BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Doctors Immediate Care

Phone: (630) 537-0800

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues11
Problems with Product / Service11
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints23

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (23)BBB Closure Definitions
02/19/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Everyday I receive between 1 and 3 invoices for payment of services I received on October 17, 2013. The latest billing indicates I am over 90 days past due. The problem here is that I have already paid this invoice IN FULL. My bank statement shows the payment was debited from my account on December 27, 2013, yet as I previously stated I am stilling receiving billing each day and I have watched as the past due indicator has moved from over 30 days past due to now over 90 days past due. My account number is XXXXX and the payment amount on the invoice is $202.51. I paid via check; check number 1025. My concern here is that this will be reflected on my credit report or that this will be escalated to a third party debt collecting agency when I have already paid this IN FULL.

Also, I mentioned earlier that I watched the past due indicator climb from over 30 days to now over 90 days. I first received billing in December and that invoice indicated that I was past due 30 days as I believe they were going off the date of services rendered (October 17) so the billing was never in the current category. I'm not sure if this is proper practice, but I thought I would mention it anyhow as it seems odd to me that my very first bill would indicate that I'm 30 days past due.

I received great care from the staff at your Naperville, IL location on October 17, but as a result of these flawed billings I will never return to any Doctors Immediate Care facilities for any services as I find this completely unacceptable.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting something in writing on Doctors Immediate Care Letterhead that shows that I have paid this balance in full and therefore have a $0 dollar balance. That way if this has a negative impact on my credit report I will be able to easily dispute it. I also request that I stop receiving these invoices for payment.

Business Response


Final Consumer Response
The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated:

02/25/2015Billing / Collection Issues
06/10/2013Billing / Collection Issues
04/26/2013Billing / Collection Issues
03/04/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
02/13/2015Problems with Product / Service
12/29/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
card company. They sent our account to collections anyway. We resolved it with the both the Lombard office and the collection agency. Unfortunately, on 12/4/14, I got another bill. I am trying to resolve this additional bill (for the same service that we paid in October.) We received service from the Lombard Office, but their Morton Grove office sent us another bill dated 12-1-14. I'm in the process of trying to resolve this issue, but I'm getting aggravated.

Desired Settlement
No money. I just want this resolved.

09/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had a 10:30 appointment. I showed up at 10:29. I was shown into a room at 10:45, in spite of the fact nobody was here. 10 minutes later a nurse came in, and had NO idea why I was there. She did the usual screening questions, and left. I waited. Then I waited some more. Then I waited a lot more. Finally, at 11:20, I went out and asked the nurse what the delay was. The doctor came around the corner and said "I'll be there". Another 10 minutes passes, and she comes in, without apology. She proceeds to tell me that I'll need to go get a CT scan before she can do the procedure. She said to go get it, then come back after it was done: "it should only take a few hours". What? I had a 10:30 appointment to have the thing removed.

They then billed me $170!!!! for the "appointment" where they did nothing!!!!! I demand a zero balance. I am not paying for this.

Desired Settlement
I refuse to pay for your "service". I am not paying $170 for you to make me wait and then do nothing that you said you could do.

08/29/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I went to this organization when my child was ill. They misdiagnosed her, prescribed unnecessary, harmful and expensive medicine. They told us to come back the next day free of charge because my daughter was worse than the first day they saw her. The second doctor was much worse than the first, she did not have proper equipment, did not know what she was doing and prescribed further harmful and unnecessary and expensive medication. The doctors' diagnoses contradicted each other. My daughter saw her REAL pediatrician the next day who confirmed she had a virus and needed none of what these "doctors" prescribed. Spoke to every person who works with this company and all gave me the run around. Unkind and lied. The manager finally agreed not to charge us for the visits (even though the 2nd visit should not have been charged at all because I was assured it would be free) and that he would reimburse us $50 for the medicine (the medicine cost $200) but it was a fair compromise. They ended up charging my credit card (which they said they would drop the charge once it went to insurance, which they never dropped the charge), charged my insurance an insane amount of money, AND billed me $200 on top of it. Not to mention no $50 reimbursement check. I have disputed the charges with my credit card company and spoke again to the billing department and left numerous messages for the manager who refuses to call me back. At best he will make me speak with his assistant who can't really do anything anyway. This is stealing and malpractice. They say they will send us to collections but that is so wrong because we do NOT owe them anything. I have tried everything. This is abuse of power, stealing, and harm to patients. What they are doing is illegal, unethical and immoral.

Desired Settlement
I want to be free and clear of charges as they promised. I do not even want the $50 reimbursement check I just want my bill to be cleared and to finally be done with this "organization". I want the BBB to be aware of this so hopefully this business will conduct themselves more honestly.

08/11/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Went in with a small infection on the tip of my finger.Asked if they will honor my **** ********** ****** 100% policy coverage with no deductible and no co-pay in an emergency. I told them that I would continue on to the hospital if they would not. They took my card and checked it on their computer and confirmed that they would except that. They did the procedure and are now billing me for ************ ***** said they don't recognize them as an emergency room and won't pay. The business should have told me that.I would have gone to the hospital if they had said no. But they said "yes, they would except the 100% coverage with no deductible and no co-pay.I do not feel I should pay this because they accepted the terms I described before letting them work on me.They also mistakenly sent a bill to me from another patient. I called that patient and was told the exact same story. That the said they would accept her policy's 100% coverage for emergency, but did not do so after her procedure was done. (I can supply documentation)I checked on-line to see if there are any others complaints and found numerous similar situation. They mislead people.

Desired Settlement
They billed $1,735.00 for this simple 35 minute procedure with a 10 minute follow-up 5 days later. They are billing me for $624.01 which is what **** ***** allows for this but will not cover it because they don't recognize them as a real ER.They accepted my policy as explained to them before the procedure. That is an agreement.I want this bill to be erased.

05/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I went to doctors immediate care-Morton grove IL location for a medical emergency on April 5 2013 and even though I had my medical insurance card they asked me to pay $185. I paid with my credit card. They filed a claim with the medical insurance provider and got paid. After the co-pay which I have to pay I have to be refunded for the extra I paid which is $125.29. After waiting so long for my refund I called the billing office in November 2013. The representative I spoke to said I am supposed to receive a refund and they missed mailing it and said I should expect a check in a week. Waited for a whole month and I called back and spoke to a billing representative named ******. She said they are upgrading their systems and can't access my records because they are in an old system and said they will have the details by the first week of January 2014. I called after first week of January and ****** said they didn't have any records and I should fax explanation of benefits from my insurance company. I faxed them a copy and called ****** and she said she got them and she gave them to her manager of Billing **** and he is going to call me and issue a refund. The manager never called me back. I I waited one more week and called them again about the refund. ****** says she gave them to manager and manager says he didn't receive any documents and after going back and forth the manager said he said ****** has them I will take a look at them. I emailed all the proof( my bank statement showing I paid $185 to Doctors Immediate care and also a copy of my explanation of benefits)that is needed to issue a refund directly to the manager ****. Still I don't have any response from them nor my refund. They are acting so fraudulent because each time I call them different people talk to me posing as a billing manager. I have been waiting for almost an year for the refund and I am not getting any response from them.

Desired Settlement
I would like to get my refund $ 125.29 as soon as possible and also some kind of payment for my time I have taken to call, fax email to request my money I have paid them over the past year. I believe I should not even be calling them for a refund. They should automatically issue it unless they have no intention of giving it to me.


4/25 I haven't heard from the company and also haven't received my refund yet.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Clinics

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.