Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

American Irish Construction Co.

Phone: (855) 278-6834 143 S Randall Rd # 333, Batavia, IL 60510 http://americanirishconstruction.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Irish Construction Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Irish Construction Co. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American Irish Construction Co.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 28, 2013 Business started: 08/01/2011 Business started locally: 08/01/2011 Business incorporated 04/10/2012 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Liam Coogan, Owner Mr. Isai Correa, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Liam Coogan, Owner
Related Businesses
Text Mobile, Inc. American Irish Concrete, LLC
Business Category

Concrete Contractors Concrete - Custom Concrete - Restoration, Sealing & Cleaning Concrete - Stamped & Decorative Contractor - Decorative & Specialty Concrete Concrete Removal Poured Concrete Foundation and Structure Contractors (NAICS: 238110)

Products & Services

This company offers We specialize in all types of residential concrete work (regular, textured, colored and stamped). We have over 16 years of experience in the always changing concrete industry. We are licensed, bonded, insured and we provide our customers with quality work at reasonable prices. Our services include: Porches, Patios, Driveways, Sidewalks, Fire Pits, Sealer, Retaining Walls, Steps, Capping, Shed Floors, Garage Floors, Skim Coating, as well as concrete and asphalt removal.


Additional Locations

  • 143 S Randall Rd # 333

    Batavia, IL 60510 (855) 278-6834

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a contract for a new garage foundation . He was to remove concrete and pour me one . We payed half which was $3,750 out of $7500 he dug the old out and messed up the size and refused to fining because of his lack of experience . He then wanted $5,000 more to finish after we have a binding contract . He refused to return the any of the money and has ignored all calls

Desired Settlement: 3000

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/13) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **********@yahoo.com Our contract clearly states that "Any alteration or deviation from the original specifications involving any extra costs will be executed only upon written orders, and will become an extra charge over and above the estimate." The attached PDF shows the original signed contract. This contract was only signed by the customer following many meetings and detailed verbal explanations along with discussions regarding the permits required from the city and county. The customer was responsible for paying and obtaining these permits. Our Foremen ***** and **** were very clear concise and professional with the customer, even going to the extra extent of helping him understand the permit from Kane County. This is the crux of the matter; during excavations it became clear that the ground on which the garage was to be built was sand based. The customer had a permit for a basic foundation. We halted work and requested the Kane County Inspectors review the site and the situation. They agreed that the sand base would necessitate a significant upgrade to the foundation and an upgrade to the permit itself. Our experienced and professional foremen did everything correctly according to the Kane County Inspectors. Our work comes with detailed drawings and plans in order to avoid any potential problems for the customer; we did not "mess up the size". We did not finish because we were experienced and professional enough to know that the permit and plans would not pass *********** therefore causing more problems and trouble for the customer. At this point in time most of the prep work had been completed - following one weeks work on site. We have 62 photographs of the work in progress up to the point where the foundation trenches were collapsing due to the sand base. The customer was kept informed at every step of the process and we had several meetings to discuss the fact that a new permit would be required and this would entail a significant change in the specification to comply with the Kane County regulations. We offered the customer several alternatives to reconcile the situation; all of them involving significant additional costs, which would need to be addressed according to our contract before any work recommenced. We tried to help in every way possible to limit the additional costs to the customer even to the extent of our offering to do the work at cost to help the customer. We estimated the lowest additional cost to him would be $5,000 to complete the garage foundation and floor to the Kane County specification. The customer refused to make any decision regarding the contract and refused to meet with us or take our calls. The last communication we had very clearly told us to stay away from his property and not to bother him with any other calls. After several weeks we did try to call and follow up with the customer but he still didn't take our calls. Unfortunately we have carried out as much work as we can under the circumstances. No additional work can be done without the changes required by the county - it's not us trying to get more money from the customer - it's a significant change in the necessary foundations required by the county. If the customer had responded to our calls and offers we would have completed the work as we have with every one of our customers. We have not had any complaints or problems with anyone else. We pride ourselves on carrying out our work to the highest specifications, working with many different city and county regulators to ensure our customers get the best service possible. We have completed work for several referrals from the BBB and all have given us great reviews and referrals. We consider the amount of work on site and on the contract to be in excess of the $3,750 already paid to us, therefore we consider this contract closed.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on American Irish Construction Co.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)