Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Closets by Design Of Chicagoland

Phone: (630) 501-0190 Fax: (630) 359-5408 View Additional Phone Numbers 150 S Church St Ste C, Addison, IL 60101 http://www.closetsbydesign.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Closets by Design is the nationwide leader in providing customer home organization solutions for Closets, Garages, Home Offices, Linens, Pantries, Laundry Rooms, Murphy Beds and Garage Floors.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Closets by Design Of Chicagoland meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Closets by Design Of Chicagoland include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Closets by Design Of Chicagoland
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 08, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1983 in CA Business started locally: 05/01/1991 Business incorporated 12/23/2011 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brian Berendsen, Managing Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Berendsen, Managing Director
Business Category

Closet Systems & Accessories Garage Organizers Wall Bed Sales Cabinets All Other Miscellaneous Store Retailers (except Tobacco Stores) (NAICS: 453998)

Method(s) of Payment
Most forms of payment are accepted.
Refund and Exchange Policy
There are no refunds or exchanges after the 3 day right to cancel by law.
Alternate Business Names
Chicago Storage Solutions, Inc. Closets by Design Closets by Design of North Chicagoland Mountain Horizons II, Inc.
Products & Services

This company offers closet design.









Additional Locations

  • 150 S Church St Ste C

    Addison, IL 60101

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** is the customer service representative I dealt with. The desk I ordered had the top of it get damaged. They will have to schedule another date to deliver it now. This is a huge inconvenience as I have Monday off when they are delivering it, and to pick another date would mean I would have to take off of work. I ask for some compensation. Brad was not willing to give me any compensation. When I asked why, he said that is not what they do. Then he gave me two examples that are extremely poor examples that he was using to try to defend his actions. One was that if I had a drawer broken on the desk in the future, would I call them and set up a date to repair it. I said yes of course. But he said I would then need to take off of work. I said no, I would pick a date I have off as I am a teacher. So I said how come you can charge a late fee if I have to alter the date of delivery or have any changes to my order within 48 hours, but you do not reimburse the customer if you change anything within 48 hours. I said that is being hypocritical and not good customer service. His response was, "What happens when you call you doctor?" I did not get this point as my doctor lets me cancel anytime at no cost. So I was confused on his question. He was interrupting me and he was very rude and disrespectful. He did not work through this with me cooperatively and he did not have rational for why they will not compensate me for this huge inconvenience. I have a lot of problems with this and I would like to have some compensation in return. This is terrible customer service.

Desired Settlement: I would like some compensation back for this huge inconvenience of making me take off a future date for them to bring the top of the desk once they have a new one that is not damaged.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/19) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@closetsbydesign.net Mr. **********, Thank you very much for your feedback. I apologize for the inconvenience that this has caused you. At Closets by Design, 90% of what we do is in house..the other 10% we must rely on our suppliers to supply a good, up-to-standard product to us. In this case our supplier failed to do so and instead of giving you this sub-par product, we are waiting to provide you with the best product when it comes in. That being said, we take full responsibility for everything that happens regarding our units at your home. We have scheduled you for November 4th for our Installation Supervisor to come out and finish your unit. Please accept our apology and a $200 credit off the balance of the unit. We look forward to putting in an excellent product for you on November 4th. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/10/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) They were able to accept blame for what happened but more importantly took steps to make things right. I really appreciate that and I am happy with the end result.

8/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Desk started to separate at the main portion of writing surface. Called on 6-2-15. Call to sales rep on 6-16. Call back appt for 7-17. On 7-17 repair required multiple plates and screws still not correct a plate and screws were placed in the custom top at the level of my knees causing sharp edges access to my knees and damaging the top of $2000 desktop. Call placed immediately to service to submit complaint when worker left. No return call. Again called service 7-21 and send pictures again no return call it has now been one Month. In addition the desk is still not level and was sealed closed with some substance which comes off on papers. The desk top was not designed in a practical sense the seams are directly located at the major work area of the user. The other seam at the other end is perfect and no substance is visible. The desk unfortunately made of good quality but the joining of the surface top is the problem. I was even going to order more pieces to match the desk but now I am hesitant until this is fixed.

Desired Settlement: The top needs to be aligned correctly so I can sit at this desk and not cut my legs on the underside and there is no misalignment of the surface with gaps. I am not a designer to know how to do that but I would think this company could do that. All other areas of the desk I love I just want the top fixed so I can enjoy the work area I saved for years to have. Thank you for any assistance that you could provide. The entire Office project cost $4023.00. The $2000.00 I estimated as the surface top. Kathy

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/21) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******@closetsbydesign.net Ms. *********, We apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you. It was not our intention to forget about you, which was the reason why our installer was there on July 17th to fix a couple of the issues. Unfortunately we were not in receipt of your message on July 21st, which is the reason why we have not gotten back to you. Certainly a follow-up phone call would have expedited your service call, just like the previous circumstance, as it is not our policy to ignore clients. As you are aware, a service date has been set for 8/27 with our senior installer. If there are further issues, please do not hesitate to contact our office at: XXX-XXX-XXXX. Best regards, Brian *********

12/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were told that we would gain more space with our closets. We actually lost space. When I talked to Closets by Design about it, I was told that I signed off on the final paperwork. Yet, when we were designing, I was told to relax, they were professionals. They would take care of everything and give us more space. I signed off on the final product because I believed their claim of confidence in their product. After installation we found we had less space. Discussions with the company said there was nothing they could do about it unless they did the closets over. They could not find a quick fix solution and a new closet was not an option. They would lose money. Their designer guaranteed a wonderful outcome, but that did not happen. They once again claimed that we signed off on their work. Yet, when trying to review numbers at the measurement process, there was definitely pressure to not worry about things and close the deal. Their motto is customer satisfaction with integrity and honesty. We found none of that if they were to lose money to make the solution right.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I would still like to see them come out and resolve the loss of space issues without a quick fix solution that would look tacky. The whole point of us doing this was to have good looking, custom closets with more space. Not an add on quick solution (Closets by Design suggestion) that would look what we had previously. I know it would cost them some money, but their designer was very confident in her sales and told us not to worry. Everything would look great. That is what we would like.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 20, 2014/10/27) */ We have attempted to contact the client regarding this dispute. The last voicemail that was left for the client was on October 17th. We will be contacting them again today, October 27th, to set up a time to have a Senior Designer go to their home to see what we can do for them. Once this is accomplished we will update this response.

12/16/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The closets that the company built in were almost exactly the same as the closets I was replacing. I made it clear to the designed that I did NOT want the same type of closet material. I was given the esact same closets. I was charged close to $6,000 for the closets and am willing to pay half. I complained to the company from the start and have pictures of the old and new closets to show that they did not give me anything new. I sent then e-mails, pictures and spoke to them and they were not willing to listen to my complaints. They offered to rip out the new closets and just substiute a different color partcle board but I did not wnat that.

Desired Settlement: I am willing to pay for half of their bill. I have disputed the charge with VISA also.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/11/11) */ Closets by Design has been in business for over 32 years. In that entire time we have been using the same exact material and the same sales presentation. Our designers (and was no different in this case) walk into the client's home with wood-laminate samples, a mini closet and a brochure that is 80 pages long. The mini closet is a 1/8 scale replica of an end product of what any customer who buys a closet gets. In the case of this client, we spent 3 hours on 2 occasions with them to confirm both design and material selection. We have signatures on both the design and the contract. Closets by Design apologizes for this client's misunderstanding but we have done everything in our power to make sure the client understands what they are buying. Both during and after installation we communicated with this client no less than 6 times in an effort to provide the best customer service. Closets by Design installs over 5000 spaces per year in Chicagoland alone and we get this complaint once or twice per year. This validates our education and sales process to our clientele. At first the client complained to us that the material was cheap and that she preferred the woodgrain color to the white because it was "real wood". The client even stated that it "smelled like real wood". This is not true because ALL of our material is laminated wood, regardless of color. When we offered to replace the unit with the color she said she liked, the complaint then changed from complaints about the color and to complaints about the design. To both the trained and untrained eye, the designs and material construction are clearly different. We have provided this client with a superior product that can be seen both in pictures and in person. Once again, since the client said they preferred the woodgrain color, we offered to replace the closet done in white with the woodgrain colorat no cost to the client, and with NO legal reason on our partonly to provide excellent customer service to this client. We installed the closets according to the contract and designs signed off by the client. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/11/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Closets by Designs claims that Ms. ****** was made aware of the building materials to be used in the closets. That is totally incorrect. Designer ******* did NOT bring any wood laminate samples or a mini closet to the meeting. Ms. ****** had a friend with her at the consultation who will testify to that. Closets by Design designer ******* was CLEARLY told at the first meeting that Ms. ****** did not want closets made of white laminated particle board with drilled holes like were in her existing closets. Since the designer is the expert, Ms. ****** relied on her designs and advice to sign a contract believing that she was not receiving closets that would look almost exactly like her existing closets. Ms. ****** was shown a brochure with pictures of beautiful closets that looked like built in furniture and that is what she thought she would be receiving. Ms. ****** turned down the offer by Closets by Design to change the closet to wood grain materials because she did not want to have to remove everything again and go through the inconvenience of having the closets torn out and rebuilt again. Plus the wood grain would still not be real wood. Ms. ****** feels the closets are barely worth half the price, but since she has paid half already she is willing to settle for that. Ms. ****** has filed a dispute with ************ for the charge for the final installment payment for the closets and included pictures in the package showing how the old drawers looked exactly like the new drawers and the new closets looked almost exactly like the old ones. Just because Closets by Design has other clients who are satisfied with their work does not mitigate Ms. ******'s complaint. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2014/12/16) */ Closets by Design has put its best foot forward in trying to resolve any misunderstandings with this client. Whenever we came up with a solution to solve her complaint, her complaint changed to something else. It seems as if the only thing that **** placate this client is for her to get her money back. This is in direct conflict with the fact that she signed a contract, we performed the work and she is currently using the product. Our designer performed her responsibility well by meeting with this client twice. The first time our designer met with Ms. ****** for nearly two hours, going over Ms. ******'s needs and wants. The second time our designer met with Ms. ****** for about 45 minutes to go over details. During these meetings all questions were asked and regardless of what has been written (clearly not by Ms. ******), color samples and a mini closet were shown. Once again Ms. ****** was happy with the woodgrain closet that she did buy. However, when we offered to completely redo the other closet in a woodgrain (at no cost to her, in the spirit of excellent customer service), the complaint changed to the fact that it "would be inconvenient" for her. We feel that is a minor inconvenience for the fact that she would receive an entirely new closet. Closets by Design has tried to resolve this situation amicably with this client. If money back is the only resolution she is looking for, we will be unable to accommodate her unreasonable request. Closets by Design hopes that Ms. ****** continues to enjoy her new closet.

2/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1. I was left without one of the shelves I ordered. Not a huge deal, but when I asked when I would receive it I was told "I have no idea. Ok, thanks, goodbye." That is an unacceptable answer. I need to know when I **** receive the shelf. 2. We went over the design and I decided I needed one more hanging rack for the master bedroom closet. He made a new rack, but gave me brackets that did not match the hanging rack. 3. I asked if he was planning on cleaning up the dust and the response was: "Well, do you have a broom?" It is now 9PM and I am just finishing cleaning up all of the dust left behind in each room and the hallway. I expect a $3,000 (the most expensive quote I received from all of the closet companies) to come with clean up. I could not put my clothes away until it was clean and could not sleep on my bed until my clothes are put away. This is just unacceptable. My bedroom floor is still covered in dust and I am just not convinced this is standard practice to leave it to the customer. This is not my first closet installation. 4. When I was asked to inspect the job I noticed that all of the shelves in the second closet had gaps between the shelf and the closet wall. When I suggested they were not installed right I was told that he could put in an L shaped bracket. He then did so. But I shouldn't have to ask for this. It should be standard. 5. When we designed the closet I specifically said I wanted coat hanging room in the pantry. The stationary or permanent shelf on the coat hanging rack is set too high. I specifically had a custom design to fit this custom request. I expected this to be fixed and it was when he returned after I sent in a complaint. 6. The top shelf to the closet in the bed room butts out too far and it looks like it was carelessly installed. 7. Piles of dust were left on top of the closets and when I went to clean them I noticed that the screws for the L shaped brackets were cockeyed. I should not have to ask or hope that the installation will be done with precision and not cockeyed. I was disappointed to find this. 8. The second bedroom closet has a hanging rack that has some sort of rust or substance on it that I cannot get off. Again, that is unacceptable. I didn't purchase a used product. 9. I was told the wood product would be premium and I am not convinced that it is the best product available. It looks like fake, plastic wood. 10. I thought the installation expert was polite, but at the end he was complaining about how many stairs I have. I live on the second floor and have 15 steps. I get that snow and installing a closet in the city is a pain, but I also expect that you all install closets in the city all of the time, and this should not be a burden on any installation expert or technician. He also used profanity, which I did not appreciate. 11. When I called the company and spoke with ** he said "how much do I need to give you to pay you off" and I asked what he meant. He said my request for a credit against the amount paid was like me blackmailing him. I thought such poor service would entitle me to some sort of consideration. They knew I was looking for a new custom built bookshelf and dresser. I was told the next job might have a discount. I was seriously disappointed. The worst part was the condescending tone of **'s (general manager?) voice and lack of appreciation for my disappointment. They told me that technicians are not always going to provide a perfect job. I don't expect perfect, but was offended by their tone of voice and stubbornness that the customer was wrong and they were right. When I raised this concern they said don't worry, the technician **** get an *** kicking. I told them I didn't want him fired, just compensation for the issues I had to deal with. Unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: I am looking for a credit to the total amount I paid.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/17) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *********, GM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@closetsbydesign.net Ms. *****'s installation was scheduled for 2/5/14. By the end of that day, Ms. ***** had a functional closet. When she called the next morning on 2/6 she had three items that she had a problem with: the rusty rod, a missing shelf and clean up. We told her that we would be out there on 2/12 to replace the rod and shelf. Regarding the clean-up we told her that we would have to reprimand the installer for not appropriately following company procedure regarding clean up, but otherwise there was nothing else we could do. When Ms. ***** asked for a FREE rod, we obliged, but didn't realize that the rod cups did not match. We replaced these rod cups as well as the rod and shelf. Regarding the rusted rod..one look at our shop and you would be able to tell that we do not reuse any parts. Sometimes our suppliers, who are also not perfect, provide a product that may have a defect, however on the Closets by Design end, the rustiness of the rod was missed by our QC department. Bottom line Ms. ***** has a completed closet with the highest quality of materials in the industry. Regarding our customer service and our conversations, Closets by Design does not react to blackmail. If a client says to us that they are going to put a negative review unless we give them money back, we are not going to do anything. If there was a legitimate reason for us to give Ms. *****'s money back we would have done so. A minor inconvenience that is normal in the custom build industry does not "entitle" anyone to compensation (although we did give her a FREE rod, valued at $50). What started out as 3 things that the client wanted fixed has now turned into a 11 point gripe session-which again does not entitle her to compensation. It is both unprofessional and inappropriate for Ms. ***** to behave as she has acted similar to a child throwing a tantrum when they don't get their way. This is evidenced by the way she handled herself on the phone and online. This is compounded by her request for a full refund for a fully functional closet that had minor adjustments to it. That would be akin to asking for a full refund for a house purchase after finding that a faucet leaks. Closets by Design in Chicago installs 5000 closets per year. Occasionally we will get clients that we will not be able to please. We have been very reasonable with our service time with this client. If every mistake ever made by any company "entitled" someone to compensation, there would be very few profitable companies since most companies are run by humans and humans are prone to emotion and errors. We apologize for the inconvenience caused to Ms. ***** and hope that all installations forthwith are error free.

2/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Closets by Design were supposed to install closets in our house on 12/20/2013. They had charged a 50% deposit on my card on 12/03/2013. When the installer arived on 12/20, he did not have the right parts. He apologized, and after talking to the main office, communicated to me that I would not need to pay anything until the correct parts are delivered and installed a week later. However, my card was charged for the full amount WITHOUT ANY AUTHORIZATION from me. Thus, we have no closets in our house, while Closets by Design is freely using my credit card number without authorization. We had several discussions with their representatives after the incident, but with no outcome. They refused to return the money that was efffectively stolen from me. We are forced to live without closets for a month and we cannot order from others, because my credit card is being fradulently used by Closets by Design.

Desired Settlement: Immediate refund, apologies and explanations. It is our objective to protect other consumers from deceptive and illegal business practices by Closets by Design.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/01/16) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *********, GM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@closetsbydesign.net Closets by Design prides itself on offering an excellent with pricing that is very competitive in the industry. As premier national franchise with 33 locations in our industry it is imperative that we follow a higher standard of customer service and installations with a high degree of communication and transparency with the customer. We are the only company that spends on average 3 hours with a client before they contract with us. The purpose of this is to minimize customer confusion regarding our processes. In the case with Ms. *********** the amount of time spent with her is no different. On the day of installation Ms. *********** informed us that she did not prefer the look of the rail that we use to build a wall-hung system, which is standard in the industry. In the spirit of excellent customer service, we took the entire unit back to our shop and re-cut it (at our expense) to satisfy Ms. ***********. As is also customary in our industry and clearly stated on the contract that Ms. *********** signed, we collect the remaining balance of the contract upon initial arrival to her house. Due to the fact that the unit was not installed but modified (at our expense) we only charge Ms. *********** half of the remaining balance. Ms. *********** got upset at this but after talking with our Director of Sales, agreed to keep the charge because we were going to come out 4 days later and install the newly produced unit. All parties agreed on Tuesday, December 24th that we would come out on Saturday, December 28th and the unit would be completed. On December 26th, the Director of Sales, once again in the spirit of excellent customer service, contacted Ms. *********** to once again confirm we were going to be out there on December 28th to install the unit. He also confirmed that she would be home and that she could pay the remaining 25% of her contract balance on that day. Once again, Ms. *********** signed a contract that stated that we would have charged the entire remaining balance when we showed up the first time but we only charged 25% of the contract amount and re-produced the unit at our cost. On Saturday, December 28th, our installer arrived at 10 am to her house and she refused to let him in to complete the contracted job. Her reasoning was that regardless of the contract she signed, she was upset we charged her card on file. At this point Ms. *********** has disputed this charge on her credit card and the charges have been reversed, even though Closets by Design has attempted on 2 occasions to install her closet. We are now forced to take Ms. *********** to court in order for her to satisfy the terms of her contract. Closets by Design wants to install the unit that has been contracted with Ms. ***********. We **** not charge her the 30% late cancellation fee, since she did not let our installer (who then went home without pay) into her house. We want the opportunity to complete this project. We **** need payment in check format before we are willing to do so. There is no other resolution to this matter except for legal action. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/02/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Our statement from the beginning was that they have to refund and apology because their behavior is not respectful to the customer's needs. Unfortunately all their explanations confirm that they don't follow their customer but want to dictate everything and do all they want without authorization. They don't care about customer satisfaction. I told them more then month ago that if they reverse their charges we can work. But their position to push us for their installation wasting time in this correspondence. Very upset.... Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/01/28) */ Unfortunately this customer's response is incoherent and unintelligible so it is difficult for the company to respond. Regarding our communication with the client, instead of the designer dealing with the client, we had the designer's supervisor work with this client in order to come up with a solution to fit her needs. From the day of installation (Dec 20) to the day where she refused to allow us into her home with the finished product (Dec 28th) we talked with her 10 times-that is hardly a lack of communication. No mistake has been made by the company in this instance. We would have fulfilled the contract had the client let us back in the home on Saturday the 28th of January. Not letting us in the home because you are not sure of the quality before it is installed is absurd. The only further action the company is going to take is to pursue this in a court of law to force the customer to adhere to the contract which she signed. Her unit is processed and ready to be installed.

1/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Closets By Design contracted with me to install custom cabinets in my home, installtion to be on November 18-19, 2013. Measurements were taken onsite, and a contract was signed and a check was given to agent. Because the agent who did the measuring did not do a proper job, I was told that my order for there to be L-shaped cabinets covering Wall A and Wall B, is not possible. I sent them a Certified Letter, which they claim they did not receive; I sent them faxes which they claimed were too light to read; I sent them an email requesting they respond by mail but instead a response was sent by email. I do not have a computer and used a friend's email, so I did not want her to be in the middle of this correspondence. The Headquarters Supervisor, stated that even though I requested a written response, he didn't see why he couldn't respond by email and he did so. He explained that they would not be able to install a cabinet on Wall B when all the work was approved and signed to have both cabinets installed. He did not suggest an alternative design so that I could have both walls completely covered with the cabinets which is what I wanted and what I ordered. In my Certified Letter and in my fax, I redesigned the cabinet (Wall B) so that it would be usable; however, Closet By Design completely ignored my suggested modification. Because the company refused to acknowledge my correspondence by mail, fax, and email, they simply cancelled by order.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the custom wall units installed as per my modified design. I would like a letter sent to me, not email, stating that the cabinets can be installed in a timely manner as per my suggested modification for Wall B.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/06) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *********, Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@closetsbydesign.net First, Closets by Design would like to thank Ms. ******* for her business. It is certainly our intention to work with all clients to obtain a successful and satisfactory outcome to their installation. With the technology available today via computers or other means of correspondence, this issue should have been resolved very easily. Our phone number, fax number and email addresses have not changed so it is very easy to get in contact with our office. It is sometimes more difficult for us to get in contact with clients. Both our designer and the designer's manager have attempted to contact Ms. ******* both via the phone and via the mail. We have a certified letter dated November 12, 2103 that was returned to our office on December 14th, 2013 as unclaimed by the recipient. We mailed this in accordance with Ms. ******* wishes. We have not canceled Ms. *******' order and we are more than happy to work with her on this. If Ms. ******* would please return phone calls or meet at our showroom to go over the details of the changes she wants, all of this can be resolved. Due to the level of details that go into creating a beautiful new space, a face-to-face meeting with the appropriate sign-offs is absolutely critical. Ms. ******* can call our office at (XXX) XXX-XXXX from 8 am to 6 pm Monday through Friday and Saturday between 9 am and 2 pm. We look forward to installing her beautiful new unit. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/01/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Through previous frustration, unprofessionalism, and deceit by Closets By Design, by changing original design after securing client's money, Closets By Design does not wish to accept the client's solution to their written design change, e.g., maintain original Wall B, and reimburse client $100 for design solution. This is the only solution that is acceptable to client and THE ONLY FAIR SOLUTION. Client has incurred big hotel expenses for holiday guests because Closets By Design missed their definite written deadline. Therefore, because of all above mentioned, the client **** negotiate and comment ONLY THRU BBB, and Closets by Design knows this. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/01/07) */ It is unfortunate that we are unable to communicate with Ms. ******* to find out exactly what changes need to be made. In the custom-build industry there are times when designs and additional feedback needs to be obtained from the client. We at Closets by Design at no time have been deceitful or unprofessional in dealing with this client. Certainly there have been some miscommunications on both sides but since Ms. ******* refuses to talk with us further about what exactly she wants, we would be more than happy to return her entire deposit. At that point she would be more than welcome to contact another company who might better satisfy her needs. Again we apologize for the confusion that seems to be stemming from this situation. We have tried no less than a dozen times to contact this client and resolve the matter. If she accepts this resolution we will mail her refund promptly. ***** ********* GM

1/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The installation has not yet been completed. Original installation was scheduled for 11/20/13. After parts were missing from the order, the company originally scheduled the completion of the install for 12/6. I received a call the day of to re-schedule. As of today, the install has been re-scheduled four times and there is still no date of completion. Product_Or_Service: Closet system ------------------------------------------------- 1/6/14 info from consumer: It should be noted this job is under my partner's name ***** ******* I am the person who paid for the services though.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like the installation completed ASAP and a partial refund due to the inconvenience of having a partial install for almost 2 months.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (450, 5, 2014/01/08) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: Install was finally done on 1/7

11/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After much thought and re-reading the contract regarding cancellation and refund process on Sat. 10/26/13, I contacted this business on 10/28/13 giving reasons for my concern and that I was cancelling my order and was expecting my refund. I was asked by "******" if I wanted to e-mail or fax. I choose fax due to the nature of my really needing my money returned ASAP - family issue. Upon calling on 10/30/13 for status I was told by "******" that their policy is that refunds take 7-10 business days to process. She acknowledges that this policy is not written in their cancellation process. I explained to her that I was not verbally told this when I called on 10/28/13.

Desired Settlement: I would like the refund to be credited back to my Visa account. It's fortunate that I have a bank account to cash the "check" other customers may not be as fortunate.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/01) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *********, GM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@closetsbydesign.net It is unfortunate in today's world that companies must protect themselves from fraud. This in turn hurts those law-abiding, ethical and moral customers who wouldn't dream of stealing from others. We apologize to Ms. ************** that our policy is that we do not refund customers until 10 business days after they have paid their deposit. Before the policy was in place, Closets by Design was a victim of fraud on no less than 10 occasions within just an 18 month period. Fraud is created when a client gives a deposit and the company refunds the money either by check or reversing the credit card charge, while at the same time the client disputes the charge or stops payment on the check. This in turn pays them double (refund from the company and then the payment reversed by the bank). It is extremely difficult for the company to recoup this money without spending a lot of money on court fees and attorney fees. This policy has been in place for 5 years and in the less than 1 percent of the time that our clients cancel their contracts we have never had a complaint after we explain why the policy is what it is. We have dozens of other policies in place that are not all written on the contract due simply because we do not want to burden the client with a 3 page legal document every time they want to buy a closet. We **** refund Ms. **************'s money on November 4, 2013.

8/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Closets by Design Of Chicagoland
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)