Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Van Ru Credit Corporation

Phone: (800) 468-2678 Fax: (847) 824-9485 View Additional Phone Numbers 1350 E. Touhy Ave.  Suite 300E, Des Plaines, IL 60018 http://www.vanru.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Van Ru Credit Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Van Ru Credit Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 77 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

77 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 23 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 54
Billing/Collection Issues 14
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 77

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Van Ru Credit Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1974 Business started: 02/01/1953 Business started locally: 02/01/1953 Business incorporated 08/05/1953 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Martin, Corporate Auditor, Quality Control Albert Rubin, Owner/CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Martin, Corporate Auditor, Quality Control
Business Category

Collection Agencies Collection Agencies (NAICS: 561440)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Van Ru Credit Corporation has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1350 E. Touhy Ave.
    Suite 300E

    Des Plaines, IL 60018 84782424146115

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/17/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had this company call me saying I had to make an arrangement paying school loans, I qualified for the special program to pay $10 a month for 10 months and they wouldn't take my taxes. I paid well over 10 months, they still took my taxes which was 10,000 and my loan was 13,000 left to pay. I just received a letter stating that I STILL owe 13,000. I am a single mother, that tax money was supposed to help me pay for my children's needs and my bills. Now I am out 10,000 for trusting this company.

Desired Settlement: I want this company to refund me at least part of the taxes they illegally took from me, I can't afford to have been lied to and lose out on that money. I paid my monthly bill to them religiously.

Business Response:

June 9, 2016

*** ***** ** ********

 

 

Re:       June 3, 2016 Complaint

            **** **** ******

                       

 

Dear *** *********

 

Van Ru keeps detailed records regarding our collection efforts with consumers in order to provide superior service not only to our clients but to consumers as well. We have reviewed your complaint along with our records on the account at issue. We would like to provide you with the following information, which we believe will serve to resolve your complaint. 

On January 10, 2015 you agreed to qualify for the rehabilitation program and provided a verbal financial statement resulting in an agreement, to be validated with supporting documentation, to pay $5.00 per month.  As was explained during the call the payment amount needed to be validated with documentation.  The documentation received was slightly different than what we were told initially resulting in the need to increase the payment to $10.00 per month.  In July 2015 you agreed to qualify for rehabilitation by making nine payments in ten months in the amount of $10.00 per month. Unfortunately payments were not made beyond August 2015 thus you were not qualified for rehabilitation.

As we explained to you when you agreed to enter the program, the tax offset would stop after successful completion of the program which did not occur.  We note that the balance currently reflected in our system is accurate and includes the recent tax offset payment.  However, the letter you received with the higher balance was sent prior to the offset being reported to Van Ru.

Should you wish to discuss resolution of your account please feel free to contact ****** ***** Director of Consumer Advocacy at ************ ** **** and he will be happy to assist you directly or ensure you are transferred to the proper party to discuss resolution.

Sincerely,

 

******* ******

Corporate Compliance Manager

Van Ru Credit Corporation

 

This communication is from a debt collector


6/9/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have attempted to work with this company to bring my student loans out of default. The representatives are very rude and condescending. I completed the mound of paperwork that they requested and sent it to them. I was advised that they would let me know if I could participate in the rehabilitation program offered for student loans. i never heard anything back. They are now garnishing my wages and took my income tax check. When I tried to tell them I could not pay what they were asking the representative told me he thought I could read between the lines on what I needed to say to participate in the rehabilitation program. I told him I did not want to play games and I did not know what he was talking about and he advised me he could not help me. I was told by another representative that most people are okay with garnishment and just don't fight it. I do not want to play games with this company anymore, this is ridiculous. I have student loans with another company and I completed the same paperwork and am now in a repayment program with them. When I advised the representative that I was in a repayment plan with the other company and they made the process easy, he stated that he hoped they did not get into trouble. I don't know what else to do.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be participate in the rehabilitation program for my student loans.

Business Response:

June 1, 2016

*** ***** ** ******** ********

 

 

Re:       May 23, 2016 Complaint

            ** ******* **** ******

                       

Dear *** *********

 

Van Ru keeps detailed records regarding our collection efforts with consumers in order to provide superior service not only to our clients but to consumers as well. We have reviewed your complaint along with our records on the account at issue. We would like to provide you with the following information, which we believe will serve to resolve your complaint. 

In November 2014 you spoke with a representative and agreed to enter the rehabilitation program.  As part of qualifying for the program we need to receive timely payments, documents supporting the verbal financial information we received during program set-up and the program requires the rehabilitation agreement letter to be signed and returned.  Payments were only received through February 25, 2015 and the supporting documents validating the payment were not received.  Subsequently, in July 2015, the account was initiated for wage garnishment.  Hearing documents were received but were not submitted timely, documents requested as part of the hearing process were not included with the hearing request forms thus the hearing was denied.

We regret any vague comments made by our representative during a call on September 3, 2015, however our records do indicate you spoke with a second person that day and that representative accurately advised you regarding the status of the account.

We remain willing to work with you to resolve your account.  Please feel free to contact ****** ***** Director of Consumer Advocacy, at ************ ****** and he will be happy to work with you to resolve any concerns you may have and your account as well.

Sincerely,

 

******* ******

Corporate Compliance Manager

Van Ru Credit Corporation

 

This communication is from a debt collector


5/11/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made an agreement with them to pay off two ** ***** accts together. We agreed to make a certain payment a month for 6 months. When I go to make a payment with their bill payment website, they say that they won't help me because they have my sss# wrong - they don;'t believe me when I give them my ss#. When I made these arrangements, I did it by phone and they did not give me any problems because obviously, they have it right on their systems. why can't they stop screwing around and fix it. I have never heard of a collection agency refusing to take a person's payment which THEY made the agreement with me.

Desired Settlement: update the system with the right information and then I can pay them. I told them that if this is not resolved without fighting on the telephone, which is what I have been doing for almost a year now, I am done, they will not get any money ever.

Business Response:

Re: ***** ** *****

Dear *** ******

We apologize for any confusion that may have occurred.  When we speak to consumers we attempt to verify we have reached the correct party by verifying specific identifying information to avoid violations of third party disclosure laws that govern our industry.  Unfortunately there was a slight discrepancy between your social security number and the one we received from our client therefore we needed to correct our records before moving forward on the account.  It is my understanding that we spoke with you yesterday and a payment arrangement has been agreed upon.  We appreciate your patience.  Should you have any further concerns please feel free to contact me at ************ *******

Regards,

******* ******

Corporate Compliance Manager

Van Ru Credit Corporation

 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,
***** *****

4/28/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been contacted by "Van Ru Corporation" a dozen times in the last 3 months. The phone calls started with them calling my father and asking him for my personal information so that they could resolve my debt, when he refused to give them information they threatened that my credit would suffer because of an outstanding loan. When I spoke with someone, they first refused to tell me what school I owed money to, then they named a school I had never heard of in Harrisburg, where I've never been. They then continued to call my home and send me letters in the mail saying I owe money to the ********** ** ********** I spoke with the **** ** ** in March, and they confirmed all of my loans are up to date with payments. I then called Van Ru back and told them they must have the wrong person, and they agreed to stop contacting me. I ran a credit report which showed all of my accounts are fine, but I have still been getting letters in the mail. Today I spoke with *** **** ********** they confirmed AGAIN that all my loans are fine. I checked the ***** website, which confirmed all of my loans were consolidated and none are in default. I don't know how else to get this company to leave me alone. It's frustrating and time consuming. The numerous times I've called, they asked for information like my SSN and DOB, which I am not comfortable giving them because I don't trust this company. The worker for *** **** ********* said she's pretty sure the **** ** ** would contact me themselves, so who is this Van Ru Corporation and what are they trying to do? Any information of how to get them off my back would be appreciated! Thanks!

Desired Settlement: I want this company to stop harassing me and my family over some faulty claims that I have outstanding loans.

Business Response:

Dear *** ******

We appreciate being made aware of your concerns regarding the handling of an account.  We apologize for the continued letters being sent to your residence.  Our records indicate we documented the phone number ending **** for no further calls.  However, during the contact when you requested no further calls the address issue was not discussed thus we were not aware that we also had the wrong address.  Our records further do not indicate that we made any threats regarding your credit.  Nonetheless, we apologize for the calls and letters and have documented the account at issue for no further contact to your phone number or address.

Should you require any additional information please feel free to contact me at ************ *******

Regards,

******* ******

Corporate Compliance Manager

Van Ru Credit Corporation

 

 

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******** *****

3/16/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Van Ru uses 3 extremely deceptive collection practices. I attempted to settle a debt that may not even be mine, and made them an offer of 20% of the balance. 1) After spending a half hour on the phone with them, and coming to the mutual agreement that I would settle with them for a small % of the balance, they sent a settlement letter that ended up being more than double the amount that was originally agreed upon. It is outrageous that they agree orally to certain terms, and change them in letter form. 2) The "settlement letter" is so vaguely worded that it doesn't even state the most relevant part: that it satisfies the debt in full. 3) The balance from the initial creditor has sky-rocketed to more than double the original amount. I have not received any accounting for the amount charged, and find it highly suspect, if not illegal.

Desired Settlement: I'd like them to approve my settlement offer of $638.42, which is 15% of the ridiculous, inflated balance of $4156.08

Business Response:

RE: **** ** *********

To Who It May Concern;

We have received the recent complaint submitted through the Better Business Bureau.  We appreciate the opportunity to respond to the concerns of the consumer.  On February 9, 2016 *** ********* contacted our office and offered to pay 20% of the debt at issue.  Unfortunately, during this conversation *** ********* never provided a dollar amount and when our representative repeated $1600 on multiple occasions he was incorrect and the accuracy of the amount was not corrected during the conversation which lead to the misunderstanding and the letter being sent for a different amount than expected by Mr. *********.

We apologize for any misunderstanding that may have occurred and are sending a corrected settlement offer letter to Mr. *********.  We note that the balance is assigned by our client and Van Ru does not add any additional charges of any kind to the account.

Should Mr. ********* have any additional questions or concerns he may contact me at ************ ****** as we remain committed to consumer satisfaction.

 

Regards,

******* ******

Corporate Compliance Manager

Van Ru Credit Corporation

 

 

3/11/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We began paying off our student loan with Van Ru. We made arrangements for them to debit our account each month. They stopped debiting payments with no warning or notice. We had no clue. *** **** ** ********* told us we paid well over 10 consecutive months which should of taken us out of default status and our loan should have been transferred. T** **** ** ** told us Van Ru made no notes documenting our repayments, nor did they note the account for any missing paperwork- so there should of been no reason for stopping the payments. Last I heard from Van Ru was in August 2015 and I asked them to call back in the evening bc they asked for my husband. We haven't heard from them since. In October 2015 we sent in financial documentation. When we didn't hear back from them we assumed everything was still good. We didn't find out there was a problem or that they hadn't been debiting our account until today Feb 11th. When I called Van Ru to better understand the situation- they were rude, pushy, defensive and took no ownership for their careless mistakes. In fact, Supervisor ***** ******* was completely unprofessional. When I asked him why no one called me to inform me there was a problem when they received my paperwork- or to set up new payment arrangements? He responded "Well I could ask you the same questions..... isn't that the pot calling the kettle black?" They failed to document any of the arrangements we had made. They failed to follow protocol and take my loan out of default after we paid good on it. They failed to take ownership for their lack of follow through. And they failed to provide respectful customer service. Now we are paying big for their mistakes!

Desired Settlement: I do not want to work with Van Ru Credit Corporation. I do not trust their integrity. I want my loan transferred and taken out of default and put back into good standing while I continue to make payments. And I want them to report these changes to the ********** ** ******** who offset our taxes due to this mistake!

Business Response: Tell us why here...

March 7, 2016

 

Better Business Bureau

 

 

Re:       ***** ** ******* ****** ********

            **** **** ******

 

To Whom It May Concern:

 

We have received your letter dated February 17, 2016 and appreciate the opportunity to respond to the concerns of the consumer.

 

On August 29, 2014 based on financial information obtained verbally, the consumer agreed to make payments toward the rehabilitation program.  To qualify to have loans rehabilitated the payment amount needed to be validated with documentation and the consumer needed to make nine qualifying payments over a ten month period and continue to make monthly payments until being notified of successful rehabilitation.  The consumer authorized payments through May 15, 2015.

 

Throughout the months after agreeing to rehabilitate Van Ru sent several letters and placed phone calls to obtain the necessary paperwork to validate the payments.  All authorized payments were run as agreed however we could not continue to take payments beyond May 15, 2015 as we had no authorization to do so and were not successful in contacting the consumer to obtain additional payments or the paperwork to validate the payment amount.

 

On October 27, 2015, five months after the last payment had been made we received documentation however the consumer had already fallen out of compliance with the program. 

 

On February 11, 2016 the consumer contacted our office concerned over the lack of follow up on our behalf.  We explained that at the time the paperwork was received the account was no longer in compliance with the program.  When pressed with questions concerning our alleged lack of follow up our representative explained that attempts were made to keep the account in compliance with the program however we did not receive responses from the consumer to letters and calls.  Our review did not identify where the representative was rude or pushy with the consumer however they were not in agreement on the way the matter could have been handled which may have been perceived as rude.

 

We regret any misunderstanding that occurred during the conversation on February 11, 2016.  As the consumer has requested not to work with Van Ru we have placed the account on hold and will request the account be recalled by our client.

Should you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact me at ************ *******

 

Sincerely,

 

 

******* ******

Corporate Compliance Manager

Van Ru Credit Corporation

 

This communication is from a debt collector.  This is an attempt to collect a debt and any information obtained will be used for that purpose.

 

 

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:While some of that information is accurate, you are once again painting yourself in the right light- taking no ownership for your own failure to follow through on several key points.

1)  I did not ONLY agree to pay until May. There was no end date set on my payments.  I agreed to a monthly amount of $5, to be withdrawn from our account to pay our debt. You decided to stop that in May and to make no mention of that.

2)*** ********** ** ********* had no documentation of us even being in the rehabilitation program or that we made over 9 consecutive payments. They informed us that you guys made no notes or updates to our file. 

3) The last phone call you made was on August 20 2015. At that time, I asked you to call back in the evening because you asked for my husband and he was not home. And no one called back. That was the last we heard from you. 

4) When I sent the information needed with the paperwork in October (yes it was late- I just had a child & with 4 little ones life is hectic. I am owning my part) -  No one contacted us about the paperwork (that you agree was received). Did you not want me to pay my debt? That is really confusing to me that a debit collector- didn't want my money. 

5) If you don't consider your representative talking as fast as he can, over talking me, interrupting me and taking no ownership for the points I mentioned above then you both have poor customer services skills. Its rude! 

I would love for you to see how the things I mentioned above would lead me to conclude that things were still in good standing. Since we had not heard back from you about needing anything more on our end. Imagine our surprise when our full tax refund is offset to pay this debt.  

And Im sure your company didn't benefit a dime from that. 

This isn't a Im right and you are wrong here. I've admitted my wrongs and Im suffering the consequences of falling behind. But as a business - when you fail to provide quality customer care- regardless of your profession, collections or not..... have enough integrity to own it and make things right.  


Sincerely,

***** *******

2/11/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
2/3/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/2/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a single mother that has taken custody of my 2 minor nieces after my sisters passing from ****** ******* Van Ru Credit is garnishing my wages, after I explained to them that I cannot afford to make payments and have my wages garnished for another 5 months, they proceeded to tell me they would document my file as "refusal to pay". I am willing to make monthly payments but the amount being deducted from my paycheck is causing me to struggle to provide food for my children. Apparently that doesn't matter, they just "need" their money.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be able to make payments with an immediate stop of wage garnishment.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,

 

We have received the complaint dated January 6, 2016 and appreciate the opportunity to respond to the concerns of the consumer.

Prior to initiating wage garnishment a notice is sent to the consumer to give them an opportunity to object to the garnishment and request a hearing to determine if the garnishment will cause an undue hardship.  Our records indicate the notice was sent to Ms. ******** on March 9, 2015.  We have no record of the mail being returned or a hearing being requested.  Nonetheless, we will be resending the hearing packet to the consumer so that she may request a hearing which may result in the garnishment being suspended.  We ask that upon receipt of the documents Ms. ******** follow the instructions to request the hearing.  Should Ms. ******** have any questions regarding the documentation she may contact ******* ***** manager, at ************ *******

 

Regards,

******* ******

Corporate Compliance Manager

Van Ru Credit Corporation

1/26/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a letter from this company, dated May 4, 2015, wanting to settle two accounts I have with St ****** and ********* hospital. I was given two options. I choose option 2, 6 payments of $242. All 6 payments were made and made on time. After my last payment, I requested to have a letter stating these accounts have been settled. I received this letter, it was dated November 11, 2015. The letter indicates that they "now consider your file settled." I have now received a third letter, dated January 11, 2016 that wants me to settle these same two accounts again with two different payment options.

Desired Settlement: I Will be sending a certified letter to this company tomorrow asking them to update their records and remove me from their system. Other then those requests, I don't expect the company to do anything else.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern;

 

Thank you for your inquiry dated January 21, 2016 and the opportunity to respond to the concerns of the consumer.  Our records indicate that Ms. ***** did pay as agreed and as indicated in the complaint summary.  A clerk reopened the account at issue to perform a function and neglected to reclose the account after completing his objective resulting in the letter being sent to Ms. *****.  The account at issue was closed in our office as settled on October 30, 2015 and the same was reported to our client.  We have again closed the account as it is paid.  We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused the consumer.

Should Ms. ***** have any additional concerns I can be reached at ******************

Regards,

******* ******

Corporate Compliance Manager

Van Ru Credit Corporation

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** *****

1/12/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have had almost daily calls from this company with messages left on our answering machine. Finally yesterday they spoke with my husband trying to get him to give them my social security number. When I took the phone from him the lady said they could only accept personal information from the actual person they were calling for!! Excuse me....you JUST tried to get it from my husband??!! Right there you are giving out and seeking mis-information. We pay all our bills on time and have no issues from any current credit companies. We will not give out personal information such as social security numbers out over the phone. None of our current credit card companies (yes we are paying down debt with them) have contacted us. We are never late with our payments!!!!!!!!! There are other people in our area with my same name. WE HAVE NO OUTSTANDING DEBT THAT IS OWED TO A COLLECTOR. Do not contact us again. You have the wrong person.

Desired Settlement: Stop calling!!!

Business Response:

Thank you for your email and the opportunity to respond to the concerns of the consumer.  Our records indicate that we first spoke with Ms. ******* on December 28, 2015.  In order to protect the privacy of consumers and to avoid violations of third party disclosure laws that govern our industry we attempt to verify that we are speaking to the correct party prior to discussing the details of an account by attempting to verify the name and partial social security number or date of birth.  Ms. *******, as is her right, did not acknowledge her name and requested no further phone calls.  The account was noted accordingly for no further phone calls as requested.

Should you wish to discuss the matter further you may contact ****** **** our Director of Consumer Advocacy at ************ *******

 

Regards,

******* ******

Corporate Compliance Manager

Van Ru Credit Corporation

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Please make a note in your file and on the BBB website that you first tried to get my social security number from the person that answered the phone. When that person told you they would not give out that information over the phone, your representative asked for it again. I then took over the phone conversation with your rude representative and explained exactly why that information is not to be given out over the phone, and yes to no longer call because you do not have the correct individual.

If you state that you try to secure you are speaking with the correct individual then you should not have asked for a social security number from any other individual at the number you are calling.  That is unethical business practice on your company's part. 

We have been warned over and over to never give out personal information over the telephone~your company should know better.

Also, you had until yesterday, January 11, 2016 to resolve this......It is January 12, 2016, you're a day late in your response.

Sincerely,

******** *******

1/2/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Im appalled with myself. This company sent collection letter so I called and stupid me confirmed information about myself and they could not tell me what the bills are for nor I realize after talkin to them. They were just grabbing at straws and i fell for it. Idenity theif or what? Is going thru my head. I have lupus and dont need the extra stress cons.

Business Response:

Good Morning,

We have received the recent complaint from *** *******  Unfortunately we are unable to locate the account at issue with the information provided.  Nonetheless, we can assure *** ****** we were not on a phishing for information.  We have the consumers data but we ask contacted parties to verify their identity so that we avoid violations of third party disclosure laws that govern our industry.

Should *** ****** have any further concerns I can be contacted at ************ *******

Regards,

******* ******

Corporate Compliance Manager

Van Ru Credit Corporation

11/15/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This Illinois number has been calling me for a few weeks. As I am recovering from surgery, I have not answered the phone for anyone, note this number never left any messages. Today I got a call from a client of mine, that they had contacted her!! They gave her their phone number and business name for me to contact! So I called the number to find out it was about my student loan. The woman would not address my question as to how they "tapped" into my client list, and phone numbers. This is scary! I do not know how many other clients they have called, but this needs to stop! If they needed me to contact them they should be leaving messages on my voicemail, NOT contacting my clients who are my livelihood. I did debt collection for years for an attorney and we would never use this tactic, nor hack into private business phone numbers. All of my information online, as far as clients, is private, so how did this company tap into it? The man who called my client was ******* from the Van Ru Corporation.

Desired Settlement: This company needs to cease calling my clients!

Business Response: Re: ***** *****

To Whom It May Concern,
We have received your inquiry dated October 5, 2015. We apologize for the delay in responding to your inquiry.

Our records indicate we left messages at the phone number ending **** on several occasions during the month of September. We regret that we were unable to reach you to resolve the matter. As you have requested we will cease phone calls to ensure that no further contact is made with a third party to obtain location information.

Regards,
******* ******
Corporate Compliance Manager
Van Ru Credit Corporation

11/14/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been receiving VERY DECEPTIVE letters from this company for months related to student loan debt that is not real. I have student loan debt through a different original creditor in a different amount than mentioned. That student loan is in good standing. I want this company to stop contacting me ASAP.

Desired Settlement: LEAVE ME ALONE

Business Response:
November 2, 2015
Better Business Bureau
330 N. Wabash Avenue, Suite 3120
Chicago, IL 60611

***       ******** ***** *********** *******
            *** **** ******* ********

To Whom It May Concern:

Thank you for your letter dated October 14, 2015.  We appreciate the opportunity to respond to the concerns of the consumer and we apologize for the delay in responding to your inquiry.
As indicated in letters sent to *** ******* our client has assigned accounts to our office for collection of a past due amount.  It is our understanding based on the complaint that *** ******* believes we have contacted the wrong person.
Based on the request in the complaint we have documented the account at issue for no further contact.  Should *** ******* wish to contact us to obtain further information to verify the loans at issue are not his he may contact us at ************ *******
Sincerely,

******* ******
Director of Corporate Compliance
Van Ru Credit Corporation


This is a communication from a debt collector.



10/19/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/8/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/5/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/22/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/4/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/24/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/24/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have gotten several phone calls from this company saying we owe money. I talked to someone who wanted my personal information, which I did not give her. I asked her who we owed money too and she refused to answer. We pay our bills in full every month and have not received anything in the mail from anyone stating that we owe. Please look into this and stop these calls!**********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: No further contact by the busi If we actually owe someone money, I would like to get a bill in the mail. I highly doubt we owe. I want the calls to stop.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/08/24) */ Re:********** To Whom It *** Concern: We have received the complaint dated July 27, 2015. We apologize for the delay in responding to your inquiry. In an effort to contact an account holder we contacted Mr.*****. As is our practice, to avoid violations of third party disclosure laws that govern our industry we attempt to verify we have reached the correct party by confirming the last four digits of the social security number or date of birth. As is his right, Mr.***** chose not to provide this information. We have documented the account at issue for no further calls to the phone number ending****** Should you or the consumer have any additional concerns please feel free to contact me at ******************* Regards, ******* ****** ****** Credit Corporation Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2015/08/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) No more phone calls

8/3/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/7/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/15/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I owe for some student loans. I have filed for loan consolidation through ************ higher education assistance agency. they have contacted the company who has possession of my loan accounts and have agreed to pay them off and allow me to make payments to them I can afford. VAn Ru has been calling me constantly trying to coerce me into paying them for my student loans. I do not know how they even got my information because the company who is shown as having my accounts is Debt management collection. The people I have spoken to at Van ru have lied to me repeatedly and are tryin to add over 2000.00 to my total debt. Whe I told them i had filed for consolidation they began insisting that I pay the total amount immediately and called me a ****. I am tired of the harassment.

Desired Settlement: I want charges filesd and I seek a monetary sttlement for causing me distress over a situation i have already taken care of. I do not know how they got my information but I feel that my righs have been violated

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/05/14) */ Re: ***** ****** To Whom It May Concern: Thank you for your letter dated May 1, 2015 and the opportunity to respond to the concerns of the consumer. We do not agree that the phone calls were constant or that we attempted to coerce Mr. ****** into paying his student loans. Our client, the US Department of Education, assigned the accounts to us for collection of a past due amount. A letter was mailed to Mr. ****** stating such in January 2015. Van Ru does not add any fees to accounts. All sums for collection are directed by the US Department of Education. At no time did we call Mr. ****** a **** however we did attempt to explain any discrepancies between the balance our client placed with our office and the balance Mr. ****** was referencing. On May 1, 2015 Mr. ****** requested no further communication and no further contact has been made. The account has been placed in a cease communication disposition. Regards, ******* ****** Van Ru Credit Corporation Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/05/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I can show where they called my phone four or more times a day until I blew up on them. They added collection fees to my total amount owed and I can prove that as well. I never received a letter from them at any time Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2015/06/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) So they don't consider calling upwards of five times per day starting at 8a.m. And not stopping until 10p.m. On multiple days in a row not constant. Technically anything g more than once per day is harassment. And the federal government does not add collection fees to student loan accounts. I checked in that one too. I have spoken with the originators of the student loans and they did not add any fees to the loan. I know this because I was able to talk to the originators due to my loans being consolidated for payment and they do not add fees for collections. Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2015/06/15) */ Re: ***** ****** To Whom It May Concern: We regret that you were dissatisfied with frequency of the contact attempts. Once we were advised of that dissatisfaction we ceased the activity with which you were displeased. We apologize for any inconvenience the contact attempts may have caused. As previously stated Van Ru does not add fees to accounts, any fees that are added are done at the instruction of our client. Should questions remain regarding this matter please don't hesitate to contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX x. ***** Regards, ******* ****** Van Ru Credit Corporation

6/15/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On a daily basis I keep receiving phone calls from this company, although my phone number is NOT listed, I am NOT the person they are seeking and they refuse to stop the harassment. In addition, my phone number is not listed (a few that I pay monthly for such service), and I am also registered with the 'do not call list,' where I have been reporting this number on a daily basis. Please take the appropriate action in making this people stop this harassment. I am clearly not who they are looking for. Additional information sent in below email; Fw: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#XX-XXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX) 1 message ***** ****** <***********@yahoo.com> Wed, May 20, 2015 at 12:26 PM Reply-To: ***** ****** <***********@yahoo.com> To: "********@chicago.bbb.org" <********@chicago.bbb.org> Dear ****** I believe I have neglected to inform you of my home number, which is the number that keeps receiving this harassing phone calls. It has gotten so bad, that I have been disconnected my phone from the line, just to have sanity during my day. The number is XXX-XXX-XXXX. Do I need to update my complaint? And if so, how? Thank you so much. ***** ****** -

Desired Settlement: I want an official apology from this company.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/06/10) */ Re: ***** ****** To Whom It May Concern: We have received the complaint regarding the above referenced consumer. We do not agree that the calls were placed daily though we do agree that we attempted to reach our account holder regularly. Phone calls were unsuccessful so we were not aware that we had a wrong number. We appreciate being made aware of the wrong number and have documented the account at issue for no further calls to the phone number ending ***** We apologize for contacting Ms. ****** in error. If any further information is required please contact us as we remain committed to consumer satisfaction. Regards, ******* ****** Van Ru Credit Corporation Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/06/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Well, I do not agree with your untruthful comments! Therefore, I have reported you and your practices to the Attorney General. You are welcome to continue to tell this lies to the ******** ********** office. While in return I will be furnishing them with my phone record showing your phone number all over it!

6/8/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/29/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/27/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/20/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company calls constantly. I do not even know who they are or who they are collecting a debt for. I can't hardly understand their messages. lease make them stop!!

Desired Settlement: Stop calling. Simple!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/08) */ RE: ******* ******** Dear Ms. ******* Thank you for your letter dated March 30, 2015 and the opportunity to respond to the concerns of the consumer. Unfortunately, with the information provided we have been unable to identify the account at issue. We note however that we have added the phone number ending **** to our internal do not call database. Regards, ******* ****** Van Ru Credit Corporation

4/14/2015 Delivery Issues
3/31/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/26/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/26/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/24/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am currently repaying a student loan. I began repayment in January. When I spoke with a person on the phone he asked me to fax specific forms that were emailed to me with pay stubs. I complied with their request. I get a nasty phone call a few weeks later stating I had not followed through as asked. Therefore, I resubmitted the paperwork on March 6th. My payment was set up according to my income and a determined amount of $141 would be repaid monthly until I had made 8 months worth of payments. At that time I would come out of default and reenter the Dept of Ed payment plan. After making all payments on time and as requested, I start getting letters stating I had not completed some specific paperwork packaged that was sent to me. I NEVER received any such package. After calling and being talked to like a dog, I was told I lied about my income and needed to resubmit them. They were unable to verify that I was paid monthly even though I provided the paperwork requested. After much arguing, they asked that I RESUBMIT all the forms and I was told they would be mailed to me. I have yet to receive those papers. When they call me to harass me I ask why the papers haven't arrived. I could go online and print them with no given instructions. I have provided this company with each and every requested item. I will not try to figure out where to print any package of papers. I told them I had no way of printing them. The month of January 2015 no draft was made from my account. I have no idea what they are attempting to do but the money is there and I have authorized the payments. I have made consecutive payments and deserve to me exited from their program. I am tired of there demeaning calls and treated like a second class citizen. If they want more paperwork out of me, why haven't they mailed it? Why do they never receive what is sent and blame me? I have proof of my emails. I have proof of payment. Why can't they follow through as stated??? It is time I return to a non-default status and exit their program. My gut tells me the longer they keep me, the longer they make money off my payments.

Desired Settlement: Exit my account from their business and return it to the Dept of Education as stated. If they want me to send in paperwork, they need to provide it to me to complete.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/19) */ RE: ******* ***** Dear Ms. ******* Thank you for your letter dated January 9, 2015 regarding Ms. ***** and her experience with our company. We regret any misunderstanding that may have occurred regarding the documentation required to validate payments toward the rehabilitation program. We want to work with Ms. ***** to ensure the matter is resolved in a satisfactory manner and, pending payment validation, the account is rehabilitated as planned. We have assigned the matter to ****** ***** our Director of Consumer Advocacy, to reach out to Ms. ***** and reach a resolution. Ms ***** may also contact Mr. Page at XXX-XXX-XXXX x. ***** We look forward to resolving the matter. Regards, ******* ****** Director of Corporate Compliance Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/01/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I spoke with ******** **** on January 8th from VanRu. I called them to see what was going on after speaking with the Dept. of Education. ******** stated she was sending out the info they needed ****** As of today, January 20th, I have NOT received anything from them. It should only take a few days to receive something from ****** So I have no idea why they continue to lie to me about what they are doing except that the Dept. of Education is paying them. They DO NOT follow through with things they say. Which makes it impossible for me to follow through on my part. I have made consecutive payments, the payment amount they specified, every month since January 2014. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2015/02/03) */ Re: ******* ***** Dear Ms. ******* As previously stated we are aware that the January 8 contact did not result in the needed resolution. Nonetheless, we would appreciate if Ms. ***** could reach out to ****** ***** our Director of Consumer Advocacy and we can ensure that all of the proper information is conveyed to ensure the account is resolved. Mr. **** can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX x. ***** Regards, ******* ****** Van Ru Credit Corporation

2/13/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/2/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have written to Van Ru Credit in response to an invoice that I received for $82.20 on behalf of **************. Van Ru has not responded. Specifically, I requested: *A copy of the signed contract or other documents that provide evidence of the debt. *Copies of all, or the last 12 (whichever is fewer), account statements. *All account numbers used to identify the debt at issue. *An itemized account of all amounts claimed to be owed in connection with the debt. *The date, source, and amount of my last payment and the dates of default and amount owed.

Desired Settlement: Documentation and verification of the ************** debt.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/22) */ RE: ************ Dear Ms. ******* Thank you for your letter dated January 12, 2015 and the opportunity to respond to the concerns of the consumer. On January 15, 2015 we received a dispute letter from Ms. **** dated January 6, 2015. Upon receipt of the dispute the account at issue was documented as a dispute which prevents collection activity until the requested information has been sent. Upon receipt of the debt validation information it will be provided to the account holder and no further activity will occur until that has been sent. Regards, Michael ****** Van Ru Credit Corporation

1/5/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is supposedly a hospital bill from 2010. I've asked repeatedly for the bill and as of yet have not received one. I've received several calls daily and 50% of the time they hang up when I answer. When I asked for the bill the lady told me to call my insurance company and ask them. She said it was my responsibility. First of all I am receiving a bill from 2010...HELLO...its 2014. Although I am employed at the same place that I was in 2010 my insurance has changed a couple of time since then. I don't know what kind of company this is but I work hard for my money and I will not be bullied into paying you an amount that I don't owe.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them quit harassing me and threating to ruin my credit for a bill that I do not owe.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/24) */ RE: ****** ******** Dear Ms. ******* We have received your letter dated December 16, 2014 and appreciate the opportunity to respond to the concerns of the consumer. The account at issue was assigned to Van Ru on November 5, 2014. On November 7, 2014 our validation notice was mailed to the consumer. On December 8, 2014 we received a written dispute of the debt and no further collection activity has occurred. We further note that we have not spoken with the consumer and have only attempted verbal contact twice. Perhaps there is another entity attempting to contact the consumer. Nonetheless, to avoid any further misunderstanding we have closed and returned the account at issue to our client. Regards, ******* ****** Van Ru Credit Corporation

11/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/26/2014 Delivery Issues
7/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been requesting a statement from Van Ru since April 23rd, May 6th, 7th, June 2nd and June 3rd 2014 to forward to my debt counselor. I was told it takes 48-72 hours to process and have provided all updated information requested included e-mail address. Ii was told they have changed mailing vendors and my requests are given to a supervisor. I spoke with a supervisor on June 3rd who appears to make no effort to provide the information I have been requesting by telling me If I wanted to go to his location and change the vendors to do so. His rudeness was very unprofessional and I have been making all efforts possible to settle the amount due.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the Van Ru to provide the statement I have been requesting with the amount which has been told to me, 1, 707.00 dollars and for my credit report to be updated. In addition, professionalism towards those who are making effort to take care of these type of issues.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/06/16) */ RE: ******* ********* Dear Ms. ******* We have received your letter dated June 3, 2014. Our records indicate letters were sent to Ms. ********* on June 2, 2014 and again on June 3, 2014. If the consumer is not satisfied with the documents she received she may contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX ****** and I will be happy to assist in resolving any outstanding issues. We note that Van Ru does not credit report for the client at issue. We apologize for the delay in responding to the initial request. Regards, ******* ****** Van Ru Credit Corporation

6/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This credit card was included in my banktuptcy and they continue to contact me for collection, which is against the law. Plus they continue to harrass me. My lawyer has contacted them but they continue to attempt to collect and add more charges to this card. I want them to stop and cease ruining my credit rating.

Desired Settlement: no settlement sought, just leave me alone and take off my credit report

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/06/24) */ RE: ***** ****** Dear Ms. ******* The account at issue was assigned to our office on June 4, 2014. Our records indicate one conversation on June 23, 2014 in which the consumer advised the account was included in bankruptcy. No further contact has been attempted. Van Ru has not credit reported and has not added any fees to the account. The account is currently in a cease communication status. Regards, Van Ru Credit Corporation Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 11, 2014/06/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) They are not telling the truth, they contacted me BEFORE June 23rd, why would they wait that long is they received it June 4th? I only accept this response if they hold true to having it in the cease to communicate. I find it hard to believe, but will give them a chance and accept the response. It better not show up on my credit report either. Thank you for helping me with this complaint.

6/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In November of 2013 I spoke with a representative from Van Ru in regards to setting up a payment plan for account number XXXXXXXXXX. At that time I was asked about my financial status so that I could be placed on the "proper" payment plan. At that time we discussed my monthly finances($1,500.00-$1,600.00) and my annual salary($28,000.00). At that time I was placed on a monthly payment plan of $5 so that I can stay current and at the same time avoid hard ship. I was advised to send a copy of my pay stubs in. I sent them in with in the next 30 days via email. After I emailed the copy of the pay stubs I spoke to a rep to get confirmation that they received them. Effective December 5, 2014 Van Ru started the auto draft from my debit card ending in 8881 and I have been on recurring payment since then. I was advised as part of the terms for the payment plan that I would be eligible to reapply for student loans after 6 months(June 2014) and the loans would come off of my credit after 8 months(August 2014) of consecutive monthly payment. On May 14, 2014 approximately 2:00 pm I received a phone call from one of their female reps (who was extremely rude, unprofessional, and combative), she stated to me that I wasn't in compliance with the terms of the payment arrangement because I didn't submit the pay stubs as they requested. I became upset considering that I did email the pay stubs as I was informed to do and had even received confirmation. She then went on to say that the information I provided verbally about my annual income didn't match what I submitted via email. At that time I told her that I would call back when I got home. With in two hours I called back and spoke to a supervisor by the name of *** ************** name might be spelled wrong), he started off saying that I didn't submit the pay stubs as required and I defaulted the terms of the payment arrangement. I became very upset and asked that he do the research before misinforming someone of anything. After doing more research *** came back on the line and stated the same thing that the female rep expressed to me earlier that day which was the there is a discrepancy with the information I provided verbally and with the information I submitted via email HOWEVER all my monthly financial obligations did match up with what I was currently stating. In their system it states that I reported that my annual income was roughly $9,000.00. Needless to say that it's literally impossible for me to afford my monthly expenses based on that salary. I asked *** to review the call and to give me a call back. After 1 full week he gave me a call back and stated that the recording says that I told the rep back in November 2013 that my annual income is roughly $9k. I asked *** if I could listen to the recording and he said NO, so I then said "I don't believe that I stated my income to be so little then would contradict myself be sending in my pay stub and now you're telling me that I have to take your word for it" *** stated "YES". At that time he then went on to say that the payment plan that I was on was void and that I would have to start a new one and wait another 8 months for it to come off of my credit. *** did offer to send the school of my choice a letter stating that I would be eligible to apply for financial aid. At this point in time my faith in this Van Ru reps keeping their word is very little to none!

Desired Settlement: I would like to listen to the call but if that's not possible I would like for my original payment arrangement to be honored and I'm a few days away for the 6 month point where I'm able to apply for financial aid and only two months away from it no loner effecting my credit negatively which is the most important part of the entire arrangement.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/06/10) */ In response to your concern, the original agreed upon arrangement will be honored to rehabilitate the loan. Please do not hesitate to contact **** ********** Contract Administrator at Van Ru Credit Corporation, with any further questions or concerns. Mr. ********* can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX extension *****

6/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: company has been calling me 15-20 times a day for over a year. when im not paying attention and acutally answer the phone, they ask for my social security number right off the bat. I refuse since they called me and they say they cant talk to me unless they know who they are talking to, then read me off another number. when I tell them its not mine they hang up. they refuse to remove my name from thier computers. i also get letters near weekly from them saying I owe almost $15,000 which is pretty funny since the highest credit card limit I have is only $3000. I have written them letters and called them at the phone number on the letter and gave them all the info on the letter and they still refuse to stop harassing me.

Desired Settlement: I want them to cease and desist from ever contacting me again. I want my info deleted from thier computers and if they ever contact me again I will contact a lawyer and file a lawsuit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/07) */ Re: ****** ***** Dear Ms. ******* We have received the complaint from the above referenced consumer and appreciate the opportunity to respond to his concerns. From December 11, 2013 thru January 27, 2014 it appears we dialed the phone number at issue, XXX-XXX-XXXX, thirteen times. On January 27, 2014 we were advised we had contacted a wrong number and we ceased calls to the number at issue and no further calls have been placed. Regards, ******* ****** Van Ru Credit Corporation Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have answered thier calls the 13 times they mention. That is not the total number of calls they have made to me. Yes they are correct in stating that they reached the wrong person, however they continue to call and harass me as well as mail me threatening letters. I want all communication to cease or I am going to the states atty for harrasment and fraud. I have spoken to ******** Card thinking that they were giving them the wrong info, and they informed me that they do not deal with this company at all, nor could they find the supposed account that Van Ru references. my supposed Van Ru acct number is XXXXXXXX to make sure they delete the proper info. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/04/25) */ RE: ****** ***** Dear Ms. Garcia, The account at issue was closed in our office on April 7, 2014. we believe the matter has been resolved as we are no longer contacting Mr. ***** regarding VR number, XXXXXXXX. Regards, Van Ru Credit Corporation Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 13, 2014/04/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) although ive been told this in the past, I will accept this. However, if they do ever contact me again, I will go immediately to a lawyer and file a harassment claim against them citing this file as proof they claimed to have removed my name and info from their files. I will then go to the attorney general demanding that they investigate them for shady business practices.

4/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is what was sent to them. I have been forced to file bankruptcy documents required to stop the garnishment that you sent to my current employer on 2/21/2014. Your immediate action to this is required. I have hired an attorney to help in this matter as well. You will be receiving bankruptcy notice as well to show a stay is in affect. Therefore you will not get any garnishment money from me either way. I have filed a complaint with the US Department of Education, BBB and the ******* Wage and Earnings Division and explained to them how you have mishandled my case file and illegally placed a garnishment against me even though sufficient documentation has been provided to you to stop the garnishment. The ******* Wage and Earnings Division along with the US Department of Education have both advised me that you as a representative of the US Department of Education has the right and authorization to stop the garnishment once you receive sufficient documentation to do so. This documentation has been provided to you by fax and as well in this email. You have filed a fraudulent judgment against me which is reporting on my credit. Please provide me a copy of the judgment order by the Superior Court Of ****** County authorizing this judgment against me. I also need a copy of the signed by me service order for the request for judgment. I have hired an attorney to resolve this matter. You guys are liable and will be sued for fraud along with a number of other state regulations that you have failed to comply with. Your immediate response to this with my employer is mandatory and needs to be resolved by end of business today. A notification needs to be faxed to the HR Department Garnishment and Levy processing at XXX-XXX-XXXX and after the information has been faxed it needs to also be mailed to the address that you sent the garnishment request to.

Desired Settlement: I would like to stop the garnishment immediately and refund any and all money that they garnished ilegally within a timely matter. Remove the fraudulent judgment or provide evidence of how they obtained a judgment against me in a county I have never resided - how they were able to obtain a judgment when I was never served with paper work answered a claim or went in front of a judge. I have lost numerous hours of work trying to stop the garnishment - this has put my job on the line with my employer because of the type of job I do.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/14) */ RE: ********* *** Dear Ms. ******* I have been unable to identify the account at issue with the information provided. Perhaps "***" is the married or maiden name and we have the opposite. If provided with more identifying information, i.e. alternate names, or Van Ru account number, I would be happy to attempt to locate the account and respond to the concerns of the consumer. Regards, ******* ****** Van Ru Credit Corporation Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The reason why they cannot locate me is because they are calling me by an incorrect name and I have requested numerous times for them to make the correction. They show my last name as Carter so the account is under ********* ****** but I have never been ********* ******* I was born ********* *** and have remained ********* *** for 40 years. I have also requested a copy of the promissory note which they have not provided and this has been requested several times. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/03/28) */ Re: ********* *** Dear Ms. ******* The account at issue is no longer active with Van Ru. The account has been returned to our client. We are not aware of any funds that were garnished illegally. Further it is not clear what judgment the consumer is referring to though as previously stated the account is no longer assigned to Van Ru. Regards, Van Ru Credit Corporation

3/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
2/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On jan 28 I received call at the police dept of ******** university saying I had 48 hours to make arrangements to pay a bill that I have no idea what they are talking about . A **** card for 2011 that I never received. I was so distraught I could not even work my shift.

Desired Settlement: Erase this from my credit report

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/02/13) */ RE: ***** *** Dear Ms. ******* We appreciate being made aware of the consumers concerns. Our records do indicate that we spoke with the consumer on January 28, 2014 at her place of employment. Ms. *** inquired about the debt and did not recall the debt so wanted a couple days to look into it and get back to our office. At no time was Ms. *** advised she had 48 hours to make arrangments. We are not collecting on behalf of a **** card from 2011 and we have not credit reported regarding the account assigned to our office. Regards, Van Ru Credit Corporation

2/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Van Ru Collection Agency. I found out that they had documentation that they were supposed to inform the ***** and close out my account, and send letters out to both me and my current college, and they failed to follow through. Everything was supposed to have gotten resolved yesterday. I was told that Van Ru submit the information to the ***** and that it would take about a week before I was cleared up in their system. They were supposed to email you, me, and *** ******** a letter stating that I had settled my account in the meantime. I haven't received an email. This is proof that the $917.00 that settled my default loan payment was posted 11/18/2013. I will be filing a formal complaint with the Better Business Bureau, and with the ***** about Van Ru. Their behavior is hurting me financially, by holding up my financial aid. They have been making me promises that they have not been keeping. I have more than held up my end of the bargain. I'm sick of dealing with them. My account with Van Ru is ******* The total balance before the settlement was $1,267.03. Their number is X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. Their fax is X-XXX-XXX-XXXX Sincerely, **** K. ******** XXX-XXX-XXXX 1/18/2013 US DEPT OF EDU -DBE GRP XXX-XXX-XXXX Purchase Date: 11/15/13 Category: Miscellaneous/Bill Pay (BP) Purchase Posted -$917.00 +$229.55

Desired Settlement: I want Va Ru to send letters to me, via email, stating that my defaulted student loan has been paid off. I want Van Ru to fax a letter stating that my loan has been paid off and is no longer in default to; (1)*** ******** ********* Community & Technical College, financial aid counselor XXX-XXX-XXXX, ********* ******* XXX-XXX-XXXX, to inform the ***** that I am no longer in default/that the loan has been paid off. Lastly, I want all three credit bureaus informed that my account with Van Ru has been closed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/12/31) */ RE: **** ******** Dear Ms. ******* Thank you for your letter dated Deceber 16, 2013. Our records indicate that Van Ru account number ****** has been settled and the account has been closed and returned to our client. Our client has been made aware of the settlement and only they can send the appropriate letter to ensure proper handling of the accounts. We note that we will follow up with them to ensure it has been completed. Van Ru has not credit reported regarding the debts at issue. Regards, Van Ru Credit Corporation Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2014/01/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Van Ru is misdirecting the issue. My issue with them has absolutely nothing to due with my full payment of my defaulted student loan not being reported to the credit bureaus. My issue with them is that they have failed to 1) report that my account has been paid, settled and closed to the ***** ********* ******* **** Data Services), 2) They have not mailed me a letter stating that my debt has been paid in full, 3) They have not faxed clearance letters stating that my loan has been paid and is no longer in default to either, *** ************* XXX-XXX-XXXX/fax XXX-XXX-XXXX, or ******* ****** (phone XXX-XXX-XXXX/faxXXX-XXX-XXXX, 4)further they have failed to cooperate with ***** representative Ms. ******** XXX-XXX-XXXX to get this issue resolved. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/01/27) */ Re: **** ******** Dear Ms. ******* We do not agree that we have misdirected the issue. As required, our client (the US Department of Education) was made aware of the payment activity on the account. Additionally, our client sends the clearance letters requested. If Ms. ******** has not received the documentation she has requested from our client she may contacft me at XXX-XXX-XXXX ***** and we will do whatever we can to assist in this circumstance. Regards, ******* ****** Van Ru Credit Corporation

2/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Caller left message with my name, saying they are a collection agency, asking me to call a tel # they left, which I did not do for fear of getting charges to my tel #. Calls started in Dec, 2013, with calls every day except Sun from 8 AM til 8 PM, most of the time they hung up when I answered the call. Only time someone actually talked was a woman, asking for the last 4 digits of my SSN, which I refused to give. Woman hung up when I voiced complaint of the calls. I have no idea why I am receiving calls, as she would not give me any info unless I gave my SSN. I am confident I owe nothing to anyone. I have a strong suspicion the person they are looking for may be a woman with my same name, ******** ****, but NOT my legal name that I use for my business. This woman lives in ********* *** in the *** area code, NOT 931 as my tel # is in. I say this because about 11-12 yrs ago I did receive a call from another collection agency for her re a trailor she had not paid for. Also she took $1,000 out of my savings account in ********* *** which my bank investigated, found the withdrawal to be fraudulent, and did re-deposit the amount to my account. This Co calling me needs to know this, but how can I tell them if they won't talk to me without my SSN, which they will never get from me. I may be 70 yrs old, but I am not stupid. I have dangerous health issues, my Doctor has been advised of this Co's procedures. If something happens to me resulting from the harassment of said Co, due to the stress caused, he will notify those responsible for taking care of me.

Desired Settlement: Not applicable, just stop calling me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/27) */ RE: ******** **** Dear Ms. ******* We have received your recent correspondence regarding the above referenced consumer. Please note that it appears we contacted a wrong party with a similar name to that of our account holder. We have ceased all calls to the phone number provided by the consumer with the complaint. Regards, Van Ru Credit Corporation Final Consumer Response /* (450, 8, 2014/01/28) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: Calls stopped only on the 24th, I did get one then, but none last Saturday, or yesterday, Jan 28, 2014. Their harassment resulted in me having to go to my MD yesterday. So this issue may be re opened if it appears that their actions have caused a set back for a serious medical problem I have. Do not EVER call me again, EVER!!!!!

1/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: VRCC fraudulently took $50.00 off my debit card ending in 7450, claiming, "your post-dated check for payment". I do not have a checking account and did not authorize them to take $50.00 from my debit card. They utilize my conversations over the phone with them as authorization of a "post-dated check payment", which I did not authorize. They again tried to take $25.00 off my debit card on October 3, 2013 claiming again, "your post-dated check payment". At no time did I authorize them to take any amount from my debit card and told them I could not afford to pay on this debt at this time. They twist my words around to make it look like I authorized a payment. I will not talk with them over the phone again and will only communicate by ***** VRCC uses fraudulent methods as a way to collect on a debt. I don't dispute that I owe the money, just that I have not authorized any payments. VRCC received this account VR File#XXXXXXXX on May 08, 2013, which is the first communication I had with them via ***** I have not been able to pay them anything at this time, but they continue to use fraudulent methods to extract money from my debit card. I no longer have the same debit card and will not speak with them over the phone again. I have sent letters to the ** ****** ******* Debit Card regarding the unauthorized debit of $50.00 and have also sent a letter to VRCC. They need to change their methods of collection, because right now they are using fraudulent methods and I will not be a part of it any more. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that VRCC return my $50.00 because I am on a fixed income and they were not authorized to take these funds from my debit card. They manipulate my conversations to look like I authorized a "post-dated check payment", which I do not have a checking account. I only use the debit card issued to me for my social security payments. VRCC uses fraudulent methods and must be stopped! Thank you.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/01) */ RE: ***** *********** Dear Ms. ******* We have received your recent correspondence from Ms. ***********. We do not agree that our actions were inappropriate. Our records indicate that on July 19, 2013 the account holder agreed to pay $25.00 per month due on the third of each month. During this conversation the account holder provided her branded debit card number to process the payments. The payment on August 3, 2013 declined. We contacted the account holder on August 7, 2013 and were told she would make up the payment on Spetember 3 thus doubling the amount to $50.00 for September. The payment was processed as scheduled. We note that we also sent a reminder letter on August 25, 2013 so that the account holder could cancel any previously authorized payments. We received no response. Based on the complaint, we have canceled all future payments. Despite the fact that our records indicate the payment at issue was authorized we will nonetheless process a refund of the $50.00 as requested. Regards, ******* ****** Van Ru Credit Corporation Final Consumer Response /* (450, 8, 2013/11/04) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: Even though I disagree with the companies version of this complaint, I have received my refund of $50.00 and have sent a letter to this company that I will only do business via ***** They change my conversations with them over the phone to make it appear that I have agreed to make a payment. I am satisfied with the results and thank the BBB very much for their assistance with this matter.

10/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For the past year this company has been harassing me trying to collect a debt for individuals who do not nor never have lived at my residence or my phone number and who I do not know from telephone number 1*************. I have asked them to remove my number from their calling list on three different occasions. After each such call I no longer receive a call for the person they were calling for but will then begin receiving calls for a different person.

Desired Settlement: I just want them to stop calling me to collect a debt that belongs to someone else.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/10) */ RE: ************* Dear Ms. ******, The consumer has requested we cease calls yet has not provided a phone number to which calls should cease. If provided with the phone number we will be happy to search our records and, if located, ensure no further calls are placed regarding any accounts currently assigned to our office. Regards, ************** Van Ru Credit Corporation

9/20/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Van Ru is having my check garnished at work for approx 200.00 per month . As part of the forgiveness program I will be paying starting in Sept. 2013, 204.00 per month. I was told by ******************** that I should call Van Ru and ask them to release this loan back to *************** so that it can a part of the forgiveness program that I'm a part of . The garnishment has caused a hardship on my family and has caused the company that I work for to look down upon me and I believe I will layed off soon.

Desired Settlement: That Van Ru Credit honor mine and ******************** request any submit the loan back to *******. of ********* to become a part of the forgiveness progam I'm currently in. Stop the garnishment of my check. It is causing a hardship to my family. I have 2 children I'm supporting on a part time job (20 hrs per week). Thank-you,

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/09/09) */ Re: ******** ********* VRCC No.: ****** Dear Ms. ******, We apologize for the delay in responding to the inquiry. When our client, the **************** *********, moves forward with the adiministrative wage garnishment there is a process in place to allow for borrowers to contest the garnsihment. The appropirate request for hearing paperwork was sent to Ms. ********* In July 2013. If the document was not received we would be happy to send the paperwork again, if it was received it simply needs to be completed and returned. Regards, Van Ru Credit Corporation

9/20/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/20/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Van Ru Credit Corporation
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart