Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Fix This Paint That

Phone: (847) 624-9225 202 Dato Dr, Streamwood, IL 60107 http://www.fixthispaintthat.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fix This Paint That meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fix This Paint That include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fix This Paint That
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 14, 2009 Business started: 01/01/2000 Business started locally: 01/01/2000
Business Management
Mr. Brad Perry, President/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brad Perry, President/Owner
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Basement - Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling Contractors - General Hand Painting & Decorating Painting Contractors Painting - Faux Finishing Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)


Additional Locations

  • 202 Dato Dr

    Streamwood, IL 60107 (847) 624-9225

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/11/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired this contractor to paint and make repairs in condo which were getting ready for rental. He estimated work to be $3,600.00. Gave us a very vague written estimate for labor and material. Since he did not give us a detailed estimate, via email, we detailed all the work we wanted him to do and authorized him to go as high as $4,000. Anything above $4,000 would require homeowner authorization. Contractor billed us $5,100.00 without authorization and left many things undone: Many holes in walls were not filled or painted Front door frame - had gouges, holes and bumps we requested he repair, fill with spackle and sand then paint. Contractor just painted over the gouges and holes without prepping. Looks terrible, very unprofessional Ceiling trim in bedroom, piece missing from 1/2 of a wall Told us he would buy modern curved shower curtain rods to install in the two bathrooms; did not do this, purchased traditional straight shower curtain rods Contractor suggested he paint the vanity in one of the bathrooms as it looked old and dingy; vanity was not painted Painted one wall in dining room white, not cream color as the rest of the condo; seems like he ran out of cream color paint and painted it with leftover ceiling paint Painted over cable cords into wall of bedrooms instead of moving the cords and painting around them; looks terrible and unprofessional The only leftover paint he left was one can of white, not cream color which was the color of the interior walls; we asked him what color and brand he used for the condo walls so we could have for touch ups and all he told us was that there was leftover paint in the kitchen. The only leftover paint in the kitchen was white, not cream color, so now we have no way of knowing what color we need to use for touch ups that he left undone. We believe the contractor pulled a "bait and switch" on us by leaving many details undone and charged us an additional $1,100 without authorization. We were getting this condo ready for rental and it was empty -- no furniture, etc. We needed it to look perfect for a rental. Now we have to call in another contractor to finish the job he did not complete, costing us at least another several hundred dollars.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $1,000.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/20) */ This was a time and material job from the start and the customer knew this. I gave her a estimate stating that the labor was approx. 1 1/2 week @ $45 per hour, and material cost was approx. $750. After the first week I gave the customer a bill for the weeks work with itemized labor charges and materials purchased. At that time I told her I had a very difficult time removing the wall paper in the bathroom, the walls were in bad shape and needed to be skim coated/sanded and primed. I also informed the client that this job was going to take a full 2-weeks (or $900 more than estimate). I also told the customer, at that time, that we were already over budget. As far as the small items that the customer mentions, I would have been more than happy to correct these problems, but was not given the chance to do so. The customer, at this point, told me she was getting someone else. The paint I left with the client was spare wall paint. The top of can contains the tint information which can be useful to customers in the future. The paint was left behind because the client purchased the paint. I did buy the cheaper shower rods to save money. When I finished the job and gave the customer the final bill she seemed surprised we were over budget. At that time, the customer demanded money off the bill. To satisfy the client and ensure payment, I agreed to reducing the bill by $125. I am sorry for the misunderstanding of time and materials I thought it was crystal clear. It is unfortunate that the customer was dissatisfied. I have NEVER received a complaint before and I strive to ensure that all customers are satisfied with my work. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/10/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Contractor did not tell us the work was going to take longer than the week and a 1/2 until the last minute. He started job on Monday, September 23 and did not tell us until Wednsesday, October 2nd that the job was going to take the rest of the week. Contractor DID NOT TELL US HE WAS ALREADY OVER BUDGET BY $900. Contractor told us he was going to buy additional material such as electrical outlet plates and wall switches, but NEVER indicated the bill would go over the $4000 which is what we authorized. Contractor did not indicate to us that he was going to buy the cheaper shower curtain rods to save money -- he just did so without our knowledge. -Did not paint the bathroom vanity he promised, -did not replace the light over the kitchen sink as promised. Contractor's email from August 23, 2013, indicates in one sentence that the charge is $45 per hour plus materials and is just a ballpark, but in the next part of the same sentence, it says it will not be more than $3,600. Very confusing. Even if contractor went over budget by $900 and our original estimate was for $3,600, that would be a total of $4500. He charged us $5100 so we should be due a refund of at least $600. And we did not "demand" money back, we requested money back in a most civilized friendly way. We did not call the contractor back to make the fixes he left undone because we did not want to be charged more money. In our opinion, he was a little too anxious to get his final payment on Friday night before we had a chance to do a final inspection on Saturday. Attached are emails indicating the following: 1) From contractor to us indicating the charge is just a ballpark, but would not be more than $3600 2) Detailed estimate from customer to contractor with areas circled that were not completed and notation to contractor that the job could not exceed $3,960 without homeowner approval. Contractor never told us the job was going to exceed $3,960. 3) Original estimate from contractor - very vague and not detailed 4) Email with contractor stating he would replace light in kitchen over sink. In light of the fact that the contractor "saved" money by not purchasing the curved shower curtainn rods, did not paint the bathroom vanity as promised and other things, I don't understand how the final price can be so far over what we discussed. We are seeking a refund of $1000. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/11/11) */ Again This was a time and materials Job. The customer new this.I said the LABOR would not exceed $3600 and it didn't.We went over on the material.The customer also new this. I also am upset that the customer stated that I was too anxious to receive the check on Friday but she didn't have a check to pay me I had to return the following day to be paid. Obviously the customer isn't remembering correctly. This is my final response to the matter. I will not be refund any money. I have already discounted this Job $125.I should not be paying for the customers materials.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Fix This Paint That
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)