BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Illinois Back Institute-Arlington Hts. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Illinois Back Institute-Arlington Hts. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Illinois Back Institute-Arlington Hts.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 03, 2012 Business started: 01/01/1995 Business started locally: 01/01/1995 Business incorporated 08/11/1998 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Jeff Winternheimer, CEO Ms. Alita Bezanis, COO Ms. Theodora Petrakopoulos, Marketing Coordinator
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Winternheimer, CEO
Number of Employees


Business Category

Chiropractors D.C. Health & Fitness Program Consultants Health & Wellness Physical Therapists Rehabilitation Services Health & Medical - General Pain Management Services Offices of Chiropractors (NAICS: 621310)

Additional Locations

  • 3115 North Wilke Rd #A & B

    Arlington Heights, IL 60004 (224) 795-5700


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/11/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used this physical theory for several months. I owe them money because they fixed my back. However, I signed a contract that states I would pay $25 a visit, otherwise I would not have gone. I knew I could not afford anything else. When I continuously asked for a break down of visits, to see where I was at in what I had paid and what I owed. I was told it is ok, if you were told $25 than that is what you will owe. I never got a break down as requested several times. As I near the end of my treatment, I get a bill for almost $3000. In my calculations at $25 a visit, I owe about $800. I was lied too several times, and never given my amounts though out my treatment as requested. A side note I was also never told that some of my insurance was nearing the maximum. I had several visit, but they did not tell me they were separately charging for PT and the Doctor, which my insurance did no allow. There are also a few payments, that I have documentation for, that I keep telling the billing and they do not adjust their bills.

Desired Settlement: I want to pay the $25 for the visits that was originally agreed upon. It comes to about $775, if my calculations are correct.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/05/01) */ We have looked into the account and it took some time for the insurance company to process all of the claims submitted. Once that was completed, her bill was adjusted down to our agreement that matches what the patient expects to pay. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 14, 2015/05/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I have not received a new bill yet, but if they say they are going to honor it, I will be satisfied and remove my complaint. I will re-open otherwise. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2015/05/07) */ I called and spoke with the patient today, and explained the bill has been adjusted to her expected amount. I asked her in which manner she would like to have me send her the statement, and she asked me to put it in the mail. I am mailing statement out to her this afternoon. I thanked her. Mailed statement to her home address which she confirmed. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 18, 2015/05/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) This is acceptable and I tried to remove my complaint but an unable. How do I with draw it?