BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/2012

Keynote Consulting, Inc.

Phone: (847) 788-1530Fax: (847) 788-1531220 W Campus Dr, Ste 102, Arlington HeightsIL 60004-1498 Send email to Keynote Consulting, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Keynote Consulting, Inc, is a collection agency that serves credit card companies, medical offices, and other entities. Located in Arlington Heights, IL, this company serves northern Illinois, including Skokie, Lake Forest, Rolling Meadows, Schaumburg, Crystal Lake, Elgin, Joliet, Deerfield, Buffalo Grove, Elk Grove Village, Barrington, and Evanston. The company was founded in 1994.

This company is a collections agency that works for small businesses, such as psychotherapists in private practices, medical offices, ambulance companies, events and social activities clubs, medical billing offices, and financial offices. The company works on the behalf of other companies in order to obtain payments for debts that have been incurred by customers and have not been paid, including primary placements (accounts that have been delinquent by 90-150 days), secondary placements (accounts that have been unsuccessfully placed by other accounts), and immediate placements. The company works to abide by all rules of collection law and guidelines in order to obtain the highest percentage of payment possible without harassing the delinquent payee.

Visit the website for Keynote Consulting, Inc, to learn more about the company's process of receiving payment on delinquent accounts, read testimonials from their customers, learn more about the process of collections and obtaining payments from delinquent accounts, and pay an outstanding balance on an account managed by the company.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/2012

BBB has determined that Keynote Consulting, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Keynote Consulting, Inc.'s rating include:

  • 15 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Keynote Consulting, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues13
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 15

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (15)BBB Closure Definitions
06/05/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: Keystone entered my father's dental bill due on my credit report in 2012. He had died and the bill was late being paid. It was piad.
The dentist sent the bill to Keynote for collection. Keynote entered the information wrong and put a ding on my credit report.
Keynote says they orally told the credit reporting agency to remove it. Keynote shall write and copy me that they made a mistake and it is very damaging to me.
Either they remove it, give me a letter on their letterhead that it is an error, or
I hire an attorney to sue them and have a Judge order them to remove it.
Just try me. I am all ready to go.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** *********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********@keynote-collections.com
This account was placed for collection under the fathers name with a date of birth of *********** The account was referred to us 08-16-2012.After non payment by 09-30-2012 we reported the data furnished under the fathers name and date of birth only. It seems like the credit bureaus interchanged the names of Jr And Sr.We never reported Jr. On many occasions we suggested to dispute the entree with the Bureaus and we would by procedure answer the dispute with the facts of the case.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Keynote Staff, from the first time I contacted them have always been very professional and friendly. They are real 'wizards' with technology and listening to you like an individual.
This complaint was an error to file in the first place. We are professionals ourselves yet made a lay mistake. This is a CREDIT AGENCY error that swept me up in an overzealous attempt to have more data.
Keynote in fact solved it seems, my problem but in there honets and highly ethical business conduct, helped others more at fault (the credit agency) It has been a pleasure working this problem out and after I of course "know it all" learned so very much.
This high honesty, feeling for clients and attempts to apply the law to benefit those affected I am sure is implemented first by the owner hiring staff "saised right" but by his/her own ideals inherent in the company

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

06/02/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide itemized billing as requested

Complaint: We called the agency about a debt on a credit report we spoke to Mr **** on about the 3rd or 4th call and he stated that it was for a cleaning air filtration system and he will not give any other details he said he would be willing to settle for 1500 dollars and that would be 100% off of the credit report. We are unaware of any purchase for that amount of money for the item stated We asked that he provide proof that it was purchased by ****** and he didn't want to put the work into investigating the purchase unless it was going to get paid in full immediatly.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** *********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********@keynote-collections.com
The debtor contacted us regarding a credit bureau entree. We tried to resolve the issue by settling the matter for $1500 in payments. This is a $4000+ debt. The social and date of birth matched. The debtor then said it must of been my ex wife that did it. I contacted the client to obtain signatures. If they can't produce the proof we will delete the entree at the bureaus. If they do produce,we will still settle for the $1500.00 we never demand the balance immediately.We have recordings

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Inappropriate behavior by customer service personnel

Complaint: My husband received a phone call from ****** who provided my social security number and phone numbers and falsely accused me of having unpaid debt to ****** ***** in ******** *** She indicated she was going to negatively impact my credit if I did not pay the debt. A simple phone call by my husband to ****** ***** resolved this issue and it was determined that Keystone had researched and investigated the wrong person as my birthday and the actual patient's birthday do not match. The staff we dealt with at Keystone Consulting, Inc. would not let us speak, hung up on us repeatedly when we tried to learn how they obtained my social security number and refused to let us speak with senior staff or the owner. When we attempted to express concern about my social security number being accessed, the representative said they do this to thousands of people every day. This companies irresponsible investigation almost resulted in my credit being negatively impacted and I have concern that they were able to access my social security number so easily, but were not able to discern between a May birthday and a September birthday.
Had we not followed up with the ****** ***** and confirmed that I had been misidentified, we might have paid the bill (as I am sure others have) because of the tactics used by this office to obtain payment from me.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ********* COO
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********@keynote-collections.com
We were made aware of the mixup in names from the consumer. We asked if this was reported to any credit bureaus which it was not. The collector did error in idenifying the correct debtor. We have notated our file and took out the address and phone number of the consumer. The consumer owes us nothing.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

03/10/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: This debt is well over 12+years, it isn't my responsbility due to my divorce decree from 10years ago. ******** ***** (from Company)was rude, told me that this was my bill and a payment had been made in 2006 which i know for a fact not to be true. She wanted me to accept responsiblity for this bill which i did not. She told me that whether it was on my credit report or not i needed to pay this. I don't even know how they got my phone number after 12+ years!!

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** *********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********@keynote-collections.com
tHIS IS A OLD ACCOUNT THAT IS NOT BEING REPORTED TO ANY cREDIT bUREAU,Account is not past Statute for contracts. We will not call the Consumer. The account is in her name with social and contracts were signed.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The statute in ******** is up. Also was decreed in divorce to be ex husbands debt to pay, ******* H ********* Jr. XXXXXXXXX.

Final Business Response
There is not any credit bureau reporting on this account and we haced ceased all collection efforts

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

11/19/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: I took my step kids to the podiatrist, I only paid the co pay as was reimbursed later, the doctor started billing ME for additional fees, I passed bills on, they were not covered on my insurance and the responsibility is their parents not mine, I tried to explain this to the collection agency rep named ************* but he berated me and wouldn't listen

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ********* COO
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********@KEYNOTE-COLLECTIONS.COM
ACCOUNT WAS TAKEN OUT OF COLLECTIONS COMPLETELY.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 3
07/23/2013Billing / Collection Issues
03/18/2013Billing / Collection Issues
12/03/2011Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Collection Agencies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/02/2003Business started: 01/01/1994
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 1999, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ron Bronstein (Chief Operating Officer)Mr Andrew Cole (President)
Business Category

Collection Agencies

Products & Services

Full service collection agency, retail, medical, consumer and commercial services, each staff member has many years of industry experience and know how to identify the issues at hand, and work quickly and diligently to resolve them to our clients benefit and satisfaction.

Industry Tips
Debt Consolidation Services
Debt Collection
What are Fair Debt Collection Practices?

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Keynote Consulting, Inc.

220 W Campus Dr

Arlington Heights, IL 60004-1498

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 220 W Campus Dr
    Ste 102 

    Arlington Heights, IL 60004-1498(847) 788-1530

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Keynote Consulting, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.