Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

3D Concrete Design, Inc.

Phone: (847) 297-7968 Fax: (847) 297-7969 1000 Lee Street, Des Plaines, IL 60016 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.3dconcretedesign.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that 3D Concrete Design, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for 3D Concrete Design, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on 3D Concrete Design, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 16, 2003 Business started: 04/01/2000 in IL Business started locally: 04/01/2000 Business incorporated 02/10/1999 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Nick Desario, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Nick Desario, President
Business Category

Concrete Contractors Patio & Deck Builders Driveway Installation, Paving & Repair Snow Removal Service Poured Concrete Foundation and Structure Contractors (NAICS: 238110)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

3D Concrete Design, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1000 Lee Street

    Des Plaines, IL 60016 (847) 297-7968

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 3d concrete design was contracted to remove and replace a patio, patio step, a small section of walk at patio, a front walk from driveway to front stoop and the front stoop. during the removal process i suffered damage to the homes brickwork, limestone sills and a clearly marked sprinkler system. after many delays the work was completed. and 3d was paid. shortly after completion the patio cracked in its entire width and was discolored. 3d concrete did not want to redo it and offered a refund for the patio under the condition that i sign off on the front walk and stoop as being acceptable. although the front stoop was also discolored i was told repeatedly by 3d concrete the discoloration would vanish once the concrete "cured." now, after almost a year it's still discolored and small cracks are starting to develop. the walk to my driveway has an exaggerated pitch that i noticed during framing but they didn't correct it. this is not the way i want the font of my home to look.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund for the front stoop and walk. I am beyond upset with the problems I've had with 3d Concrete. There is much more but, another time for that.

Business Response:

In response to Mr. ******’s complaint:

During the removal process there was damage to the limestone sills, brickwork and sprinkler system. 

Mr. ****** was reimbursed for the damage to the limestone sills. The damage to the brickwork and sprinkler system were due to pre-existing conditions to which Mr. ****** agreed to not hold 3D responsible.

Unfortunately there are no guarantees when working with concrete and from time to time, issues do arise. The issues on all the concrete work that Mr. ****** is complaining about were discussed with him and an agreement was made between Mr. ****** and 3D Concrete.  He agreed to accept reimbursement for the patio and patio step.  He also agreed to accept the work that was performed by 3D on his front stoop and walk.

We are very sorry to hear that Mr. ****** is unhappy with the front stoop and walk and is asking for a full refund.  Per our agreement, we reimbursed him the money for the patio and patio step.  We apologize to Mr. ****** but unfortunately we still stand behind the agreement that he signed for the acceptance of the work that was performed on the front stoop and walk.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:In response to 3D Concrete's reply of July 1, 2016: 1. I was not reimbursed for the damage to the limestone sills, only a portion of the replacement cost was deducted from my bill. 2. There were no "pre-existing conditions" regarding the brickwork and sprinkler system. They were damaged during the concrete removal as were the limestone sills. The sprinkler system was clearly marked. Also, I NEVER agreed not to hold 3D responsible. 3. As to "There are no guarantees when working with concrete", does that mean inferior work goes unremedied? 3D concrete agreed to reimburse me for the patio and patio step ONLY if I accepted the work on the front stoop and walk. I did so with the understanding that the discoloration of the front stoop, per 3D Concrete, would vanish when the concrete cured. It hasn't and 3D Concrete's "apology" will not remedy the problem.

Sincerely

***** ******

4/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a contract with 3D CONCRETE in July 2014. It was a cost of $6,500.00 to remove and replace concrete steps to side door. When the day the work was to be done, Mr. ********* son said that he wouldn't do it. He said that all that was needed to repair the crumbling last step was to do an overlay. He was not going to replace the stairs per the contract I had signed. The "repair" lasted a few weeks, and they came back and did another patch on the bottom step. ******* also talked me in to having an overlay done on the front steps -- which didn't need any work. They also tried to up the amount of work to be done by suggesting that I add "stenciling" to the outside basement concrete wall. I declined that since I thought the look was awful. When I had to contact Mr. ******* again, he told me that he wanted an outside cement contractor to call him. I sent him a link to a conversation that I had with Lou ********** -- a well-known contractor in Chicago and the US. Lou said that the overlays do not work in this area because of the extreme variance of temperatures. At that, ******* left me a voice mail and said that he arbitrarily assigned $1,500.00 for the overlay on front stairs (which never needed anything) and $1,500 for the overlay on side stairs leaving a balance of $400 for the patch. He sent a check for $400. How is this acceptable?

Desired Settlement: Refund of the $3,400.00 for work never done.

Business Response: Tell us why here...

We are sorry that Mrs. ****’s experience with 3D Concrete Design has not been to her satisfaction.  Yes, when Nick originally went out to give her an estimate on the stairs, it was for removal and replacement of the existing concrete steps that were poured by another concrete company. When Anthony & crew came out to start the work on the stairs, he noticed that the stairs that were supposed to be removed and replaced were in good condition except for the corner of the step Mrs. **** was complaining about.  So he offered to patch the problem corner with steel reinforcement and overlay the entire set of stairs.  He also offered to do a few more things in order to enhance the curb appeal of the house.  IE: front steps which were pitted and discolored.  Mrs. **** agreed to go ahead with the patching and overlaying both sets of stairs for $3400.00.

It is great that she is reaching out to Mr. *** ********** for his opinion, but unfortunately everyone has an opinion to share which can make things more complicated for all involved.  It is very true that with the temperature extremes in Illinois, there are no guarantees as to how regular concrete or overlayed concrete will hold up. Contrary to Mr. **********'s opinion, we have overlayed countless jobs in the past 10 years, with excellent results. We as contractors can only make sure to follow the correct codes and specifications when doing our work. Unfortunately we cannot control the weather or that proper care is taken once the job is completed.

Mrs. **** is now requesting a refund for the $3400.00 for work never done.  We believe she received what she paid for and are very sorry that she is having an issue with the step.  However, in her conversation with Mr. **********, she told him she no longer trusts us.  After hearing their conversation, we are not comfortable with going back to fix the step again and in good faith sent Mrs. **** a check for $400.00.

We deeply regret that this has happened, for this is not a reflection of our workmanship and customer satisfaction.  Again, we apologize to Mrs. **** for the inconvenience this has caused.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: the contract from 3D Design Concrete (that I signed) was changed by the company for no reason.

Sincerely,

****** ****

7/21/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contract dated 03/27/14 for new concrete driveway, apron and public walk @ total of 1253 sq ft, 4000 psi, costed at $7.70 per sq ft. Options selected - chert free and fiber mesh. Total cost - $9643 paid as to $4643 on 05/27/14 (start date) and $5000 on 06/03/14 (completion date). Old driveway horribly pitted cracked and spaulled. Expected new driveway to be free from unsightly defects and to last for years. Surely entitled to expect that Village salting of road in winter would not cause spaulling and that visitors parking on driveway after travelling through snow would not cause spaulling. When final winter snows melted around February 2015, severe spaulling in apron and minor spaulling in driveway discovered. All areas have been getting continually worse. The work in sum is not fit for purpose for which it was intended. Ridiculous that normal and expected clearing of road by Village would cause driveway to deteriorate. The sales rep, **** *******, ever since I complained, has been aggressive, dismissive and downright offensive at times.

Desired Settlement: $1250, i.e., the actual cost charged for laying the driveway apron (where the majority of the spaulling has manifested itself.)

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/09) */ Upon Mr. ****'s initial complaint, **** went and inspected the driveway and apron. **** explained to Mr. **** that the spalling is from the salt/deicing agents that were used in the winter. We also contacted our concrete supplier and requested they send out a representative to give us their expert opinion. The concrete supplier sent a representative(Bill), who went and looked at the driveway and apron and he confirmed to Mr. **** that the problem lies in the usage of salt/deicing agents. We understand Mr. ****'s frustration and apologize for any inconvenience this has caused however, we feel a full refund of the driveway apron is unreasonable since the spalling was caused by reasons beyond our control.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on 3D Concrete Design, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart