BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2013

GearXS, Inc.

Phone: (800) 438-7516Fax: (800) 438-7630

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

75 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 40 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues9
Delivery Issues24
Guarantee / Warranty Issues3
Problems with Product / Service39
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints75

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (75)BBB Closure Definitions
02/26/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I began contacting this company in December requesting return procedures and a refund for an item purchased which upon receipt was not as described in the ad. After multiple attempts my email was finally returned on 1/12/15 by ****** ** we exchanged several emails over the next several days when I insisted that I was returning the product for full refund. It was returned on 1/17/15. On 2/2/15 I asked by email for a status as I still had not received requested refund and was told by ******* ** they did receive my return and the credit would be posted to my account in 3-5 business days. On 2/14/15 I sent another email because refund was still not posted and was told on 2/16/15 by ****** ** that it would post within 24-48 hours. As of 8:25 p.m. on 2/20/15 it still has not posted to my account. This company has both the product, and my money, which I now view as theft.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a full refund of the $9.98 of my original purchase plus an additional $10.02 for the hassle, time and effort involved in trying to retrieve my money for a total settlement amount of of $20.00.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *********
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ***************
Hello,

We apologize for this delay. However, your refund has been issued. Your refund transaction ID number is ***************** which you may confirm with your original form of payment. If you need further assistance, please feel free to contact us.

Have a great day,
*********

02/11/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I placed an order on 12/10 that was guaranteed delivery for Christmas. It was a present to a relative visiting and I did not receive it until 12/29 after our relatives had left. As I had no use for it, I asked for a refund. Every time I emailed them I would be ignored and every time I called I got a steer around. I FINALLY got a pre-paid label from them in mid January and sent it the following week. I know for a fact they've had it for weeks now yet are failing to refund me and are making up every excuse possible. "We will get to it shortly" is a common one. This is ridiculous and I am forced to enter in a BBB claim against them.

Desired Settlement
Full refund of order including all applicable fees.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *********
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ***************
Hello ********

Thank you for contacting us and we apologize for this delay. We will make sure your refund is processed. Please allow 3-5 business days for the funds to reflect back into your account.

Our apologies,
*********

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
***********

I appreciate your quick response but am upset by what you are telling me.******* has been telling me for 2 weeks now that my refund will be processed. I am starting to question who is telling the truth and who isn't.

I need to know an exact date on when it will be processed. This has gone on far too long. This is my first and most certainly will be my last order with you.

Thank you,
****

Final Business Response
Hello,

Thank you for your response and again we apologize for this inconvenience. I will make sure this refund is issued by today. Thank you for your cooperation as we resolve this issue.

*********

02/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
You sent order XXXXXXXX that was supposed to be a twin set of SAGE sheets per ****, or OLIVE per your invoice.

They are LIME.

I would like to return them for a refund - please send a postage paid Return authorization.

I tried to contact you when the shipment arrived - hopefully this one will generate some action.

Desired Settlement
Please send post-paid return and refund my $18.99.

Thank you

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *********
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ***************
Hello *******

We regret to hear that you are unsatisfied with the color you received. We emailed you a prepaid return label. Once we receive your return, we will issue a full refund back into your account. If there is anything else we may assist you with, please feel free to contact us.

Our apologies,
*********

01/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordred a Stereo Headphone. They sent me one which was Poor Quality. I asked them to send me a Return Shipping Label. they told me it is the buyer's responsibillity to pay for return shipping. They did not agree even when i said I was NOT Satisfied with the product.

Desired Settlement
Refund me my $7.99 that i paid for this product

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *********
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ***************
Hello ***************

We regret to hear that you are unsatisfied with your purchase. We have provided you with your return details. Once we receive your return, we will gladly issue a refund back into your account.

Thank you,
*********

01/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Product: ************** 6-Piece Grooming Set - Perfect for Grooming on the Go. Model:***********
Order number: XXXXXXXXX Purchase date: 07/07/2014
Payment Method: Credit/Debit Card
I ordered the 6-piece set back in July andwhen it came I glanced at it, saw it was a grooming set and promptly hid it since it was part of a Christmas gift for my husband. I did not read the name on the item because the outside package had the correct name, *************** and I'd purchased items from this seller before. In December, I looked at it closely when I was wrapping Christmas gifts, and saw it was a cheap 5-piece substitute that I did not order. I have ordered from GearXS before so I trusted that I would get the correct order and I relied on my past experience with this company. I contacted them immediately but they've refused to provide any remedy because it is over 30days since the purchase. This is clearly some type of bait and switch as the item I discovered was a cheap set called ****** 5-piece set that looks cheap like it should be sold in a ************. I couldn't give this to my husband for Christmas afterall. I am highly disappointed and feel robbed. I was sent a cheap replacement instead of the item I ordered but several attepts to talk to GearXS management has failed. I would like the ************** that I ordered or my money back so I can purchase elsewhere! I had received opened products from them before but thought that it was due to post office treatment etc. Now I realize that this company sells used/opened products and switch brand name items for cheaper stuff.

Desired Settlement
Refund or replacement for the correct item.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *********
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ***************
Hello,

This order was placed on 7/7/2014. As clearly stated on our website, you must contact us within 30 days from delivery to inform us if there is an issue with your order. Since it has been 6 moths from the purchase date, we are unable to accept the return. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Our apologies,
*********

Page 1 of 13
02/25/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On Nov. 15/14 I placed an order with Gearxs.com and received said order approximately 12/04/14. I as most consumers do at this time of year was making gift purchases for the holiday season and as such did not open, inspect nor DEMO these items to ensure they were of proper functioning order. On Christmas Day one of the items from Gearxs.com was a digital breath analyzer (I purchased two of these)was for my husband as a bit of a fun gift. Upon having our usual bottle of champagne mid-day my husband tried out the breath analyzer to no avail; meaning it did not register any alcohol in his system after he had several glasses of champagne. After a few days he again tried to hget it working and again it did not work. I then called my son who I'd purchased the other one for and he said that one was working just fine. I wrote an email to Gearxs and told them of my dilemma never expecting ANYTHING but relief. Instead I was told " it is our policy that purchases over 30 days cannot and will not be refunded or replaced". I questioned this as my purchase was truly just days beyond that "policy" AND I felt I was being penalized for doing my shopping early and for their merchandise being shoddy AND for not TESTING their merchandise prior to giving it as a gift (to further the ridiculousness of the "testing" of a gift; it would have required that I as the purchaser PUT MY MOUTH ON THE PRODUCT I was buying for my "giftee"...uh...EWWW!)and all of those reasons add up to a total of extremely ludicrous and unkind customer service! After a barrage of emails back and forth with this company they FINALLY agreed to a return and refund and sent me a RMA to return the product for a refund. I printed the RMA and went to my local **** and sent it back. I waited, and waited, and waited for my refund... after what to me seemed and extraordinarily long time I emailed them to ask where in the world my refund was. At that time they informed me I would not be receiving the full price of the product but it would be minus the return shipping cost! I cannot tell you how frustrated I was and still am regarding that! Why the heck should I, the The best part is yet to come though: as I sit here today on Feb. 18, 2015...I still have NOT received ANY part of this refund! I've now emailed this company at minimum 10 times to no avail; they no longer even respond to me! Have I gotten to a point where I am rude in my emails? YES! I am so fed up I could spit breath analyzers at their customer service team! November 15, 2014 to Feb. 18, 2015 to settle an $8.99 product refund?? What a joke of a company!

Desired Settlement
I want and demand a FULL refund of my $8.99 purchase price for the junk merchandise they sold to me THREE full months ago.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *********
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ***************
Hello,

We apologize for this inconvenience. We issued a refund back into your account for this item. The refund transaction ID is ***************** which you may verify with your original form of payment.

Thank you,
*********

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Again; I reiterate this company CHARGED me the customer the shipping costs to return their faulty merchandise that never worked correctly. I and my husband buy and deal with online retailers regularly and as such have the occasion to return items for various reasons. When merchandise is broken, faulty and/or generally ineffective the seller of said product never has the audacity to make us pay for the return shipping! I can certainly see if the situation was that I didn't like the product or the color etc.; this is not the case here though. In fact; as stated and proven by my invoice I purchased another of these identical items which worked just as it was promised and I've not returned that one. This company is wholly unreasonable to deal with and people need to know not to waste their time nor money by purchasing goods from them. I bought this junk product on November 18th, 2014 and received a partial refund on Feb. 5, 2015! How much more ludicrous can a business be? Stay away from Gearxs.com if you expect value for money or fair treatment!

Final Business Response
Hello,

The refund for this was issued. The refund transaction ID number is ***************** which you may confirm with your account.

Thank you,
*********

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Once again this company has failed to address the issue of shipping costs and continues to ignore my reasonable request for such given the product in question never worked. This back and forth for months over the measly sum of just over $3.00 in shipping costs I've incurred is truly outlandish and appalling. To be completely IGNORED again and again over this request is beyond insulting and a very clear indicator of the total lack of customer service they give. As you can see BBB this "retailer" just refuses to be fair or stand behind their merchandise.

02/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Upon receipt of a white duvet set (ordered 1/18/15), the first thing opened was a pillow sham. The sham contained a large red ink spot directly in the middle. I contacted the company and provided a photo. As I had not unpackaged the remainder of the set, I requested a return for replacement. At first I was offered a 15% refund. As this was not acceptable, I again asked to return it for replacement. I was then sent the following:

"Thank you for your response. We apologize for this inconvenience again. We will send you a replacement for the one sham. Please allow 24-48 business hours for tracking information to be updated and sent to you via email. Should you have further questions or any concerns, please feel free to contact us."

Weeks went by and I had not heard from the company. I, again, emailed them with no response - twice. After messaging them on ********, I discovered they had responded to a different email address than the one I used to correspond with them. In that email (found in my junk folder), they had a different response:

"We are emailing you today regarding your replacement for the Queen White Pillow Sham. Upon requesting to have this item replaced to you, the original color has become out of stock unfortunately. We truly apologize for any inconvenience this *** have caused. Due to this, we would like to offer you 10% off the sheet set. Please advise how you would like us to proceed."

First, the "original color has become out of stock" is false. The item was offered again on 2/11 in white and is still available on this date in white.

Since a now 10% refund is even more unacceptable, I (yet again) requested either a replacement or a more acceptable 50% refund.

GearXS has stopped communicating.

Due to grammar structure of the emails and the fact they are sent in the evening, it is clear this is a foreign company with canned email responses and no regard for customer satisfaction.

Desired Settlement
As it is clear they will not accept a return, a minimum 50% refund ($13.50) is requested. This will not cover half the cost of purchasing replacement shams from a more reputable company.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *********
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ***************
Hello,

We responded to you yesterday and we apologize if you if you did not receive it. Unfortunately, we are unable to process a 50% refund. However for this inconvenience, we will like to offer you a 20% refund off this set. If not we will provide you with a prepaid return label to return this item back for a refund since the color is out of stock. Please advise on how you wish to proceed.

Our apologies,
*********

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I find very convenient that I don't seem to receive these "responses". Again, the company shows the item IN STOCK (http://********************-cover-pillow-shams-dobby-stripe-bedding?filter_name=duvet). Therefore, either ********** is a liar or the company is attempting to commit a fraud. Please forward a return label. If the company had done this as requested in the beginning, this complaint would not have been filed. I will not consider this closed until the company has refunded the FULL amount of this order or replaced the defective item.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Again, NOT until I receive a full refund to my******* account. I don't trust these people.

Final Business Response
Hello,

Once we receive the package, we will issue a refund back into your account.

Thank you,
**********

01/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered a number of scarves and tights. GearXS mistakenly sent a really ugly scarf in place of one of the scarves I had ordered. I emailed them, they asked for photographic evidence, I sent it, and then they offered that I keep the scarf for 15% off the price I paid for it. I responded that as in the very first email I sent them, I still only want either a full refund or for them to resend the original scarf. I also offered to send the ugly scarf back if they pay for return shipping. I told them if they do not comply, I would be filing a BBB complaint and a chargeback on my ***** I have not received a response despite this latest email exchange taking place ten days ago. While it is the holiday season, there have been a number of days in the past ten days in which they could have replied. I am not at all impressed with their customer service as this entire situation is their fault and they are wasting my time over and over again to try to resolve this problem. At this point, I would like an apology, a full refund of the missing item, and a gift of 20% off the rest of my original order for the trouble they've put me through.

Desired Settlement
I would like an apology, a full refund of the missing item, and a gift of 20% off the rest of my original order for the trouble they've put me through.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *********
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ***************
Hello,

We apologize for this shipping error. We will process a refund for one of the scarves and we do not need the incorrect color back. Please allow 3-5 business days for the funds to reflect back into your account. Again we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Our apologies,
*********

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is such a shady, incompetent company. They only refunded a portion of the cost of the missing item. Seriously, I'm really tired of their repeated attempts to scam me.

Again, I know I have the option of filing a chargeback, which I'm totally comfortable doing, but it shouldn't be necessary. I want a full refund of the entire transaction now (29.40) as a reparative penalty.

Final Business Response
Hello,

Again we apologize for this inconvenience. We will issue another refund for $5.00. Please allow 3-5 business days for the funds to reflect back into your account. Thank you for your cooperation as we resolve this issue.

Kind regards,
*********

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It took weeks and repeated emails and BBB complaints for them to stop trying to scam me and eventually they only did the bare minimum to resolve the issue, failing to compensate me for my wasted time educating them about their mistakes. GearXS is a dishonest and/or incompetent business.

01/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ordered products 12/2 it was in packing 12/4. When order was not received contacted company and cancelled it. The shipped it after the need date. I contacted them about the shipment at which time was told 3 items were out of stock (no notice before my call to them. They never issued credit for those until I called about it. Their policy is to charge 20% restocking and I was to have to send back at my cost. They finally (after 2 more contacts) sent me a label stating it must include the RMA which they never gave me. Contacted them same day stating they never gave me an RMA - 6 days later I sent back the package (unopened) and noted they did not supply number. They received it on January 7th and still no refund, received an email today saying it would be 3 to 7 days. This is unacceptable business practices. I worry that they are using customer monies to help cover cash flow.

Desired Settlement
Full refund. I also want them to fix some of their issues.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *********
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ***************
Hello ****

We apologize for this inconvenience. I am the customer service manager and I will make sure any issue is resolved. I do see that your return has been received. I will have your return processed and I will make sure your FULL refund is processed back into your account. Thank you for your cooperation as we resolve this issue.

Our apologies,
*********

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not fell the refund should take any time and the correct response from the company would have been "We HAVE issued a credit - not that we will. . . They were going to ship my order - didn't . . . They were going to email me a shipping label "today" but didn't until I contacted them again . . . they were going to give me my RMA . . . and didn't until many days latter. I'm just sick of the "will" that doesn't happen.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Customers are left paying interest on the charges while you keep our money - the apologize foe this costly inconvenience in not enough. How would you like it? It is unacceptable. Other potential customers needs to be aware of this practice.

Final Business Response
Hello,

Again we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. We provided you with a prepaid return label and issued you a full refund back into your account. Thank you for your cooperation as we resolve this issue.

Our apologies,
*********

01/07/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Order XXXXXXXXX was not shipped, despite the items continuing to be listed as in stock on their website. I contacted them and they said to wait. I have continued to wait but my order should have shipped in 5-7 days but is still just sitting in "packaging" phase.

Desired Settlement
Ship the items immediately. Fix customer service so that customers can get the products they order and their concerns aren't dismissed when the point out their order hasn't shipped in the specified time.

Business Response
Contact *ame and Title: ******* *
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@gearxs.com
Hello *******,

Thank you for contacting us and we apologize for this delay. As stated on our website, all orders are processed and delivered within 1-2 weeks (business days). However, we will make sure this order is shipped out as soon as possible. We appreciate your time and cooperation as we resolve this issue.

Thank you,
******* *

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID *OT accept the response from the business.)
Actually your website says you will ship in 5-7 business days with item arrival in 1-2 weeks. It is well over 7 days and still the item is unshipped. You aren't holding up your end of the deal.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID *OT accept the response from the business.)
Still false advertising on your website-you do not ship in 5-7 days and do not deliver in 2 weeks.

Also it was not a voluntary refund. I had to issue a chargeback with my credit card company and a dispute wth PayPal to compel them to refund my $$.

Final Business Response
Hello,

We issued a full refund back into your account. The refund transaction ID number is *****************. Thank you for your cooperation as we resolve this issue.

Kind regards,
*********

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Computers - Dealers, Home Electronics, Internet Shopping, Computers Hardware, Software & Services, Video Games - Dealers, Computers - Supplies & Parts

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.