BBB Accredited Business since

Chavez Construction, Inc.

Phone: (630) 946-9022 Fax: (630) 656-1299 330 E Roosevelt Rd, Lombard, IL 60148

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Chavez Construction, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Chavez Construction, Inc. include:

  • 6 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Chavez Construction, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Chavez Construction, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 10, 2008 Business started: 08/01/2002 Business started locally: 08/01/2002 Business incorporated 08/15/2011 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Gerardo Chavez, President/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gerardo Chavez, President/Owner
Number of Employees


Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Remodeling Services Handyman Services Concrete Contractors Concrete Repair/Leveling Contractors - General Gutters & Downspouts Contractors - Gutters Painting Contractors Siding Contractors Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Chavez Construction after the May 2014 hail storm to repair siding damages. It has been over a year and they have not started on the siding of the house. I gave them the check from my insurance claim so they can purchase what they needed. I found out that on September 2014 they cashed the check but never brought any supplies. I tried contacting them May 2015 and told them I have been waiting for them to start the process. I did tell them that in their contract it states that they will not start any form of process until they receive a check from the customer. I did my part and they have not. Product_Or_Service: house siding

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) For them to get the job done. I have contacted twice on good terms and they have not followed through. I have the conversations saved on my phone. I had requested a full refund but they are saying they would need penalize us.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/06) */ We have completed the garage roof which equal to the amount of the deposit . For the additional work he can hire someone else no penalty . Insurance company has the check once he completes the job ***** **** will pay the balance to cover the remaining work

2/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/18/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid in full roughly $6,594.14 for the replacement of the roof. Repairs were done in July 30th 2014. We received a notice from an attorney which is placing a lien on our home for failure of Chavez Construction to pay the supply company the amount of $3220.19. We have tried calling several times ******* ****** to resolve the issue and he states that normally they give him 30 days to pay the invoice but he will take care of and resolve. For the past 3 weeks or longer we have still attempted to contact him to resolve the issue and he is not returning our calls. We now have received a 2nd notice from the supplier attorney that the lien is going forward on our home. We also are aware that our 2 neighbors who also had roofing done on the same day as ours have also received these letters regarding the lien on their homes. My concern is also that one of our neighbor his lien is for roughly $2200.00 when his house is alot bigger than mine and required more supplies. I am concerned that they are over charging the amount that they claim they provided material for. I called the office number and spoke with ***** who also mentioned to me that only ******* can take care of this and that she can relay the message however that she always has this problem with him in trying to resolve the lien's on the home. This does not speak to well if even if your employees recognize this. I am just looking for help to resolve the lien on my home along with my neighbors.

Desired Settlement: Settlement I am looking for is for the lien to be cleared up on our home and for us to receive the release of the lien so that this will not affect us down the road.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/04) */ We are working to resolve the problem with the supplier at this time we have our own issues with them over charging us for different houses and we are working with them to see what is the problem . As u have noticed ur house is a good example of overcharging I will give u send u a lean release and I will then continue my argument with the suppliers thanks for ur attention ******* ******

8/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service