Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Maximum Chimney Service

Additional Locations

Phone: (630) 543-5779 Fax: (630) 543-5649 View Additional Phone Numbers 599 N Edgewood Ave, Wood Dale, IL 60191 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.maximumchimneyservices.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Maximum Chimney Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Maximum Chimney Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Maximum Chimney Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 08, 2009 Business started: 09/16/2008 in IL Business started locally: 09/16/2008 Business incorporated 10/14/2008 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Cook County General Information
118 N Clark St, Chicago IL 60602
http://www.co.cook.il.us
Phone Number: (312) 443-5500

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Judd, President/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Judd, President/Owner
Business Category

Chimney Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Chimney Builders & Repair Other Services to Buildings and Dwellings (NAICS: 561790)

Alternate Business Names
All Tuit, Ltd. Maximum Chimney Services, Inc.
Products & Services

This business offers: Fireplace Sweep, Furnace Flue Sweep, Dryer Vent Sweep, Air Duct Cleaning, Chimney Repair, Chimney Rebuild, Chimney Liner, Chimney Cover, Fireplace Repair, Smoke Problem, Water Leak, Skylight Repair.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Maximum Chimney Service has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid in full by credit card. The company never returned to place the screen to cover chimney opening. He stated on 4/25/15 that he would return ASAP. Once credit card charges disputed and revoked by ne, I heard from the company requesting to come an install the cover on May 2nd, 2015.

Desired Settlement: requesting the payment of 334.85 be returned to my credit card

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 10, 2015/06/16) */ Mr. **** ******** returned call to let me know that the business contacted him and he requested we close the complaint. 06/16/2015 ***

2/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 5 they came out and removed the new damper and said that it was not the right damper and that they would install a different one that would prevent the smoke smell from coming in the house. I have been waiting for two months and called their office a number of times before they finally came out today, 11/8/2014. They came out and installed the chain but they did not have the new damper to be installed. I called their office three times and I asked to speak to the owner. They told me that she would contact the technician and call right back but no owne call

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded $406 for the new damper that I paid for and also I would like the old damper returned and installed back in my fireplace.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2015/01/23) */ 1/22/15 We are waiting on a response from the customer. We have tried to contact the customer multiple times to resolve this issue and make sure the customer is taken care of. NOTE FROM THE BBB: In an effort to expedite the resolution of your complaint, please contact the business as requested. Please confirm that this has been done and update us on the outcome of the conversation. ***** ****** Assistant Manager-Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 15, 2015/01/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) He never try to contact me or show any concern about the quality of the job that they did in my house, they came and installed my old demper back but I never got the refund from my new damper that I pay $409 Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2015/02/06) */ Maximum chimney services has tried numerous times to get in touch with Ms. *******. No response back. We will be issuing a check for the full amount owed. We also sealed her chimney crown ,flashing the side of her chimney and also put on a new stainless steel chimney cover. That amount is usually over $600 which we did for free.

11/12/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I scheduled a chimney sweep with this company. The tech told me I had the wrong type of gas starter tube and the pipe hole needed to be sealed. The tech took 3 hours to cut pipe off and re-thread it and installed new tube. Job should have taken 1/2 hour. Charged me $654.85. Then told me tube was to long but he didn't have right one. Said he would be back. Called a couple of days later and told me to call and schedule appointment. I did on Monday and had appointment for Wednesday from 8-12. At 1:00 I called and asked where tech was. They then told me appointment wasn't till the next week first thing. At10:30 I called and again told me I was not on schedule. Product_Or_Service: fireplace service

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I just want the correct part and the rest of the work done that I paid for.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/27) */ The technician that came out did so as requested, for a service call, for a fireplace sweep and inspection, upon the inspection, the technician noticed the gas starter pipe was the wrong size and quoted the customer on a new pipe. The customer was informed that the part was back ordered and we would not have it in for a week or so. The technician took longer than usual because it was a complicated set up and he took his time to ensure the customer had everything done correctly and safely, and to ensure maximum service. We have called the customer 3-4 times to rectify the situation with no response. We cannot do anything about this without a response from her customer.

2/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: had company come to inspect chimney. told them it was not cleaned for 14 yrs. they cleaned and said it needed more things adding up to over $8000.00 in costs. Pd to have cleaned and told them to leave. Had 2 other companies come by & they said it would be a disservice to only clean and they would do a roto-clean since they could see the heavy build up. Other company did the roto-clean- saw no other problems were there that maximum chimney said would have to be done. I have called them 6 times and wanted to speak to owner- no one calls me back- i wanted a refund since the service they performed was not the correct one and they were only trying to take advantage by saying it needed more than it really did need. spke to ****** ********, ****, over and over- they said they would send out a ck - never received. Called them again- person would call us back- again , no response.

Desired Settlement: want my refund of $115.85 sent to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/17) */ Contact Name and Title: ************ Manager Contact Phone: XXXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@maxchim.com Our company was hired to do a chimney sweep. We went out and preformed the services we were hired for. Once the technician started sweeping the chimney he noticed that it needed to be roto-cleaned. That is after he removed a quarter inch thickness of soot from the chimney. Most of the time you cannot tell if it needs to be roto-cleaned until you sweep it. The customer was informed that a roto-cleaning was needed;as stated on paperwork. Other services suggested were worst case scenario since we could not get onto the roof and the roto-cleaning was not done. On the invoice it stated "maybe" work needed. If customer wants to dismiss complaint we will refund the amount paid. Customer hired us for a standard fireplace sweep and that's what we did. INVALID COMPLAINT. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 15, 2014/02/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) received ck for $115.85 feb. 18th. This was the resolution we wanted from the beginning and we were not able to get it until the BBB became involved. Sorry it had to come to that to be resolved. The company did promise us previously to refund our money but did not follow through until we filed this complaint. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/02/15) */ A check was sent out Feb 14th NOTE FROM THE BBB: Please hold off on your response pending receipt of the check. Please confirm receipt. ***** ****** Assistant Manager-Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Maximum Chimney Service
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart