This business is not BBB accredited.

SilverIP Communications

Phone: (312) 600-3900 Fax: (312) 242-3794 View Additional Phone Numbers 150 N Michigan Ave, Suite 2800, Chicago, IL 60601 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.silverip.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for SilverIP Communications include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on SilverIP Communications
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 14, 2011 Business started: 01/01/2003 Business started locally: 01/01/2003 Business incorporated 03/07/2003 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Farzad Moeinzadeh, Co-founder & CEO Mr. Jon Nierstheimer, Director of Customer Support Mr. Peyman Pourkermani, Co-founder & CTO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Farzad Moeinzadeh, Co-founder & CEO
Business Category

Cable TV, Internet & Telephone Installation Service Data Systems - Consultants & Designers Internet Services Internet Service Providers Electrical Contractors and Other Wiring Installation Contractors (NAICS: 238210)

Alternate Business Names
Silver Communications, Inc SilverIP Communications

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    150 N Michigan Ave, Suite 2800

    Chicago, IL 60601 (312) 242-3794 (312) 600-3900

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have to call them every month to dispuse the charge. We would like to have them fix the billing charges & credit us all of the money that they charged us.

Desired Settlement: Take off their billing & refund all of the money that they charged us.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/16) */ Hello, We will fully comply with this customer and the BBB and look forward to resolving this complaint promptly. Unfortunately, with the limited information we were provided, we do not have a record of the name or address or any sort of credit card processing records matching this information. I am the Director of Customer Support and I can be contacted at my direct line, 312-600-3904. I request that the customer please give me a call at her convenience and I will see to it that her needs are met. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/09/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The billing is linked together with the Century Link phone bill. We call Century Link but they said that they cannot control the third party which is Silver IP Communication. The phone number that has been billed to is 541-343-2398. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/09/17) */ I'm sorry, but we do not have a record of the name or phone number provided, nor do we have any relationship with Century Link. It is our belief at this time that the charge is in fact not coming from SilverIP Communications. When we charge a card on file, the customer is provided an email notification which includes a transaction ID. If we could please be provided this transaction ID, we could further investigate the charge. We will continue to fully cooperate to get to the bottom of this, but at this time, we simply do not have any record of this charge coming from us.

7/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was a resident at **** ** ******** **** ***** ******** ** XXXXX. Cable and Internet are provided free of charge in this condo building. The property mgr instructed me to contact Silver IP to start my cable and Internet services in my unit. I did on Nov. 21, 2013. I received an additional box for $6/mth. On March 24, 2014, my cable and Internet services were terminated. Silver IP has no information as to how my FREE services were terminated and told me to call Direct TV. I told them I had per the warning on the TV screen minutes before the service was interrupted, but the rep only said I owed $187 and my account had been sent to collections. I asked how is that possible when the service is free? The rep said their system was down and she could not see details on my account. I asked how did she see the balance. She hung up. I called Silver IP to avail. A lady named ***** said that she would "check into it" and get back with me. She never called. I placed subsequent calls to Silver IP to resolve the matter. I spoke to Todd and *****. Still no answers. Monday, April 28, 2014, I called again and spoke to ***** for more than an hour, was placed on hold several times, but no answers about anything except that my business was with Direct TV. I informed ***** that I needed to have a technician come out and pick up the equipment because that's probably what I'm being charged for. She informed me no technician would pick up the equipment as it should be returned to Direct TV. I assured her the technician said Silver IP picks up the equipment at the end of a tenant's lease. I asked for copies of the documents I signed because ***** said I did not enter into a contract with Silver IP, I entered into one with Direct TV. I told her I didn't entered into a contract with anyone because cable and Internet are provided free of charge at **** ** ******** *** Chicago IL. I asked for a balance for the cable box. ***** could not provide me with the information. I asked why Silver IP did not state they were an independent contractor for Direct TV when I called to initiate service or when I asked the technician about the company directly when he came to my place of residence. This company misrepresented itself, terminated my free services and billed me for an exorbitant amount. I was only supposed to be charged for the second cable box at a rate of $6/month. I had service for a little over four months, which should make my cumulative amount owed roughly $25. I made a payment of $12.96 in January 2014 for two months, but Silver IP never applied it. I do not wish to have a collections item added to my credit report for a measly $25. I need this issue resolved ASAP. I found a Direct TV location to return the equipment, but I need to make sure that's where it should go. I'll been trying to resolve this matter with Silver IP for over a month and quite frankly, I'm exhausted with it...with them. Please help!

Desired Settlement: Correct my bill to reflect the accurate amount owed. ***** terminated my services with Silver IP on April 28, 2014, which was the final call placed to the company and also when I told her I planned to file a complaint with the BBB because I asked for a supervisor and she said no supervisor was available. She also failed to provide any information. I want to know where I need to send the equipment and to whom. I was my billing termination date to retroactively the actual day the services were terminated, which was March 24, 2014, not April 28, 2014 as ***** insisted. Why should I be billed for an additional month that I didn't have television. It literally was disrupted. I want my account to be removed from collection status because I was not give adequate amount of time to resolve the issue before it was sent to collections. Any reputable company would wait 30 days or more before sending an account to collections.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/05) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ************,Director Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***@silverip.com Customer of SilverIP, First of all, we appreciate your willingness to get this resolved and we look forward to working together to resolve this with you as soon as possible. SilverIP is a System's Operator for DIRECTV, meaning we are responsible for the build-out, upkeep, and daily onsite activities such as activating receivers, troubleshooting errors, etc. However, the responsibility of billing, account creations, etc is solely DIRECTV. On your behalf, we have contacted DIRECTV and asked for a detailed history of your account so we could further assist you. After deliberating with DIRECTV, we believe the below to be accurate: - Your service was activated on 11/22/13 with 2 Standard Receivers. - Monthly charges were $6, of which were never paid. If you made a payment back in January, you may want to look at where you sent the payment as well as bank statements to see if the payment was processed because DIRECTV does not have a record of receiving this payment. - The account reached a balance of $59.49 by 3/20/14 when your account was disconnected due to non-payment. This includes the unpaid $6 charges up to that point, $5 late fees assessed in January and February, minimum service fees, and a $15 disconnection fee. - When DIRECTV disconnects an account due to non-payment, they automatically bill out the non-returned equipment fee. In this case, it was $45 plus tax per receiver (2 standard receivers). - The above said fees brought your total balance to $157.81, which was sent to collections. At this point, you can return the receivers to DIRECTV and get the non-returned equipment fees reversed, leaving the remaining balance of $59.49 due. If this is what you choose to do, please contact DIRECTV and request that they send you recovery kits so you can ship back your 2 standard receivers to DIRECTV. I hope this helps to clear up any confusion. Sincerely, *** ************ SilverIP Communications Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No, I do not accept the response because I have proof of the initial, timely first payment of $12.96 in the form of a money order stub. I sent it to the address listed on the statement. If that payment was lost and I was not informed, I should not incur the $5 late fee for those two months. In addition, the response did not include instructions on how I should return the cable boxes. I have been waiting for an answer to this question for months now. When the technician install cable in my unit, he informed me that all I had to do was contact Silver IP and they would pick up the equipment. If that was misinformation, again, it is not my fault and I should not incur any penalties for a late return of equipment. I called Silver IP and Direct TV and received no answers about my account, except that it was in collections. Lastly, if I started service on November 22, 2013, one month of service ends on December 21, 2013. The second month of service ends on January 20, 2014. By the first week of January, I had received a bill for two months of service. So, I assumed they bill one month in advance as do most service providers and mailed the payment of $12.96 on January 9, 2014. Since the monthly charge for the second cable box was only $6 and the cable service for the building was free, I figured I'd paid of two months again for the next billing cycle. However, I ended up being in Texas and staying in the hospital with my mom. I didn't believed I would face termination for a free service. The amount owed at the time of service interruption was only $12.96. I didn't pay the bill due on February 20, 2014, but planned to pay $12.96 for two months like I did the first time to avoid buying two money orders for such a small amount. The next bill was due on March 22, 2014. My service was interrupted on March 24, 2014 and a notification appeared on the television screen that my service was terminated. That was my first notice and I called the 800-number that displayed on the screen immediately. It was DirectTV. This was the first time I learned Silver IP was not my service provider because the technician said nothing about being a contractor for DirectTV. I inquired about the service interruption and the only information I was give was my account had been sent to collections, there was a balance of $180-something and the computer system of down. Therefore, the representative could not provide me with any additional information. I called Silver IP the following day and several more times to no avail. March 24th was the final day of my service. If there is a contract with DirectTV and a $5 late charge , I need Silver IP to show me the paperwork and contract I signed because from my understanding, I was only agreeing to take possession of the equipment. I did not agree to pay for any charges related to a cable bill because cable service in free of charge for residences at *******************., Chicago, IL XXXXX and this can be verified with the condo association management ******* *** at (XXX) XXX-XXXX. To conclude, the only portion I am required by law to pay is the portion of which I agreed, which is $6/month for an additional cable box. The balance owed is roughly $26. My account should not have been sent to collection as quickly as March 24th because I was not given adequate time to resolve the balance. In addition, non-return of the equipment was do to misinformation given by the technician and lack of instructions provided by both Silver IP and DirectTV. I encourage and strongly suggest that Silver IP does not misrepresent itself as the independent service provider, but rightfully as an independent contractor of DirectTV. By presenting themselves honestly, customers are put in a position to make an informed decision as to whether they want to do business with DirectTV. I would have opted to get one box and avoid billing with DirectTV because I've heard of the horror stories of how they treat customers and they faulty billing practices. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2014/06/19) */ Hello, I would like to speak to the other party on the phone so we can expedite this process. We want nothing more than to settle this matter quickly. The phone number we previously had for the customer does not seem to be active. Thanks, *** ************ SilverIP Communications XXX-XXX-XXXX ***@silverip.com Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2014/06/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My problem with Silver IP is not limited to the inaccurate charges and additional charges on my bill. The main issue I have with Silver IP is that my inquiries regarding the disconnect service were never answered. I called them multiple times. A lady named ***** assured me she would "check in the issue." She never did, but told me she would twice, her inattentiveness and neglect of the issue wasted value time as I was waiting for her to call me with a resolution. Another Silver IP employee (please reference my initial complaint for his name, but I believe it's **** or ****** told me he would have a manager contact. It never happened. The final time I called Silver IP, I stayed on the phone with ***** most on hold and posing unanswered questions. I asked ***** what happened with her promise to check into the matter. I asked where I should send the equipment because the tech that install the service told me all I have to do is call Silver IP and a tech would pick it up. ***** send she would send out a kit, but it was now April 28th, I believe and over 30 days had passed since my initial contact to Silver IP. If Silver IP is not the cable provider, the tech should not have misrepresented the company. I do not sign a contract with DIRECTTV because I contract is not needed for a free service. The cable at **** ******** **** ******* ** XXXXX is provide by the condo association. Residents do not pay. Therefore, I should not be charged a $15 disconnection fee. So many things were mishandled with this situation. Lastly, if Silver IP is not responsible in any way, why didn't they say that the first response to my complaint? Instead, the company's spokesperson listed an amount owed but failed to tell my where to send the equipment. Silver IP is also responsible for the account going to collections because I was waiting on them to correct the issue because that's what I was told by two of their employees. The fee for the 2nd cable box is all I was responsible for. I had the service from 11/22/13 to 3/24/14. That's roughly 4 months. I only owe approximately $24 plus tax. If Silver IP has a contract I SIGNED with DIRECTTV, the person who responded to my complaint should have included it as an attached document as they did with the previous bills. I only spoke to a Silver IP tech who asked for information so he could install the service. When one entered into a contractual agreement with a provider, a social security number is required. I did not provide them with my social number number because I was paying for the service. I was only creating an account for the unit. I do not care that they have provided an account number. That does not mean I intentionally or misleadingly entered into a contractual agreement with DIRECTTV. If I signed a contract or provided my social security number, produce proof. It's that simple. They had no problem retrieved copies of the bills. Bottom line: The cable service was free and never should have been disconnected. If Silver IP was not the provider of cable in that building, the tech never should have misrepresent its role in the process. I don't like DIRECTTV & never would have knowingly done business with the company as it is well known for having faulty billing practices. In fact, I would have chosen to bypass the 2nd cable box because I didn't need it. It was a luxury. I'm single and only watched one TV anyway. All of this could have been avoided it Silver IP gave correct information from the beginning. They also should have offered to send an equipment return kit PRIOR to 4/28/14. I asked if I could come to their location and pick up one because I no longer lived at the address. I asked if they could provide me with a physical DIRECTTV location where I could drop it off. ***** did not answer either question. The lady who was also waiting at the car dealership turned to me and said, "Who are you talking to?" The lady was in disbelief. She told me they were clearly playing a game with me and I had way more patience than she did. After being on the phone with ***** so long and having her divert and evade questions, I told her I would file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and maybe they'll be more willing to answer questions. Look at their responses. They clearly don't know what they are doing. Why not tell me where to send the equipment. I got it from Silver IP. They should have return instructions. I have given me nothing. I can't pull any pertinent information from these people. I paid for 2 months. They need to adjust my bill accordingly.