Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Iwan Ries & Co.

Phone: (312) 372-1306 Fax: (312) 372-1416 19 S Wabash Ave Fl 2, Chicago, IL 60603 http://www.iwanries.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Iwan Ries & Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Iwan Ries & Co. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Iwan Ries & Co.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 15, 2010 Business started: 01/01/1857 Business started locally: 01/01/1857 Business incorporated 12/24/1945 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Kevin Levi, General Manager Mr. Charles Levi, President
Contact Information
Principal: Kevin Levi, General Manager
Business Category

Cigar & Cigarette & Tobacco Dealers - Retail Cigars and Cigar Accessories Tobacco Stores (NAICS: 453991)


Additional Locations

  • 19 S Wabash Ave Fl 2

    Chicago, IL 60603 (312) 372-1306

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order for items advertised as in stock and for sale on their website and they will not provide an explanation of why they have not fulfilled the order and yet still say the items are for sale on their website. They do not respond to the email address listed on their contact page. Order Number: ***** Date / Time: 05/02/2016 10:26 AM CST Order Total: $125.25

Desired Settlement: I would like an explanation of why my sale has not been fulfilled and have their website corrected to not advertise items that are not actually for sale (if this is why they have not fulfilled my order). Concerning that they do not respond to the email listed for contact on their contact page this should be noted as such on their contact page.

Business Response:

Customer was notified that we were out of an item he had placed an order for. Upon processing the order for the remaining items his Credit Card was declined. We tried numerous times to contact the customer to let him know that payment could not be met because of a declined card. We still have the order and can process it at any time with a valid credit card. We are always upset when a customer is unhappy with us.

 

Thank you,


Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I have never received any emails from the company. On their website it says email contact which is how I tried to contact them. Please have them forward the emails they say they send as I never received any. If they say they only phoned I would ask why they did not email. If they do not respond to email contact I would request the business note this fact on their website as resolution for this case & to help other shoppers.

I am unclear on why they say they have the items as on their site it states they are out of stock on most of the items on this order.

 

I feel it is fair to ask for clarification on these issues. I can always give authorization on my card.

Sincerely,

**** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Iwan Ries & Co.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)