BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Chiro One Wellness Centers of Chicago

Find a Location

Phone: (630) 560-5431Fax: (312) 564-5419View Additional Phone Numbers2625 Butterfield Rd Ste 301N, Oak BrookIL 60523-1266 Send email to Chiro One Wellness Centers of Chicago View Additional Web Addresses

! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Chiro One Wellness Centers of Chicago is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

BBB serving , maintains a report on this company's headquarters location. Please visit for details or call .

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues3
Problems with Product / Service5
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Chiro One Wellness Centers of Chicago

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (9)BBB Closure Definitions
05/09/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a Groupon for Chiro One in June 2013. After completed the services provided by the Groupon offer I decided to proceed with more long term treatment. The doctor recommend a treatment plan that was almost a year long. The doctor then reviewed with me the detailed financial breakdown of the plan. She stated what amount what covered by my insurance, she then detailed the amount she could "gift" to me and the balance left over. The total amount left over after Gifts and Insurance was $1000. Which I paid via Care Credit. I told her I was interviewing for a job out of state and I may need to cancel. She mentioned that if I had to cancel the unused amount would be credited back to me. I only received treatment for approximately 30 days. After that I relocated to Michigan for a new job. I was willing to continue treatment on weekends but unfortunately their office is only open on weekdays.

Chiro One billed my insurance almost $1000 for the treatments I received but also continued to **** me $1000. The $1000 commitment I was asked to pay was for the full treatment plan, not a partial plan which I received.

I have asked their office to prorate the amount and process a refund since I did not complete the full treatment plan. I have received no response.

Desired Settlement
$1000 credited back to Care Credit Account

Business Response
Hello, My apologies for the delay in response. Due to the usual recipient of these issues being out on FMLA it was not forwarded. I only received notification of this complaint on Monday, February 10. Please accept the below information as our response.

This patient agreed to pay a total of $1000 through Care Credit (GE Capital)for her treatment plan. During the patient's treatment period of 06/06/13 - 07/17/13 she received a total of $3640 in treatment and her insurance indicated to us that there would be no further coverage. The amount due in this case was for co-insurances, deductibles, and non-covered services. So we were not able to provide the patient a refund.

The patient disputed the charge with GE Capital/Care Credit as well, and it was resolved in favor of Chiro One on October 30th, 2013.

If the patient's records are not in agreement with the aforementioned, please have them resubmit and we will be happy to research on their behalf.

We apologize for any miscommunication and wish the patient well.

We hope this satisfies all the questions and concerns, but do contact us with anything further.
Thank you!


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The $1000 was the balance owed after insurance. The insurance paid 100% of the care provided. I was told that the $1000 was the remaining balance for a year of treatment. I did not complete treatment so this amount should be prorated.

Final Business Response
All requested documentation has been sent to the patient's insurance company. Chiro One is now awaiting insurance claims to finalize. Should you need further updates on these claims, please contact your insurance company directly.

Thank you!

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I contacted the insurance company. They confirmed that they sent over ten notices to the River North location requesting them to complete the proper application. They also confirmed that no response or request for funds was sent to them. The insurance company said Chiro One did not complete the required paperwork to process the claim.

Can you please contact the insurance company and send them all requested documents so that you can receive full payment but so I can also be refunded.

Thanks!

04/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Was informed at time of starting service that I could request a refund at any time for sessions not used. I have attempted to contact main client service office several times since November 2013 but am only sent to a voicemail. Rather than calling me back, the company will only send me a survey regarding service satisfaction. I have still not received my refund for the sessions I did not use.

Desired Settlement
I am looking for a cash refund on the sessions I did not use.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *******, Patient A
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@chiroone.net
We apologize for any confusion. A letter was mailed by Chiro One Wellness Center's billing department, dated November 25, 2013, to the address we have on file for Ms. ********. The letter detailed that her account had been reviewed, but that a refund was not available. Our records indicate $3075.00 in services were received and that the patient paid $1235.00 out of pocket. Records do show that the patient met her contractual patient portion/out of pocket - due for contractual patient portion/out of pocket - due for coinsurances, deductibles and any non-covered services. Therefore her account is at a $0.00 balance.

If the patient's records are not in agreement with the aforementioned, please submit copies of the records to us that substantiate the claim and we will be happy to research on the patient's behalf.

We will also re-send the letter to Ms. ******** via mail.

Thank you, and we hope this helps answer any questions you may have.

08/12/2013Billing / Collection Issues
07/22/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
06/27/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Signed up for 24 sessions of chiropractic adjustments. The out of pocket expense, after insurance, was quoted to be 600. I went to three sessions and then they closed the office overnight. I was charged 522 for just the three sessions. When I called to complain was just passed around from customer service voice mail to other voice mails and no one would help. ****** *******, patient advocate, even said that they cannot give me a refund because they would be accused of insurance fraud if they did. To date they still refuse to refund my money. You call and they don't pick up the phone.

Desired Settlement
my $520 back and that they don't charge my insurance since i believe that would be unethical and fraudulent.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Our billing department and our patient advocate each made several attempts at explaining to the patient that the payment he agreed to and was ultimately charged for, was for his patient out of pocket responsibility, which includes, deductible, co-pay/coinsurance and other non-covered services. In this case, the patient had a high deductible that prevented a full refund.
If the patient's records are not in agreement with the aforementioned, please submit complete copies of the records to substantiate a claim. We'll be happy to investigate on his behalf.
We hope this answers all of the questions the patient has and wish him very well.
Thank you!

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The agreement was that I was going to pay $600 for 24 sessions. I only had 3 and they charge me $520. The reason I had 3 is that they closed down the office. So it is their fault I couldn't finish. Obviously the first sessions are more expensive to me because I have not met my deductible with the insurance company. I UNDERSTAND THAT. I feel terrible that I even have to explain this, because its coming down to their level, when I know its clear and obvious, they are only pretending not to get it to rob me, but here it goes with an example to make it as scammers proof as possible: I rent an apartment for $1,000 per month, and after the first weekend the landlord decides to demo the building while I'm out at work. When I ask for a refund the landlord tells me that I stayed in the appratment for 2 days, but those two days are labor day weekend days so they cost 450 per night. So my original agreement was 1,000 for 30 days ($33 per night), but I get kicked out after only two days and end up paying $450 per night? Now if you people from Chiro One can't see why this is a problem and why it's a perfect analogy to what you did to me, then you are just crooks trying to talk your way out of a pretty obvious fraud.
They are the ones that rescinded our original agreement by closing down their office!! If I had been allowed to finish the treatment I would have paid $25 per session ($600/24 sessions) I only did 3 sessions because of them, and now I have to pay $173 per session? NO!
This is a SCAM, just Google them and you'll find hundreds of negative complaints all over the web. I have filed a complaint with the Illinois Attorney General and was informed that they have many other complaints. You won't get away with this. And if I never see my money again, at least I'll make sure I spread the word as much as I can about your company and your practices. Companies like yours is the reason the health care system is broken and we have to pay high insurance premiums. You should be ashamed of yourselves, bill insurances hundreds of dollars for having patients sit on a wobbly chair for 5 minutes!! Shame on you.
And by the way, you want ME to submit the patients records?? you should have that! and i have asked for them repeatedly. so PLEASE SUBMIT THE MY RECORDS SO EVERYONE CAN SEE.

Final Business Response
Chiro One has repeatedly explained to Mr.******* that the charges he is disputing are based on the amount he agreed to pay towards his deductible/co-pays and co-insurance. This is based on the information we obtained directly from his insurance company at the time of verification. Once again, if he or his insurance company have records that are not in agreement, they may submit copies to us and we will be happy to investigate. We sincerely wish Mr. ******* well and hope this answers his questions. Thank you!

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
they have no shame. period. I did not agree to pay 200 per session. and i'm not going to waste more time trying to explain something to someone with no moral standards and who clearly is set on lying. I hope this company goes out of business soon so they cant scam more people.

08/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
July 27 entered in severe pain and was told we can help. The brochure said Chiro One was approved and a member of BBB. I had a Groupon for 4 visits for $25.00 Was told will "not accept Groupon or medicare". Medicare lists "Chiro One as not a service provided" Being in pain I was told I would have immediate refeif. Was given a e-xray and told to come back in the AM I questioned the phase I "would have immediate relief" and asked by I had to come back in the AM for treatment. I was went home and check with medicare I called and cancelled the program. I have confirmation. I was promised a refund of the Groupon and other charges . I asked for a copy f the x-ray if they wanted payment. No refund and copy of the xray was received. When call customer service I was told I would have an answer in 48 hours. When I faxed my cancellation I received a call saying I would have a refund and a copy of he xray No refunds have been received or x-ray has been received. I have several document that I can fax to support this demand for total refund and $25.00 of the Groupon.

Desired Settlement
Void by $250.00 charge to Discover card refund my $25.00 Groupon fee and a copy of he x-ray so I can prove there was no damage what so ever to my back as described by the person who treated me to back up my claim that I was taken advantage of
I also feel that Chiro One should not place on it brochures they are a member of BBB when in fact the company is not. I trust BBB and was disappointed
***** *****

08/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Attempted to cancel appointments after being told that I could cancel them at any point for a refund. Have sent multiple emails and left messages regarding a refund of the $40.00 since I do no longer wish to use the service after reading multiple bad reviews about ChiroOne being a scam. Still have not received a refund and seem to be getting nowhere.

Desired Settlement
Would just like the $40.00 refund plus an apology for not responding to the request.

07/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a package of 24 chiropractic visits and only used 13 due to a surgery and their office closure in North *********** Their alternate locations are not convenient. I called and asked about a refund and was told a credit would be posted to my ******** card. It has not. I called back twice more, was forwarded to the Accounting Department, and twice left voice messages since they do not pick up the phone. On the message a return call is promised withing 24-48 business hours. No call backs have been received. I would like my refund.
Product_Or_Service: chiropractic services

Desired Settlement
immediate credit to my ******** card for the 11 unused visits

07/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was receiving chiropractic care from Chiro One Wellness Center in ****** *** In March, Chiro One closed all of their offices in ****** To this day I am still being charged $197 monthly to my credit card for services I am not receiving. Once again, this is since March, amount is now totaling $788. I have called corporate offices for Chiro One Wellness Centers and cannot get an answer as to why I am still being charged for services that are not rendered. I've called repeatedly. I have requested a refund and for the draft to discontinue. No luck. Left voicemails on every extension possible, even spoke I have called numerous times asking for ****** ******* (billing) who is supposed to directly handle patient accounts, but no response from her. Also, I've spoken to ****** (via instant chat on Chiro's corporate site) where she informed me **** was gathering the information I needed. Still have not heard back on my refund. This has been going on for almost 4 months. I'm desperate to have my money back.
Product_Or_Service: Chiropractic Care

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund dating back to March. Also, compensated $200 for inconvenience fees and interest that has been paid to my credit card company.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Chiropractors D.C., Medical Service Organizations, Health & Medical - General, Health & Wellness

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/08/2007Business started: 01/01/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joe Milano (Director of Accounting)Customer Contact: Ms. Maggie Johnson (Patient Advocate)Dr. Stuart Bernsen (CEO)Mr. Bill Budig (Chief Information Officer)
Business Category

Chiropractors D.C., Medical Service Organizations, Health & Medical - General, Health & Wellness

Alternate Business Names
Chiro One Wellness Centers, LLC
Industry Tips
Contracts
LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 2210 Camden Court 

    Oak Brook, IL 60523-1272

  • 2625 Butterfield Rd Ste 301N 

    Oak Brook, IL 60523-1266(630) 908-3984
    (630) 560-5431
    (630) 560-6506
    (630) 560-5446
    Fax: (312) 564-5419
    Fax: (312) 564-5419
    Fax: (312) 564-5419
    Fax: (312) 564-5419

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Chiro One Wellness Centers of Chicago is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (630) 908-3984
  • (630) 560-6506
  • (630) 560-5446
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Chiropractors D.C.

Contracts
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

According to information in BBB files, this company is no longer in business. If you have an unresolved dispute with this company you may wish to seek legal advice.

If you are the owner and/or President of this company and the information regarding your company being out of business is not correct, please click this link http://app.chicago.bbb.org/updatecompany.

If you are a consumer and you have information about the company having moved to a different location, please e-mail us at info@chicago.bbb.org

On January 7, 2015, the BBB was notified of a trust agreement and assignment for the benefit of creditors. The company executed this assignment in order to provide for payments of its debts from remaining assets.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.