BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Berg Roofing & Home Improvements meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Berg Roofing & Home Improvements include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Berg Roofing & Home Improvements
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 08, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1950 Business started locally: 01/01/1950 Business incorporated 08/11/2009 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department Of Financial And Professi...
320 W Washington St Fl 3, Springfield IL 62701
Phone Number: (800) 560-6420

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Emmett Feinberg, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Emmett Feinberg, Owner
Number of Employees


Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Gutters & Downspouts Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)

Additional Locations

  • 900 Ogden Ave Ste 155

    Downers Grove, IL 60515

  • P.O. Box 5382

    Oak Brook, IL 60522 (630) 415-3260 (630) 415-2873


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/12/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contacted Berg to come repair a leakage in one area of our house. Berg Representative kept after us that it is best to replace the whole roof and gave us verbal guarantees that the leaking in that one area will be fixed for good, and installing a new roof will also ensure that we will have a peace of mind because the representative claimed that our roof was aging. Ever since Berg installed the new roof we had leakage in few areas, and Berg claimed all was fixed. we painted our house ... but the leaking still goes on in that same original area as well as in other different areas in our house. Every time I call Berg , I am replied to in a very harsh and very intimidating tone. Today the owner called me after he received my email asking for a permanent solution to the Roof leakage and told me I should see a psychiatrist, I was not sure I heard his words well so I questioned and he said repeated that should see a psychiatrist. I emailed and told him that the words he used can be used against him. Our Old roof was perfect. We had no problem whatsoever. We only had leaking in the area of the new addition. Berg had us install a new roof which was not needed and had us incue thousands of dollars. Right after the new roof was installed, we had leakage in the Master Bedroom and Berg sent a couple of hs employees and claimedthe problem was fixed. We painted the ceiling ... yet the leakage still continues to date.

Desired Settlement: We want the leakage from any area to stop and the problem to be fixed, and we need a guarantee of that for many at least 10 years

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/03) */ We are sorry she is having problems with her roof. There is always two sides to every story. This problem is not from any work Berg has done. We have come out to her house many times after calls and emails. During winters and after. Her problem is her skylights and condensation. Which was NOT installed by Berg. If she reads our contract, she would understand that this is not covered under our warranty. We have given her an estimate to replace skylights, however she chose not to. We would be happy to come out when weather permits to inspect one more time, but we do not take kindly to threats and demands that were given to us by the home owner. We do over a thousand of jobs with satisfied customers a year, with NO issues! Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The Business (Berg) is making false claims. What threats were made. All along we were kindly asking for repairs. It was *** the owner who called our home by phone every time we emailed Berg to complain about leakage and he talked to me in a very harsh and very intimidating manner, and very harsh manner. And the last time he called me after my most recent email about the leakage he told me that "I should go see a psychiatrist", and he repeated that I need to go see a psychiatrist". Not only that, but he asked to talk to my husband because My husband is the owner of the House which was another insult because I am the owner , and even if I were not the owner, if my husband owns the house, then as a wife, I am an owner as well. Before we contacted Berg, and before Berg installed a new roof, We only had leakage problem in an area where we had an addition to our home. We used to receive ads from Berg, and we thought they were very experienced and that they can do the needed repairs. We called Berg asking them to repair the leakage. They sent an agent/ Representative who told us that if we replace the roof of the all the house, the leakage will be repaired for good, and that we will have peace of mind. Berg's agent/Representative claimed that the roof in the original house structure was aging and he kept pushing for us to replace the whole roof. The agent gave us verbal guarantees that replacing the whole roof will give us peace of mind and that we will not have any more leaks in the area that we asked them to repair. Moreover, Berg's agent kept ensuring us that that installing an all home new roof will give us peace of mind that no leakage in any area of the house will happen for many years to come, and he said that the roof is guaranteed for 20 years. Berg's agent Kept promising us and assuring us that the whole roof will be secure against any leakage in any area for 20 years if not more. The skylights were never mentioned and where never referred to at that time. Berg's agent/ Representative suggested that we replace our existing uncovered gutters with covered gutters which we did. After the new roof was installed we painted all our house incurring more expenses. Yet shortly after Berg installed the new roof, we had a leakage in the master Bedroom which we never had before when we had the Old Roof. We were shocked, and I called Berg. People from Berg came and they told us that sure enough that area was not done right, and that they needed to order some material. We had to wait few weeks before Berg received the material and their roofers came and did the repair. And then the leakage in the original area by the new addition which was the main reason we contacted Berg started to leak again. This was even more shocking: We spent thousands of dollars (close to $40,000) being promised by Berg that we will never have any leakage any more in this area or anywhere else in the house. I called Berg, and Berg sent someone to check and repair. Berg confirmed that the leakage was taken care of and that it will never occur again. We believed Berg's claims, and due to the new stains on the ceilings which resulted from leakages, and since Berg assured us that we will not have any leakage anywhere again. Since the ceilings in the leakage areas, we hired a painter who together with his son, re-painted the large area of ceilings (Master Bedroom) and the ceilings of the leakage area close to the new addition. A huge ceiling area of the first floor had to be painted, since the rooms are all open and have one extended ceiling). At the time the new roof installation was being pushed for by Berg's Agent/ Representative, Berg's agent never mentioned the skylights, and never said that they needed to be replaced or that they posed any problem. Berg Agent suggested and kept emphasizing the need to replace our existing uncovered gutters with covered gutters, and We did go along with that, and had Berg replace the gutters at the time they installed the new roof. Berg REPLIED by email ONLY TO MY LAST EMAIL REPOERTING THE NEWEST LEAKAGE WITH the following FEW WORDS "Nothing can we do until weather breaks". Although the weather was good for a while after my complaint in December 2013 about leakage, and the roof and the ground were clear of the snow, yet Berg did not bother send anyone to check and repair the leakage. In THE PAST, Every time I emailed Berg, I would never receive a reply email, instead of a reply email, *** would call and would speak to me in a very harsh and very insulting and intimidating manner. I did email him about his attitude with the following email: ------ Begin sent email -----Original Message----- From: sphere2001nod <*************> To: customerservice <***************> Sent: Mon, Dec 23, XXXX X:XX am Subject: Re: Roof leakage Hello: I appreciate your getting back to me right away and explaining that it is still hazardous to have someone go on the roof. However, I do not appreciate the harsh tone you used when you discussed the issue. And this is not the first time you used this harsh and bullish tone. You could have used a kind and more gentle tone to explain. Clients and their money are what keeps your business going, and the least they expect is a respectful attitude. This is not the way to deal with your clients or customers!!!!! Mrs. **** O. ********* (end of email) And to our dismay, we found out that the contract Berg had us sign states that the warranty is only for five years. Although As I mentioned above, Berg's agent/ Representative had verbally confirmed that the new roof that they will install is warranted and guaranteed for 20 years. We took Berg's word at face value and because my husband signed the contract without thoroughly inspecting its terms. Berg has not been straightforward with us. I demand wither fixing the roof for good against every leak in every area and A written Guarantee and Warranty for many years to come that will equal the 20 years assured and warrantied and guaranteed by Berg Agent when he pushed us to have the whole roof replaced. Thank you so much for standing up for the right of the consumers. **** O. ********* Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/03/04) */ read contract

4/2/2013 Billing/Collection Issues