This business is not BBB accredited.

Chicago Chimney

Phone: (312) 942-0800 View Additional Phone Numbers 2118 W Cullerton St, Chicago, IL 60608 http://www.chicago-chimney.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Chicago Chimney include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Unauthorized use of BBB name or trademarks
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Chicago Chimney
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 21, 2010 Business started: 12/01/2007 Business started locally: 12/01/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Joel Gutierrez, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joel Gutierrez, President
Business Category

Chimney Cleaning Dryer Vent Cleaning Chimney Lining Materials Chimney Builders & Repair Carbon Monoxide Detecting Mason Contractors Roofing Contractors Tuck Pointing Brick - Clay - Common & Face Other Services to Buildings and Dwellings (NAICS: 561790)

Products & Services

This company offers:A wide variety of sevices including chimney cleaning/sweeping, Chimney repair, fireplace and furnace flue cleaning, tuckpointing, masonry restoration, brick replacement, raincap installation, energy efficiant dampers, chimney restoration and rebuilding,relining chimneys, and dryer vent cleaning.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Chicago Chimney has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of F.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2118 W Cullerton St

    Chicago, IL 60608 (312) 942-0800 (877) 841-0777 (312) 942-0122

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new ventless fireplace with a remote controlled ignition from Chicago Chimney Inc, August 28, 2014. After the company technician installed the fireplace, I paid the $2,034 cost by a **** credit card for which I have a receipt. I've used the fireplace and remote approximately thirty times. On my return to Chicago after several months absence I discovered that the remote was no longer functioning. The technician who was sent two weeks ago, said that I had to change the batteries for the remote mechanism. He said if the remote still didn't work he would return to make the repair. After changing the batteries, the remote still doesn't work. I've called the company at least five times in the past week to schedule their return for repairing the remote. No one at the company returns phone calls. On Monday, July 6,2015, I was finally able to reach someone who schedule the time for the repair for July 8, 2015 between 3:30 & 5:30 p.m. The technician never showed up, nor did I ever get a call from the anyone connected to the Company, even though I followed up with a reminder call at 5:15 p.m. I'm very frustrated with their lack of response and unprofessional behavior. Now I find out from the BBB website that Chicago Chimney Inc. fraudulently lists itself as company approved by BBB. Is there any further action I can take to force a positive response from this Company?

Desired Settlement: I would like the Chicago Chimney Inc. to respond to my telephone calls and to send a technician who can either repair or replace the ventless fireplace that I purchased less than a year ago.

2/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have called Chicago-Chimney but no warranty. So I have called the other service and they cleaned with a lot of debris from chimney which should be cleaned by the this company. I have paid $550.00 for thrre service and I have to pay the other company $450.00. Before I called Chicago Chimney I have look in to there Web site(http://www.chicago-chimney.com) and I found your log(BBB accredited Business). I thought that they are good standing business by BBB.org but they are not at all. I WANT THE CASH($550.00) back.

Desired Settlement: I want the refund and they should not be using your Log(BBB accredited Business)to deceived as good standing business.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/23) */ On the day of Jan.4, 2014 we responded to a service call of a chimney unblockage at the residence of 3335 w. Grace , Chicago IL. When we arrived we noticed that the chimney had debris in the flue. Upon further inspection at the top of the chimney we noticed that the cap that was on the flue was not the right size for that type of chimney flue. We removed the chimney cap and took a look down the flue and noticed that the flue tiles were not properly alligned and some were damaged. At that point we informed Mr. **** *** on cleaning and unblocking the chimney flue and also inserting a chimney liner with a chimney cap and storm collar that would give the proper draft that the appliances need to work. At the price of $1,395.00 to unblock and reline the chimney with a 20 yr. warranty, the customer quickly wanted a cheaper option to "quick" fix the problem. At that point we gave him the option to just clean and unblock the chimney for $550.00 with no warranty, written clearly on our invoice and was explained to him before the work was performed. He went with the cheaper option and was well aware of the no warranty on that option. We did not here from Mr. **** *** until Jan.22, 2014. That is 18 days after we did the work at 3335. w. Grace. Obviously the chimney was not a problem for 18 days, and now he wants to complain for his own action of going with the no warranty option. This clearly is the case of a slum lord trying to save a few dollars, instead of doing it the right way to fix this problem. We will be sending the BBB a copy of the invoice and statements from our technicians. We uphold a high standard for safety and high quality work with our company and will continue to this in the future. Thank you.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Chicago Chimney
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart