BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2006

Platinumtel Communications, LLC

Find a Location

Phone: (708) 458-9999Fax: (708) 458-9989View Additional Phone NumbersPO Box 1825, BridgeviewIL 60455-0825 Send email to Platinumtel Communications, LLCView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2006

BBB has determined that Platinumtel Communications, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Platinumtel Communications, LLC's rating include:

  • 32 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Platinumtel Communications, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 32 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

32 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 17 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Billing / Collection Issues2
Delivery Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service22
Total Closed Complaints 32

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (32)BBB Closure Definitions
05/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I asked PTEL to suspend my son's phone (XXX XXX-XXXX) recently for personal reasons. On Friday, 5/9/14, I asked PTEL to reactivate his phone, and was told that the phone could not be immediately reactivated due to a software conversion, but they would work on it. The 2nd time I called on 5/9/14 for a status update, I was told there was no progress, and I would receive a call back re: PTEL's efforts. I didn't get a call back. When I called on Saturday, 5/10/14, I was informed that the issue would be brought to the attention of a supervisor, and I would receive a call by 5 PM, which didn't happen. I called on 5/13/14, and was told that PTel did not know when the phone could be reactivated due to software migration issues and they would offer credit when the phone is reactivated. I think the answer of not knowing when the phone will be reactivated but credit will be offered is inadequate. Plus, not once did a customer service representative call me back when they said they would.
Product_Or_Service: Cell Phone

Initial Business Response
First and foremost we would like to apologize for the inconvenience Mr ****** encountered.

Mr ****** also reached out to Ptel via email, this matter has been addressed. Mr ******'s account has been successfully restored. Additionally, a courtesy credit has been applied to the account.

I am available if further clarification is needed.

Best Regards,

******* *******
Office Manager
***************@ptel.com
XXX-XXX-XXXX Ext ****

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

09/25/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: this is through platinum tel but ****** backs them. i just want to know how to get pn the mobile web but have tried to call them several times and been on the line from 30 to 45 minutes before giving up. i have emailed them 30 to 35 times w/o an answer. i knoe they are getting my emails because i get an automated reply. now i just want my money back on my $80 phone. i have spent $20 on airtime but haven't even used it. thank you. i have emailed ypu before about this company. since then i have tried to contact them with no success. PLATINUM TELL. this has been going on for a month.
Product_Or_Service: Other /samsung T359 Smiley gsm/platinum tel paygo
Account_Number: XXX-XXX-XXXX

Initial Business Response
First and foremost I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced with Ptel Mobile. We understand how important your phone service is to you and your family.

Transitioning all of our customers, from CDMA to GSM, was a very large undertaking and we made every effort possible to assist everyone in the best manner. Unfortunately due to circumstances well beyond our control, some customers, like Mr ******, were not attended to properly.

Our records indicate Mr ****** has contacted our customer service team via email. A prepaid return label has been emailed to Mr ****** for him to return his purchase. Upon delivery of his return, device will be inspected then processed for refund.

Once again we sincerely apologize for this inconvenience. I am available for additional questions/clarifications.


Best Regards,

******* *******
Office Manager
PlatinumTel Communications, LLC
Tel: ***********************

Final Consumer Response
Jr <*********@yahoo.com>

Sep 23 (2 days ago)

to Better
thank you very much. platinum tel agreed to give me a refund after you contacted them. you have been a great help. they finally emailed me back.

Sent from my iPad

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

09/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:
Re: PTel Mobile Re: Phone activation ( Customer XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX )


FROM ***** ****** TO 1 recipient

Show Details

From***** ******

ToPTel Mobile

Aug13

Why am I not surprised. The verification code 1722 was sent to me but it will not work in step
Rachel Aragon (PTel Mobile)

Aug XX XX:XX pm (CDT)

Dear Valued Customer,

Your number XXXXXXXXXX has been successfully ported to PTel Mobile. Please insert the SIM card and test your phone. Please be informed, it may take up to 24 hours for service to initiate. After 24 hours, if you do not have service yet, please contact Customer Service at XXX-XXX-XXXX for further troubleshooting steps.
You are required to register your account online again. To manage your new account online, you may register online at https://www.platinumtel.com/account/new

Should you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to reply to this email or contact us over the phone at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Thank You








***** ******

Aug XX XX:XX pm (CDT)

Where are these porting people? How many more weeks yet?

From
*****************
*
To
* ***** ******





*************** (PTel Mobile)

Aug XX XX:XX pm (CDT)

*****

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience. When submitting the request to transition your account the SIM number provided was missing a digit. We have corrected and will proceed with the transition. A port specialist will contact you via email once the transition is complete.



***** ******

Aug XX XX:XX am (CDT)

Has your " porting " dept gone out of business? They don't respond by email. They have no phone service and you are a phone company? You don't have anyone who can do this?
I am going to find someone to complain to. The FCC or the Better Business Bureau.


________________________________
From: PTel Mobile <*******@ptel.zendesk.com>
To: ***** ****** <*********@att.net>
Sent: Saturday, August 3, XXXX X:XX PM
Subject: Request #XXXXX: How would you rate the support you received?


Ptel Support (PTel Mobile)

Aug XX XX:XX pm (CDT)

Hello *****,

Please watch for emails from our porting department in regards to your number.







***** ******
***** ******

Aug XX XX:XX pm (CDT)

You are unbelievable. I have no questions for you. I need you to port the phone.


________________________________
From: Ptel Support <*********************@ptel.zendesk.com>
To: ***** ****** <*********@att.net>
Sent: Friday, August 2, XXXX XX:XX PM
Subject: PTel Mobile Re: Phone activation ( Customer XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX )




Ptel Support (PTel Mobile)

Aug XX XX:XX pm (CDT)

Hello *****,

I apologize for the delayed response and saw that you had **** assist you.

Please let us know if you have any further question.








***** ******

Aug XX XX:XX pm (CDT)

Apparently you no longer respond to email. You cannot be reached by phone either. Wait-wait-wait then the mailbox is full-goodbye.
It is very inconvenient to have to buy a new phone and then jump through hoops to get it to work.
The SIM card is XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX XXXX. Port the darn thing.

----- Forwarded Message -----
From: ***** ****** <*********@att.net>
To: PTel Mobile <***************@ptel.zendesk.com>
Sent: Friday, July 26, XXXX X:XX AM
Subject: Re: PTel Mobile Re: Phone activation ( Customer XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX )


Hi,
I thought my account number was XXXXX. Anyway it is an existing account with ph # XXX-XXX-XXXX.
The SIM card is XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX XXXS.

***** ******




________________________________
From:*********** <*********************@ptel.zendesk.com>
To: ***** ****** <*********@att.net>
Sent: Thursday, July 25, XXXX X:XX PM
Subject: PTel Mobile Re: Phone activation ( Customer XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX )

***** ******


Jul XX XX:XX am (CDT)

Hi,
I thought my account number was XXXXX. Anyway it is an existing account with ph # XXX-XXX-XXXX.
The SIM card is XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX XXXS.

***** ******




_______________________________

Initial Business Response
First and foremost I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced with Ptel Mobile. We understand how important your phone service is to you and your family.

Transitioning all of our customers, from CDMA to GSM, was very large undertaking and we made every effort possible to assist everyone in the best manner. Unfortunately due to circumstances well beyond our control, some customers, like yourself, were not attended to properly. We sincerely apologize for this inconvenience.

I tried to reach you at the callback number provided, however I was informed you were not available to take my call.

Mr ****** was mailed a replacement SIM card, as issue on his account may be due to a bad SIM. A SIM change was processed today on Mr ****** account(************* I also emailed this information to Mr ******.

I am available for additional questions/clarifications.

Best Regards,

***************
Office Manager
PlatinumTel Communications, LLC
Tel: **********************

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

09/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** PCS has another company PLATINUM TEL and this is about PLATINUM TEL. They dont' answer their phone - keeps me on "hold" for more than 1 hour, and even then, it hangs up. PLATINUM tel stopped their services either though I paid for "Pay as go" services and there's no customer service that can help me.
Account_Number: XXX-XXX-XXXX

Initial Business Response
Ptel Mobile recently transitioned from CDMA to GSM network.First and foremost I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during this transition. We understand how important your phone service is to you and your family.

Transitioning all of of our customers was very large undertaking and we made every effort possible to assist everyone in the best manner. Unfortunately, due to circumstances well beyond our control, some consumers, like Mr/Ms ******** were not attended to properly. We regret you had such an experience and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.

With that being said, a credit of $10 has been applied to consumer's account (XXX)XXX-XXXX. We know this is a small gesture, but hope it assures you of our commitment to customer satisfaction.

While we cannot undo the situation, we hope that you accept our deepest apologies.

We look forward to providing you with the best possible service. I am available for any additional questions or concerns.

Best Regards

******* *******
Office Manager
Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX EXT 8112
Email: ***************@ptel.com

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

09/16/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: I purchased a cell phone to use on PlatinumTel wireless via eBay as it was required for the GSM service ($150). I purchased the sim card and first month of service from the PTEL website as well. I have not received any service yet. I have been working with the representatives via email for days to get my number ported to the company and all I am told is that the porting dept is working on it. They have refused to call me and when attempting to call the customer service number, it is disconnected or busy. No one is willing to help me and I feel I am being cheated out of my money as I have paid for the service but am getting nothing.

Initial Business Response

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience encountered. Due to transition from CDMA to GSM, call/email/chat volumes have been excessively high, delaying response to consumer inquiries. After a port request is submitted customer receives an auto-response advising of a possible delay to complete port request.

Our records indicate Mr. ******* submitted his port request on August 21st. Request was submitted with an incorrect account number causing for port request to fail and required to be manually updated and resubmitted.

On August 26th port request was manually updated and completed with correct account number. A courtesy credit of $10 was also applied to the account.

Ptel Mobile is unable to issue a refund for handsets that are purchased from a different vendor. At customer's request, we may issue a refund for the SIM card and airtime purchased at ptel.com if consumer wishes to cancel service with Ptel Mobile.

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to assist you. We look forward to providing you with the best possible service. I am available for any additional questions or concerns. Please feel free to contact me.

Best Regards

******* *******
Office Manager
Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX EXT ****
Email: ***************@ptel.com

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 6
05/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: My understanding after switching to ********* Ptel failed to configure or correct their operational system parameters to allow for T-mobile to bill & pass through Vendor Short Codes, aka Premium Short code service, also known as 5 digit short codes. When Ptel was using sprint, Premium Short code service was pass through without issues. Ptel advertised the transition from Sprint to GSM as including all previous features, however, one major feature was missing: Premium Vendor Short Code service. I contacted Ptel customer service shortly after noticing the missing feature, and have followed up monthly(more than 6 months) since the transition. However, this issue as not been taken care of in a timely manner. The last contact I had indicated there was no time frame for this fixing this issue.

Initial Business Response
First and foremost we would like to apologize for the inconvenience Mr/Ms *********** experienced.

Ptel Mobile transitioned from CDMA to GSM in 2013. During transition period we did add information to our FAQ's explaining the process and how services would be affected, "Ptel Mobile is transitioning from operating on a CDMA network to a GSM Network. We are still offering the great wireless service and rates you've come to enjoy, now on a different Network".

Ptel Mobile supports Voice, SMS and Data services on all plans being offered. Premium Short Code SMS is an extra feature which is currently not available with Ptel Mobile.

Although is this not a required service, we listen to our customers. We continue to work with our Host Network on making this services available in the near future. Unfortunately we do not have an estimated time-frame as to when this service will become available.

Once again, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. I am available if further clarification is needed.

Best Regards,

***************
Office Manager
**********************************************

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As the reply choose to include a quote, I would like to highlight the language used in the quote: "still offering the great wireless service and rates you've come to enjoy". This implies that all wireless services would be available after the transition. It might be true that Ptel Mobile did not understand that technical issues and that the transition would terminate support for Premium Short Code SMS. Ptel Mobile is now using language that implies this is an "extra feature". However, this "extra feature" was not extra when using Ptel Mobile's GSM network wireless service. I did not find any terms or language that specifically stated that Short Code SMS service would be terminated upon accepting the new terms of service, which was required by Ptel Mobile's customers to transfer to CDMA service. I believe that Ptel Mobile may have misled it's customers in implying that the wireless services would be the same after the transition.

Final Business Response
Mr ************** we continue to work with our Host Network on making this service available to Ptel customers. At this time we do not have an estimated time-frame as to when this service will become available.

Should you decide to port your number to a another carrier, Ptel Mobile will be able to issue a refund check in the amount of remaining balance. To request a refund check, you may contact customer service ************ after your number has been ported out.

Should you decide to continue with our service, a $40 credit will be applied to your Ptel Account XXXXXXXXXX.




Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Although Premium Short Code messages was not promoted by Ptel Mobile, it did work while on the CDMA network. However, the actual term "Premium Short Code messages" is an internal PTEL term. The umbrella term SMS covers this an other features, including Premium Short Code messages. Only after it was discovered that Ptel's contract with********* did not include "Premium Short Code messages" was the term actually added to the published material.

And I believe, this was only done after customers found a problem and contacted Ptel for a solution. After which, a statement was added to Ptel's website in the FAQ section.

However, as customers we were assured that this was being worked on. As a customers who personally contacted customer service several times and was assured this was being worked on, I believed Ptel's response and continued to add funds to the account while I waited for this service. However, most issues can be solved in 6 months. At this point, it's obvious that this is not a serious issue or there is a contractual mistake made by Ptel with regards to ************
I believe a fair resolution would be to refunded the current account balance after porting a number to another carrier due to lack of "Premium Short Code messages" support.

Making false representations in advertising concerning the qualities of services is a basis
of liability under the Lanham Act. The Office Manager at Platinumtel Wireless should understand that prior to the switch over Platinumtel did publish, state & and otherwise advertise(via email, SMS & social media) the changeover was required to continue to use Platinumtel Service after the switchover date. Customer prior to the switchover, enjoyed service that included Premium Short code service.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

04/03/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Advertisement misrepresented a product

Complaint: I purchased a phone (Samsung Nexus S) from PTEL Mobile on April 1 2014. After using it for about 7 months, the phone suddenly died and could not power up. Because the phone was purchased less than one year, it should be eligible for coverage under the manufacturer's warranty. So I contacted******** and asked for warranty repair. However,******** told me that the phone was manufactured for England and not for US; and therefore does not qualify for US warranty. I contacted PTEL mobile many times and relayed the information I got from********. PTEL responded that they purchased the phone from******** and that the phone was manufactured for US. After talking to******** back-and-forth many times and relayed what PTEL told me about my phone,******** reiterated that my phone does not qualify for US warranty.
In the process, I asked PTEL for documents that can prove my phone's legitimacy for US warranty, but PTEL could not provide such documentation. After many rounds of unsuccessful attempts to have my phone repaired by********, PTEL agreed in November that I could send in my phone and have their technicians to look at it. Several weeks thereafter, PTEL left me a phone message that they found liquid inside the phone, and this voided PTEL's repair warrant for my phone. In my subsequent phone calls to PTEL, one of PTE's supervisors also told that the repair of my phone required JTag, a technology for which PTEL does not have. To me, I have never dropped my phone, and my phone has never sustained any water damage. The problem of my phone was due to manufacturer's defects and not to my negligence or abuse. In fact, I have researched the internet and found many users have similar problem with******** Nexus S.
As of now, my Nexus S is still not functioning, and PTEL has refused to repair my phone and to provide a replacement. At issue here is not just the repair of my phone, but involves a bigger issue: PTEL is selling an international version of******** Nexus S through their website but failing to disclose this information to their customers. To remedy my loss, I am asking PTEL to provide me with a replacement phone comparable to the******** Nexus S.

Initial Business Response
First and foremost, we apologize for the inconvenience encountered. After doing some research on the device, we found the device in question is in fact an international verion and cannot be repaired/replaced by Samsung in the US. In situations like this, Ptel Mobile honors the one-year warranty. However, due to Mr. ***** device having liquid damage it cannot be replaced by Ptel Mobile.

Our records indicate Mr *** first contact with customer service to report the issue was on December 4, 2013.

December 11, 2013 Ptel Agreed to accept the device for evaluation. Customer was emailed an RMA form.

December 31, 2013 Customer contacted customer service to inform form was not received. Form was resent.

January 10, 2014 Customer contact customer service to request a prepaid return label. Ptel provided Label.

January 28, 2014 Ptel Received customer's phone.

February, XX XXXX Ptel Technician evaluated the phone and found it possibly having liquid damage. Per technician's notes, unit was disabled and found it to be sticky as if it had been in contact with some type of fluid. Battery was also testing bad. Unit cannot be repaired/replaced.

February 21, 2014 Ptel representative contacted customer and left a voicemeil informing device could not be repaired and it was being shipped back.

March 13, 2014 Mr *** made another attempt to get device repaired/replaced by Samsung. However Samsung informed him warranty cannot be honored in the US as device is an International device.

Mr *** contacted customer service again to get documentation stating device is made for the US. However, such document is not available. Consumer was informed of a technique typically used to bring a device back to live, called J-Tagging. This was provided as an option for the customer to seek help from phone repair centers in his area. This procedure is not performed by Ptel Technicians. Mr *** was also offered a 25% discount on a phone of choice from options available at ptel.com. Mr *** refused the offer.

Again, due to the device having water damage it cannot be replaced/repaired by Ptel Mobile. At consumers request, we may offer a discount on the purchase of a new phone.

I'm available for additional questions or clarifications if needed.

Best Regards,

***************
Office Manager
XXX-XXX-XXXX Ext 8112

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I appreciate Ptel's acknowledgement that the phone they sold me was in fact an international version and does not qualify for US warranty. This is the fact that Ptel has repeatedly denied since my first call with them.

I would reiterate that the phone has never been water damaged and I have never dropped it in water. In the Ptel technician's note, it was never mentioned that my phone was water damaged, but only fluid or liquid damage. In Ptel's response, it was stated, "Ptel Technician evaluated the phone and found it "possibly" having liquid damage. Per technician's notes, unit was disabled and found it to be sticky "as if" it had been in contact with some type of fluid." Ptel's assessment was that the phone was "possibly" having liquid damage. In other words, Ptel could not definitely conclude that the phone was in fact water damaged. Moreover, Ptel "found it to be sticky as if it had been in contact with some type of fluid." Again Ptel failed to mention what type of liquid it was. I should mention that "liquid damage" is not the same as "water damage". The liquid that the Ptel technician saw could be mechanical leakage from defects in materials or workmanship, and not to my negligence. Per Ptel's website on returns, "PlatinumTel does not warranty against loss, theft, abuse, misuse, improper installation, water damage, or customer negligence". In other words, water damage voids a warranty, but not fluid damage. As such, Ptel's claim that my phone was water damage was based on unsubstantiated "possibly" and "as if" evidence of "fluid damage", which is not a synonym for "water damage".

Disagreeing with Ptel's assessment of water damage, I believe it was just an excuse Ptel invented to deny any responsibility and the one-year warranty they said they would honor. If Ptel agrees to pay for all expenses, I am willing to take the phone to an independent repair shop to determine if my phone was water damaged.

***


Final Business Response
Mr ***n,

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have encountered with your device. Your device has been evaluated by Ptel Technician and found it had liquid damage. Cellphones do not generate fluid,which discards your theory of there being a leakage. The battery on the device had no cracks for it to leak.



If the device had no liquid/fluid damage, Ptel Mobile would have replaced your device without question. Technician was unable to identify what type of liquid/fluid your device had contact with. However, it's known when a device has contact with sweet/sticky liquids such as soda or juice, it can leave a sticky residue inside the device.

Unfortunately, Ptel Mobile will not be able to replace your device. As previously explained, we can offer a 25% off a phone purchase at Ptel.com

Best Regards,

*******

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

10/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: I cannot make any calls or send/receive texts and suspect this is related to the CDMA-to-GSM cutover earlier this month.

Others are reporting similar issues and Ptel has an alert on their website about delays in service requests due to high volume.

First, they knew about the cutover to GSM months in advance as they were alerting customers to it. So they should have staffed in anticipation of heavier than normal service inquiries.

Second, the service issues seem to step from technical problems that they seem unable to respond to on a case-by-case basis because of the lack of support personnel coupled with the large volume of issues being reported. This is the most basic type of service and customer service failure and it was easily forseeable but not planned for.

I also cannot get through to customer service via phone not chat.

Please help.

Initial Business Response
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience encountered. Due to transition from CDMA to GSM, call/email/chat volumes have been excessively high, delaying response to consumer inquiries.

We have located consumer's phone number from previous inquiries submitted to Ptel. Our records indicate service is in active status and in good standing. Transition process did not affect this account as consumer's number is on GSM network.

Thank you for the opportunity to assist you. We look forward to providing you with the best possible service. I am available for any additional questions or concerns. Please feel free to contact me.

Best Regards

***************
Office Manager
Phone: *****************************************************


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My reply from 9//14 specifically notes that it is unlikely we will use the existing $30 service credit before the Service Days expiration. The only way the $30 credit is of value to us is not only of the balance doesn't expire, but also if the service days do not expire.

Ms.******** notes, "A payment will be required upon service days expiration (12/19/2013)...". That completely eliminates the effectiveness of the $30 credit gesture (and underscores the reason why I insisted on a cash refund instead of a service credit).

We are unlikely to use up much of the balance before 12/19/2013 and so it seems will be required to add even more money to the account.

Thus the service credit and extending the balance days has no practical effect. If the Service Days can also be extended two years, that would be useful.

Final Business Response
We have made reasonable efforts to accommodate Mr/Ms********* for the inconvenience he/she has encountered.

*$30 Airtime Credit
*60 service days extension
*Extended Balance expiration to two years.

At this time we are unable to provide two years of service to Mr/Ms*********, as he/she is requesting. To continue using Ptel Mobile wireless service after service days expire, a payment will need to be made by December 19, 2013.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

08/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to respond to phone calls or written requests for assistance or support

Complaint: This is the phone purchased in May, 2013, that no longer charges. I bought another battery, and it powered on the phone, so the battery is ruled out. PTEL has assign ticket # XXXXX, and it took 12 days for this 2nd ticket to be assigned and I have not been able to reach a live person, 8/3/13 - 8/18/13.

Invoice

Bill To : ******* ****** Ship To : ******* ******
** ******** ****** ** ******** ******
Needham, MA XXXXX ******** ** XXXXX
Recorded On : 02-MAY-13 (XXX)XXX-XXXX
P.O. No : XXXXX ******@gmail.com
Customer Id : N/A
Payment Summary
Cash : $0.00 Check : $0.00 Check No : COD : $0.00
Credit Card : $144.98 **** **** **** ****
Item Description Qty Preac Unit Price Total Price
Phones
HTC Wildfire S GSM () 1 0 $139.99 $139.99
Sim Cards
PTel Mini-SIM (2FF) 1 N/A $4.99 $4.99
Subtotal : $144.98
Shipping & Handling : $.00
(0%) Tax Amount : $.00
Total Amount : $144.98

Delivery Summary
Delivery ID Initiated On Method Shipper Statu s Tracking Number Status Code Status as of
XXXXX 05/02/2013 02:44:38 PM Five day ground parcel service USPS IN PACKAGING XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX PACKAGING 05/02/2013 02:44:38 PM


Delivery XXXXX
Item Identifier Description Unit Price
Phones
Item Id :XXXXXX ESN/IMEI :XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX HTC Wildfire S GSM $139.99
Sim Cards
Item Id :3 SIM No :XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX PTel Mini-SIM (2FF) $4.99

I also bought another phone to replace my son's phone, and PTEL's coupon process did not work online, not able to talk with anyone. Below is the info on that phone purchase

Invoice

Bill To : ******* ****** Ship To : ******* ******
** ******** ****** ** ******** ******
******** ** XXXXX ******** ** XXXXX
Recorded On : 2013-08-16 14:16:28 (XXX)XXX-XXXX
P.O. No : XXXXXX *****************
Customer Id : N/A
Payment Summary
Cash : $0.00 Check : $0.00 Check No : COD : $0.00
Credit Card : $274.98 **** **** **** ****
Item Description Qty Preac Unit Price Total Price
Phones
SAMSUNG T759 EXHIBIT 4G GSM (Real Paygo GSM) 1 0 $169.99 $169.99
Ca rds
$100 Top-up 1 N/A $100.00 $100.00
Sim Cards
Combi Card (2FF/3FF) 1 N/A $4.99 $4.99
Subtotal : $274.98
Shipping & Handling : $.00
(0%) Tax Amount : $.00
Total Amount : $274.98

Delivery Summary

While submitting this complaint, I have been on music hold with PTEL for nearly 30 minutes.

Besides a phone replacement, PTEL needs to drastically improve their customer service.

Initial Business Response
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience encountered. Due to transition from CDMA to GSM, call/email/chat volumes have been excessively high, delaying response to consumer inquiries.

We have contact Mr ****** over the phone and have agreed to upgrade HTC Wildfire to a different phone model.

As for son's account, we will issue a refund for the purchased phone.

Thank you for the opportunity to assist you. We look forward to providing you with the best possible service. I am available for any additional questions or concerns. Please feel free to contact me.

Best Regards

******* *******
Office Manager
Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX EXT ****
Email: ***************@ptel.com


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Technically, I am saying No to the response because all communications have not been by phone but by email. Otherwise, the response is accurate, and PTEL has been very generous in their effort to make things right. It remains to be be seen if PTEL customer service by phone can handle the GSM transition. However, communications by email has worked well. I only wish PTEL had responded to my initial emails sooner. You may close case XXXXXXXX as resolved, very much to my satisfaction. Thank you.

******* ******

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

08/12/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Cellular Telephone Service & Supplies, Telephone Communications, Cellular Telephone Equipment & Supplies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/24/2003Business started: 06/01/2001
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 2001, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Aracely Morales (Office Manager)Mr. Omar Ahmad (CEO)Ms. Maribelle Rodriguez (Manager)
Business Category

Cellular Telephone Service & Supplies, Telephone Communications, Cellular Telephone Equipment & Supplies

Alternate Business Names
Carewireless, Giv Mobile, Platinumtel Cell Phones
Industry Tips
Choosing a Cell Phone Service
Beware of Fraudulent International Phone Calls
Cellular Service Plans
Changing Wireless Carriers? You Can Now Keep the Same Number
Phone Leasing
Prepaid Cell Phone Services
Protecting Your Long Distance Service
Tips for Choosing a Cell Phone Service
Tips for keeping your cell phone safe from hackers and thieves
Truth about Cell Phones and the Do Not Call Registry
LocationsX

2 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Platinumtel Communications, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 225-5631
  • (855) 722-2222

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (855) 722-2022
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.