Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Illinois Valley Cellular

Phone: (815) 795-3200 200 Riverfront Dr, Marseilles, IL 61341 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Illinois Valley Cellular
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 04, 1999 Business started: 07/05/1989 Business started locally: 07/05/1989 Business incorporated 07/05/1989 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Thomas Walsh, President/CEO Ms. Melissa E. Raon, COO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas Walsh, President/CEO
Business Category

Cellular Telephone Service & Supplies Cell Phone & Tablet Equipment, Supplies & Repair Wireless Telecommunications Carriers (except Satellite) (NAICS: 517210)

Additional Locations


    200 Riverfront Dr

    Marseilles, IL 61341


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/24/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am disabled and rely on my phone to make frequent calls to my various Physicians. Calls have been dropped, NUMEROUS times, during many calls. I don't have access to what I paid for the phone, etc, handy at this time and estimated payment due on past bills is $400-$500.00. My phone has been deactivated for at least 2 months and being disabled without a phone, has been a hardship. Sales Rep name is:

Desired Settlement: Cancel contract, buy back phone and no payment due on unpaid bills.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/12) */ Contact Name and Title: ************ Dir Cust Srv Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******** Customer started service 6-23-14. Illinois Valley Cellular has no record on this account of this customer calling in to Customer Relations to report dropped calls. Most recent activity of suspended service to this customer's cellular device was suspended on XX-XX-XX for lack of payment to account. Customer has not provided Illinois Valley Cellular an additional method of contact except for the cellular phone on record so the only form of communication to this customer when service is suspended is to send them a letter. Most recent letter sent to customer was on XX-XX-XX requesting customer contact Illinois Valley Cellular no later than 12-29-14. Customer did not reply to this letter so service was fully terminated on XX-XX-XX with cancellation penalty billed to account. Customer was again sent a notice on 2-3-15 to contact Illinois Valley Cellular, again customer has made no attempts to call Illinois Valley Cellular. It has been recommended several times via letters to customer that they call in to speak with our payment department to discuss their account. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/02/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I went in to the Watseka store for Illinois Valley Cellular NUMEROUS times, to complain of dropped calls & no service from inside the house. Not once, did they tell me I had to contact the Marseilles office. I have no phone at the moment and could not respond to the mail correspondence, as I have been in & out of the hospital and also had surgery on my right hand. On one occasion, the girl who works with ********** at the Watseka store, told me her Father had the same problem and bought a signal booster. She even gave me the name, serial number and where he bought it. The contract DID NOT state that I would have to purchase additional equipment, to get my phone to work and her giving me this information, only proves to me that their service is NOT as stated in their contract. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2015/03/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) *CUSTOMER* is not a well person and has been in and out of the hospital, etc since October 2014. UNPAID hospital bills will be provided, if need be, to prove why correspondence has not been made. This has become more difficult than I really want to get in to, so I guess my next option is bankruptcy. Thank you for your time, BBB and sorry they are such a shiesty company, that they feel the need to harass people who are disabled & ILL! Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2015/03/23) */ There has been no harassment made to get this issue resolved for them. Customer requested a resolution and IVC has offered several times/ways to work with them on getting this accomplished. Unfortunately customer is unwilling and has yet to contact us to get their requested resolution resolved. Illinois Valley Cellular has several options to contact a representative; by phone, email or stopping at any of our Wireless Solution Centers. Since customer is unwilling to attempt contact with us, at this time there is nothing else that we can do to assist the individual. Contract obligations have not been met, therefore charges on the account will remain and account processing will be finalized.

7/28/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is directed toward Illinois Valley Cellular, Marseilles, Il. XXXXX. I recently called them because I have had a problem with my text messages (sending & receiving). I never got a call back. I guess that's on account when I moved my internet was working POORLY. The tech was rude to me than told me they would need to come out and look at it. I was told I had a virus on my computer. Funny, I have******** and have had absolutely no problem since! I was told IVCell would let me out of my contract if I signed a new contract for my phone. I did with much regret! The new phone dropped all my calls, I had to leave town to get any service. The girl at IVCell took down the numbers of the dropped calls, a week went by with no response. I made a call to the main office on Fri. and when I got out of my car I dropped it and someone ran it over...Really! I was out the phone but, I have never had such terrible customer service in my life! I even talked to the CEO *** ***** about this matter. It is not my fault that their service didn't work after I moved. He asked me "what do you want"? I told him "I wanted my name off the contract and my old plan for $10 less reinstated since I was still using my old phone"! He never did either of these! My boyfriend has ******* and also has problems, he was told he needed a the new smart phone. My kids both have AT&T and get great service! They DO NOT have "Smart" phones either. I am planning on leaving IVCell no matter what the outcome! Product_Or_Service: Other //Simple Choice Unlimited Account_Number: XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want my name off the contract! I feel it was wrong to even suggest that I sign a new contract because their service didn't work at my new residence.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/25) */ Contact Name and Title: ************- Director Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ****************** Brief Summary of account notes/transactions since Dec 2012: Customer reported issues on her router back in Dec 2012. Techs were at residence and found that it was adware/malware/virus/ programs running that were slowing down the computer. Customer requested out of contract stated new service provider was in area and could bundle. IVC eventually agreed to waive canpen IF customer upgraded her cellular phone that was out of contract in exchange for letting her out of router contract. This was an Option. The upgrade on handset was done and customer shortly after came back to sales location stating that dropped phone and was ran over by a car. Customer wanted IVC to replace the damaged handset at no cost. IVC explained many times that we are not responsible for replacing customers damaged handsets. After numerous conversations this past year with customer to many departments/individuals within IVC, customer was offered to purchase a tech stock phone back in January 2014 to replace the handset that she damaged . There has been no attempt to make that purchase. According to documentation, customer has reported some dropped calls, but also has informed sales reps that has had no issues with old handset. If additional detailed information is required, IVC has documented conversations/actions made on this account. Resolution by IVC: In good faith, IVC will agree to cancel the contract on this customer and let them stay with current phone (phone from previous contract) with no cancellation penalty on the phone that customer damaged. If customer wants a new handset they will be required to purchase it outright. No additional contracts will be allowed at this time. Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2014/07/15) */ Oh my did IV Cell stretch the truth! Their documentation is slightly off! I still stand by that this is the worst customer service I have ever received! My boyfriend switched to AT&T and his service is great here and while we were on vacation! As I stated before I will be switching to AT&T also! Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/07/23) */ Customer has fully ported out since rebutal was submitted on 7-15-14. As stated previously, IV Cellular has already voided the signed contract and waived the cancellation penalty that was to be charged. Business Response /* (2000, 16, 2014/07/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

6/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: A "new" phone it required "special" 3G service, so we had to pick the higher monthly payment or choose an even older phone. The salesman couldn't even explain why that service was so "special" but that was all he could sell for those phones and my monthly bill for two lines with 4GB data to share was going to be 215.00.Two weeks later one of my phones would not get that "special" 3G service and had to be connected to WiFi to use any data. After two weeks of complaining and the sales teams doing nothing they sent it in for repairs taking 4-6 week. We were given an LG Optimus M+ as a loner, a considerable down grade with the same monthly bill. After the first month we checked on the phone and were told it hadn't been looked at yet. After the second month we were told there was nothing they could do and it could be another 4-6 week. Finally after the 4th month the phone arrives only to find out that it was broken and they would be replacing the whole phone. They could have done that to start. During that whole time my other line was also having 3G problems. I travel for work and didn't have data in Chicago, Detroit, Houston, Atlanta, Orlando, Jacksonville and most places in between. I called numerous times only to be told they can only guarantee service while in Bureau County anywhere else they had no control over it and it was not their problem. After I lost my GPS in the middle of down town Detroit I went back in and said I needed something to be done. I was told there was nothing that could be done except to send it in for service. When I expressed my concern for the long wait time, horrible loaner phone, prices and ask if they could just replace my phone. They said it was all just part of it, they could not replace the phone and there was nothing they could do. I was again given the LG Optimus M+. The only type of loaner they seem to have. If you have never experienced this phone, there is no front facing camera, you cannot watch any Hulu, Netflix, SnapChat and even some Youtube videos, the camera is so blurry that if you use mobile banking you won't be able to get a clear enough picture to deposit checks, and you better be ready to fight with your texting because the setting like to jump around on you. To top it all off I still do not get 3G coverage in most places. I called every week for an update and I told them I needed my account credited for the downgrade of phone. When received my normal bill of $215 I told them again they need to take some of that off before I would pay they shut my phones off all together. After paying the full price plus and penalty they turned them back on. I called almost daily trying to get an update with little to no help or information. Finally last week I was told that Marseilles, Illinois had my phone and would be doing testing and a flash but it would be another week before I would have it back because they only deliver once a week. I than called Marseilles telling them I would gladly drive there on Saturday to pick up the phone. I work in Peoria and that was the only time I could get there. I was told my phone would not be ready because they can't get my data to work. They finally gave me a replacement Galaxy 3 that came in a plastic bag. It does not work. I still have no data, calls drop and there is a horrible eco making calls impossible. They only response is that they can send it in for service so it will be another 4-6 weeks of a loaner phone. I told them repeatedly that I just wanted out of my contract that I was done with horrible service and customer service. I no longer work in the area and spend most of my time outside the covered area. They told me it will cost me $350 for each line plus a full $215 monthly payment unless I can proof I have moved out of the area and give back all the phone. I am not moving anytime soon, and I am tried of paying for phones that do not work.

Desired Settlement: I want to be let out of my contract, without paying the cancellation fee or moving, and be discounted the money I paid for the times I did not have service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/04) */ Contact Name and Title: ************/Dir Cust Srv Contact Phone:*********** This customers phone was sent in for repair and replaced with the same model handset. On 5/13/14 customer spoke with IVC and wanted out of contract on********* because stated was moving out of area. IVC explained that with proof of move/return of replacement phone IVC would waive cancellation penalty. Customer is now stating in their complaint that they are not moving anytime soon. I have reviewed this customers voice/sms/data usage and has reasonable usage in all areas. Per our terms and conditions, 50% of customers usage must be used in our coverage area and IVC has the right to terminate or lower customer to rate plan that does not include nationwide roaming. Only the past few months has that usage exceeded out of our area past the 50%. As stated above, based on actual call records there was plenty of usage that would support that the phone did indeed work. However, with the terms and conditions set in place for the 50% usage, we have decided to agree to let this customer out of contract with return of replacement equipment in good working order in return for no cancellation penalty. (without proof of move that was previously requested when we were told she was moving). IVC called this customer today and explained that we will agree to let her out of contract with above stipulations and did inform customer of the call records stating the reasonable usage for reported issues.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Illinois Valley Cellular
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)