Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Early Times Home Solutions

Phone: (630) 629-2090 Fax: (630) 620-3172 View Additional Phone Numbers 960 N Industrial Dr Ste 7, Elmhurst, IL 60126 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.earlytimeshomesolutions.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Early Times Home Solutions meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Early Times Home Solutions include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

13 Customer Reviews on Early Times Home Solutions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 13
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 13

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 08, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1985 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/1985 Business incorporated 01/15/1991 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Melvin Kahn, President Mrs. Anne Kahn, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Melvin Kahn, President
Business Category

Chimney Cleaning Gutters & Downspouts Contractor - Insulation Mason Contractors Tuck Pointing Awnings & Canopies Fireplace Equipment - Retail Other Services to Buildings and Dwellings (NAICS: 561790)

Products & Services

Early Times Home Solutions sells the following brand(s): Americana Awningsa, HY-C Chimney Covers, Lock-Top Dampers , M-FLEX Chimney Liners, Owens Corning propink L77 insulation, Rasmussen Gas Logs, Regency Stoves, Sunsetter Awnings

Method(s) of Payment

We accept visa, mastercard, discover check and cash.

For larger jobs we also have a financing program available through Wells Fargo

Refund and Exchange Policy
Our refund and exchange policy is very flexible.  We honor the Illinois Consumer Rights 3 day right of Cancellation.  Even if it is beyond the three days we will often honor a cancellation.  ON special order items we generally will not provide a refund upon cancellation.
Alternate Business Names
La Cheminee, Inc.
Products & Services

This company offers Residential Awnings


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Early Times Home Solutions has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 960 N Industrial Dr Ste 7

    Elmhurst, IL 60126

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/22/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There are several areas of the roof that water overflows the gutters. Pointed these out to the salesman. He proposed a solution which included replacement of a section of gutter to put a larger gutter in, to remove the leave barrier foam and to put gutter caps on that same section, to add downspout extensions from the upper roof to the lower roof gutters, to add diverters to distribute water over a larger area, and to seal the seams in several corner joints that are leaking. This contract was signed on Sept 13, 2013 for $4329 and work was to be completed in about 2 weeks. The contract is fairly general, and when I questioned the specific scope of work, the salesman said he would communicate and provide more specific direction to the repair crew, so that they knew exactly what work needed to be done to resolve the problems. The first repair attempts didn't happen for about 4 weeks, and at that point, only a gutter cap, down spout extensions and a couple diverters were installed. The same problems still exist however, even in a light rain. After many (probably 12-15) phone calls to this business, and almost a year later, no further work has been completed. Multiple times, I have been told a crew would come out and then they did not show up. Multiple times I have been promised a return phone call, and have not received one. Most recently, a tradesman from the company came to view the problems. He said he would talk to his boss, ****, and that **** would call me the following morning on June 3. I have still not heard from **** or this company. All I want is the problems that I initially showed the salesman and described to him, to be resolved.

Desired Settlement: Either fix the problems that I initially called about, or provide me with a full refund. The work that has been completed thus far has not helped resolve the overflow problems.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/06/23) */ On 9/9/13 we were contracted to complete services at *** W ******* in *********** On 9/25/13 our crew completed the work per the contract. On one large lower section we installed new 5" gutters and 4" over-sized downspouts with new leaf protection. We removed the customers existing gutters,downspouts and foam leaf protection in those areas. We were also contracted to add downspout extensions from the upper roof to the lower gutter and to install diverters to help with any overflow problems on certain areas of the home. On 10/29/13 we received a call from the customer saying that he was still having issues with overflow in some areas of the home. Our manager **** **** went to the home and diagnosed the problems that remained, some of those were part of the contract and others were not part of the original contract. As it was late in the season we discussed with the home owner doing the repairs in the spring. Some of the over flow problems are clogged foam in some areas of the lower and upper gutters that were not replaced, gutters that are not properly pitched and the need for additional valley diverters. The customer called us on June 4th of this year. **** sent our installers to the home that day to verify and go over what we could do to resolve the issues. The installers met with the customer and then **** talked to the customer on several occasions. He arranged with the customer to have the installers return once **** got back from vacation. It was at that point that we received the BBB complaint. We are still willing to try and resolve these issues. Some of these repairs will be no charge but other repairs not part of the original contract will need to be charged. Please have the customer call us to let us know how to proceed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2014/06/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As I mentioned in my initial complaint. This is not a question of whether the scope of work on the contract is complete. The scope of work was developed by the salesman who convinced me that this scope of work would solve my roof drainage problems. And the scope involved some very expensive gutter caps replacing the current leaf barrier foam that I already had in place. He assured me that this would handle a much higher volume of water. It doesn't. And my overflow problems still exist. The company response makes it sound like they have been very responsive. They do not reference the countless numbers of calls I have made to them for resolution, of which only a fraction were returned. This is another significant frustration for a customer, as a reasonable person would begin to believe that this company is avoiding this issue, and will not make good on it's promises. Most recently, **** told me he would have to talk to his boss regarding resolution and that the individual was out of town, and he wouldn't be able to get back in contact with me until June 10. And as of today, June 24, I still have not heard back from him, only his response to the BBB complaint which I filed on the 12th, two days after he was supposed to contact me with the results of his discussion with his boss. On the phone, **** has always been very courteous and responsive. To repeat myself, this is not an execution of scope issue. It's the fact that the initial problems still exist and I paid this company $4300+ to resolve them. **** is responsible of scope execution, so I believe that dealing with him is not going to resolve this unless he has authority to add necessary scope to resolve the problems. Unfortunately, the salesman has probably misdiagnosed the problem and therefore, created the wrong scope of work. I was crystal clear with the salesman that I wasn't going to tell him how best to fix the problem. This was their company's expertise. I was willing to go with his recommendation, and he assured me that if it didn't resolve it, that they would make the necessary modifications. I want them to do as they said. Final Business Response /* (4000, 27, 2014/08/18) */ On Friday 8/15/14 our technicians returned to the clients home and made several repairs and modifications that were discussed by Mr ******* with **** **** earlier in the month. As of this point I believe that we have satisfied the client and trust that there will be no further issues with the installation. Thank you *** **** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2014/07/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Thank you for your willingness to meet and discuss the problems. The telephone number you stated is the best contact number for me. I will be available all day on Friday.

6/20/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am in the process of selling ***********nd I scheduled Early Times Home Solutions to come and clean two chimney's in my home; with this service Early Times informed me that they would also ensure both of my fireplaces were functional. Two (2) staff members from Early Times, named **** and ******** came out to my home at 8:30 a.m. on Saturday May 3rd, 2014. They first cleaned my family room fireplace, which is wood burning with a gas start. This chimney and fireplace were noted to be functional. **** then went onto the roof to check that our chimney's were not in need of repair. He came back down to inform me of 3 additional repairs that he claimed needed to be done to the chimney's on my roof. They included 'pre-cast mortor wash is cracking on both fireplaces and furnace- costing $304.00' (the furnace chimney was not asked to be cleaned/inspected); 'chim scan both fireplaces to verify condition of systems'; and 'need to install a top plate over aluminum liner on furnace chimney to properly support liner- $100' (again, the furnace chimney was not asked to be cleaned/inspected). However, the people in which are buying my home just had a home inspection in Mid April 2014, and these necessary needed repairs were not noted. **** also noted these suggested repairs on the receipt that he gave me. When I gave the receipt to my real estate attorney, since it is needed for the sale of our home, my attorney was not pleased. He contacted Early Times Home Solutions to ask them to provide a receipt of completion that included, only, the work that had been agreed upon to be done. They refused. When **** was finished on the roof, he and ******* began to clean the 2nd fireplace, which is in my living room. This fireplace is a gas fireplace. **** and ******* cleaned this fireplace, and then **** informed me that he could not get the gas fireplace to light. He stated that it was not functional and needed to be fixed. When I asked him what needed to be fixed he told me that the valve on the gas unit was broken. He stated that typically when a fireplace is not used for a long period of time the valve becomes full of moisture and as a result will not be functional. I asked him what the cost was to replace the valve. He informed me that it is a couple hundred dollars to replace the valve, but that he could not replace the valve on our unit because he does not know who the manufacturer of the gas unit is. He stated that when replacing the valve on a gas unit you must replace it with the same manufacturer's valve. **** said that since he did not know the manufacturer, and could not replace the valve (that he said was broken), then I would have to replace the entire gas unit. When I asked him how much that cost, he informed me that it would cost $1400. I was in shock, and told him that I would get back to him. Immediately my husband called another chimney and fireplace company, and over the phone- they informed my husband that it is unlikely that the entire unit needs to be replaced, but even if it did the cost would be $550 ($400 for the unit and $150 for the service). After a few days I called and scheduled an appointment with this other company my had husband contacted. The other company came out on Tuesday May 13th, 2014. They were in our home for approximately 20 minutes. They listened to the information my husband gave them, looked at the fireplace, cleaned out the pilot and the valve, and amazingly the unit was functional! Not only was a new unit not needed, the other company we used read the serial number off the unit and informed my husband that IF we had needed a new valve all they would have to do is search the serial number- and they would be able to determine the manufacturer, and thus replace the valve for a minimal cost of no more that $150. It is quite obvious that Early Times lied about more than one service / repair that needed to be made in my home, in attempt to deceive me and make more money.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a refund of $288 for the chimney cleaning service that they provided. I am seeking this money because they stated that within their chimney cleaning they would ensure that both fireplaces were functional. They obviously did not completely clean the gas fireplace, because if they would have, they would have realized it was functional.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/06/09) */ BBB Case XXXXXXXX 1 message ****** **** <*******@sbcglobal.net> Fri, Jun 6, 2014 at 12:59 PM To: "*******@chicago.bbb.org" <*******@chicago.bbb.org> I apologize for the delay in responding to the above complaint. Our operations manager has been off ill for several weeks and we have all been working hard to keep up with the day to day. Here is our response to the issues noted in the complaint: We were contracted to sweep and inspect two fireplaces. ********* ********** wanted to ensure that the fireplaces were functional. We cannot ensure that the fireplaces are functional without performing a level two inspection which is the use of a camera system called a Chimscan. According to Eric our certified chimney sweep technician, Mrs. ********** stated that it was ok to write down any findings prior to the start of the inspection. . Nowhere on our work order did our technician **** state that the family room fireplace was functional. The term functional is not a standard term in the sweeping industry. **** recommended that both fireplaces be scanned with a specialized camera called a Chimscan to determine the condition of the liner and whether or not it can safely carry the by-products of combustion. The scan can detect if there are broken tiles, missing mortar joints, offsets or cracks. A visual inspection which is part of our standard sweeping process is not always sufficient to determine that the flue is safe to carry the combustibles. Chimscans are recommended whenever a property is changing hands. This is considered a level two inspection and is a standard recommended by NFPA 211 (National Fire Prevention Association) and recognized by the CSIA (Chimney Safety Institute of America) by which we abide. The customer did not agree to the chimscans . As part of our standard sweeping process and inspection we always examine each chimney on the property. In this case there were three chimney; living room fireplace, family room fireplace and furnace/water heater chimney. It is our practice to visually inspect at the roof top each of the venting systems in the home. It was after this inspection that we noted two different repairs that were needed. **** noted that the aluminum liner in the furnace chimney was not properly terminated at the top of the chimney. It required a top plate in order to secure the liner. As he found the liner, it was dangling freely in the flue. This situation is of concern and it is our duty as certified technicians to point it out to the homeowner. This was a small repair costing $100.00. He also noted that the cement crowns at the top of one fireplace and the furnace chimney were cracking and needed to be sealed to prevent water from entering and causing premature deterioration to the brick structure. This repair was quoted at $304.00 for both chimneys. With regard to the customer's real estate attorney, he called and asked us to modify our work order to reflect that only two sweepings were completed and not to include our other findings. This we felt was highly unethical and as a result we stated that we could not provide what he requested. We never change a company document to make it appear that we did not see what in fact was noted by our technician. In the case of the living room fireplace, the fireplace is a gas burning vent-less fireplace and it was swept and cleaned. According to our notes before the visit, the inspector stated that there was an issue with the unit not starting. In fact **** had no luck starting the pilot and recommended based on the age of the unit that it should be replaced. It has been our experience that even if the pilot valve can be made to work it will likely fail again. A new vent-less unit which is the type that was in the fireplace would cost approximately $1400.00. The other company quoted a figure of $550.00 for a vented unit and that would be for an entirely different sort of gas log unit. I understand that this company was able to start the unit and as a result I would be prepared to pay their service cost. Please have the homeowner mail the receipt and we will refund the cost for the work they did to get the unit operating.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

13 Customer Reviews on Early Times Home Solutions
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart