BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2010

Amsterdam Contractors

Phone: (847) 439-1814Fax: (847) 439-1899

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
02/11/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
7 months ago, we had this company replace our roof. In the contract, one of the things they replaced was a bathroom vent with a new bathroom exhaust hood. We paid them in full for all the work. Now, 7 months later, we are getting bills for the bathroom exhaust hood in the amount of $195. Even though it was in the contract, and we already paid for everything.

Desired Settlement
We paid for everything already, so we want them to stop trying to collect the $195.

Business Response
January 9, 2014

RE: Case # XXXXXXXX


Let me start by apologizing for the delayed response as I have been out of town for the last few weeks.

I have read over the complaint and all paper work associated with the above mentioned job. The contract the homeowner refers to states, and I quote
"Replace existing bathroom vent with new Broan (Model 636) bathroom exhaust hood (if applicable only)", which is a standard line in all our roofing contracts.

In this case there was no existing bathroom vent hood, therefore, there was nothing to replace.
The roof itself was invoiced 4/17/2013. We were called back out by the homeowner after the roof was completed. At that time the homeowner requested we install a new bathroom vent.

On 4/23/2013 we cut a new opening and installed a new bathroom vent with 4" flex pipe. The homeowner was invoice for the additional work on 5/1/2013. The homeowner did pay the 1st invoice for the roof replacement but has yet to pay the 2nd invoice for the new bathroom vent.

Our standard minimum charge for going out for a roof repair is $350.- trying to accommodate the customer we charged a very discounted price of only $195.- which we feel is fair.

We would like to find a way to resolve this issue, but we are not able to void the invoice as requested by the homeowner. We are, however, willing to waive the finance charges that have accumulated on the overdue balance to help close this issue.


Sincerely,
****** *******


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all before writing this complaint I tried to reach ******. Office staff ( secretary ) was rude and unprofessional.I asked her to have ****** call me back, which he never did.I had waited some time and had no choice to submit the complain. We were not happy with the work this company had done in the first place, but we did not complain because what is done is done. We made a bad choice in picking the wright business for our needs. Replacing existing bathroom vent with new one was applicable in our case but was simply overlooked by the workers as well as changing the broken wood in the attic. When we pointed out to the broken wood which is in plain sight and was not replaced for some unknown reason ****** told us That he is sorry . If we insist on changing it he had to cut the newly installed shingles in order to replace the broken wood which did not make us happy and we left it as is. Now ****** is charging us some extra money for the crappy work they have done for us and we paid for that thousands . I would not recommend this business to anyone as they are dishonest and unprofessional in my opinion.

Final Business Response

11/26/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
July X XXXX. a quote was sent to me via email..after having " ****** " look at the gutter on June 27th . The office person explained they try to give a 24 hour notice to the home owner to let them now they are coming. They did not call. " ****** " showed up in the afternoon leaving his card in the storm door. We ask for a quote for our gutter " re-nailed " back to the house.They gave us the option to replace or re-nail.. we wanted it re-nailed back up. this was faxed to them circle on the quote for $180.00 , then faxed to them on 07/26/13 for the work to start. 3 weeks passed. I called the office. they stated. we were "on the board" as our repair was a small job to do , they would probably be there within 2 weeks.. 2 more phones were made to them from my work number. after the 3rd attempt. I told them if they are not coming to let me know, I would find someone else to repair the gutter, after no phone call they came to the house on 09/28/13. in the early AM.. NO ONE was home, to agree to the work to be done. My son came home from work to see the old gutter on the ground, and " guys " packing the ladders up and leaving . Monday X-XX-XX I called the office and asked what I was going to be charged.. The office personal stated she would give the message to " ******" . That afternoon I spoke with him at my work. I explained what happened and why was there a new gutter on the house, he said " I will have to look into it" to see what the "Guys " had done. NO return call back.
I get a EMAIL for the invoice for $290.00. on 10/18/13 with a due date of 10/18/13.
one 10/21/13 I sent copies of the quote of what needed to be done, their invoice and a check for $180.00 as agreed upon, along with a letter explaining what has happened.
I have emailed them on 11/01/13 following up on why they have not responded or cash the check .
As of TODAY 11/5/13 they have not responded or cashed the check for $180.00, Nor has it been returned to my by them or the post office for any reason .

Desired Settlement
I would like to acknowledge the mistake on their end and cash the check for the agreed upon work , I do not want to be dragged to some claims court or have my credit ruined from them because of the lack of communication and total disregard for even a small job to be done.OR they can refund me my money, for the $180.00. As money doesn't grow on trees.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Gerard ******* President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@amsterdamcontractor.com
We are aware of this situation and we agree that a speedy resolution is needed. Regarding our proposal (please see attached), we have two line items and prices listed for each item. Consistent with our discussions with **** *****, our contract does not specify these as options.
As we previously explained to Mrs. ***** we would attempt to re-nail the existing gutter as she requested but that it might not be possible in which case the gutter would need to be replaced. We would like to apologize for the delay in returning Mrs. *****'s most recent calls. It being the end of the season, it is a very busy time for us and sometimes smaller items do not get the attention they deserve. Again, we would like to extend our apologies to Mrs. ***** and, under the circumstances, we are willing to accept the payment of $180.- as payment in full.

Sincerely,

****** *******

09/13/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Construction & Remodeling Services, Contractor - Flat Roof, Windows - Repairing, Shingles, Slate, Sheet Metal Work, Windows - Installation & Service, Tuck Pointing, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Mason Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts, Building Restoration & Preservation

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.