Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Everlast Renovation Company

Additional Locations

Phone: (847) 426-8710 203 N Washington St, Carpentersville, IL 60110 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.everlastrenovation.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Everlast Renovation Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Everlast Renovation Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Everlast Renovation Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 14, 2010 Business started: 05/05/1995 Business started locally: 05/05/1995 Business incorporated 06/15/2008 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ivan Gonzalez, Owner Justin Cagle, Project Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ivan Gonzalez, Owner
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Windows Carpenters Gutters & Downspouts Home Improvements - Additions Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)


Additional Locations

  • 203 N Washington St

    Carpentersville, IL 60110

  • 419 E 4th St

    East Dundee, IL 60118

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed a contract with ****** at Everlast to replace our roof, siding, fascia, soffits, and gutters on June 3, 2014. At the time, he said they were about two weeks from starting the project, and it would take 4 or 5 days to complete. They were able to replace the roof immediately, which was great. However, it took numerous phone calls and attempted contacts before the siding project was started around July 14, 2014. During this time, we were repeatedly told (when we called) they would start "next week" but ****** made no attempt to keep us informed. After the project began, it became clear that they underestimated the amount of siding they would need by approximately 20%. Though this was a big oversight, we understood that mistakes happen. However, we ran into the same issue with ****** not communicating with us about when the project would be resumed. At this time, we noticed that one side of the house was very poorly sided with several waves in it that weren't there before. ****** looked at it and reported it was due to something with the foundation meeting the house, and he would have to charge us $2XX-XXX to fix it. We got a second opinion and found that the problem was due to the installation, not our house. After another phone call, the company agreed to fix it free of charge when the new siding arrived. Eventually, calls were also placed to ******'s boss, **** about the lack of work on the house. ****** reported that the siding was backordered but would be in on August 4th or 5th. ****** assured us that the project would be completed as soon as the siding arrived and would likely take less than two days of work. On August 5th, the crew resumed the project, but did not finish as they ran out of daylight. They did not come to the house on August 6th or 7th, even after numerous phone calls to both ****** and ****. ****** and **** each assured us that they would be out personally on August 8th to make sure the project was completed. Today (8/08), the crew was out until noon or 1 PM, but left again without finishing the project. Neither ****** nor **** came to the house, as promised, and ****** would not return any of several phone calls made to him throughout the afternoon. We called ****, who stated he was under the impression that the project was finished, and that he had pictures of the crew fixing the side of the house that had wavy siding. We then did a walk around outside and noted a myriad of problems that were left by the crew, including that the siding wave was not fixed, there were no shutters, faceplates were missing from exterior outlets, and various other, smaller issues. In total, we counted 17 problems that were not addressed satisfactorily. We also found several razor blades in our grass, which was of significant concern to us. At this point, we have no information on when (or if) the project will be completed. In all, the project has been a nightmare and we wish nothing more than for it to be completed immediately. As of now, it has been over nine weeks since the contract was signed, and it was supposed to be a 3-4 week project. This has caused us to postpone other projects we need to complete this summer, causing a lot of hassle and frustration. We felt the need to file a formal complaint after the business was repeatedly unable to address our concerns informally.

Desired Settlement: We need the job to be appropriately completed immediately.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/08/22) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******** Owner Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ****@everlastrenovation.com Mr. *********** has agreed to retract this BBB complaint. Work was being completed the very day this complaint appeared online. A few more punch list items were addressed the next consecutive days and we have now amicably resolved the issues.

6/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: From day one ****** claimed he could get us roof and siding with us paying nothing out of pocket but then we had to pay $1500 at the end of job. Job started in July '13 still isn't finished. Every time we contact makes excuses about coming out. I had to clean up all the nails and metal left by his crew that they left. My dog cut his paw on a piece of metal and all he can saw is that he didn't make any money of this job so we should be happy. Claims he will send someone out to finish the job only because we have the final check still but worried I might have to take my dog in and he claims he does not have to pay if we do.

Desired Settlement: Just want him to finish the job and clean up from what his men never did. Just want it over and done with and out of my life unless something happens for warrenty.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/11) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******** Owner Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ****@everlastrenovation.com We are happy as always, to respond to the concerns of the homeowner and to the BBB. We thought the complaint was only about the injured pet, but we see that the complaint was more slanted towards being unsatisfied with the contract amount, length of job, and an alleged unfinished status. Although we have already visited the customer in person and have been paid in full as of 4/30/14. We were surprised to see a written complaint filed the very same day. The customer states she "had to do what she had to do". The customer paid in full because our simple 4 line contract dated 8/5/13 states quite clearly that she was to pay her insurance proceeds from her insurance claim plus her $1,0000 deductible, plus $500.00. There was never any promises, allusion, or misunderstanding about not having to pay anything out of pocket. One could argue that a contract has too much fine print, too long, too complicated, or contained ambiguous wording, but the contract is only 4 lines. I have attached a signed copy. When the customer called upset that their dog had stepped on a nail, we scheduled to be on site the very next business day. The homeowner called while we were in route and postponed to the following day. The nail turned out to not be a nail, but rather a piece of unrecognizable metal which allegedly was left from the job. As far as clean up goes. They do not keep their grass nor their leaves. It is not easy to clean up nails in 8" tall grass and 8 inches of leaves. The magnets can't reach through the grass. However, the crew cleaned while on site, the salesman cleaned twice, the owner of the company cleaned once again. We had to rake their leaves for them in order to pick up nails and debris, we stopped short of cutting their grass too. In addition once a foot of snow fell shortly after thanksgiving it did not melt for 4 months. by end of march 2014 the snow was knee high in their front and rear yard. This company can not be held liable for debris allegedly left carelessly behind from a siding job that was finished 6 months ago. It is beyond a reasonable amount of time. The piece of metal could have been from anything. As far as the time line goes. Mrs. ********* recollection of events are somewhat skewed. We met in July 2013, The insurance claim decision took a while. We signed a contract after their insurance company finished their inspection, we signed a contract based on their scope on August 5, 2014. (see attached) They selected roofing and siding colors and pulled we registered a contractor license and permit on October 21, 2013. The copy of the check is attached, the back endorsement has their address clearly marked. We did the roof first. The siding followed in November 2013. What Mrs. ********* states as unfinished is that we were going to add a corrugated plastic downspout extension. I have attached a picture of what this item looks like. We agreed we would slip this on when we came for the final payment. We did not hound them for money in the meantime, nor did we make a special trip for this $10.00 item. It was always understood that we would put this on last. However nothing of the roof or siding was in disarray or unfinished this whole time. Please feel free to contact me to discuss this matter at length. **** ******** XXX-XXX-XXXX. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First off, my dog getting hurt was the straw that broke the camel's back as they say. My yard's grass was never 8 inches long. We had always kept it short up untill October when the weather got cold. Along both sides of our house actually is either the drivway or gravel. In fact,the area in the backyard were work was completed is covered in dirt not grass. The back yard yes had leaves but until his men racked them into huge piles; they were pretty spread out throughout the yard. ****** was the one who had told his men to rake the leaves into a pile when we complained about the debris that was left. This happened that Monday of Thanksgiving week. We were still cleaning up ******** and ****** ******** garbage that his workers left around,in our bushes, and in our backyard. His men could of used their "metal detector" to find the pieces they left behind. I have attached only a few pictures of what I have had to clean up from his men, but like I said when my dog was injured, I just couldn't ignore this anymore. I was also 6 months pregnant at the time and put on bed rest which up to that time I had kept up with the yard work or had the kids across the street cut it for us. I have an English Bulldog who is extreme allergic to grass for which I have to keep up with yard. When ****** ***** came for the final payment he told me that "I had another job in the area and since you weren't a high paying job, I figure I would just come when I came to do their job. But they have had issues." I showed ****** the pieces of metal that he allegdly said he can not be held liable for a job done six months prior. (pictures attached) His jaw dropped and he said "This is embarrassing, I can understand the smalll pieces but not this." I also pointed out that when we could not find our mailbox after they were done with the siding ****** was forced to buy us a new one. Well come to find out it was thrown into our bushes like a lot of the debris. The final payment also was given in check to ****** ***** on May 2,2014 not April 30, 2014. During this time, ****** ***** also took a plastic bag full of the debris that he claimed he was going to show his boss that was left behind. Also into response to Mr.******** stating that "nothing of the roof or siding was in disarray or unfinished" is untrue because the piping containing the air conditioning wiring was hanging from the side of the house. Plus, the backdoor doorbell wiring was still exposed. Our door bell was and has not been placed back. In response to the Owner, **** ********, he was never and has never met with us or been on our property. The only person that was here was ****** ***** who is the Project Manager according to paperwork. May 8, 2014 ****** ***** was still contacting me (******** *********) and harassing me about how the situation can be handled. This was into response from us contacting our Farmers Insurance agent about how we were treated and how the situation was handled. We do have the pictures on file if they need to be presented EVEN though they HAVE received the final payment. Final Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/05/28) */ I'm sorry Mrs. *********, but you are also unaware of what transpired during your project. As the owner of this company I was out to your home 4 times. I personally pulled all your permits and brought them out to your home, which was my first trip. I met your husband and I met your english bulldog and I can describe your front yard, home, and your back yard. I did not get the opportunity to come out during the roofing work, but when the siding began, I brought the siding components and ran to the store as the crew needed items. In total I was out there 4 times. In regards to your mailbox. It was placed on top of a bush, but fell to the bottom. Since so much snow fell during your siding job, it was no longer visible. However, once you had presented the issue....without any hesitation this company purchased a brand new one and placed it where you desired. I don't see how that makes us terrible. In regards to the pictures you have supplied, one can see how much tall grass, leaves, branches, twigs and shrubbery you have in your lawn. These items you show are aluminum and cannot be picked up by magnets, We pick these up by sight. You completely disregard to the BBB how much snow had fallen during your project, burying most of these things. We picked up several times, we went as far as raking your yard for you in a responsible manner to pick up as much as we could. The fact of the matter is.....that we finished siding your home around Thanksgiving of 2013. That is 6 months ago. At some point you become responsible for your yard after week 2 or 3. If your dog went out twice a day during those 6 months, he has been in your yard over 365 times without getting cut on anything. My point is there was no complete disregard for clean up. You yourself confirmed that you stopped cleaning your yard since October 2013, making our job harder. We shouldn't have to rake customer's yards because they don't cut their lawns nor rake their own leaves. We are not a landscaping company. You have also falsely accused this company of harassment! We perform hundreds of jobs annually. No one in this company is aggressive. For the BBB's benefit, here is ********* last text message to you verbatim. "I just got off the phone with farmers. They told me about your email complaint. You have now made a complaint on the b.b.b. and complained to your agent. I gave you a roof for $500 so you guys would not have to worry about that immediately after twins. I really did try to help you guys out. Now your intentions seem to be to cause as much trouble for me as possible. I am truly sorry your dog was injured. Is there anything else I can do to resolve this? This text message is in no way harassment. You didn't mention to the BBB that you were only approved for siding from your insurance company. YOU REALLY NEEDED A ROOF. WE DID YOUR ROOF ANYWAYS. Every year we are charitable with a few customers that really need the help. ****** believed you were good people that could use the extra help since you couldn't afford the work otherwise. If you continue to slander my company and continue to falsely claim harassment, I will be take legal action against you.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Everlast Renovation Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)