Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Chicagoland Chamber of Commerce

Phone: (312) 494-6700 Fax: (312) 861-0660 View Additional Phone Numbers 410 N Michigan Ave # 900, Chicago, IL 60611 http://www.chicagolandchamber.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The primary role of the Chicagoland Chamber of Commerce, a 501(c)(6) organization, is to make Chicagoland the most business-friendly region in America by enhancing our members' success through programs in advocacy, member benefits and services, and actionable information.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Chicagoland Chamber of Commerce meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Chicagoland Chamber of Commerce include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Chicagoland Chamber of Commerce
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1967 Business started: 01/01/1904 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/1904
Type of Entity

Association

Business Management
Ms. Theresa E. Mintle, President & CEO Mr. James C. Gavin CPA, Vice President, Finance & Administration / COO
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. James C. Gavin CPA, Vice President, Finance & Administration / COO
Principal: Ms. Theresa E. Mintle, President & CEO
Business Category

Chambers Of Commerce Information Bureaus Market Research & Analysis Professional Organizations Relocation Service Business Services - General Services - General Shopping Centers & Malls Associations Business & Trade Organizations Business Consultants Consultant - Strategic Planning Consultant - Planning Business Associations (NAICS: 813910)

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, Mastercard, Amex, Checks, Cash

Additional Locations

  • 410 N Michigan Ave # 900

    Chicago, IL 60611

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2011 member - personal investment $1250 (1/2 of $2500 membership) Transitioned $1250 plus $6250 to purchase "Board" Membership, at time a special was running for $10k seat at $7500 Chamber (*******) agreed upon extending my $1250 plus $6250, to exercise offer Sold membership, with witnesses, that "the membership follows the individual" and "at any time, if you are unsatisfied, we offer a 100% guarantee on your purchase; less the services used to that time" This membership was another personal investment on behalf of a business that I was an owner/partner of - Kapow Events I sold my ownership interests back Kapow and left organization, at which time they purchased their own Chamber corporate/board membership I submitted request for refund, as my new employer has a corporate membership Mid 8/12 ******* *** verbally and email "approved" the $6250 refund, as no portion of board member investment had been enacted Internal processes have pushed this to 8/13, with no refund I have two transaction receipts between the Chamber and my credit card companies, however no dollars exchanged accounts I then was written two personal checks by ******* ***, under the communication that she was "being reimbursed by Chamber through her expense account"; though both checks returned due to insufficient funds Up until 8/10 my communication had been with Ms. ***, as I trusted she was working through internal details. Now it is clear that no one internal was familiar with this contract and the details surrounding my request for refund. 8/10/13 I began communication with executive board and more specifically ***************. I have pages of documents and materials from Ms. *** and I, and would be happy to provide. It gives a timeline of my continuous attempts to collect money owed for services not rendered. According to the State of IL I have a valid case and will be seeking legal action if the BBB, Chamber and I cannot come to an agreement. http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=2274&ChapterID=65 Here is the last communication from ****** Dear Mr. ****, Regarding your request for a refund of your membership, as I relayed to you during our initial conversation on August 13, 2013, Chamber Memberships are not refundable. Additionally, almost two years have lapsed since you initiated your payments towards a Chamber membership and over one year has lapsed since you initiated the additional membership commitment, therefore, there is no value left on your membership to refund to you. Ms. *** had no authority to issue refunds and our financial records show no refund transactions initiated or processed to you or your credit card(s). I am sorry that our policies regarding refunds were misrepresented to you, however, for the reasons outlined above we must deny your request for a membership refund. Sincerely, ****************** Vice President of Finance and Administration

Desired Settlement: I am asking for my $6250 returned within 5 business days of 8/26/13. Check in hand Tuesday 9/3/13. Thank you

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/06) */ Mr.***** purchased a membership in the Chicagoland Chamber of Commerce in 2011. He claims that he wants a refund for something purchased more than 2 years ago due to services not rendered. As everyone understands, a membership is not an exchange of services. In the case of our organization it entitles the member to participate in member only events, other events at member rates, for purposes of education, business development and networking. Since purchasing his membership in 2011 (and it has a term of one year, therefore it expired in 2012)Mr.***** has attended over 11 chamber events and happenings. We don't control how our members use their membership but we do encourage them and hope that they will take advantage of our programming and other offerings to enhance their business activities. Mr.*****'s original membership allowed him to participate in Chicagoland Chamber Programming as recently as May of 2013, which means we allowed him to continue taking advantage of member rates and participation opportunities despite his decision not to renew this membership. Given the use that Mr.***** has made of this membership, its value has long ago expired and there is nothing left to be refunded. If he indeed wanted a refund why did he continue to use his membership and to attend Chamber programs and events up to and including the Spring of the current year? It is highly irregular for someone to make use of something they purchased and then insist on a refund. Additionally, a membership is never refundable to begin with.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Chicagoland Chamber of Commerce
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)