Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Lindemann Chimney Service

Phone: (847) 918-7994 Fax: (847) 549-7995 View Additional Phone Numbers 110 Albrecht Dr, Lake Bluff, IL 60044 http://www.lindemannchimneyservice.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lindemann Chimney Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lindemann Chimney Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lindemann Chimney Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 30, 1997 Business started: 09/01/1969 Business started locally: 09/01/1969 Business incorporated 08/22/1985 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert Lindemann, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Lindemann, CEO
Business Category

Chimney Cleaning Chimney Builders & Repair Other Services to Buildings and Dwellings (NAICS: 561790)

Alternate Business Names
Lindemann Chimney Service, Inc

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Placed $200 deposit for a new chase cap/top which was quoted for $1200. On October 15, 2015 same tech removed chase cap/top and brought it to the ground, I inspected the metal and other than some surface rust there were no defects in the surface. I pointed it out to the tech and he advised it was company policy to advise homeowner to replace the cap/top if rust was present. The tech started the installation process and I called the company wanting to speak to the owner. I was directed to the company president and I advised him of the deceptive practice in replacing a cap/top the was structurally sound. I advised him I would be taking the old cap/top to a friend who is a metallurgist for a report on its integrity. The president became defensive and told his tech to put the old cap/top back on. He was very abrupt and refused to discuss the situation any further. The tech spoke to the president then replaced the old cap/top. I told the tech to use a new collar around the pipe since the old one was damaged during the removal process. He did so and finished the work. However when i asked him if he caulked around the new collar he replied yes even tho he did not come down from the roof with a caulking gun. He quickly removed his ladder and drove away from the house without saying a word. I feel this company uses deceptive practices for unneeded repairs. I do not believe the reinstallation of my old parts were done correct as no caulking was done to prevent water from entering. The company president was abrupt and did not allow me to come to an agreement with my $200 deposit when I mentioned a civil suit and criminal home repair fraud.

Desired Settlement: An inspection and photographic proof the caulking and reinstallation was done correctly. Refund on my $200 deposit for work that was never needed.

Business Response: The customer had second thoughts on repairs and we replaced the original chase top at his request.  The deposit was fully refunded on 10/14/15 and an install crew has been scheduled to verify the original cover was correctly reattached.

Consumer Response:

 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10886637, and had my deposit refunded.  The service rep came out and properly caulked the chase cap.  However this company attempted to complete unneeded repairs in the amount of $1200.00.  I will never deal with this company again.  I thank the BBB for their assistance in this matter as the company president was rude and had no customer service skills.

Sincerely,

Ted Adamczyk


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Lindemann Chimney Service
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)