Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Ambir Technology, Inc.

Phone: (630) 530-5400 Fax: (630) 203-6064 View Additional Phone Numbers 928 N Oaklawn Ave, Elmhurst, IL 60126 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.ambir.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ambir Technology, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ambir Technology, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 17, 2004 Business started: 03/07/2001 Business started locally: 03/07/2001 Business incorporated 06/15/2001 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael O'Leary, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael O'Leary, President
Business Category

Computers Hardware, Software & Services Optical Imaging Equipment & Systems Computer and Computer Peripheral Equipment and Software Merchant Wholesalers (NAICS: 423430)


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    928 N Oaklawn Ave

    Elmhurst, IL 60126 (800) 915-9930

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The shipping fees for this item (which never arrived, weren't refunded to us): *********** ************** Scanner Protection Kit -**************************************************************************** ******** 1 22.00 22.00

Desired Settlement: Refund of the shipping costs

Business Response: ********************************************************************************************************************************************************************* This response is related to Ambir Technology Sales Order******* that shipped on July 8, 2013. The order in question was for a maintenance kit for one of our scanning products that the customer asked to be shipped to Israel. Upon learning the shipping destination, we notified the customer that Ambir Technology ships all International orders via our preferred carrier,***. We ship via *** as it provides us the ability to track and confirm shipping and delivery status of the package as well as providing assistance if any customs issues should arise not to mention providing insurance on the shipment. The cost to ship the kit via *** to ****** was $130.00 ***. Upon disclosing the shipping cost to the customer, they then inquired about shipping via the ********* ******* which we do not recommend as we have none of the control and verification we have with ***. They insisted on getting a shipping quote for the ***************** which we provided at $22.00. With this cost we also notified them that by shipping via another carrier (*******************) and not ***, we could not monitor or track the shipment and it wouldn't have the default coverage our carrier *** provides. After disclosing this information they requested to move forward with shipping via the****************** against or recommendation (as they had done on a similar order in 2010). On August 14th we received an email from the customer stating that they had not yet received the kit they purchased and asked us to either track or refund them for their order. We notified them that via the method of shipment they requested (*******************), we could not track the package and thus not have the ability to confirm or deny its delivery or status. On August 30th the customer contacted us again saying it still hadn't arrived and requested a refund. At this time we gave authorization for a refund in the amount of $24.95 to cover the full cost of the kit. This refund was done outside our normal policy of requiring a physical product to be returned in order to get a refund. We are proud of our customer service record, however shipments outside of ************* are subject to unforseen delays and completely beyond our control. This is further augmented when shipments go via a carrier (******************* per the customers request in this case) that is not our standard carrier for International shipments(***). Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2013/09/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thanks for issuing the refund. That is what I asked for in the first place, but none of my many emails requesting just that led to that outcome, which is why I had to file this complaint to get my money back. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/09/21) */ Ambir Technology has a long history of providing outstanding customer service and support to our customers and partners. We will issue a refund of the ******************* shipping charges for this transaction. Sincerely, Ambir Technology


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Ambir Technology, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)