Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Hanright Builders

Phone: (630) 992-7282 102 N. Hudson St., Westmont, IL 60559 https://www.facebook.com/HANRIGHTBUILDERS/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hanright Builders meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hanright Builders include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hanright Builders
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 12, 2007 Business started: 12/01/2002 Business started locally: 12/01/2002 Business incorporated 12/22/2007 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. James Hanright, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Hanright, Owner
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Basement - Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling Windows - Installation & Service Millwork Doors - Installation Contractors-Drywall / Plastering Kitchen Remodeling Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions Deck Builders Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Siding Contractors Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was quoted for tongue and groove roof deck but used ordinary pine boards with 1/4" to 1/2" space between the boards. I have an estimate from Hanright specifying "use 3/4" tongue and groove to replace 3/4" t&g boards". When confronted he said he could tear it all out and start over at my expense. Was supposed to paint wood trim on back of the house as part of work performed after a storm in 2012. Still not done after many requests over 2 years. Siding put up in 2013 is now unattached at one corner. Replaced 2 sliding glass doors and was to remove old doors from property in 2013. Doors were never removed. New siding painted in such a way that the primer is still visible underneath. After new siding was put up shutters were supposed to be rehung. Shutters were never rehung. Sent many emails over the last year with the main responses being, asking for remaining payment or that he will get to it as soon as he is done working on his current contract. Emailed the last time about a month ago saying this was the last straw and if I don't hear back I will open a case with BBB. Never heard back from him after that.

Desired Settlement: Refund for the work not performed and performed with materials cheaper than what were quoted.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/07/01) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******** owner Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****************@gmail.com The work performed after the storm was completed to customer satisfaction after he talked it over with me as well as the roofer he hired. He did call me and hire me for another job almost a year later to replace doors. During the project I informed him that the doors that he purchased on his own were smaller than the existing and would require additional work and materials, which I reluctantly agreed to do at no charge after he assumed that it was included. We went back on 2 separate occasions to paint after scheduled and were told to leave because it had rained between 7 to 10 days ago and he wanted it to sit for 2 weeks. finally we went and applied 2 coats. yes I did not remove the old doors and dispose of them and install shutters. During the painting one of my employees had fallen through his deck and injured his leg consequently missing 3 days of work. As for not responding I called him and asked if there was anything unfinished because I was going through invoices and there was an outstanding balance and he responded by telling me that there was work to be completed but he did not owe me any money. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/07/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The roof was not completed to my satisfaction but you told me if I wanted it done the way it was quoted you would have to tear it out and start again billing me all over again. Yes, I was soft and let you get away with that. I had a lot going on after the storm and other contractors needed to come in and were scheduled to begin their work. So, I bit it. I gave you a second chance because you are a good carpenter. We never discussed anything about the doors being smaller. I sent the painter away once because it stormed the night before and the siding was wet. Neither of us has control over the rain. I'm not sure how your employee falling off his ladder has any bearing on this. We need a paid-in-full invoice and I'll consider the matter closed. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/08/08) */ ***** ******** <****************@gmail.com> Fri, Aug 1, 2014 at 7:46 PM To: ********* *****" <*******@chicago.bbb.org> Hello *****, I'm sorry I didn't very back to you sooner I had a crazy week. I put the paid in full invoice in mail *** ******** ******** Builders hanrightbuilders.ezlocal.com ****************@gmail.com


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Hanright Builders
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)