Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Writer's Workbench, Ltd.

Phone: (888) 366-8326 Fax: (630) 369-3482 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 816, Naperville, IL 60566 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Writer's Workbench, Ltd, is a software development company which has created a program to assist students with writing essays and other professional compositions. Located in Naperville, IL, this company caters to schools and private consumers across the United States and internationally, both through online orders on their website and shipping orders of their software. The company started in 1988 and has continued to refine and update their program for each successive generation of computer program.

This company's program works with the Microsoft Word document editing program by analyzing a user's word choice and grammatical decisions, then presenting analytics to the user which demonstrate better choices for what they have written. There are 25 different analytic programs within the software which analyze different aspects of the user's writing, such as diversity of vocabulary, vagueness of vocabulary, active verbs, appropriate use of pronouns, proper punctuation, and effective transitions. Included is a process which guides users step by step through the analysis of their work, showing them the errors made and how they can improve the composition of their work by changing, adding, or removing words or punctuation. There is also a glossary of over 800 commonly misused words or phrases which users can access to determine whether they are using words appropriately.

The website for Writer's Workbench includes tutorials to assist users in effectively utilizing the program, and free trials of the program are available for schools and universities, who can also receive a discount on the program when ordering.

Visit the website for Writer's Workbench, Ltd, to read testimonials about the program, learn more about the different analysis programs including within the software, read tutorials about the program, and order the software for home or school use.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Writer's Workbench, Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Writer's Workbench, Ltd.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 12, 2007 Business started: 04/01/1988 in IL Business started locally: 04/01/1988 Business incorporated 02/21/2001 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Gregory A. Oij, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gregory A. Oij, President
Business Category

Computers Hardware, Software & Services Training Programs Tutoring Computer and Computer Peripheral Equipment and Software Merchant Wholesalers (NAICS: 423430)

Alternate Business Names
EMO Solutions, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 816

    Naperville, IL 60566


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used my product for less than 48 hours and was not satisfied with it. When I emailed the company for a return and told them I had removed the product from my PC and would like a refund I was told no and they offered training. I am a full time working mom going to school and this is not the kind of product with accessibility that the demo showed. I asked for my product key to be deactivated and a return to be processed. The company has not responded to my request. On the order page they did not say a return was not possible for downloaded items.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded my $120 for a product I will not use and only opened 3 times.

Business Response: I will provide a refund within 3 days.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


******** ******

5/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I tried to contact the company twice for trial of the software to know the nature of the product and its target audience but I did not get any response. Within twenty four hours of the purchase, I tried to contact the company several times to let them know the problems I was facing with the software and its lack of worth for me. However, even when I was their client, the company did not respond. The company is spreading false information by promoting the software as a general writing enhancement tool whereas it is essentially an English grammar manual and a statistical writing analytic tool aimed at high school students. The software is dated and fraught with mistakes sometimes producing ridiculous results. It corrupted my Word as well. The company normally gives thirty day trial. I reported the problem and lack of its worth for me in one day and asked for refund but the company did not bother to respond.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to inactivate my software and refund my money

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/05/16) */ **** I just credited your account. Please let the BBB know that you have dropped the complaint. ********* ******************* Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 11, 2014/05/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I highly appreciate BBB for helping me resolve my problem with WWB. I wanted WWB to refund my money which it did therefore I would like to drop my complaint. I would again like to thank BBB in general and ************ in particular to stand for and protect consumer rights.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Writer's Workbench, Ltd.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)