BBB Accredited Business since

Chicago Neck & Back Institute

Phone: (773) 237-8660 Fax: (773) 237-3159 5700 W. Fullerton Ave., Chicago, IL 60639 http://www.chicagoneckandback.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Chicago Neck & Back Institute meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Chicago Neck & Back Institute include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Chicago Neck & Back Institute
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 30, 1997 Business started: 03/01/1983 Business started locally: 03/01/1983 Business incorporated 02/14/1994 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Cathy Hasenkamp, Office Mgr. Dr. Gerard Cicero, Director
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Cathy Hasenkamp, Office Mgr.
Business Category

Chiropractors D.C. Offices of Chiropractors (NAICS: 621310)

Additional Information

This offers a 24 hour pager 312 365 2884.


Additional Locations

  • 5700 W. Fullerton Ave.

    Chicago, IL 60639

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I saw Dr. ****** ****** 12 times between 6/13/11 and 8/1/11 for 12 chripractic and therapy visits. The first 8 were paid in full with no balance to me. The last 4 were denied either for not being medically necessary or untimely filing. This is part of the contractural agrement with the insurance when you are a participating doctor, which at the time he was. I had been sent numerous bills. I had tried to contact his office, leaving messages for his biller on 4/17/13, 4/23/13, 4/28/13 and 9/5/13. I was never called back. When I would call about the bill I was put to her extension and left a message with my phone number. In Dec 2013 I called ***** the manager and was not at a place I could talk so I said I would call back, I did not leave a number. I called back again and spoke to ***** saying I had gotten collection letter saying they were turning it over to a lawyer. I mentioned I had tried to call the biller with no return messages. She was extremelly unpleasant, yelling at me and made the problem out to be mine. When I mentioned that they had been paid for 8 of my visits, she said this was now with a lawyer and there would be no further discussion. I got a letter from their lawyer on 1/2/14, with a week to contact him for a debt of $2731.37. This dollar amount amount exceed the original charges I incurred with the 12 visits. Apparently a motion or judgement has been filed, I will be served and a court appearance will be necessary. I now will have to incur the expense of legal representation. I believe he is not honoring the contract with the insurance company of not balance billing the patient after the contracted amount has been paid. This is a clear violation of the participating provider contract. He is over billing by charging be $2731.37 in light of the fact he has already been paid. He is not supposed to bill twice. This is against the contractural agreement and he is not honoring the contactural agreement with the insurance company. This has caused me a tremendous amount of stress.

Desired Settlement: Cease and desist all legal action and cancel the balance in full as it has been processed or paid per contract.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/05) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** offcie mgr Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******@aol.com 2/5/14i talked spoke to denise at cigna for 1 hour and 40 minutes bourbonnis office we went thru every visit. cigna informed me that some visits were paid 6/13/11-6/29/11. i have no eobs in the file that state they were paid denise said she would fax them to me. the last 4 visits were all denied due to being non medically necessary. these dates were from 7/11/11-8/1/11. cigna sent the patient a letter about this on 1/22/13. these 4 visits equal 965.00. cigna made notes in their file. i called our attorney nate lawrence to change the total owed. i am still waiting for fax from cigna and we will adjust the file. i also called the pateint to let her know i did all this. and i told her she will owe us 965.00 plus costs.i also was informed from cigna that this patient has a 52 week processing policy meaning they do not pay for medical care for up to 52 weeks after getting bills. i was not rude to patient as she stated maybe frustrated with her comments but not rude.dealing with collections matter i have to be tough i have been employed here for over 30 years. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/02/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The important thing to remember in all this, a provider charged a fee, billed Cigna as a participating provider. Cigna paid for visits 8 visits, 6/13-6/29/11 at 100%, no balance due from patient.Checks were cashed by the provider for these dates. I as the patient was re-billed for 6/13-6/29/11, these services paid for by Cigna. The raises a flag on this company. They are not allowed as per Cigna contract to balance bill a patient after Cigna has paid at 100%. I was billed FOR THE ENTIRE AMOUNT OR MORE, OVER $2700.00. I tried to speak to the biller several times and Kathy the manager lastly ,she told me this was now with a lawyer and did not want to talk.I already had the information that Cigna paid but they would not hear it. The entire bill was then sent to collection with a lawyer for $2731.37, plus attorney/collection costs. In addition I have had to incur attorney fees to represent me. After I spent many hours on the phone with Cigna, I was told this provider was paid at 100% for 8 visits from 6/13- 6/29/11, I was given check numbers & amounts. I tried numerous times to contact the billing person to resolve before bringing this to the 30 year office manager,Kathy. On 2/5/14 Kathy the manager called me, she had talked to Cigna telling them she "had no eobs in the file". That is not my fault and no reason for me to incur attorney fees. They would fax the eobs them to her. The checks were cashed by this office. I don't believe that would be my fault if eob's are not in their file. The office should know what is going on in their office. They now want me to pay for services from 7/11-8/1/11 that were denied by Cigna for lack of medical necessity PLUS attorney costs. When I was getting treatment for the last few days, after 7/1/11, I questioned Kathy about the insurance covering this type of therapy, she said they would bill the insurance and if they did not pay I could pay $50.00 per visit. I believe I went 4 times and discontinued seeing this provider.I question what is not medically necessary in July & August that was necessary and paid in June. I do not believe I am responsible for any collection fees having made attempts to settle this without escalating collection matters. If the last few visits are my responsibility, I should pay $50.00 each visit only and not be held responsible for the attorney or collection choices they made on a matter that could have been settled reasonably considering the not having EOBS was not my mistake or problem. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/02/19) */ after talking to cigna aa a courtesy to the patient i called her and told her what was going on. cigna said she is responsible for the last 4 visits 965.00. period.at the time of the phone call the patient never brought up anything about 50.00 . the patient called me on 2/17/14 asking be about a bill and mentioned something about paying 50.00 i told her i had no clue what she was talking about plus she asked for a new bill tto give her attorney ancel glink diamond bush dicianni and krafthefer XXX XXX XXXX which is representing her for a workers comp that she is trying to get bills paid for. it sounds as thou this was a work injury to her knee that her back got aggravated from using crutches and that is why she came her, she tried to put this thru her health ins while she was getting therapy at another place" quote that is what she told me that is the reason they probalby did not pay because she was getting therapy at two places" but i find it odd that she wants me to drop everything all charges but she wants bills given to her attorney so they can be included in her lawsuit. it sounds like she wants me to forget our bills but wants bills to go to her attorney to be included in lawsuit. in reference to the eobs the patient never provided them to us either which she could of at anytime too. this could of all been put to rest if the patient would be responsible for her bills and her care. in our offcie policy the patient signed on 6.13.11 it states that " it would be understood that all services furnished are charged directly to the patient who is personally responsible for payment. as a courtesy we will accept insurance but if insurance does not pay our center within 3 months of the date from which it was submitted the patient will be responsible for the entire balance. an automatic fee of 50.00 is directly added to accounts that are turned over to out collection acency in the event legal action is required to collect our monies all attorney fees shall be added to patients account." and again i must remind you that the patient signed this on 6/13/11. this should answer all her questions and at no time did she question any of these policies when she signed it. only problems come up now when she owes us money!

8/2/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues