Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

CRC Concrete Raising & Repair

Phone: (847) 336-3400 Fax: (847) 808-7502 470 Keller Drive, Park City, IL 60085 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.saveconcrete.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that CRC Concrete Raising & Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for CRC Concrete Raising & Repair include:

  • 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on CRC Concrete Raising & Repair
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 07, 2008 Business started: 08/01/2004 in IL Business started locally: 06/01/2006 Business incorporated 07/25/2006 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Patricia J. Petersen, President Mr. Paul W. Petersen, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Patricia J. Petersen, President
Business Category

Concrete Repair/Leveling Concrete - Restoration, Sealing & Cleaning Basement - Contractors Foundation Contractors Waterproofing Contractors Waterproofing Contractors Driveway Installation, Paving & Repair Contractor - Decorative & Specialty Concrete Basement Waterproofing Mud Jacking Contractors Concrete Contractors Poured Concrete Foundation and Structure Contractors (NAICS: 238110)

Alternate Business Names
Viking Concrete Raising & Repair Inc

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We received an estimate for repair work to be done on our front steps of our house. Instead of doing the job as was written on the estimate, they botched up the job and made a mess of our cement platform on the bottom of the steps. The bottom cement platform adjacent to the bottom step is slanted on an angle which is sloped from the front garden down to the home’s foundation, where the garage is located. The front cement platform is 2 inches higher from the front garden and slopes downward to the foundation where it is 2 inches lower. This creates a slope and now when it rains, water collects and drains into the home’s foundation and into the garage. In addition, when we called the company to complain and ask for a resolution, the woman who took the call was completely disinterested in our complaints about the messed up job. This woman was unprofessional and yelled at us on the phone. We also wrote a letter to the company requesting resolution. They agreed to meet with us and during our meeting, she again yelled at us and was not interested in resolving the botched job. We paid the company in cash for the work before we noticed this problem. We would like the company to either fix the platform, free of charge, or refund our money.

Desired Settlement: We would like the company to either fix the platform, free of charge, or refund our money.

9/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 05-09-16 at approximately 1200 hours, **** ********, VP of - (Concrete Raising & Repair, 470 Keller Dr, Park City, IL 60085 Phone ###-###-####), a contractor sent by *** ****, Managing Director - (Kipcon Great Lakes LLC, 1502 Cedarwood Ln, Suite 102, Wheeling, IL 60090, cell ###-###-####), was supposed to perform an estimate to repair foundation work at my house (7407 Canterbury PL, Downers Grove, IL 60516). While inside my house, he knocked our laptop off of the loveseat, where it fell onto the concrete floor. I immediately went over to the laptop and discovered that it had sustained damage to the outer bezels and would not turn on. I asked **** what he was doing. He said “That if you know that people are coming over, clean up your %$*&!!!” I stated that I will need his information and insurance to file a claim. He stated that he was not going to be giving me any information and stormed out of my house. I followed him out, where he proceeded to get in his truck. I took two photos with my phone. One of his license plate and the second one of him before he drove off in a blue truck with an IL registration of 96338Z-B. I immediately contacted *** and stated what happened. *** stated that he hadn’t heard, but will check into it and told me to look for a replacement laptop of the same make and model. I followed up with an e-mail to *** and ****** ***** – (Vice President, Homeowner Association Management, HSR Property Services, LLC, 7601 W. 191st St., Ste 1E, Tinley Park, IL 60487, Phone ###-###-####, Ext. 11) where I was then told to get it repaired and submit the receipts for reimbursement. The total amount of damage was $448.37. Per e-mails from both *** and Martin, they stated that they will take care of reimbursement. As per an e-mail from *** dated, 06-05-16, he stated that he will not handle the reimbursement and to contact ***** ********, Paul's wife, at CRC. My wife and I have e-mailed and called *****, no callback and snark e-mails.

Desired Settlement: Pay the $448.37 that it took to repair the computer. I did pay that money upfront and I did forward the receipts to ***** ********.

Business Response:

I respectfully decline to submit a response as Tom ******* has informed me that he has retained counsel.  Tom has taken this out of the BBB process.

******** *. ********, Pres.

CRC Concrete Raising & Repair

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

From: tom.*******5115@gmail.com [mailto:tom.*******5115@gmail.com]

Sent: Wednesday, July 27, 2016 10:05 AM

To: Customer Relations <customer.relations@chicago.bbb.org>

Subject:

I am sorry that I didn't respond fast enough and this got closed.  I would like it reopened due to the fact that I am not satisfied with CRC's response.  I do have an attorney, but he is not handling this portion.  CRC came I to my house to give an estimate for a broken foundation and broke my computer. They will not give me their insurance information nor will they reimbursement me for the damage done to the computer.  The attorney is for the damage to the foundation, not the computer.  Please reopen the case due to their twisting of my words. 

Sincerely,

****** *******

Business Response:

Nathan and Jennifer, Regarding Complaint ID #: ********, I did respond to the original complaint and I stand by my response.  I respectfully decline to respond as Tom *******, per his own words, hired counsel to handle his complaint.  He is not being truthfull by stating that I am twisting his words.  Here they are from Tom himself:

 

-----Original Message-----
From: tom.*******5115@gmail.com [mailto:tom.*******5115@gmail.com]
Sent: Saturday, July 16, 2016 8:52 AM
To: ***** / CRC Concrete Raising & Repair
Cc: Pam *******
Subject: Computer

 

******

As you are aware by now, we have reported your company to the BBB.  We have also retained an attorney who will be contacting you soon to try to work something out.  If that fails, we will be bringing your company, along with Paul, Ron, and our HOA to court.  We are going to be asking for the repair cost as well as any and all court/legal fee incurred.  It would be much easier and cheaper for you to pay the repair cost before you get summoned.

***

8/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with CRC to raise the front steps of my house on April 22nd. On May 11th they came and provided this service however they ran into an issue that left my front steps 2 1/2 inches out of level in five feet. At that time I contact the main office and was told that they would talked to someone and call me back. I was called back and told that "there was not much they could do about it and this was as good as it gets". I asked to have a supervisor/manager come and look at the finished project so we could discuss a possible credit and was told they would get back to me. I waited a few days and did not hear from anyone and called the main office again, and again was told that they would need to get back to me. I am disappointed in the lack of response. The men that did the job were hard working, all I was looking for was for someone to come and look at the finished product and listen to my side.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have a supervisor/manager come and look at the finished product and discuss a credit.

Business Response:

Dear Customer:  We "Raise, and/or stabilize" concrete slabs (stoops, steps, service walks, patios, driveways, etc.) "as best possible".  That is what we contract for (read the wording in our contract) and that is what we do for our customers every day.  You were there the entire time the crew worked and saw what they did to raise/stabilize your very badly sunken, crooked and broken stoop and 4 steps.  In fact, the crew called in to the office and I approved an additional service for free, just to try and help make things even better than could be done with our concrete raising alone.  As you saw, the crew pulled out 2 railroad jacks (normally minimum $250 charge) and jacked up your stoop that was broken in half, an extra 45 minutes of work (and at our billing rate of $600 per hour, a substantial expense absorbed by us).  As they say, "no good deed goes unpunished".  Per our crew chief, everything was explained to you throughout the job, you were happy with the work and the efforts, you offered the crew beers (which they did not accept), you paid for our services and we were on our way.  If there was anything further that could be done, it would have been done then.  

As I reviewed all of our notes/documents, I did note that Andrea promised you $50 in **********.com certificates after her conversations with you.   Note:  Our notes say, "James *****, *********** - *schedule Chad/crew to stop by and 'adjust' screen door. Call James re: Fri, 6/3 to come by - (call after you route so you can give rough time frame) Note: When we are done and all approved, we email gift cards"  Looks like that may be where everything stopped.  You told us not to come, that you had done a minor adjustment to your door on your own  I would be happy to provide you with the **********.com certificates once you have approved the job in writing.  We need to agree that this is over.

Respectfully,

Patricia J. ********, Pres., CRC Concrete Raising & Repair

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


7/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with CRC Concrete Raising & Repair and the work was completed on 12/17/15 to level and raise sunken sections of my porch concrete floor. Work was not satisfactory as the sunken section was raised too high this section is now worse than before work was started - approximately 1" higher than the rest of the floor). In addition, another smaller crack is now larger and one side is elevated. I am very dissatisfied with the job and the customer service attitude which included denying that CRC made the problem worse. I have refused to pay the invoice until CRC provides a satisfactory resolution to the problems it has created. I have communicated with CRC that they must either repair the subject cracks to comply with Paragraph 18 of "Terms and Conditions" as stated in CRC Concrete Raising and Repair Proposal dated July 1, 2015. CRC representative, Kevin Terry, said that CRC could raise sunken sections to be level with the main floor. The floor is now in worse condition than before that work was begun. If necessary, I can provide BBB photos which I have previously sent to CRC evidencing the work product. Please contact me with additional questions, if necessary. I am willing to pursue this matter through legal channels, if necessary,

Desired Settlement: I want the substandard work to be corrected by CRC. If CRC will not perform the work then I will hire my own contractor and the CRC invoice will be reduced from the original quote of $1900 by the amount I pay my contractor.

Business Response:

On 12/17/15, CRC completed work at the customer’s home.  The contract was to raise and/or stabilize the sun room (concrete floor) as best possible using our premium Portland cement slurry (3 ½ bag mix).  The sun room had a big void under it which caused it to be unstable and to twist and, in fact, one corner of the floor had broken off and sunk due to the void.  Per our contract, the crew void filled / stabilized the entire floor (including the corner) and raised the corner “as best possible”.  Despite all efforts, we were unable to make the corner meet up with the rest of the floor.  This was not a result of anything we did wrong or anything that anyone else could have done better or different.  The corner concrete was jammed due to the void and twisting.  In fact, extra time and effort were taken by the crew to try and un-jam the concrete.  Note:  This is not something that was evident upon observation or inspection. 

All that we can promise our customers – or contract for – is to “raise and/or stabilize…as best possible”. This is all part of the contract.  The risk is on the customer - it is almost as if the customer is paying for time and materials which includes a 3 man crew, volumetric mixer, utility truck, Portland cement slurry, etc.  The reason we have to write our contract this way?  We have to take what our customers give us – generally sunken, uneven, twisted, and/or unstable concrete – and, using Best Management Standards/Specification for Concrete Slab Jacking and our many years of experience, make it the best it can be.  In this case, we pumped a large volume of our Portland cement slurry under her hollow concrete floor and it is now filled and the sun room is now stable.   It will not continue to sink and can now sustain additional weight without causing problems. 

Please note:  After the customer postponed the work 2 times because she could not be there, the work was finally schedule for 12/17 and the customer was to be there.  When the crew arrived, the customer was not there and instead had her friend there to oversee the project.   Per our crew chief, he watched the crew and everything was explained to him regarding the work – the void filling, the efforts to even out the cracked off corner, and next steps that should be taken before carpeting the floor.  Had the customer been there as she was supposed to, she would have had a better idea of the crew’s efforts and excellent work that was done on her behalf. 

CRC completed the job that the customer contracted for, followed Best Management Standards/Specification for Concrete Slab Jacking, stabilized a very unstable sun room and void filled a very large void under the floor – all per contract, and deserves payment.   Next steps are not our responsibility – they are hers as the property owner.  We only contracted for the raising and/or stabilizing.  There are often next steps customers must take to completely repair their concrete and make it the way they want.  This may include caulking, grinding, coating, concrete repair, etc.  These are not things that come free to the customer or at our expense.

In order to put this all behind us, CRC will make a one-time offer that will expire on January 22, 2016.  It is the following:

-          CRC will reinstate the discount originally offered to the customer ($335) although she did not pay within terms of the agreement.   In addition, we will provide an additional $150 credit. (She will owe $1750 instead of $2235.)  Payment must be in our office no later than 3 p.m. on January 22. 

-          CRC will reinstate her warranty.

-          Customer will communicate with BBB that she is satisfied with the resolution by Jan 22.

-          Customer will communicate with EBSCO Research / Best Picks that she is satisfied with the resolution by Jan 22.

-          Going forward, Customer and CRC will not discuss this complaint, offer, etc  with anyone, including each other.

-          Customer and CRC will both sign an agreement regarding the above before Jan 22.

We look forward to hearing back from the customer and putting all this to rest.

Sincerely,

******** ** ********* President

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** *******

12/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11/27/15, CRC Concrete Raising & Repair came to our home to raise a concrete path leading up to our front stoop. However, during the process, CRC cracked the foundational wall in the basement and failed to raise the concrete. The cracking of the basement wall was observed upon them leaving and noticeable water was seen seeping in through the cracks. There was also no observable change in the concrete being raised. When the issue of the concrete not being raised was brought up to the co-owner, ****,(while he was still onsite) he stated that nothing else could be done because the concrete slab was too heavy. He seemed frustrated that we expressed any concern with the project. The discussion turned argumentative and contentious with **** indicating that this was our fault for not identifying these issues before. He stated that he did not have "x-ray" vision in terms of knowing the thickness of the concrete, but that we, as homeowners, should know how thick our concrete is. He also indicated that if we didn't pay that we could have a lien put against our house and that attorneys would get involved. **** then indicated that they observed how thick the concrete was upon using their first drill piece. We asked if CRC normally alerts customers during the middle of a project if there is an issue so a decision can be made on how to proceed. **** said that he has done that before, but he didn't do that with us. Had this step taken place, a more reasonable resolution could have been determined. Before leaving **** told us to "keep the check" that we had written out and handed to him, indicated that he would speak with "*****" and that "it will get worked out." On 11/30/15 my husband contacted CRC and spoke with *****. At no point during the conversation, which was even more contentious and combative than the discussion with ****, was there any attempt at resolution. He was repeatedly told that it was our fault and that CRC doesn't have "x-ray" vision for these types of jobs. ***** stated that CRC was brought out to support the concrete underneath. My husband stated that our contract called for the concrete to be raised, that we were home the entire time and this could have been resolved or a more informed decision could have been made. ***** indicated that CRC has no liability or responsibility to repair any of the damage they had caused to our basement wall (or anything) or to fulfill the expectations of the concrete being raised. My husband and CRC ended a very unproductive 15-20 minute conversation with no offers of resolution and he was told again that their attorney would get involved.

Desired Settlement: We would request that we do not have to pay for the concrete raising portion of the job and that the cracks seeping water into our basement be repaired.

Business Response: Our consultant ***** provided ********* and his wife with their second estimate for our services on 10/9/15.  The first estimate was provided in September of 2014.  The first estimate included raising 3 pieces of front service walk.  The second was for 5 pieces of front walk and a void fill of the adjoining 3 front steps (due to additional changes to the front walk during the year and hollow sounding front stoop and steps). 

Before submitting the new/2015 estimate, the following took place (documented here with exerts taken from our relationship management software ACT! / *****’s notes):

10/14/2015 10:00 AM     30 minutes          Appointment Completed              Follow-up Visit - Not Meeting Customer                mw Mrs ******* re fsw / looks pretty similar / need to check out old est  / will email est

10/15/2015 3:53 PM        5 minutes            Call Left Message             Follow-up            re fsw has not changed all that much but the cost of portland cement has increased and though we absorbed some of the increase we had to raise our prices / also I could not help but notice that your stoop and steps are hollow / they are level with good pitch but hollow we can do void fill to prevent future problems with the steps / plz call my cell

10/16/2015 3:27 PM        10 minutes          Call Left Message             Follow-up            re  5 pcs fsw as an option also we can do void fill of front steps / process material warranty / will email est / plz call

The new estimate was provided on 10/19/15:

10/19/2015 10:08 AM     15 minutes          Notes                    emailed proposal

After submitting the new estimate:

10/21/2015 10:00 AM     10 minutes          Call Received      Follow-up            tw ********* re est for fsw and front steps void fill / questions about the holes / caulking ; what to use told him we are not doing caulk est any more this year / he will talk with wife and let us know

10/27/2015 4:53 PM        10 minutes          Call Completed  Follow-up            WIN tw ********* wants to go ahead with repair / will email est WIN

Please note the above that several discussions with the *******s took place regarding not only raising the walk but also filling the void under the stoop/steps.  The only “process” discussed was our normal process to void fill and/or raise.  Also, nowhere in any of those discussions did either Mr. or Mrs. advise ***** that there was a room under the stoop and that this was the reason that it sounded hollow.  This is the very reason that in our contract Term and Conditions we have the following:  “Unless notified prior, contractor is not responsible for the filling of items beneath or adjacent to the grouting/raising work area, which are/were not evident on visual inspection from the outside.”  Had we known that there was a room right under the steps, we would never have drilled through the steps as a first step toward filling the void.  Also, please note that the *******s were there when the crew chief was drilling through the top of the stoop. They could have and should have stopped any drilling through the stoop. CRC denies all responsibility for any damages that may have resulted from our drilling through the stoop.  (Note:  drilling is the normal procedure used to begin the process of raising, stabilizing, void filling.) 

As for the rest of the job – void filling the steps and raising and stabilizing the 5 pieces of front service walk – that was completed.  As is the norm, we raise and/or stabilize “as best possible” following the Best Management Standards/Specifications for Concrete Slab Jacking.  After extra efforts due to the thickness of the concrete, the crew void filled, stabilized and raised the front service walk.  Per crew, raised approximately ¾” and the concrete is stable and will not continue to sink.  The work needs to be paid for.

Because we did not void fill the stoop, we will honor the “Option” on the contract for 5 pieces of front service walk only for a Net Cost of $695 (although we filled the void under the steps, we will not charge them for that).  With the $85 already paid by the *******s, the amount due is $610.  If this is paid prior to December 31, 2015 and we both agree to put this behind us (no further discussion with anyone), we will waive any additional charges.       

Respectfully submitted by:

******** J. ********, President
CRC Concrete Raising & Repair

8/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a contract 11.15.11 for raising my front stoop and first step. The work came with a 4 yr warranty. During the fall of 2012 the stoop was sinking and I asked for an evaluation. I was told that the dry summer caused the problem and that I should wait a few months and they would call me back in the spring of 2013 to look at it. They never called. The problem persisted so I called again mid-July 2015 and was told I should email them pictures of the problem and that I would hear from them in 1-2 weeks. After getting no response, I called twice more over the next 2 weeks to check status...no reaction. When the work was performed in 2011 their address was 215A Industrial Lane, Wheeling IL XXXXX with a phone number of 847.808.7400 and an email address of info@wecanraiseit.com. When I call that number or look at that website it refers me to the current address and phone number in Park City, IL, with an email address of saveconcrete.com. I am in possession of all the original paperwork and can provide it on request. Someone named **** Print?? (can't read the signature) signed a Consumer Rights Acknowledgement Form and someone named Barry (can't read the last name) signed the contract. Don't remember payment method but may be able to find it. Thank you, ********* ********

Desired Settlement: The stoop began sinking less than a year after the work was done and has not returned to level since then. I would like a full refund of $753.00. At this point I am concerned about reprisal or attitude if they return to my house after I file this complaint.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/17) */ The customer is in process for an initial warranty look. We received the photos that start the process on 7/13/15. We are about 4 - 5 weeks out right now and have been for most of the summer. Once one of our consultants has visited the site and submitted his findings, the customer will be contacted with the result and next steps. For the initial warranty look, the customer does not need to be home. Should the initial visit result in a need to take the next step - drill in raised areas - the customer will need to be home and available. We will provide the details when we reach that point. As for the customer's comment about contacting us in 2012, without sending the requested pictures the paperwork does not get pulled and the process does not start. And, unfortunately, the customer did not contact us again until 2-1/2 years later. NOTE: We are very easy to find even though our address changed (we are now located in Park City - moved from Wheeling). The same phone number and e-mail address work as does the website address. Unless we hear differently, the customer will remain in process for the initial visit to take place this month (August). Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/08/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Firstly, I was not complaining at all about the business being difficult to find. I was merely including all the information so that the file would have all the pertinent information. Secondly, CRC is trying to blame me for the first warranty call not being officially logged in 2012. When I called that fall, I was asked for my name, address and phone number and was told that I would be contacted in the spring of 2013 as a follow-up. I was not asked to send pictures. That was CRC's instruction to me...to wait. Thirdly, I was told in July by CRC that someone would get back to me in 1-2 weeks, not the 4-5 weeks turnaround you say is typical for this summer. And when I called back twice to ascertain when they might be getting to my property, my call was ignored. That is not good customer service. My concern about CRC promising to do the work now is that they will delay long enough to say that the warranty has expired. If the BBB can monitor the situation and ensure the work will be done properly I might consider letting CRC finish the job.

3/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Sept. 20, 2013 I contacted CRC and e-mailed pictures of my concrete slab that they raised was sinking again. The reason I chose this company was mainly for the warranty. We have exchanged about a dozen e-mails but I have had NO ONE come out and fix the work. Soon I am again going to get the excuse that they don't work in winter. The warranty is supposedly good for 5 full years. I either want the problem fixed or my $570.00 back.Thank you Product_Or_Service: concrete slab on driveway raising

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would really like them to fix the work they did, and do it correctly this time or refund my money. The way it is now is not acceptable to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (4001, 20, 2015/02/20) */ see attached scanned document NOTE FROM THE BBB: Please provide a copy of your contract (all pages)and warranty document for our review. Those copies may be attached to your next response or faxed to XXX-XXX-XXXX. ***** ****** Assistant Manager-Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois

3/2/2015 Delivery Issues
1/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Viking for concrete leveling of a side walk at my house at **** ****** in *********** *** leading from the city sidewalk to the stairs on the side of my house as the slabs close to the house were sunken in and water was pooling there. Viking originally proposed raising the entire side stair and sidewalk along the side of the house, but I did not agree to this, as the stairs were in fact settled, but were stable and shedding water away from the house. Viking then offered a2nd proposal to raise the side service walk from the city sidewalk leading to my side stairs. I signed a contract and after phone calls and e-mails back and forth the work was done after I e-mailed that my concern was that I wanted "the slabs being progressively raised toward the rear of the side service walk, where the sinking has been substantially worse". My concern was the pooling of water there. Viking did the work on December 10th, and after I examined the results after work in daylight on December 13th, I saw that the real slabs still sloped toward the house and that water was pooled there. I contacted ******, the salesman from Viking with my concerns, and followed up with pictures the next day. After a week with no response I sent follow-up e-mails to the general mail box for Viking. Still no response. On December 29th a representative from Viking called me and told my bill hasn't been paid. and that I would loose my "discount" of $105 if I didn't pay now. I asked about the problem I had e-mailed the company about and she had no idea that there was a problem. I then called ****** who was in the office to discuss the situation. ****** stated that he had already responded via voice mail and e-mail (which he did not), that he was looking at the e-mail he sent me and would forward it to me (which he did not), and that the company was aware there was a dispute (based on my conversation about paying, this was another lie). ****** placed the blame on me because I would not agree to all the work they wanted to perform. He stated they would correct the leveling but only if I agreed to get more work done. I do not want more work done. I do not want the side stairs raised. They are stable and not a problem. All I want is for the sidewalk leading to the stairs to shed water away to the front, and Viking's work did not fix that. I had made my intent clear early on that the work I requested was to progressively raise the slabs toward the back, which would cause the water to move away from the house. The salesman and the foreman both knew or should have known that the work performed would not correct this. Or at least ****** implied this after the work was done without fixing my problem. Had ******, the salesman of the foreman stated that the work would not correct the problem, I absolutely, certainly WOULD NOT have agreed to pay $595 so that I could have the same condition exist as before the work was done. I should not have to pay for Viking's employees errors, omissions, incompetence, or ignorance.

Desired Settlement: Correcting the grade on the slabs in question without additional cost to me, or being relieved of the $595 bill for unsatisfactory work.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/06) */ Unfortunately, because of the customer's own decisions not to do the recommended and necessary work to completely alleviate all of his problems, his current results are what he gets (and they are darn good results!). The work the customer approved (we provided a "Revised" contract that removed most of the areas that needed raising) was performed completely and correctly: - trip hazards were eliminated; uneven slabs straightened - back pitched slab leveled as much as possible without causing a dangerous situation ...And it all looks good! If we did or do what he is asking, we would create an unsafe condition. As it is, the step height from the slab to the first step is too low - we can't make it any worse. (NOTE: the customer decided NOT to raise the stairs and stoop slabs against our advice. We explained to him, if he raises the stairs - which have sunk over 4" - and stoops, this would give us room to raise the walk more and get it pitched away from the house. He did not approve the recommended/necessary work - we then had to provide a "Revised" proposal for less than 1/3 the cost.) We are happy to help the customer get the results he now wants but he needs to be realistic and do the recommended and necessary work (and pay for it). Otherwise he needs to be happy with the results he was charged for. I will hold his discount (which was not valid after 12/17/14) if he pays with a check prior to 1/15/14. After that, price goes back to "Regular Cost" and we will proceed as necessary to collect our money. Respectfully Submitted by: *********** ********, President Viking Concrete Raising & Repair, Inc. dba CRC Concrete Raising & Repair

8/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company fixed the crack at least 1 year ago. They have come out 2-3 more times to seal the crack again after it keeps leaking. The crack is still leaking and they are refusing to return my phone calls to come and fix their work.

Desired Settlement: For them to come and fix the problem.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/07/20) */ At this time, we are waiting for pictures indicating that water is leaking from the crack that we repaired. ****** was asked to provide pictures on 5/19/14 when she called and asked us to return for a "warranty". She then chose to contact her realtor to have him call us. He was advised that we need pictures and we explained why. He said he would explain things again to ******. I don't understand why ****** involved the BBB. On 5/8/13 we repaired 2 foundation cracks at ******'s home in **** ***** The one discussed in ******'s report was previously repaired by another company. After starting this repair by cleaning out the previously repaired crack, our technician discovered that is was an old repair where it was V'd out - where the wall was chipped away / destroyed. This was not visible upon initial inspection / pricing. This is a very difficult situation to repair because of the destruction to the wall. This type of repair is normally a much more expensive repair than charged to ****** because of the difficulty - extra time and materials. We did not charge ****** the additional cost although our contract calls for it. (See Terms and Conditions -" 6. This Agreement is based solely on the observations Contractor was able to make within the existing work area in its current condition at the time this Agreement was bid. If additional concealed conditions are discovered once work has commenced which were not visible at the time this Agreement was bid, Contractor will stop work and point out these concealed conditions to Owner. Contractor is entitled to reasonable additional compensation to cover the cost involved with those concealed conditions together with reasonable overhead and profit on same. Owner and Contractor agree to execute a change order for any such additional work.") At our discretion, we did not charge ****** the extra $200 we charge for these old style difficult previous repairs as she was a prior customer and a referral from a realtor friend and business partner. My reason for including all this in my response is to emphasize that we are a reputable and fair company that does excellent repairs. The problem from the beginning was the poor repair that was done by a different company. On 7/19/13 we returned for a "warranty" repair. We rely on our customers to watch and then mark where they see water coming from. We repaired the crack where ****** marked it. Note: we did not see any indication of water infiltration when we removed the epoxy. On 4/1/14 we returned again for a "warranty" repair. We again removed the epoxy covering the crack in the area that was marked by ******. Again, no indication of any water infiltration (but our tech injected the area anyway) but the tech noted an area on the wall- outside of the crack/area that we repaired - that had a hole with evidence of water leakage. For no charge, our tech repaired that hole in addition to doing a "warranty". Note: We repaired a new area, not under warranty, for free. This area is not a part of our contract and does not have a warranty. On 5/19/14 ****** called to ask us to return for a "warranty" repair. She was asked at this time to watch the crack and then when it is leaking to 1) mark it and 2) take pictures and send them to us. Her paperwork was put to the side as we were waiting for the customer to provide us with something - pictures in this case. She called to let us know she marked the crack, but no pictures were provided. On 5/30/14 ******'s realtor called to let us know that ****** was not happy. I returned the call on 6/2/14 and discussed everything above with him. (I let him know that the quality of our foundation repairs were the same as always - he has been referring us to his clients for years with excellent results), that ******'s repair was an old Midwest Waterproofing (probably) repair, and that all we need is pictures showing us the problem. He said he would talk to ****** and tell her to watch it, mark it, and send pictures. I thought that was the end of things until we received the pictures we need. Note: ****** was able to talk to a customer service rep whenever she called. No one is refusing to return her calls. She speaks to the appropriate person whenever she calls. Once we receive pictures that indicate where the leak is coming from, we can determine if a "warranty" visit is called for. Respectfully Submitted by: ******** J. ******** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/07/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The reason the tech does not see any evidence of water when he comes it because the company takes 4-6 weeks to come after they were called so it dries up by then. The leak looks exactly like it did from day one before they ever did any repairs, no better or no worse. I was never told by the company to submit pictures. What I was told by the receptionist was to mark the wall and she would call back with a date that the repair would be fixed. The only person I ever talked with was the receptionist. I asked to speak with a manager and was promised a call back which I never received. So, if I was truly given the appropriate person to speak with it would not have ever gone this far. I called the relator because I was hoping he could reach out to the company so I can get a response. He was never contacted by the owner, only the receptionist who seems to know very little about anything. The relator told me they were waiting for pictures which I was never informed about. At that point I have had enough of chasing this company to do the job correctly. This complaint was filed on 6/10/14 and the company took until 7/21 to give a response. This is very indicative of the way they respond to customer phone calls and shows how they much they care about fixing their mistakes. Given the other responses they have made to BBB complaints, the company is very good about giving excuses and blaming the customer for their insufficient work. After three attempts with no success I have no faith that this company will get the job done correctly. I would rather pay someone else to do the job right. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/08/01) */ We stand by our previous response and the request for ****** to provide us with pictures. Providing pictures is standard procedure when asked to return for a warranty - especially when we have not had luck with a customer's representation of what is occurring with a problem crack/foundation repair. We have "warranty" repaired the areas that the customer indicated were leaking two times already; as that has not solved the problem according to the customer, we need to see what is going on when it is actively leaking. That is why the request for the pictures. On at least one occasion, the water was coming from an area not repaired by us (therefore not a warranty). We repaired that area anyway free of charge. To address some of ******'s accusations: 1) She discussed her issues with the appropriate customer service reps (we don't have "managers") and was treated professionally and appropriately. Her paperwork was appropriately placed in an open file while waiting for action from the customer (pictures in this case). Instead of a "he said, she said" scenario, I am asking ****** now to submit pictures as it appears she did not know we were waiting for them. Now she knows and I am hoping she will send us some. 2) I personally had a conversation with ***** ******** a Realtor that she had contacted about her "warranty" and a friend/business partner of our company. I had a nice conversation with ***** about the situation and about business in general. Not quite sure why ****** would accuse me of lying about that. Our conversation ended with ***** assuring me that he would talk to ****** and have her send pictures during the next rain / next time it leaked. ***** knows that I am an owner of the company so I don't know why he would tell ****** I was a receptionist?? 3) The "evidence of water" that our techs look for is not "water" but is efflorescence (a white chalky residue - when water evaporates the minerals stay behind). When we can't see the water, we look for evidence of water and this can sometime help us figure out what is going on. Note: Water enters a basement/crawlspace through 3 different ways - through a crack/hole/snap tie, etc; over the top of the foundation; through the cove joint or floor due to hydrostatic pressure. When we fix a crack as in this case, we warranty our repair only. We don't promise, contract or warranty a dry basement. So, it is imperative that we see what is actually happening before we provide further warranty visits. We don't want to mess with the integrity of a repair if the problem originates somewhere else. And we don't want to send a tech out for a problem that we don't handle (outside caulking between the foundation and house or drain tile repair or installation). Once again, if ****** would help us out here, we would be better able to help her solve her water problem. I am not sure why she is refusing to send us pictures when she is having her water problem. (Note: It is impossible for us to run to prospective or current customers' homes just at the time it is leaking. It is easy for a homeowner to snap and e-mail us a picture.) We have done thousands of crack repairs over the last 10 years and when we have had to request some pictures, we have received them without any negative comments or feedback. Respectfully submitted by: ******** J. ********, President Viking Concrete Raising & Repair, Inc.

3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5/21/2012 I had CRC raise 2 patio slabs. I paid invoice #2095 for $670 in form of a check and had confidence this company would do the work to at least last for a couple of years. Two weeks after the work was compltetd the concrete slabs began to sink, the company was informed and told me they would send a foreman out to review the situation. Per a follow up phone conversation I was told the foreman agreed it was sinking and they would perform warranty work, but they would not get to my house unless they had a job in the area they would have their equipment at. During repeated phone calls I was assured I was on top of the list for warranty work. I was told the ground had to settle before they would work on it. 2012 passed and now the summer of 2013 is gone and I have been ignored. I have sent emails to the organization with photos of the sinking patio. They would not even dignify themselves to a response. The sinking of the patio has caused rain and snow run off to funnel down the sides of the house foundation creating undo wear on concrete and sump pump system. I had the work done to eliminte that threat, but am in same place I was before I had their work done. In today's business world I cannot believe the unattentiveness and lack of concern I am experiencing.

Desired Settlement: I simply want the patio raised to where it is expected. The first time, they obviously did not spend enough time filling the void properly.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/11/05) */ To make a long story short, we are not responsible for re-raising concrete when our material and labor did not fail. Our warranty covers "all materials and labor" - "All materials and labor are guaranteed as specified in writing on front side of contract." On the front side of the contract we provide the number of years that the warranty is good - in most situations it is a 4-year warranty. Our warranty language is pretty standard as we, and most service providers, cannot warranty anything except what what we provide - materials and labor. We cannot and do not warranty against the worst drought since the late 1950s. What we have seen (and holds true in Mr. ****'s case too) is that our material is there, right under his concrete slab(s). Neither our material or our application failed. What failed was subsoil - all throughout Chicagoland (and the entire midwest) - and everything on top of it dropped including his concrete and our material right under it. This is someting that we cannot control and cannot and by contract do not warranty. The drought that affected us started in mid to late 2011, ran through 2012, and into 1/2 of 2013. It affected homoeowners and property owners throughout the state and throughout the country. If Mr. **** **** be patient, we are continuing to meet homowners at their homes to test - drill through their concrete to see if it was our material that failed or if our material is there and it was their subsoil that failed. As always, if it is our material that failed, we **** provide a repair that is covered by warranty. If not, any further repairs are at the homeownes' expense. And to be honest, we have not yet tested and found that our material failed. It is good strong stuff - a premium Portland cement slurry (3-1/2 bag mix). We wish that the drought did not happen and that homeowners including some of our customers did not suffer from the affects. But, this is out of our control. And, as an fyi, some say that the floods in April and June 2013 even made matters worse. It was a heck of a year. Respectfully, ******** J. ********, President CRC Concrete Raising & Repair Final Consumer Response /* (4252, 22, 2013/12/30) */ must move to arbitration Final Business Response /* (4000, 25, 2014/03/03) */ I respectfully request that the BBB and Mr. **** schedule this for review no later than 5/15/14 to give the weather time to warm up and the ground to thaw and return to normal. This **** give us time to do what we have offered in our previous responses - to take a good look at what has happened with Mr. ****'s patio and with our material. Prior to 5/15, we will arrange with Mr. **** to return to his home and drill through his patio at various sites to see what has happened and to determine if his problem is due to inadequate work by our company or if it is due to the condition of his property/subsoil. The present weather conditions and soil conditions do not allow for any investigation at this time. I feel that to proceed at this time with arbitration is preliminary and would not be good use of Mr. ****'s, the BBB's or our time. But, we will cooperate with whatever the BBB determines is the appropriate next step. Respectfully, ******** J. ********, President


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on CRC Concrete Raising & Repair
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)