Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Chris Kare, Inc.

Phone: (800) 750-3340 View Additional Phone Numbers 31828 N US Highway 12, Volo, IL 60073 http://www.chriskare.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Chris Kare, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Chris Kare, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Chris Kare, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 1980 Business started: 04/01/1977 in IL Business started locally: 04/01/1977 Business incorporated 12/01/1981 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chris Christofilos, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Christofilos, President
Related Businesses
Weather Damage Specialists Chris Kare Realty, LLC
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Bathroom Remodeling Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction Sunrooms Windows Soffit & Fascia Screen Enclosures Contractor - Crawl Space Kitchen Remodeling Contractors - General Basement - Contractors Basement - Finishing Contractor - Remodel & Repair Gutters & Downspouts Home Improvements Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)

Method(s) of Payment
All major credit cards
Alternate Business Names
Chris Kare Home Living

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The sales person, ****, and the main installer, ***, were nice and seemed to do a good job. **** was knowledgeable and helpful when putting together a quote, and *** was really nice when doing the installation. Unfortunately, when they installed the new soffits, they covered up parts of and in some cases entire soffit vents, which severely impacted air flow through the attic of my home. I have been noticing water spots in various places on my ceilings for the past couple of years, and I have had several different contractors investigate the problem without anyone able to determine the root cause. A few months ago, I solicited proposals for remodeling my master bedroom and bathroom from a few contractors with whom I have worked over the past few years, including Chris-Kare. **** from Chris-Kare gave me a verbal quote but never followed through with a written proposal that outlined what the costs he had told me would cover, despite me asking him multiple times. Not surprisingly, I chose another contractor, and recently that contractor began to remodel my master bedroom and bathroom. I asked him to look into the issue with the water damage I had been seeing the past couple of years, and he determined that there was almost no air flow in my attic, which was causing heat to get trapped when it is cold outside that was causing frost on the inside of my roof and rafters, which was then melting and running down my rafters and through my walls. They brought in other contractors to get their opinion, and all confirmed the root cause was likely to be the soffits had been installed in such a way that they were restricting and/or preventing airflow through my attic. The contractors remodeling my master bedroom and bathroom offered to take the aluminum soffit vent panels down, cut out larger vent holes in the original wooden soffits, and then replace the aluminum soffit vent panels, but because they do not usually work with soffits and fascia, they do not have the tools to re-install the fascia properly after completing the fix they had proposed. I subsequently called **** at Chris-Kare to ask his help with replacing the soffit and fascia, making it clear that I was not blaming them for the problem nor looking for them to do the work for free (despite the fact he promoted and the company's website prominently displays a lifetime 100% satisfaction guarantee). He came out with one of the owners of the company, ****, to see the issue firsthand, make their own determination, and hopefully willingly help replace the fascia after the other contractor completed the work of unblocking the vents. **** and **** refused to look in the attic at the problem when they arrived at my house, and they went on to blame the siding, which I had installed immediately after Chris-Kare had installed the new soffits, fascia, and gutters (I had looked into having Chris-Kare do that work at the time, but **** told me that they only do vinyl siding and I wanted LP siding), then they blamed the roofers (I had a new roof installed shortly after the siding by yet another company - one that specialized in roofing). **** then said he didn't think the water damage on my ceilings was their problem and he said the contractors fixing the vents should just do all the work. He said he would pay for their time despite the fact I repeatedly said it was his company's expertise I needed, reiterating each time that I would even pay for it. Then **** told me he was not willing to help because I was not a loyal customer. The next day, the contractors I have helping removed the soffit vents Chris-Kare had installed. Not surprisingly, the aluminum soffits Chris-Kare had installed had in some instances completely covered the vents in the wooden soffits and in the best cases they had only been partially covered. I am now paying the contractors for fixing the problem Chris-Kare caused, and will have to pay others to fix the damage from their negligence.

Desired Settlement: I want the business to pay for the repairs required for the damage they caused by covering up my soffit vents, which includes the labor for the contractors who fixed Chris-Kare's shoddy work and the cost for repainting my ceilings.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/02/11) */ Re: Case #******** - **** *******.vs.*****-Kare Inc 1 message ***** Kare Home Living <*******************@gmail.com> Wed, Feb 11, 2015 at 8:19 AM To: ********* *****" <*******@chicago.bbb.org> Hi *****- Just a quick update: Chris has spoken with **** ****** and he agreed to call Chris this week so Chris can go out to his home to resolve the issue. They have not picked a date yet, but should be this week. If I need to go into the BBB system and respond, please let me know- otherwise as you suggested last week to just wait until they meet and then upload result. thank you! **** XXX-XXX-XXXX NOTE FROM THE BBB: Please hold off on your response pending an agreement upon a date for a visit from the business. If that date is within the next 10 days, please respond after that visit. Please update us on the outcome of the visit. ***** ****** Assistant Manager-Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Chris Kare, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)