BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2013

American Irish Construction Co.

(855) 278-6834143 S Randall Rd # 333, BataviaIL 60510-9470 Send email to American Irish Construction Co.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2013

BBB has determined that American Irish Construction Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered American Irish Construction Co.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised American Irish Construction Co.'s rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on American Irish Construction Co.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
09/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We had a contract for a new garage foundation . He was to remove concrete and pour me one . We payed half which was $3,750 out of $7500 he dug the old out and messed up the size and refused to fining because of his lack of experience . He then wanted $5,000 more to finish after we have a binding contract . He refused to return the any of the money and has ignored all calls

Desired Settlement
3000

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: **********@yahoo.com
Our contract clearly states that "Any alteration or deviation from the original specifications involving any extra costs will be executed only upon written orders, and will become an extra charge over and above the estimate."
The attached PDF shows the original signed contract.

This contract was only signed by the customer following many meetings and detailed verbal explanations along with discussions regarding the permits required from the city and county. The customer was responsible for paying and obtaining these permits.

Our Foremen ***** and **** were very clear concise and professional with the customer, even going to the extra extent of helping him understand the permit from Kane County.

This is the crux of the matter; during excavations it became clear that the ground on which the garage was to be built was sand based.

The customer had a permit for a basic foundation. We halted work and requested the Kane County Inspectors review the site and the situation.
They agreed that the sand base would necessitate a significant upgrade to the foundation and an upgrade to the permit itself.

Our experienced and professional foremen did everything correctly according to the Kane County Inspectors.

Our work comes with detailed drawings and plans in order to avoid any potential problems for the customer; we did not "mess up the size".

We did not finish because we were experienced and professional enough to know that the permit and plans would not pass *********** therefore causing more problems and trouble for the customer.

At this point in time most of the prep work had been completed - following one weeks work on site.
We have 62 photographs of the work in progress up to the point where the foundation trenches were collapsing due to the sand base.

The customer was kept informed at every step of the process and we had several meetings to discuss the fact that a new permit would be required and this would entail a significant change in the specification to comply with the Kane County regulations.

We offered the customer several alternatives to reconcile the situation; all of them involving significant additional costs, which would need to be addressed according to our contract before any work recommenced.

We tried to help in every way possible to limit the additional costs to the customer even to the extent of our offering to do the work at cost to help the customer.

We estimated the lowest additional cost to him would be $5,000 to complete the garage foundation and floor to the Kane County specification.

The customer refused to make any decision regarding the contract and refused to meet with us or take our calls.
The last communication we had very clearly told us to stay away from his property and not to bother him with any other calls.
After several weeks we did try to call and follow up with the customer but he still didn't take our calls.

Unfortunately we have carried out as much work as we can under the circumstances.

No additional work can be done without the changes required by the county - it's not us trying to get more money from the customer - it's a significant change in the necessary foundations required by the county.

If the customer had responded to our calls and offers we would have completed the work as we have with every one of our customers.

We have not had any complaints or problems with anyone else.

We pride ourselves on carrying out our work to the highest specifications, working with many different city and county regulators to ensure our customers get the best service possible.

We have completed work for several referrals from the BBB and all have given us great reviews and referrals.


We consider the amount of work on site and on the contract to be in excess of the $3,750 already paid to us, therefore we consider this contract closed.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Concrete Contractors, Contractor - Decorative & Specialty Concrete, Concrete - Stamped & Decorative, Concrete - Restoration, Sealing & Cleaning, Concrete - Custom, Concrete Removal

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/28/2013Business started: 08/01/2011
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 2012, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Liam Coogan
Business Category

Concrete Contractors, Contractor - Decorative & Specialty Concrete, Concrete - Stamped & Decorative, Concrete - Restoration, Sealing & Cleaning, Concrete - Custom, Concrete Removal

Products & Services

This company offers We specialize in all types of residential concrete work (regular, textured, colored and stamped). We have over 16 years of experience in the always changing concrete industry. We are licensed, bonded, insured and we provide our customers with quality work at reasonable prices. Our services include: Porches, Patios, Driveways, Sidewalks, Fire Pits, Sealer, Retaining Walls, Steps, Capping, Shed Floors, Garage Floors, Skim Coating, as well as concrete and asphalt removal.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for American Irish Construction Co.

143 S Randall Rd # 333

Batavia, IL 60510-9470

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 143 S Randall Rd # 333 

    Batavia, IL 60510-9470(855) 278-6834

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*American Irish Construction Co. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Concrete Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.