This business is not BBB accredited.

SpiderOak, Inc.

Phone: (847) 564-8900 555 Huehl Rd, Northbrook, IL 60062 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for SpiderOak, Inc. include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for SpiderOak, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on SpiderOak, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 14, 2009 Business started: 12/07/2007 Business started locally: 12/07/2007 Business incorporated 12/07/2007 in IL
Business Management
Mr. Ethan Oberman, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ethan Oberman, CEO
Number of Employees


Business Category

Computers Hardware, Software & Services Computer Software Publishers & Developers Computers - Network Security Computer and Computer Peripheral Equipment and Software Merchant Wholesalers (NAICS: 423430)

Additional Locations


    555 Huehl Rd

    Northbrook, IL 60062 (847) 564-8900


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/24/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a 1-year unlimited backup subscription from SpiderOak on March 31, 2014. This was paid via ****** the same day for a total of $125, to be paid yearly. There does not seem to be an order number associated with this, but the ****** Transaction ID is ****************** Over the following months the software performed backups on all of my computers as expected. During that time I downloaded all of my files from SpiderOak and compared them to my local copies to confirm that the backups were working. Everything was working fine. Rather suddenly in mid-August, the software stopped performing backups. It continued to say it was backing up, but would show 0% progress which would never change. This happened on three different computers. Two of the computers were at a datacenter, the other was at my house. None of them showed any other sort of connectivity issues. I assumed it was a temporary issue, but after two weeks the problem failed to resolve itself. I followed all possibly-relevant instructions on the SpiderOak website for resolving similar issues to no avail. Timeline of communication with SpiderOak: On August 29th, I filed a support ticket with SpiderOak. The same day I received an automated response acknowledging receipt of my request, and assigning it *** #XXXXXX. On August 31st, **** from SpiderOak support responded to the ticket requesting my username ******* and the SpiderOak application logs. I responded with this information the same day. On September 1st, *********** from SpiderOak Engineering Support notified me that the issue had been escalated and they are working on a resolution. He mentioned that as soon as they have an update, they would let me know, and invited me to voice my questions or concerns, noting that they cannot guarantee a response to every email. On September 22nd, I sent an email noting that the issue persisted and I had not heard anything from them since September 1st. On October 11th, I again sent an email requesting an update, again noting that the last I heard from them was September 1st. On October 21st, I sent an email requesting that my account be closed, and requesting a refund for the time during which the service was unavailable. Given that I paid $125 for 1 (one) year of service, and service ceased functioning 4.5 months into the 12 month period, I reckoned about a $78 refund was due. Around this time I also uninstalled their software, as it still did not perform any backups on any of my computers. On October 27th I still had not received a response, so I sent them a tweet from my personal ******* account. On October 28th, **** from SpiderOak responded to my tweet saying "Thanks! We will take care of you now. So sorry for your trouble :( - ****" On October 31st, still not having received any response aside from the tweet, I opened a ****** dispute, now requesting a full refund in addition to my account being closed. However, ****** automatically closed the dispute soon after, because it had been more than 45 days since the transaction date. It is now November 17th and I have yet to hear a word from SpiderOak aside from the promise of a response via *******. While I realize I can close my account via their website, I am also interested in a full refund due to the complete lack of response on their part, and the service failing to perform as advertised.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a $125 refund. This constitutes the full amount paid for a 1 (one) year subscription to SpiderOak.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2015/02/23) */ I will respond to **** directly and assist him in receiving the full refund. If I need to provide more information to this complaint I'm happy to do so.

11/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We originally signed up for Spideroak on 9/10/13 so we could have a backup of all our documents. It stopped working in January 2014, but we waited till 1/2/14 to contact Spideroak. We contacted them numerous times to try and resolve the issue but was told that they did not have room on their servers. This was sent to them on 6/24/14: I am confused as you have given me several reasons that the issue is happening. We need to escalate this or issue a refund as it has been going on for over 7 months. 1-2-14: Problem was originally reported.(Although it had not been working for a month prior) X-XX-XX: you responded: I have notified our developers to migrate your account to another server. You should see improved speeds within the next week and we appreciate your patience. X-XX-XX: You responded: I apologize but there is not much we can do until you are migrated to a new server. You should see improvements within the next week or so. X-XX-XX: You requested the folder called "Application Data" which I sent and never heard back from you. X-XX-XX: I tried running the command that I have per your first request and still no resolution. Please escalate this ASAP or issue a refund. On 7/21/14 I sent the following email: Apparently you guys can not fix this. Please just issue a refund for the down time and cancel the account! Since then I have not heard anything back from them and in fact they charged us for another year of service on 9/10/14. I requested that charge as well to be canceled, but again still have not heard back from anyone.

Desired Settlement: $100 for the original service that would not work. plus $100 for the recent auto transaction that was charged after we requested cancelation. Total $200 refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/09/29) */ Contact Email: ****** Hello **** I'm very sorry to hear you were disappointed by your service with SpiderOak. I'll be happy to refund your full service charge, so if you can please send me your username or email address associated with your account (or your old ticket number) I'll be able to take care of this for you ASAP. Otherwise, I'll search for you now and contact you as soon as I find the correct ticket number. Sorry again that you did not have a good experience with SpiderOak. Consumer Response /* (3000, 14, 2014/10/16) */ ****** This is the email address on our account, ********************

6/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have received repeated emails asking me to be patient and that they will be responding soon. They guarantee a response in 5-7 business days. It has been over two weeks and I have not heard back. I am pretty much out of business without access to the missing files.

Desired Settlement: I would really like to try this service if we can get it working again. If they are too busy to help me, I would like a full refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/05) */ Contact Name and Title:****************** Contact Phone:*********** Contact Email: ********************** Hi ******* My name is ******** and I'm so sorry that you have been unable to use SpiderOak. I have reached out to the head of Customer Service and you will be receiving a call/email very soon. We are happy to refund you fully for the service. Feel free to email me directly at ********************** if that is how you would like to proceed. Again, I'm very sorry that the experience has been unsatisfactory. Thank you for your patience. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/06/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) ********, Thank you for your help! I did receive several calls from customer service. ***** was most helpful. He called and explained the problem after researching it and helped walk me through the solution. He was also kind enough to give me his after hours phone number in case I ran into any more problems. Everything seems to be working fine after his help. As a result of the prompt attention, I plan to continue using this backup service, and will likely be expanding my use as I find additional applications and become more familiar with the systems many features. In addition to the seamless encrypted backup / storage, I find the ability to configure and manage backup of multiple computers on our network from one machine most helpful. Thank you again for your help. ************

9/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service