Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Amsterdam Contractors

Phone: (847) 439-1814 Fax: (847) 439-1899 615 E Algonquin Rd, Arlington Heights, IL 60005 View Additional Email Addresses http://amsterdamcontractor.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Amsterdam Contractors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Amsterdam Contractors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Amsterdam Contractors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 25, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1984 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/1984 Business incorporated 04/12/1999 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gerard Stencel, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gerard Stencel, President
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Sheet Metal Work Slate Shingles Contractor - Flat Roof Building Restoration & Preservation Gutters & Downspouts Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Tuck Pointing Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)

Alternate Business Names
Amsterdam Enterprises Company Amsterdam Roofing

Additional Locations

  • 615 E Algonquin Rd

    Arlington Heights, IL 60005

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I first noticed the granuales on the shingles of my roof shedding after the blizzard in 2013 and didn't think much of it until after the winter and spring of 2014. While taking down my Christmas lights from the gutter, I noticed about two inches thick debris accumulated in my gutters around my home. As the months passed, I looked up the warranty on my roof which was replaced in March 1998. On my contract it stated I had a 25 year manufacturer's warranty. I filed a complaint with Amsterdam Contractors in September 2014 with Gerard *******. Mr. ******* came to my resisidence to inspect my roof and was surprised at the condition of my roof only after 16 years. He removed a few shingles from my roof and told me that my roof was in bad shape and needed to be replaced. I was told by Mr. ******* it would be no problem to have my roof replaced since it was still under the 25 year warranty and that I should be patient, for he has to file a claim with the warranty company where he purchased the shingles. He also informed me that the shingles he placed on my roof in 1998 were defective the year he purchased them from GAF, and there should be no problem replacing them, for he had several customers that filed a claim on their roofs also. In April 2015, I was contacted by phone by GAF Warranty Claim representative Matthew ******* stating that he and Mr.******* have been in communication regarding my defective shingles. Mr. ******* and I had communicated several times by phone and e-mail regarding my warranty. There were several times where I had left messages with Mr. ******* at his office and on his cell phone with no return phone call, that left me very upset. I communicated to Mr. ******* that I felt he was avoiding my calls, as some customers will give up when there is no response from a company. I let him know I will proceed with my claim until I get satisfactoy resolution. Mr. ******* mailed me a claim packet to process my claim, which I mailed back to him personally on April 23, 2015 along with the invoice of when my shingles where installed and quantity installed, my property deed as proof of ownership, 11 photos I took of my home of the damaged roof and gutters filled with debris. Mr. ******* told me he would forward my packet to the claim department along with the sample shingles Mr. ******* gave to him. Mr. ******* e-mailed me on April 28, 2015 to advise me that he received my packet. After April, 2015, Mr.******* had visited my residence two more times to inspect the defective shingles on my roof and had conversations with my husband stating that my roof would be repaired due to the extensive damage of the shingles. Also, In May, 2015 I had a painter from Reynolds Painting repair ceilings (scrape, caulk, prime and paint)and walls in my family room and kitchen due to paint bubbling and peeling on the ceilings and walls from moisture from my damaged roof, that cost me $1,200.00 in repairs. On July 28, 2015 I had to have my gutters professionally cleaned due to thick and compacted debris washed off the roof, that cost me $120.00. On July 13, 2015 I received a letter from GAF settling my claim in the amount $268.80 prorated on "use". I was extremely upset and called Mr. ******* at Amsterdam on July 15,2015 to let him know about the settlement GAF was offering me. He said he was disgusted and asked me to fax him the letter along with a note giving him permission to speak with GAF, and that he would walk next door to them to discuss this matter. (GAF is next door to Amsterdam Contractors). My husband spoke with Mr. ******* two more times stating how upset he was on conducting his business with false warranty resolutions. Mr. ******* came to our home on August 10, 2015 with a proposal to replace our roof at a cost of $4,000.00. This infuriated me from the the lies I was told by Mr. ******* that he would replace my roof that is still under warranty. Amstedam Contractors uses defective materials and does not honor their warranties.

Desired Settlement: Since my roof is only 16 years old and still under a 25 year warranty, I expect my roof to be replaced at no cost to me. Amsterdam Contractors purchased defective materials from GAF in 1998, per Gerard Steence, and expect them to honor their warranty at no cost to me. Due to the damage of my roof, I have had to repair the interior ceiling and walls in my home, and hire a gutter cleaning service to professionally remove debris from the loose granuales of the shingles. To date I have paid $1,320.00 for repairs and cleaning due to my deteriorating roof.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/11) */ We would like to start by saying we completely understand Mr. & Mrs. ********* frustration. And they are correct in stating we were disgusted by the settlement they received from GAF. There are a few details we could like to correct. Matthew ******* is not a GAF employee and it is not GAF that is next door to our office. Mr. ******* is the branch manager from Allied Building Products, which is where we purchased the shingles to begin with, and is located next to our office. Mr. *******, like ourselves, has gone above and beyond to try to assist the ********* in this very unusual situation. Amsterdam provides a "10 Year Workmanship Guarantee" for a complete roof replacement. The "25 Year Warranty" is from the Manufacturer directly. When we were called out to inspect Mr. & Mrs. ********* roof and noticed it was losing granulates, we offered to assist them in filling the claim with GAF. We obtained the shingle samples required with a claim and worked with Allied to submit the package to GAF. After many conversations with Allied and GAF, resubmission of claim items GAF 'claimed' were never submitted, and much invested time, GAF finally offered Mr. & Mrs. ********* a settlement of $268. GAF has since explained that their warranty covers 100% of the value of the shingles for the first ten years, after that there is depreciation. This is how the number is determined. We agree with Mr. & Mrs. ********* and we do not feel this is an acceptable solution. That's why we have worked so hard to help them. We have gone as far up the ladder with this as we possibly could. We have spoken to the managers and regional managers for both Allied and GAF. We have done everything in our power to achieve better results for Mr. & Mrs. *********. We were able to get roof replacement materials at an EXTREMELY discounted price and submitted a proposal to Mr. & Mrs. ********* for a complete roof replacement reflecting those discount prices with absolutely NO profit for Amsterdam. The actual cost for a complete tear off and replacement of the roof on the ********* residence would be over $7,000, we offered to replace it for as low as $3,790. The proposal we submitted to Mr. & Mrs. ********* gave them three different shingle options ranging from $3,790 - $4,500 and these prices are for LABOR and MATERIAL. Again we sympathize with Mr. & Mrs. *********. We feel we have gone above and beyond trying to assist them in this situation, therefore we are saddened to see they are writing a complaint about us. Amsterdam has done everything correctly and has honored our guarantees. The roof was installed properly with no workmanship defects. The village had conducted a final inspection and approved the installation. The roof was installed in 1998, seventeen years ago. Therefore our ten year workmanship guarantee has been expired for seven years. Even though the issue with the roof on the ********* Residence is not cause by our workmanship, and therefore not covered by the workmanship guarantee (which would be expired either way) we still have assisted them to the best of our ability and at no cost to them. That is because we are in fact a reputable company and we stand by our work and our customers. In turn we have offered to replace the roof at such a low cost. But again we don't feel it is fair for Mr. & Mrs. ********* to expect Amsterdam to cover the full cost of the roof replacement. Sincerely,******* Stencel Amsterdam Enterprises

2/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 7 months ago, we had this company replace our roof. In the contract, one of the things they replaced was a bathroom vent with a new bathroom exhaust hood. We paid them in full for all the work. Now, 7 months later, we are getting bills for the bathroom exhaust hood in the amount of $195. Even though it was in the contract, and we already paid for everything.

Desired Settlement: We paid for everything already, so we want them to stop trying to collect the $195.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/01/09) */ January 9, 2014 RE: Case # XXXXXXXX Let me start by apologizing for the delayed response as I have been out of town for the last few weeks. I have read over the complaint and all paper work associated with the above mentioned job. The contract the homeowner refers to states, and I quote "Replace existing bathroom vent with new Broan (Model 636) bathroom exhaust hood (if applicable only)", which is a standard line in all our roofing contracts. In this case there was no existing bathroom vent hood, therefore, there was nothing to replace. The roof itself was invoiced 4/17/2013. We were called back out by the homeowner after the roof was completed. At that time the homeowner requested we install a new bathroom vent. On 4/23/2013 we cut a new opening and installed a new bathroom vent with 4" flex pipe. The homeowner was invoice for the additional work on 5/1/2013. The homeowner did pay the 1st invoice for the roof replacement but has yet to pay the 2nd invoice for the new bathroom vent. Our standard minimum charge for going out for a roof repair is $350.- trying to accommodate the customer we charged a very discounted price of only $195.- which we feel is fair. We would like to find a way to resolve this issue, but we are not able to void the invoice as requested by the homeowner. We are, however, willing to waive the finance charges that have accumulated on the overdue balance to help close this issue. Sincerely, ****** ******* Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2014/01/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First of all before writing this complaint I tried to reach ******. Office staff ( secretary ) was rude and unprofessional.I asked her to have ****** call me back, which he never did.I had waited some time and had no choice to submit the complain. We were not happy with the work this company had done in the first place, but we did not complain because what is done is done. We made a bad choice in picking the wright business for our needs. Replacing existing bathroom vent with new one was applicable in our case but was simply overlooked by the workers as well as changing the broken wood in the attic. When we pointed out to the broken wood which is in plain sight and was not replaced for some unknown reason ****** told us That he is sorry . If we insist on changing it he had to cut the newly installed shingles in order to replace the broken wood which did not make us happy and we left it as is. Now ****** is charging us some extra money for the crappy work they have done for us and we paid for that thousands . I would not recommend this business to anyone as they are dishonest and unprofessional in my opinion. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/01/31) */

11/26/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: July X XXXX. a quote was sent to me via email..after having " ****** " look at the gutter on June 27th . The office person explained they try to give a 24 hour notice to the home owner to let them now they are coming. They did not call. " ****** " showed up in the afternoon leaving his card in the storm door. We ask for a quote for our gutter " re-nailed " back to the house.They gave us the option to replace or re-nail.. we wanted it re-nailed back up. this was faxed to them circle on the quote for $180.00 , then faxed to them on 07/26/13 for the work to start. 3 weeks passed. I called the office. they stated. we were "on the board" as our repair was a small job to do , they would probably be there within 2 weeks.. 2 more phones were made to them from my work number. after the 3rd attempt. I told them if they are not coming to let me know, I would find someone else to repair the gutter, after no phone call they came to the house on 09/28/13. in the early AM.. NO ONE was home, to agree to the work to be done. My son came home from work to see the old gutter on the ground, and " guys " packing the ladders up and leaving . Monday X-XX-XX I called the office and asked what I was going to be charged.. The office personal stated she would give the message to " ******" . That afternoon I spoke with him at my work. I explained what happened and why was there a new gutter on the house, he said " I will have to look into it" to see what the "Guys " had done. NO return call back. I get a EMAIL for the invoice for $290.00. on 10/18/13 with a due date of 10/18/13. one 10/21/13 I sent copies of the quote of what needed to be done, their invoice and a check for $180.00 as agreed upon, along with a letter explaining what has happened. I have emailed them on 11/01/13 following up on why they have not responded or cash the check . As of TODAY 11/5/13 they have not responded or cashed the check for $180.00, Nor has it been returned to my by them or the post office for any reason .

Desired Settlement: I would like to acknowledge the mistake on their end and cash the check for the agreed upon work , I do not want to be dragged to some claims court or have my credit ruined from them because of the lack of communication and total disregard for even a small job to be done.OR they can refund me my money, for the $180.00. As money doesn't grow on trees.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/14) */ Contact Name and Title: Gerard ******* President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@amsterdamcontractor.com We are aware of this situation and we agree that a speedy resolution is needed. Regarding our proposal (please see attached), we have two line items and prices listed for each item. Consistent with our discussions with **** *****, our contract does not specify these as options. As we previously explained to Mrs. ***** we would attempt to re-nail the existing gutter as she requested but that it might not be possible in which case the gutter would need to be replaced. We would like to apologize for the delay in returning Mrs. *****'s most recent calls. It being the end of the season, it is a very busy time for us and sometimes smaller items do not get the attention they deserve. Again, we would like to extend our apologies to Mrs. ***** and, under the circumstances, we are willing to accept the payment of $180.- as payment in full. Sincerely, ****** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Amsterdam Contractors
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)