Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

California Closets

Phone: (847) 398-9350 Fax: (847) 666-6667 2130 Foster Ave, Wheeling, IL 60090 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.californiaclosets.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that California Closets meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for California Closets include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on California Closets
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 14, 2006 Business started: 10/11/1996 Business started locally: 10/11/1996 Business incorporated 10/11/1996 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Cassie Zegers, Office Manager Mr. Eric Wolff, President
Contact Information
Principal: Cassie Zegers, Office Manager
Business Category

Closet Systems & Accessories Organizing Services - Household & Business Garage Organizers Shelving Wine Storage Equipment Cabinets All Other Miscellaneous Store Retailers (except Tobacco Stores) (NAICS: 453998)

Alternate Business Names
Northshore Enterprises

Additional Locations

  • 2130 Foster Ave

    Wheeling, IL 60090 (847) 398-9350

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/6/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I will never ever use or ever recommend California Closets in Wheeling Illinois as long as I live. I can write a book about the fiasco of mistakes and errors that took place over the last year on a $13,500+ of what was to be a custom office install where customization was nonexistent. These are just the latest issues of a years worth colossal of error. I received a credit but clearly someone forgot what the credit was for. So let me refresh somebody's memory. The credit was for the crown molding that I was charged for but never received, the damage to my wall where the installers clearly applied some unknown substance which can be seen with the naked eye, the unprofessional install of the tack-board fabric which created an excess fabric buckling affect, the incorrectly measured and cut tack-board through out the space that I was told would be custom to my specific space but this custom tack-board had a 1/4 inch space between the tack-board and the left and right wall through out for a total of a 1/2 inch gap on both sides of the room not to mention the issues with the cabinets, doors and locks, etc. Now mind you this was what the 3rd or 4th time an attempt to correct a series of errors. Each attempt to correct created new issues and the last attempt to correct is no different. Now I physically walked into the California Closet store and hand picked the fabric for my project. But at some point during the last attempt to correct I ended up with some else's tack-board fabric because the fabric that is on my tack-board is not the fabric that I walked into your store and ordered. The tack-board on the north wall that I ordered was 119 3/4" by 12". But clearly the tack-board that I receive belongs to someone else as it is 119 3/4" by 11" which is 1" to short. As a matter of fact it does not even sit flush with the desk-top. Yes that's right there is a 1" space between the tack-board and he top of the desk. Funny; the tack-board on the south wall fits snug with no space between the desk-top and the tack-board. I wonder why is that???? Not only that the tack-board on the north wall is hanging 1"over the grommet. I can't even remove the grommet without assistance from another person as one of us will have to apply pressure to the tack-board to push it back towards the wall while the other person try's to get the grommet out to run the wires through it and place it back into the desk top. The slatwall is 119" when I ordered slatwall that was to be 119 3/4". How does that happen when we are talking about simple math here. The installers ripped my baseboard trim out from the wall for no reason; no reason whatsoever; they absolutely had no reason whatsoever to even touch that baseboard and then they just shoved it carelessly back up against the wall. Then there was the clothes valet that I was charged for and never received; nor did I receive credit for it. As a matter of fact I ended up ordering it on the internet myself. Several times I told them about that pencil drawer that gets stuck when you try to open an close it as if it needs WD-40 even though its plastic and it was just left here after I told them of the issues with it, they didn't even bother taking with them; nor have I received credit for it. The sloppy wires and tape hanging from under the desks is an eye sore to say the least. So now I am being threaten with collections. Because of these issues and then some, to many to mention, I should not have to pay for someone else's fabric; fabric I did not even order; nor should I pay for that tack-board and slatwall where someone thought it would be funny to cut them shorter than what I had ordered; I should not have to pay for a clothes valet that I had to get off the internet myself and I should not have to pay for a pencil drawer that was just left behind and it does not even work, and I am still waiting for restitution for my baseboard. I should not have to pay for items that I didn't receive or that were defective.

Desired Settlement: $2675 credit for property damage, defective materials, items charged but not received, and poor installation

Business Response: Client had signed a contract with us for a California Closet system.
Yes, there were errors in the install and we worked diligently to resolve these errors with 4 return trips to do so.
Client met with installation manager and then manager Bruce **** to discuss issues and work on a remedy. After everything was completed client came back to say she was not going to uphold her end by paying remaining balance. Bruce and client spoke again to resolve issue where she was to retract false statements made against company.
File has been passed to new interim general manager whom will review and submit any further information if required.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on California Closets
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)