BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2011

Yonan Carpet One

Find a Location

Phone: (630) 963-2000Fax: (630) 963-5307View Additional Phone Numbers730 Ogden Ave, Downers GroveIL 60515-2916 Send email to Yonan Carpet One

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2011

BBB has determined that Yonan Carpet One meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Yonan Carpet One's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
04/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: In the month of August 2013, my household suffered water damage and Yonan Carpet One was subcontracted to replace the carpet in three rooms of my condo unit. Upon completion of the initial carpet installation in mid September 2013, my wife and I were extremely disappointed with the carpet service to the master bedroom and the den.

We were disappointed that the carpet in the den had multiple lumpy areas. There was also a gap between the carpet and the wall within our den. Our master bedroom also had lumpy carpet areas in addition to carpet areas that produced a scrunching sound when stepped on.

In early February 2014, Yonan Carpet finally dispatched their carpet installers to our condo to fix the carpet issues that was acknowledged from their own investigation. To resolve the issue, the carpet installers were to replace the carpet padding that was said to be defective. The carpet padding was replaced and soon after the installation work was done, my wife and I noticed that there were still lumpy carpet areas in our master bedroom in addition to an area of the carpet that is not level to the rest of the carpet. When we step onto this carpet area that is not leveled, our foot dips further into the floor than any other carpet area.

I have sent multiple emails to **** **** of Yonan Carpet One and my wife left a voice mail to **** in regards to fixing this issue; we have yet to receive a response since March 12th of this year. Please process my complaint and help my family to receive the customer satisfaction level that we deserve.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** *****
Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX
Contact Email: ********@yonancarpetone.com
We installed Mr. and Mrs. ********* capet in September of 2013. We were informed late 2013 that the padding seemed lumpy.
We arranged a meeting with the manufacturer of the padding to inspect the padding issues. The manufacturer deemed the pad acceptable at that time. With that being said, we were very concerned that Mr. and Mrs.********* were not happy with the results from the padding manufacturer.
In February 2014, we then replaced the padding and re-stretched the carpet at no charge.
Our installation manager will be returning on Wednesday, April 9th to meet with Mr. and Mrs. ********* to address their new concerns.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I will accept the response that the installation manager meet with our family to address our concerns. The installation manager did in fact meet with our family on April 9th, and he assessed that the new carpet padding was faulty. The installation manager also indicated that he would look into finding another manufacturer and I informed him that his idea would be the best solution.

Our family is currently waiting to hear back from Yonan to schedule a new date for another carpet padding installation.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

04/01/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New, Contractors - Flooring, Interior Finishing, Tile Sales, Stone - Natural, Marble - Natural, Tile & Marble, Home Design & Planning, Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, House Furnishings & Services, Flooring Retail, Vinyl Flooring, Floor Materials - Retail, Granite, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Remodeling Services, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Retail Stores, Home Improvements

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/02/1990Business started: 01/01/1906
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 1991, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jennifer Lynch (Vice President)Mr. David E. Yonan (President)
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New, Contractors - Flooring, Interior Finishing, Tile Sales, Stone - Natural, Marble - Natural, Tile & Marble, Home Design & Planning, Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, House Furnishings & Services, Flooring Retail, Vinyl Flooring, Floor Materials - Retail, Granite, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Remodeling Services, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Retail Stores, Home Improvements

Alternate Business Names
Yonan Floor Coverings
Industry Tips
Contracts
Home Remodeling Contractors
BBB Warns Spring Time Brings Home Improvement Scams
Buying An Unbuilt Home
Home Improvements
Safe & Sound: Securing Your Home
Winterizing Your Home

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Yonan Carpet One

730 Ogden Ave

Downers Grove, IL 60515-2916

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 7040 W North Ave 

    Chicago, IL 60707-4306

  • 730 Ogden Ave 

    Downers Grove, IL 60515-2916

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Yonan Carpet One is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (773) 889-7500
  • (708) 386-3500
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.