BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/2010

Dupage Medical Group LLC

Phone: (630) 545-3610Fax: (630) 942-7937

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues9
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints12

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (12)BBB Closure Definitions
06/02/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: I was sent to Dr. **** of DMG for a blood test in November of 2012. DMG sent me a bill for $146.64 which I paid, but later found out was also paid by my insurance. I have yet to receive a refund for overpayment. I was told to have another similar blood test a year later which I went back and had done. But this time instead of processing the results at their lab, they sent the blood work to Edwards Hospital which is now billing me as an outpatient hospital visit for $1,242.85 even though I have never stepped foot in their facility. If this blood test was similar, I don't understand why they didn't process it at their own lab on-site and asked as much when I received the bill in January of 2014. My HR administrator, the PBA claims administrator, and myself have all been calling DMG on a weekly basis but keep getting a run around that 'supervisors are reviewing the file.' It is now May, 5 months of them reviewing this billing question, and I am nowhere closer to resolving this issue. I was told they were going to call Edwards Hospital to put my account on hold so they would not send me to collections, but I have had no verification that they have in fact done this. The supervisor's name I was given is *** ********** and I would appreciate it if someone at DuPage Medical Group would actually review this complaint and give me a clear answer as to why it was processed so differently than the first blood test administered. My DMG account number is XXXXXX. The Edwards Hospital account number is XXXXXXXXXX. I have not been able to schedule any further testing on this medical issue to resolve it since I am still arguing over this bill. Until this charge is resolved, I cannot financially go to another oncologist for more testing so DMG is delaying my option to get further treatment. I am appalled at the lack of customer service exhibited by Dr. **** and Dupage Medical Group, which is unfortunate as there are some great doctors in the group. Please work with me to resolve this issue. As I stated I have been calling constantly over the last 5 months with no success.

Initial Business Response
Dear Ms. *********:
Thank you for contacting us with your complaint. We appreciate the opportunity to respond. Please know we welcome feedback from all of our patients so that we may improve our services. I have looked into your issue and spoke with our billing department. I was able to determine that both you and your insurance company paid for services rendered in November 2012, as you stated. For this reason we are issuing you a refund check in the amount of $146.64. You should be receiving your refund check within 2-4 weeks.
A courtesy hold was placed on your account with Edward so that we could look into those charges. I'm in the process of reviewing what tests were ordered in November of 2012 compared to those ordered in November of 2013. I will need to determine what the similarity/differences are in order to respond to that portion of your complaint. I will have an answer for you within 24-48 hours. Please feel free to contact me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX if you would like to discuss this matter.
Sincerely,
********* ******
Risk Manager
DuPage Medical Goup



5/22 Dear Ms. *********:
Please be advised we have looked further into the billing issue and found errors had occurred with no fault attributed to you. You will not owe any balance on this bill as it is being rectified on our end. If you receive any additional billing, please contact me directly and we will correct it. I can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX.
Thank you very much for bringing this matter to our attention. I am sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
Sincerely,
********* ******
Risk Manager
DuPage Medical Group

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/04/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: My account number is XXXXXX.
I schedualed my annual physical which I do every year for the past 13 years. This year had to get a new doctor since mine has left this office. I also get bloodwork done with this since my medication requires it for me to renew my prescription. This is all covered 100% by my insurance **** ***** **** ****** under preventive care.
I scheduled the physical on 01/25/2014 called XXX XXX XXXX. On 01/25/14, the nurse took me into the office took my blood pressure advised me the doctor would be in shortly. Doctor ***** ***** came in and asked me what I was there for. I adivesed him yearly check up, blood work and to see if I could get off of my medication. The doctor took my pulse and listened to my heart with a stethoscope. I explained to him I felt healthy and wanted to see if I could get off of my medication. The doctor suggested take blood work today see where my cholesterol is at. He advised me to come back in a month or 2 to see if my cholesterol is elevated. This is all that he did I was in his office 5 minutes.
I recieved a bill charging me $115.00 for the office visit and $37.00 for blood work. I called the billing inquiries 02/04/14 which is only available Mondays through Fridays 8am to 4:30 and was on hold for over 30 min made 2 attempts. I couldn't make any more attempts since I work and would get in trouble with my employer for being away from my desk for so long.
I decided to call my **** ***** **** ****** Ins XXX XXX XXXX. I spoke with a representative asking why this bill was not covered since I have 100% preventative care and this would fall under it. I've been getting my physical and bloodwork for 13 plus years with Dupage Medical and this was the first time I have had this problem with billing. The rep advised me because the doctor coded it and office visit that is why it wasn't covered. I advised I was not sick in fact I was healthy and was tring to get off of medication and this should be covered under preventive care 100%. She agreed. I explained that wasnt able to get through and am at work. Rep advised she would call for me and inquire about my bill and call me back. The **** agent called later that day advising that the she varified that I was scheduled for a physical on 01/25/14 and would go to the doctor to see if he would correct the code. The **** agent advised that I would get a call from the Dupage Medical doctor's office in 2 weeks to let me know the billing issue was resolved.
Two weeks went by and I recieved no phone call from Dupage Medical. I called Dupage medical on 02/24/14. Once again was on hold for over a half an hour. Talked to ***** in billing explained my situation. ***** in billing proceeded to transfer me to someone else where once again was on hold another 20 minutes. I finally got through to **** expressed my unsatisfaction with their customer service, long hold times, no return phone calls, and inconvenient hours of operation. I explained my situation with the billing. **** advised me ****** ********* is the office manager in the Lisle office and would transfer me. Again on another 15 minutes. **** came back on the line advised me that talked to ****** and said that the Doctor claimed he never did a physical therefore, will not change coding and I am responsible for it. I wasn't able to discuss with ****** *********. I asked **** why she didn't transfer me, when she said that was what she was going to do. She said she was resolving the matter. Advised, the matter is unresolved. I advised I am not paying for the Dr. Kevin Regan's mistake. It is his responsibility to do his job completely and am not paying $152.00 for him to take my pulse. I don't have money to throw away like that. I was not there for a social visit that I was not sick and in fact was healthy.
I filed a complaint a ************************** on 02/24/14 after my phone call and still haven't received a response. This office will put people in the hospital with this.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******, Risk Mgr
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****************@mpasmd.com
Dear Mr. *****:
Thank you for contacting us and the opportunity to respond. First, I'd like to thank you for being a loyal patient to DMG. We know you have other options for your healthcare needs and truly appreciate your trust in us. I have looked into the issues you raised by reviewing the medical records and billing statements. It appears there was a miscommunication. You scheduled your appointment as you always do, as a preventative exam. The office set it up as an appointment to establish care; making it seem like you were a new patient. Those are two different billing codes. Obvioulsy, you are not a new patient to DMG and your care has already been established. It is for this reason that I'm happy to report that we will be removing the $152.00 charge. Please also accept my apologies for the long wait times you encountered when calling the office to resolve this issue. We are working on a more timely response time and apologize we did not meet your needs. If you have any issues in the future, please feel free to contact me directly so we can work together to resolve them.
Sincerely,
********* ******
Risk Manager
DuPage Medical Group

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

01/30/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: Dated of Birth 09/07/1976

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ********* ******,Risk Mgr
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****************@mpasmd.com
Dear Mr. *****,
Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to respond to your billing issue with DuPage Medical Group. I have looked into your billing record and do not see that anything is owed by you at this time. If you could provide additional information I would be more than happy to assist. I would need to know the date of service where the issue was identified. You can contact me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX. I look forward to hearing from you.
Sincerely,
********* ******


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Final Business Response
Dear Mr. *****,
Thank you for providing additional information so we could look into this issue. We reviewed the information you supplied as well as our obligations with your insurance company. Upon our review we noted you're correct and you should have been billed for the urgent care visit. For this reason, we will be adjusting your co-pay amount to $20.00 and will bill accordingly. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
If you have any further questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to call or email me.
Sincerely,
********* ******

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

11/18/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to substantiate charges

Complaint: In June, I had a surgery conducted by DuPage Medical Group and Dr. ****** *** (Ear, Nose, and Throat doctor at the Lombard and Naperville locations). Prior to the surgery, I had set up my follow up appointments with the nurses and Dr. **** During the process, it was never explained that these follow up appointments (though required) weren't included in the cost of the surgery. The specific visit that I'm disputing was on 7/3/13 and was a nasal endoscopy (cleaning after surgery) that was explained as required as part of the surgery process. When I called to dispute the charge, they told me that it was already explained that it was a separate charge - it was never explained to me. I asked for proof that it was explained to me and they weren't able to produce it. In this phone call I was also told that this surgery didn't include "Global Days" which is a term I've never heard before disputing the charge. Apparently it means that everything for the surgery/office visits are billed separately. During another phone call with ***, I asked her "How do I know that DMG doesn't just tell people to come back every two weeks for follow up appointments to collect the easy money for a 10 minute office visit?" Her response was that they don't do that. I remain skeptical. After making multiple other phone calls to the billing department, I spoke with ***, Dr. ****** nurse who promised to follow up and speak to management but it has been a week and a half and I've heard nothing. I called this morning (11/5) and was told she hadn't had a chance to deal with the issue yet. In addition, I've asked to speak directly with Dr. *** because I was told by the billing department that only he has control over the finalized bill. They have yet to let me speak directly to him. Everything has been relayed through ***.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ********* ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****************@mpasmd.com
Dear Mr. *********,
Thank you for your letter and the opportunity to respond. I have looked into this matter and reviewed it with our biling department. I'm sorry to hear that the billing wasn't explained to you at the time of the procedure. I have been advised the same information as you were. That is, your post procedure office visit is not considered part of the global charge. Services were provided at the subsequent office visit on 7-3-13 and therefore billed accordingly.
However, I understand the complexity of healthcare and would be willing to split the charge with you as a one time couretsy. If you're agreeable to this, please let me know.
Sincerely,
********* ******


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
*********,
I accept your response. Splitting the charge sounds like a reasonable solution to my problem. I appreciate the fact that you are willing to split the charge as a courtesy.

Thanks,
****

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

07/12/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Clinics - Dialysis, Clinics, Health & Medical - General

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.