Siding1Windows1.com Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/12/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Today a very experienced and super nice installer came out, determined that the windows in question were no longer in proper alignment (Sagged out of plumb)and thus were no longer able to open. He spent about an hour removing trim, re-plumbing the windows and they now work properly both opening and closing. There is one latch that is broken but it is of no consequence since the original window manufacturer is out of business. Very satisfied with the repair work and response.

12/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Before the sale was done. The company contacted me promptly. Once I agreed to the contract and said yes to the sales after all the paper work is done. No one has contacted me for 3 weeks. I have been contacting them for an update. Every time I call them they say some one **** contact me but no one has contacted me. Poor Service.

Desired Settlement: I don't want to use this service. I want to cancel the contract

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** Office Manager Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******@siding-1.com Mr. **** was contacted yesterday and our General manager is going out today to measure his windows and to speak with ****. We had a few installers take their vacation which was us fall sightly behind on our measure as we just did not have the man power. Thanks ***** Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/12/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) *** Came this morning 12/3/2013 and took the measurements for the window. He had promised that the windows **** be ready in 3 weeks maximum. Hopefully the windows **** be in there by 4th week. Having my fingers crossed. **** update BBB on the 4th week. Thanks, ****

9/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have had multiple phone conversations and email exchanges with ***** *****, Office Manager at Siding-1 Windows-1 Exteriors. We initially agreed to a $75.00 service call to repair the windows they installed at **** ** ******** The service charge of $75.00 was to be deducted from the total bill. Service representative came to 1834 W. Melrose on July 1, 2013. Service Representative told ****** ***** that he needed $300.00 to complete the job. ****** ***** paid the $300.00 by personal check. Service representative fixed one small screen. Several weeks later (Mid-July 2013) we were told that Siding-1 was unable to get the parts needed to repair safety locks on 4 windows. Siding-1 was unable to complete the job and refuses to refund any of the $300.00 payment. ***** ***** **** no longer return phone calls or respond to any of email messages. They have engaged in deceptive business practices and predatory sales to a senior citizen.

Desired Settlement: We are seeking a refund of $275.00. We are more than happy to pay a fair cost for repair of the screen, which was completed. Fair cost should be $25.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/08/21) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** Office Manager Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******@siding-1.com We gave the customer a refund of $75 dollars, all jobs that are out of warranty comes with a $75 trip charge + labor and if the material is still covered under the manufacturer warranty then the parts is free. It was explained to Mr. ***** that the product line was discontinue so we tried to get parts from ****** ****** hardware and other suppliers but they did not have that part available. We called Mr. ***** to let him know that we were not able to locate the part anywhere and which point ****** got involved and wanted us to refund the entire amount and we are not able to do that as we did other work at the house. Let us know if you have any other questions. Thanks Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2013/08/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The $75.00 was not refunded until this complaint was filed. We paid Siding 1 a total of $300. Thus, they have charged us $225.00 to fix one small hole on a small screen. This amount is excessive. NO other work was completed. NOTE FROM THE BBB: Please provide a copy of the consumer's signed contract for our review. That copy may be attached to your next response or faxed to XXX-XXX-XXXX. ***** ****** Assistant Manager-Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/08/27) */ A check **** be mailed out on Friday for the full amount. NOTE FROM THE BBB: Please hold off on your response pending receipt of the check. Please confirm receipt. ***** ****** Assistant Manager-Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Siding-1 Windows-1 Exteriors
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)